Rated 2.1 out of 5 by 58 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT the same as the old Surf Hair! Garnier used to make a product very similar to this - Surf Hair. It was awesome!! However, for some ridiculous reason, it was discontinued and replaced by THIS atrocity. The original was a delightful, deliciously smelling putty which made hair ROCK. This stuff has a terrible smell (not in the container, only after you put it on...) which honestly makes me nauseous. You get less product than the original, and it does nothing to give beachy hair. It only uses its greasy awkwardness to weigh your hair down and make it smell like your middle school boyfriend who put on too much dollar store cologne. I definitely do NOT recommend this product to anyone. A HUGE disappointment. Thanks, Garnier... 05/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it for the way it holds my hair style . Great for stying hair. It's soft and stays in place. Price is great too. 02/09/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Looks like custard I got this product for my 10 y/o son. He has super thick hair and needs a strong product to hold any style. When I opened the container like another commenter said almost 50% of the product was stuck to the lid. There is VERY little product for the container size. They use the marketing trick of putting a small plastic insert inside a larger plastic container making it look like there is twice the amount of product. The product itself, the tiny amount of it, is a bit oily but I prefer that over the super sticky typical hair gel/product. It takes longer to dry than typical hair gel. The product did not get flaky and did hold my sons style all day. Overall a decent product but I think it is a rip off with the container within a container packaging making it seem like you get more than you actualy do. 05/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect surfer hair hold Great product no flaking all day surfer hair hold 11/10/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product. It is wonderful on super curly hair. 09/18/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by bring back the old product This is so much worse than the original Surf Hair paste. Garnier should really reconsider bringing it back. 08/05/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this stuff! This is the ONLY hair putty I use..... for some reason you can't find it on the shelves, anymore. So glad Walmart carries it online! 07/30/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by A good product It is a good replacement for the hair product paste before it. This paste is not as good as the other product before it though. It is a shame they discontinued it. 05/16/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bring back the OLD formula I have to agree with the majority of the other reviews. I used....and LOVED.....the old formula. Now, it is in the bulky container and costs a LOT more. It is never included on the 3/10 bucks sales at chain retailers. It leaves a weird, waxy/greasy feel to my hair after blow drying. If I use less, then it has no effect. Get with the "green" program and ditch the phony, oversized jar. We are not stupid. 08/28/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bring back old Formula!! About 2yrs ago Garnier changed the formula for this product. They also made the container twice the size, with half of the product inside. The new formula is aweful!! I used this stuff religiously, and told many friends about it.. we were all hooked. But. The newer formula is smelly, greasy doesn't give matte finish..completely inferior product to one it replaced. Garnier lost many, many customers over this switch...including me. 06/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. My local Walmart quit carrying so I ordered a bunch online. Order received within 4 days of purchase. Very happy. 03/27/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like it! I think this is a great product. It works great and it smells amazing. The only problem I have with it is that they don't give you as much in the container compared to the old version. 02/16/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for my type of curl Like another review said, i think this is for guys- but I love it! I always get asked what I use for my curls.... a bit of mousse and a bit of Garnier Power Putty Surfer Hair. Now that I've cut my hair, i don't even have to use that much. Though when I had curls down to the middle of my back just a small dollop worked great. Everybody with curly hair needs to know best is to finger comb your wet hair, then pat dry with an old, soft tshirt, (it won't break up your ringlets) then I massage some mousse into my roots for volume, and after work the power putty on to my hair out of the shower. I get an all day hold and perfect curls. 02/11/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by If it is not broken, don't fix it! I have been using the old Surf Hair product for years and raved about it for my hair style. The new "Surfer Hair" is no where close to the old formula, it costs more and contains about ~35% less product (5.1 oz. vs. 3 Oz.). I will be looking for a new product. Sorry Garnier but you lost a customer on this deal. 12/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by love old HATE new I have been using Surf Hair for years! I love the product. HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE the new container. I toss it in my bag and go. There has been a thing of this in my back pack for years. Now its this BULKY thing and I might add less product. I understand marketing and making things look bigger bla bla bla, but come on. BRING BACK THE OLD CONTAINER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It took me a long time to find a product I like and now I guess I'm on the hunt again for another one like it :( 10/28/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a nightmare Halloween is coming up and this is worse than any haunted house I could visit... The first time I used the "improved" formula, I could notice the major difference. I have fine blonde hair, the previous version had the right thickness to give my hair structure and spikes if I want; the new stuff is simply heavy and wet, my hair doesn't stand a fighting chance against it, waiting for my hair to dry...again, and adding more doesn't even help, it's basically useless. At this point, just curious how many negative reviews and long it will take Garier to backtrack (automatically displaying the highest ratings first doesn't help, Garnier). I found a 6 pack of the old stuff online and just received, hopefully it'll last me until they revert. Minor, but I used to receive many compliments on the smell of my hair too, women loved the citrus smell, they don't always some pungent cologne up their noses as found in the current version. 10/08/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bring back the old formula This new formula is utter garbage. It doesn't hold like the old one did, and the new packaging is designed to trick you into thinking you get more when they really cut down the amount of gel you get. I've used this product for years but I'm switching to a new brand. 09/13/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not cool... I have been buying this product for a loooong time... And now that some changes have been made I would like to just let you know what I think (I thought I was alone on this.. But sadly I see many similar comments).. I really thought your product was great... It had the perfect hold for my hair, and I would not have traded it for anything.. In fact I recommended it to everyone that complimented my wild curly surfer hair :) the new product does smell amazing... I love the citrus grapefruit burst you added, and the new cool bottle design.. but the new version leaves a sticky residue that doesn't dry off.. And leaves my hair pretty limp... Yuck.. also there is so much less of the product in the bottle... pretty tricky because the packaging is larger.. So I will have to sadly say, that this will be the last time I'm buying it.. Unless some changes can be made .. Thanks for listening :) 08/13/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as good as the old version I agree with the other reviews about the effectiveness of this product compared to the original version. The original version was perfect. I'd be more than willing to buy the older version at the same price as the new version. Please bring back the original. 07/18/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by My hair is crying Here I sit, with a massive head of poofy hair, and no Surf to control it, because I won't buy anything else--and certainly not the new and "improved" formula. Save my suffering hair! Bring back the old Surf! My only consolation is that I can take comfort from knowing I'm not alone. The army of Old Surfers won't stop until we get the old stuff back!! 07/10/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT Improved I get that you needed to make a smaller package but why change the formula? The new product is less 'Dude' and more 'Vinnie'. Makes my hair look greasy and flat. Bummer. Won't buy this again. 06/26/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible!Bring back SURF HAIR Hated it! did not do even half of the job that Surf Hair did. I'm so upset because I cant find a replacement. 05/28/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why would you ruin a good product?! I am EXTREMELY UNHAPPY with this new hair putty. It has a nasty smell that's similar to cheap male cologne, you get less product per ounce compared to the original and it doesn't provide as good a hold on my thick curly hair. I ADORED the original formula, had used it for years. I loved the light clean scent, how it provided flexible hold for my finger curls and most of all HOW THERE WAS NO FLAKY RESIDUE LEFTOVER!!!!! I told tons of people with unruly hair in the past to try it out but not anymore. I don't understand why a great product was changed. Looking through the reviews I agree with the majority. PLEEEEASE bring back the original hair putty... -sad in seattle 05/26/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by very unhappy with the new surf hair As you can see I'm very unhappy with the fact you took the old formula off the market. I have been using it for almost 10 yrs, I think, I'm a guy and bad with dates and time frames. The stuff was perfect, it worked for every thing. Now not only do you change your product to an inferior one, but you get less of it and hike up the price. Yeah we noticed that too. Let us know if your company decides to bring back the old stuff and I'll start buying garnier products again. thanks and I'll be watching for it. 05/16/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Please bring back the old Surf Hair /power putty I gave this product 2 stars although the old formula was perfect and deserves 5 stars. It has recently changed along with a smaller container (2.1 oz less). I can deal with the reduction in quantity but the new formula doesn't hold as well as the old stuff. It also has a different consistency and doesn't look the same when applied and dried. It took me years to find this stuff and it's a shame that it has changed for the worse. I've never signed up to comment about anything in my life... I'm not even a registered voter. Hopefully this will help you consider bringing back the old surf hair formula. 05/15/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bring back Surf Hair paste The new Surfer Hair is absolutely awful. It does nothing for my hair but weigh it down and make it look greasy. I've used the Surf Hair texture paste for about the last seven years and have been completely happy with it. I gave the new stuff a try because I was almost out of my Surf Hair. I will never buy your products again unless you bring back the original Surf Hair. The new Surfer Hair is so bad that it overshadows the fact that you cut the product size in half and almost doubled the price. I just want to make it clear again that I think the new Surfer Hair is garbage and you should bring back Surf Hair, and that's the only reason I even registered for your website. 05/13/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hate the new Surf's Up! I have never, in my life, written to a company about a product. That is how much I hate the new Surf's Up hair putty. I used the old formula for years and loved it. The new formula doesn't work the same at all. Plus it smells terrible! One of the things I loved about the old formula was that it didn't have a fake chemical smell. Now, all I can smell is lab created "coconut". Absolutely awful. Why on earth would you try to "fix" something that wasn't broken? 05/10/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Based on the previous reviews of the product being stuck to the top, I hit the bottom of the item a couple times so that most of the putty was where it was supposed to be. That said, it's about 4/5s full at this point. Used it on for my son when he wants to spike his hair or do fun things with it. Works well for his hair and stayed in place. Smell is ok. 05/10/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bring Back the old Surfer Hair I agree with everyone here. So disappointed in the revamped Surfer Hair. Less product, bulky container, more cost and the it smells like sweat. The Garnier smell is gone, well it's slightly there but you get a pungent sweaty odor. So unhappy, after finding a product for my short fine hair that worked awesome, they went and messed with it. More corporate greed. I hate when someone messes with my hair care!! 05/09/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible New Product I must echo the notions of the previous comments I have read. I normally do not write reviews but this new product is awful! The new formula has a very foul smell and I will not be using this product anymore. I would recommend bringing the old product back. Furthermore, I am appalled by the doubling in price and reduction of almost half of the previous product volume. Essentially you have increased your product's price four fold! Did you really think your loyal customers would not notice? 05/06/2013
  • 2016-02-08 T05:30:04.702-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_58, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_22150944, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 58 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew334
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp