Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Bike Nice single speed bike for general around town riding. My son also does some tricks. The only issue we have had with the bike is that the breaks were not adequate. We've upgraded them. Also, very easy to assemble. 05/07/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I got the Mongoose DJ bike because I wanted to try my hand at BMX racing in the Cruiser class and maybe alittle dirt jumping and skate park riding without spending an arm and a leg to decide if it were for me. I am 5'9" and 200 lbs. I had read about the bike on a forum (big box bikes.com, not connected with Wal Mart) where everyone was praising the price point on this bike. Had to order on-line since my local stores did not carry it. Delivery was fast and free. Bike came without scratches or dents. Easy to assemble. The brakes and brake lever are just not good. Too soft and won't stay adjusted properly. I plan to replace them. The bottom bracket came loose just riding up and down my driveway. I had already ordered a sealed bottom bracket kit and was prepared to change it anyway, on the advice of the forum I had seen. If you don't know how I would highly recommend you take the bike to a bike shop and have them rebuild the headset and bottom bracket. There was just little to no grease in either. After rebuilding the headset and replacing the bottom bracket I rode it at a skate park and was very happy with the bike. It is solid and rode well. The gearing is suitable for skate parks and dirt jump trails, but I don't think the gearing will suffice on a BMX track, but that is an easy fix. Overall I like the look and feel of this bike. I would recommend it to folks who are wanting to start out in BMX, dirt jumping, skate park riding and don't want to spend too much to try out the sports. As far as kids, it is a no-brainer. Tough frame, sturdy build, strong wheels. Just make sure to grease the bottom bracket and headset and I think it will last for years. 08/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by very cool bike Sprocket ratio gives excellent acceleration, very good street/dirt dual purpose tires, bike feels rock solid even in rough terrain. But caution: my bike came with no grease in crank bearings and steering head bearings. And very little grease in front and rear axle bearings. All aforementioned bearings found set with too heavy of bearing preload. I advise buyers of this bike, before riding, to disasseble, grease, and properly preload all bearings. Or take to your local bike shop for setup. Riding this bike as setup "out of the box" would have rapidly made a very nice crank set into junk. Overall this is a great bike, very happy with this product so far. 09/12/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 26" BMX Street Cruiser Nice overall bike for the money. The 26" lightweight aluminum wheels and the frame angle give it the look of your kids mini or junior BMX bike, only man size. My daughter BMXed in the past and she wanted a new bike, not a 20" BMX or a Mountain bike or a cruiser but something inbetween. This goose is it, great frame geometry making this a great street or trail BMX style cruiser. WM says the frame is made of aluminum. Um... No, bust. It's barely hitensle steel IMO. Regardless it's steel and not aluminum. False advertising there unfortunatey and I was totally looking forward to an aluminum frame...not. You must rebuild this bike, BB and head set, they need repacked and re set. Wheel bearings and all nuts, stem and fork, seat and post all need attention. Dial EVERYTHING in yourself or it will be loosie goosie! A comparable bike is at least $300 more. It's a 26" BMX Dirt Jumper MTB Street Cruiser and does all that great on a street to mild trail scale. I would not jump it and I'm pretty sure my daughter will not either, if you did I suggest you be under 170 lbs or you'll crush the parts they saved money on during its build. Great Big kid or adult BMX Cruiser or commuter for a steal of a deal, Compare what's out there for that price. I have a 24" BMX Cruiser that was custom built with select parts that would retail over $2k...this while bike costs the same as my flight forks and BB ALONE!!! That's an easy decision maker to get this bike, it's your mini from back in the day sized up for large BMXers! Not aluminum, bummer in the summer man... Someone needs to check again on that upsetting typo or clerical error or maybe it should have been aluminum but the guy checking the goods in did not have a magnet to check the frame specs or ailens or... Still a bummer though. Fix it. And if you find one that is aluminum, LMK... Dibbs! BMX Okie circa 1976-present! 10/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat the value on this one. Great compromise for my son and I. At 15 I want him to have a bike he can use to commute to driver's training and he want a trick bike. 03/05/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good bike It's a good bike for the money. I'm 6'2" , 250lbs, and (other than bottom bracket on the crank) it's holding up well. 07/08/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cool bike Got this bike to ride with my kids, wanted a bmx bike like I had when I was younger. The bike seems ok. The parts are way over tightened when you get it. Had to adjust everything, the bottom bracket as a lot of people say is not very good. Keeps coming loose and just not smooth. Tires work good, tubes are paper thin, brakes work good when adjusted. The brakes squeal but thats what happens on painted rims. Over all its a fun bike, dont expect much from it, it is a $150 bike. 11/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best bang for buck! I'm a 39 year old living my bmx days as a kid through this bike. Bought it on clearance for a great deal. Would have liked the top tube to have been longer, but its still comfortable with a laid back seatpost. Out of the box I destickered and took off reflectors along with the kickstand. First of all you want to change out the headset. I put on an inexpensive FSA Hammer headset. Next I took apart the wheel hubs and greased them with Park bike grease 1000. Since I only use this as a cruiser, taking apart the bottom bracket and re greasing is all I needed. If you're going to actually park or dirt jump, change it. Make sure you buy an American bottom bracket and a new 19mm spindle with 8 splines x 149mm. Only about $35 together. Next I put on some Gt bmx bars and a Gt bmx stem. Next swapped out grips with Gt bmx grips and tektro v brake set. At 5'11", my knees were very cramped, so I bought a Black ops 25.4 mm layback seatpost. Perfect cruising position now. And to top it off I threw on a SE Racing bmx bike seat. All of this was under $200 upgraded. You can not find a bike like this under $400. Great solid bike after these upgrades. 06/17/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by no bike specs before purchase Bike frame is close to 16" and I ride a 18.5" mtb. So now that I've paid for shipping to hawaii(very fast delivery) I need to set it up so I can ride it. I picked up a laid back seat post(size=25.4) to give me some room. (Don't think about sitting down as you roll over bumps over that ew post will not last. Its all about leg suspension. 6" riser bars (size 22.2) and a longer stem (1 1/8"). But that is just so I can ride it at 5'10" the next issue that everyone must upgrade is the pedals. Don't even mount them. Just go to the lbs(local bike store0 and get some decent bmx pedals for three piece cranks. The last issue that will need to upgraded is the sprocket. 30 tooth is way to small for commuting around. You'll spin out at 15mph. Way too small for me. I think I'm looking at 44 tooth sprocket. Just so I can get to where I'm going. That will mean a longer chain obviously as well. So I'm looking at another $100 to get it work. Bottomline:I really wish they would sell bikes that were built for adults rather that size everything 15"-16". Way too small and in reality, all the things I did to get it to fit won't really help because an undersized frame will respond like an undersized frame due to wheelbase and bottom bracket placement. Maybe I should write off this purchase and give it to my gf. Its frustrating. 05/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good! Very easy to put together and looks like it is very well built for the price. More to come! 04/18/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Was a birthday gift Only big complaint was that it was on sale in stores for $99 clearance price but no one had them and couldn't order them. I had to order on Walmart.com and the price was $149. Not fair!!!! 09/03/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Was $99 last week. Assembled terribly. Walmart assemblers are terrible! Bike is great otherwise. And the return people are to lazy to pick up a phone and see if the assemblers can fix it. I bought this bike last week for $99 from Walmart in Hesperia, Ca. It was assembled by Walmart. When I got it home the handle bars were put on crooked, the back wheel was not centered and rubbed on the chain cover, and the guts where the crank (pedals & arm) shaft is was very loose with the nut stripped. I took it back and asked if they could fix it. I was told just do a refund because I don't know if the assemblers are here (why not check, it's your job). I did not see another one in the bike section but I wasn't going to keep the one that could not be tightened due to stripped parts so I did the refund thinking I will order another and put it together myself. It was $99 in store and online when I bought it, 2 days later it's now $157 online! I'm not going to pay $58 more dollars for a bike they should have fixed for me. Walmart lost a sale and a customer. If you buy a bike from Walmart in Hesperia, Ca put it together your self because that store does a terrible job assembling their bikes. 10/25/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Garbage cranks garbage headset Threaded three piece cranks unsealed headset plastic pedals decent for price 01/07/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by You get what you pay for. The gearing is weak, and needs to be changed. If you buy this bike, know you are actually getting a 26" bmx frame a single speed (16 tooth 35mm ID freewheel) 26" 3/8" mountain bike double wall rear wheel, generic 3 peice cranks with a 32 tooth chain ring. The gearing is 3rd speed in road bike world. Also cable style two arm rear brake, generic inverted style "locked" goose neck. All the bearings lack grease out of the box. If you are handy you can relace the rear hub with a 3/8 casset style or 30mm OD bmx style hub and gonvert to a 9 tooth cog or a 13 tooth freewheel. so with work and about another $100.00 it will be a nice bike. 10/24/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not worth the wait On the web site it said available as early as today, which was on the 13th. In reality it really showed up on the 21st. To make matters worse both rims were bent, it was supposed to arrive disassembled but it was have put together already.very poorly I might add.all the bearings were so tight they wouldn't roll. Over all I'm very unsatisfied with my purchase. 03/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommended . Yes I am 100% staisfied !Highly recommended . 01/04/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good starting point Bought the bike with the intention to do some wrenching. As long as you are comfortable with that this is a good buy. As others have mentioned the bottom bracket is trash and was stripped so bad right out of the box that could not ride without replacing. I had ordered replacement at same time as ordering the bike anticipating it to be bad, but for the average Joe just wanting to get a bike, and slap the handlebars and front wheel and ride I do not recommend. At this point I have few pieces left on the bike that were sent with it and it's a very solid bike. I ride trails and street with it and it's very smooth. As others have suggested I would read up on the bike at bigboxbikes.com prior to your purchase to determine if you are comfortable with some minor upgrades to get it on par. 10/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Greate for someone who doesn't jump a lot. Returned it when I found out it is aluminum. 08/05/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by unsure what type wait, is this a BMX or a mountain bike because I am confused 05/18/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy this bike Baught this bike no details at all about anything just tires and wheel size had to change crank tires wear out my front wore out when there are no brakes there!! Frame was dented Rim was bent had to take it to a bike shop to get fixed!very heavy bike!! Do not buy 08/29/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mongose Dj This bike is terrible. First time I rode it the cranks locked up due to no grease in bearing. Also the breaks barely work. Don't buy this bike. 10/31/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It works! (MILD TRAIL RIDING ONLY!) First of all "This Is Not A Dirt Jumper!" but I went in to it already knowing that. The frame is not dirt jumper quality so be careful its not meant to be abused like a iron horse or a Black Market I have one and the frame is heavier steel. I bought this bike with the intention as a project bike and mild trail rider as I do not like changing gears when I'm rolling. I changed the bottom bracket and the forks and installed full suspension with 100mm lockout the bottom bracket is aftermarket I also changed the pedals as they did not last one ride "cheap plastic" but as I said I knew that. The bike is great now and it flys because its so freakishly light. I had all the parts so it didn't cost me anything, so win win. the parts would probably run you around 200, your choice. also grease the steering tube and the bb as there was none in it. 07/16/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by don't buy This bike was a piece of junk....it was assembled poorly. Kickstand broke and half missing, the rear axle had the threads on the axle stripped, the wheels were not trued and the both had a wobble. When I tried to return the bike I discovered that 2 of the 4 bolts on the handle bars were missing. 07/01/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good bike Good bike for the money 06/10/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sadly disappointed! I purchased this bike for my son's 14th birthday. He was soooo excited to get it. Unfortunately he did not even have it for e a day before things started going wrong with it. It' sis almost a month later and he is still trying to work on things that keep breaking. I am a single mother and wish I would've known it was going to be miss mu trouble 05/31/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two gifts in one GREAT bike, easy to put together. Grandson LOVES it. 11/20/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice bike for my 13 year old Very happy...Looks good easy to put together and arived faster then expected. Thank you! 10/02/2013
  • 2015-12-01 T08:02:05.007-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_22861842, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-28 of 28 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.