See All Reviews
Garnier Nutrisse Ultra Color Haircolor
Garnier Nutrisse Ultra Color Haircolor
$6.27
List Price: $6.97
You Save: $0.70 (10%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4 out of 5 by 119 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing color I have been using the Garnier Vibrant Reds for a few years now, and this line is the only one I've ever used that stays red. It does still fade, but instead of fading to a brownish color, it just gets lighter and lighter, but stays red. This color was absolutely amazing! I have tried for years to find a really bright red, that stayed red, and boy is this it. I am naturally blonde, and this hair color being for naturally dark hair makes it VERY bright for me. I personally like this, but beware if you are not looking for something bold, and you have naturally light hair. Now, about 3 months later, the color has faded into a beautiful shade of red, that almost perfectly matches their True Red shade. It's really just so fantastic to be able to limit how frequently I color, and still have a nice shade of red. 09/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally... a red that grabs on dark hair! I've been dying my hair red for years and this is the first dye that actually gets my dark hair that intense reddish auburn. Most other dyes either don't grab enough or fade WAY too quickly. While anyone who used red dye knows that red fades quickly, I have to say that my hair has stayed red longer with this dye than any other brand or color. And yes, your hair does get REALLY intensely red after the first dye, but fades to a really nice color after a few washes. I've gotten so many compliments from such random people. I will definitely be re-purchasing this. 07/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice and bright, but fades quickly. I was pleasantly surprised by this. It does end up a VERY bright red (right between natural and reminiscent of my punk days), and while it does fade quickly like any red dye, it did last longer than most I've used. NOTE: If your hair is dyed a darker color, this will NOT work on your hair. They put this info on the box, and they're not kidding. 05/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Great for Dark Hair! I finally found a brand that is for dark hair! I love this dye because it catches your dark hair without bleaching it, I hate bleaching my hair because of the damage it does to. This dye turned my hair red with just one use, but I would like it to be a little lighter, it only shows when you are in the sun. But the color did turn out great, I will use this color from now on I love it! -ohh also, I have really long black hair, im asian (=]) so for a dye to turn my hair the first time I used it is...AMAZING. 09/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by True to color I always wanted to dye my hair a red color, but I didn't want a crazy bright red color, and I heard garnier had really good red hair dyes so I decided to try out this light intense auburn color, and I absolutely LOVE it. The color is pretty true to the pictures on the box, and what I really like about it is indoors my hair looks like a dark reddish brown, but once I walk outside in the sun, it's a hot red color. I bought it on sale for only 5 bucks too so it's definitely worth it for such a good pay off. The red hair dye stained my skin though and it takes a few days to wash off. but other then that, it's really great. 08/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by love it! i really like this color, it is exactly the color on the box, and it was easy to use. the only drawback was that it fades fairly quick, but most reds do. overall, i love this dye. 07/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Only One that Works For Me I've been using this (R3) on my hair for about a year now, and I absolutely LOVE it! In the sunlight, it looks like strands of red Christmas tinsel, and my husband says that when I move, it looks like it's changing color. I'm always getting compliments on the color., and this is the ONLY red hair color that has ever worked on my hair. The only downside is that it takes about a month before I stop seeing red dye in the rinse water whenever I wash my hair. But even then, it still fades very little. 04/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 AMAZING. RED RED RED HAIR! I used R3 Light Intense Auburn! This product worked TREMENDOUSLY WELL! I still use it and it's been 6 months. The color on the box is actually darker than what the actual outcome is. My hair was a light brown with caramel streaks throughout the bangs, after I dyed my hair with this it became EXTREMELY red, not as red as a SPLAT/Manic Panic dye, but still extremely red for being box dye from Garnier! One of the best reds that I've used! Although red bleeds A LOT when washing out, this one holds extremely well onto my hair! I currently have blonde underneath so I've been afraid to re-dye it due to bleeding, but it's been about 2 months and it's still extremely red even considering that I shampoo it everyday (I do NOT use color protecting shampoo and/or conditioner). Cold, cool, or lukewarm water is good for keeping it red and vibrant!! It covers up my heavy dark brown roots really well also. This product color of red doesn't fade as fast because it is permanent color, also if you know how to take care of it right it also reduces fading. If you're going to dye your hair red, do your research before actually buying the product and doing it! 03/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect ! I have black hair and this color showed up perfectly from the moment I stepped out of the shower. Like others said it does take a long time for the water to rinse through as clear, but so worth staying in the shower an extra 10 minutes. The color is so rich and vibrant, and like I said I had black hair and it is perfectly red now. Will use this color every time from now on! Please note the color does not show well in the photo but gives a general idea :) 09/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE the Color! I dyed my hair with the R2 option of this color, and I have medium to dark brown hair. I had no trouble figuring out how to mix it and such, and I quickly got it all into my hair, using all of the dye. I let it set longer than the recommended time, just to make for sure that the color would take, and began rinsing out my hair. When the water FINALLY ran clear I began drying it and everything. I was so so SO happy with the finishing result! My hair looked like a soft, shiny red velvet cupcake. The color lasted about 2 months before my roots starting showing, and the fading was noticeable. I am very excited and can't wait for the next time I get to dye it this color! Overall, this is a WONDERFUL product, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a gorgeous hair color. ^w^ 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite red dye I have naturally medium/dark brown hair and I was ecstatic when this came out a while back.It is the only red dye that I use now because it shows up really well on dark hair. It will fade after about 2-3 weeks,but you are not left with some weird color. It starts out an amazing red that absolutely stuns in sunlight and it fades to a lovely subtle red. It goes on about as easily as any other dye and it will look orange during the process,but no worries. It smells amazing too! To make the color last longer,try only washing your hair a few times a week,using the conditioner that comes with it now and then,as well as maybe getting some shampoo and conditioner that protects color;Garnier actually has some that works nicely. When it does fade,it's not that big of a hassle to re-dye it because it is super affordable. 03/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. I had extremely dark hair and wanted to go lighter without using bleach. The blonde I got was awesome! I love it!!! 08/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great!! This was my first time ever putting dye in my hair and i LOVE IT I have medium dark brown hair and my hair is RED it is absolutely gorgeous the only thing i would change next time is i would get two boxes instead of one because of my extremely thick hair 07/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECT COLOR! I had used the same burgundy color but from revlon and the color did not show at all, its like it completely rinsed out. I then got this color and the color came out absolutely marvelous! Exactly the color i wanted and its been a month and the color is still vibrant and beautiful! Created beautiful tones in my hair since the bottom half was bleached and my bangs. I go out and people say wow your hair is so shiny and vibrant. I am not guna lie my hair waz badly damaged, after adding this color to my hair it somehow made my hair softer and less frizzy. I would definitely recommend this brand to everyone! My hair is such a beautiful reddish purple color. 01/22/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I love this product! I researched a good bit before I decided on this color. It was the first time I would be coloring my hair since going natural and I wasn't sure it would take. Initially I didn't think it did but yes my hair is red and I LOVE IT! It colored my black and the stubborn grays and I've been getting lots of compliments on my hair! Try it you won't be disappointed! Just be sure to rinse VERY well or some of the color will remain. 09/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this red. This hair coloring kit is made especially for those who have darker hair. I use it on my black natural hair and it gives it the red I want, nothing to overly red, but just light enough that my friends notice. None of them can get their hair this auburn on the other kits and I've recommended this kit to several friends. I've even had a hair stylist complement me on my hair color and when I told her I did it myself and out of a $7.00 box, she was shocked. I love it and I continue to touch up with it. :D 10/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Garnier Nutrisse Ultra Color Haircolor BLUE BLACK I like this product very much. The color is just right for my hair to color up the grays. It smells great and Walmart sells it for a great price. Product is self doesn't last that long. It washes out very quickly in about 2 weeks or so if you have a lot of grays. 01/26/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hair color ever!!! I have dyed my hair many times. For awhile I was doing dark brown but decided I wanted to go for a red. I bought some red hair dye, and it just wasn't "red" enough for me. So, a few weeks later, I went for this one. It is awesome. It fades, but not too much, and it really went over my dark brown very well. You could actually see the red. I got so many compliments on how red my hair was. I love it. I can't wait to buy it again!!! Also, I use pantene Color Preserve Smooth, and I think it helps a lot in keeping the color alive. 03/20/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not show up well I bought the R3 dark intense auburn hoping that it would work as good for me as the other reviewers had stated it worked well for them. I bought two boxes because my hair is down to my butt. Before I applied the hair dye I also used protein filler because I was hoping it would help the color hold better. After I applied the hair dye I actually left it on for 45 minutes. After I rinsed the hair color out I let my hair air dry and discovered that my hair looks almost the same as before I dyed it. My hair was previously medium brown. I have been dying it medium brown for the past year as I have been getting gray hairs. My natural hair color is medium brown. Any how you can kind of tell there is a red tint to it in certain light. I think the color definitely took better to my roots because you can see more of the red there. Maybe the problem for me is the fact that I have been using brown hair dye and this dye just can't cover it too well. I might try this dye one more time but in a different shade like R1 or R2. 11/07/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Their True Red Color was extremely disappointing, it was supposed to come out a deep red according to the box, instead it came out a dark, dark, chocolate brown. Their help line wasn't helpful, basically saying oh well, sometimes it happens. Try again in a few weeks. Like I'd waste my money on Garnier again. Friends said it wasn't bad looking on me but that I looked better as a red head. So I'll try another brand one that backs their products and hopefully has better costumer service. 09/03/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT for Everyone!! I used R2 Medium Intense Auburn and it turned my hair really bright red NOT the really nice Brownish Red color it showed. Another downfall is how quickly the color fades I washed my hair one time and already see a lot of the color is gone. Running my fingers through my hair leave my hands red/orange. DO NOT waste your time or money!! 02/10/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not work for me Did not work at all for me. My hair is dark brown and I picked Golden Brown. My roots turned orange and the tips remained my regular brown. It was a quite interesting look! 08/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied!! Awesome. First product to full cover my grays. I will report back how long it lasts. Did not leave my hair hard which is a plus. Although i used coconut oil to help with that. 11/08/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutrisse hair product Easy to use,works as stated on the package. 08/08/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT !! Washes out clean , doesn't leave a mess in your bathtub .... Color is great , gets slightly lighter with time after several shampoos but still looks great !! 10/29/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My bad I've used the lightest blonde of the Nutrisse Ultra many times, with great success. But that was when my hair was in the brown/blonde zone in the first place, previously dyed or not. But this time, I was hoping to get rid of the last remnants of doing it purple last year. Because the purple dye I used was brown based, I thought, well this should work. But the purple had faded to red, which I didn't know because my bangs grew out and went back to my natural color of medium brown, it was the upper layer of the back that's brassy. So when I used this this time, my hair is about 10 different shades of color. That's totally on me. I thought that this would do what it did in the past, and that is bring all of my color up to a nice non-brassy, non-ashy blond. When used as labelled, in my experience, that's exactly what it does. But I want to add, it bothers me that Walmart no longer carries this in Blond in their stores here. In fact, they really cut down on all of the hair dye, and skimp on the Blondes in almost all the hair brands, except, of course, the 3 or 4 that are solely Blondes. What's up with that? They have the Nutrisse Ultras in the Brunettes and Reds, but not the Blondes anymore. 06/20/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this color. This is simple to use, and it turned out to be one of my most favorite colors I died my hair. Its really dark, but thats ok, if that what your going for. I will tell ya, I have dyed my hair many times, but this will take your breath away...literally...if your not careful. 05/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this product :) I have been dying my hair for about 20 years now. I'm a natural blonde who had red highlights and dark roots. The blonde made me look washed out and people accused me of dying my hair anyway so I figured I would dye it a color that looked better on me. The problem is most dyes the red fades out quickly leaving just brown hair. I was having to dye my hair every month. With this product I don't have that problem. The intensity might fade but it stays red. I have to dye my hair now every 3 to 4 months which saves me a small fortune. If you want red hair then this is the product to buy. Also, unlike many dyes out there, my hair feels softer and in better condition after I dye it. It's not brittle or straw like at all. I have recommended this product to many people who have complimented me on my hair and then they are surprised to find out it came from a bottle; they thought it was natural! 08/09/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Worst color I've ever used. Bought this in the medium intense auburn color expecting nothing more than a dark red tint to my dark dark brown, almost black hair. The dye mixes very well and is very easy to apply. While it was setting on my hair it really seemed to be doing the job...until I washed it out. While in the shower it gets EVERYWHERE. It looks like a murder scene in your tub, not to mention it stains everything it touches. It takes forever for the water to run clear. Took me a good half hour of rinsing just to get it all out. I got out of the shower and went straight to drying, excited for my new color. When I was done drying my hair I looked at it in the mirror and nothing had changed. Absolutely nothing. There wasnt even a red tint, granted i did leave the product on for a good 45 minutes. It did not do ONE THING. I am very dissapointed in this product and it did not live up to my small expectations. All i wanted was a tint. I got nothing. Do not waste your money on this product despite the great reviews. Its terrible, and not worth wasting time. 07/09/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrrrible!!! Bought the red because they did not have my usual brand in stock. This is absolutely horrible. The color fades like crazy. Can't even touch my hair 2 days after dying because the color rubs out onto my hands. Back of neck is all red from my hair just rubbing against it. absolute disaster. Disgusting! I've used tons of other dyes before and this is a first and most definitely the LAST time i use Garnier for anything. So disappointing. 09/23/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T08:57:30.839-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_119, tr_119
  • loc_en_US, sid_14122780, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 114 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw487
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp