Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 185 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal in a self-propelled lawnmower OK, today I used the new Murray self-porpelled mower for the first time. I setup the mower & she fired up on the first pull. I was pretty impressed with the mower, my grass was very tall but the Murray just went right thru it without a problem. I also have a an old Lawnboy rear wheel drive self-propelled mower so this front-wheel drive took some getting use to, the Lawnboy is a little faster but the Murray really did just fine. I got the the Murray because it does not come with a bag which most do but I don't like the bag & who needs a bag when you mulch anyway. Really for the Money this mower is a tremendoes deal & since it has a Briggs & Stratton engine you can't go wrong here. There is a little bit of handle assembly but other than that you just pour in the included bottle of oil & fuel her up & go, simplest mower I have ever set up. 04/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! It was much nicer than I thought it would be. I can't do a lot of physical work because of disabilities. But this mower Is really cool, it does all the work, I just guide it around the yard. 04/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this mower and took it home ,fired it right up.Cut through some tall grass without any problem.Love the front wheel drive.Being disabled ,this really helps.Murray has hit a homerun with this mower. 04/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerhouse Blew the engine on my old worn out Lawnboy today, so I ran and picked up this mower at the local Walmart. Got home in time to put it together and try it out before it got dark. Grass was way longer than usual and it was still pretty damp. Didn't expect to get much done, but I ended up mowing until I couldn't see any longer. My wife came out with a flashlight to help me finish the last couple patches. I wanted to keep going, but figured the neighbors might want to get some sleep. Great mower! 04/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Mower! I love the mower. I loved how you take it right out of the box and the handle just folded right up. I especially like it since it has mulching capability and it doesn't throw grass everywhere. I'm not good at all with instructions so the only problem I had with adjustment of the handle of the mower was I couldn't determine which of the bolts were "T bolts". Once my nephew looked at it, he quickly figured it out and made the adjustment to the handle. You just have to first unscrew and remove the red tbolts and lay aside. Next, unscrew the black t bolts and pull the handle up to whatever height you need. Next screw the black tbolts into the exact spot you removed them from. This tightens the handle. Next, screw in the red tbolts higher up on the handle. You can look at the box to see where they go. Other than that, it was a breeze. Mower started 2nd time! 04/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost perfect... First off, the lawnmower is real easy to set up. The instructions gives really good detail on that. Second, it starts on one pull all the time except for the first time I started it which only took 2 pulls (No Big Deal) I've own this mower for 2 months now and it's still working great. I cut my yard every week and everything always goes fine. Although there is one tricky part of the mower, which is the oil cap. It needs to be screwed on a certain way in order for it to actually be locked in place. I found out the hard way and one day while mowing the yard it popped off a little bit and oiled started coming out but thankfully it wasn't a lot that came out and I shutted it off right away. It seems like your basic oil cap that you just screw on until tightend but unfortunately this one is a bit different. You have to actually mess with it for a while until you notice a difference on how it's on there. So definitely make sure you look out for that. Other than that though, everything seems to be just fine and it's really easy to adjust the level of the blade also. Overall i'm satisfied with it. 05/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Women and Lawn Mowers I'm a 57 yr old woman, kinda out of shape, but for the most part strong and healthy. I bought this mower because of the mulch capacity and self-propel feature. My new yard is a slightly hilly and right now, in bad shape after being neglected by the previous owner. This thing was easy to assemble, started right up and definitely helped me mow this yard fast and efficiently! Highly recommend! 05/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy, so fast, nice lawn I had 3 choices for a self-propelled mower. The Murray, one from Sears and one from Home Depot. All were in the same price range. I chose the Murray because it was side discharge and mulched. I had it delivered to work, because I was sure something had to be assembled, and one of the guys was going to put it together. Didn't need him. Even the wheels were on, I just had to lift the handle and tighten screw things. We set it for mulch and I used it over the weekend. Love it. Had no idea how much energy I was using for a non self propelled. No wonder it was wiping me out doing the lawn, esp in Aug/Sept here in Central Florida. I mulched leaves, couldn't even see them by the time I was finished. No 'lines' of grass. Pretty amazing and I'm telling everyone about it! 03/30/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Mower This was pretty easy assembly but one of the screws to adjust the handle would not line up..Nothing a hammer could not fix..It started right up and the self propelled worked great! If you are looking for a push mower I recommend you spend the extra money and get this self propelled one.. 04/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great mower Like others I was suprised by this mowers. Open box had a couple wing nut screws to losen to extend handle and bam ready to go. Comes with oil, so only thing extra you have to purchase is of course the gas. And barely pulled on starter string and fired right up. Also like option to use mulch or side discharger as my back yard is pretty big and grass seems to grow faster and better back there. And self propelled is a must for Florida's sawgrass, but it does not seem to have a problem going through it. 04/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A different experience Our old mower was 30 years old and this is so much different. It took a while to figure out how to start it, as the mower manual said to refer to the engine manual which wasn't real clear. No throttle, no choke, no gas line valve. Just add oil and gas, hold the engine handle down, and pull. Then use the other handle to engage the wheels. Let go of the handle and it stops! What the heck! Now I know why the pull start is way up the handle, cause you are contiually pull starting it everytime you need to clear a branch or whatever. Starts easy. And the engine has one speed which seems slow, but does cut and pulls the wheels at a comfortable speed, and is quiet. I'm glad I spent an extra $45 over the the same model with less engine power. The smaller engine I'm sure wouldn't go through taller grass like I had. This is my first mulcher, and I understand that you can't let your grass get as long. A bit quirky, but made an easy chore of mowing. But how do you turn off the gas over winter. It probably isn't best to leave gas in the carb. Oh, and I do like the over-head-valve engine which I've never seen in a mower this price with these features. 04/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I cut approx. 9-11 yards every two weeks. I needed a mower that I could depend on to cut higher than normal grass when called for. I had owned a couple of Honda 160cc mowers and not one of them would cut and pull whenever the grass was fairly high. This 190cc mower has had no problems! If it gets real high and starts to bog down, I just open up the mulching cover and insert the side discharge cover. It keeps on going! The way the under carriage is designed around the front axle keeps the axle from getting wrapped up with wet grass, etc. This keeps the transmission running smoothly. For the money, this is an EXCELLENT mower! In fact, I may purchase another one to back this one up in case Murray decides to change anything on the design or drop it from their product line. 06/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Mower Purchased online and received quickly from Fed Ex. One bolt was missing from the box to tighten the handle but emailed the company and received quickly. I also had a problem with securing the T bolt but I solved that problem with a hammer. I used for the first time Saturday and it started on second pull. I had to wear gloves from the vibration of the mower on the handle bars once it was started. It was lightweight compared to my old lawn mower.. I am so far pleased with this purchase. 04/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great mower great price. Assembly was very easy. mower started on 2nd pull. So far I am very pleased with this mower. 03/25/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unbelievable Shipping!!! Got a Used Lawnmower! Let me begin by saying that this review is for Walmart.com. I have not used the lawnmower yet considering it had to be exchanged. I ordered this lawnmower online to avoid having to lug it from the store to my house (single mom+ heavy boxes= difficult job!!) I received the box this past Friday. The box was completely beat up. It looks like someone had set the lawnmower in the box while the engine was hot and the top of the box caught on fire. There was literally a black hole burnt in the top of the box! The box was literally falling apart. I thought, okay Fedex, nice job! So, yesterday I broke open the box expecting a new lawnmower. To my surprise, there was oil around the base of the lawnmower, there were indentions around the gas cap like someone pried it off with a tool, and scuffs all around it. The scuffs I may have excused given the condition of the box; however, there should not have been any oil in a new machine. What finally clued me in was the grass on the blade! I ended up having to take it to my local Walmart and exchange it. So my entire reasoning for ordering it online was shot. I ended up doing twice the work!!! Shame on you Walmart for sending me a used lawnmower!!!! I've ordered from Walmart.com many times and this has never happened before! I am hopeful that I will never experience that again! 03/10/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent, plenty of power, easy to use The mower was easy to assemble. It mows excellently and goes through tall thick grass without effort and does not bog down. The cut is clean and even and the self-propelled feature is of great benefit and at a perfect speed, neither too fast or too slow. The height adjustment is very easy and straight forward. Overall quality is excellent. Warranty registration needs to be made through MTD though as they took over Murray a while back and it is not reflected in Murray's web site nor in their automated customer service phone menu. It took a bit of digging to find, so take note of that. MTD informed me that they fully stand behind the Murray brand and are proud to have it in their lineup of lawn care products. Overall a great mower at a great price. Good quality! 05/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cuts really well! I decided to spent a few extra dollars on a mid-range model and was happy that I did! It mulches really well and the self-propelling motor is very effective. A previous mower that I owned had difficulty in high grass, but this one mows it down (pun intended) without a hitch. I'm very satisfied with the product! 05/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by my first mower my first mower,so I was alittle nervous but this machine starts up the first time you pull and it needed minimal putting together.great mower for the price too 03/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice. It came with 20oz of 4cycle motor oil, it took two minutes to open the box, cut the sides and slide it out. It took another 10 minutes to follow the easy instructions to pull out the handle, screw in the toggle bolts (no tools needed), pull out the start cord, add the oil, add gas, and start. I have a 20% asphalt grade hill. When I finished mowing the lawn, the self propelled front end had no problem dragging the mower up the hill. I barely had to push it. Great mower. Don't buy anything less than 190cc, which this mower has. 06/12/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't Get This I've had the mower for 2 months and was happy. Then last week it wouldn't start. Had to get a new spark plug...Then TWO days later the self propel went out. Did the belt break or just come loose you ask? Well you see you can't get to it to find out. The front cover seems impossible to get off. So I looked in the manual and it says “Several components must be removed in order to change the mower's belt. See an authorized Service Dealer to have your belt replaced”....And just where would that be? I don't know either... Get a mower you don't have to take to a shop just to check the stupid belt. 06/12/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 Warranty is'nt worth the paper its written on!!! Used only 3 times before it would not start! Took it to authorized dealer (only one in PA) was told they no longer service them! Next closest dealer was 50 miles away in NJ! Called them to make sure they do warranty service only to be told it probably would'nt be covered because of normal wear! Its 40 days old! Better hope you're mower does'nt break!!! 06/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Mower So far I like this mower a lot. It was very easy to set up and it started on the second pull. It mows down and mulches up tall grass/leaves w/out barely hesitating. It's easy to use; it has only one speed self-propelled but it pulls itself right along not too fast or slow. For the money it is very nice. My old mower had basically the same engine and lasted 20 years....if this one lasts half as long I'll be very happy with it. 05/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Mower Purchased this mower a couple days ago and was impressed right out of the box. Simple assembly. Easy start. Love the self-propelled feature. I have 4 acres and my Craftsman rider is always broke down so I decided to pick this mower up as a backup. It mowed my whole yard without even a hick-up. More than i can say for my 46" riding mower on its first use, it broke after an hour of use, and it was brand new too. The only thing that was a little annoying with this mower is the side discharge attachment kept falling off. Which, after giving up on it and just mulching, I found that I preferred the mulching more anyway. I had never had a mulching mower before, or a self-propelled mower. I love both features. Great little mower for the money. Will see how it holds up for whole mowing season, as my rider looks to be down for a couple months waiting on warranty repairs (broken frame). 06/10/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not work, right out of the box I bought this lawn mower online, for easy purchase. I set it up as directed and it does not even start. The phone numbers to get help, just keep me going in circles, to other numbers. 04/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Murray 21 inch I had item sent to home, arrived quickly, easy and quick to put together. In less than an hour the mower was ready and cutting grass. Ease of use on hills is good, some of my hills are about 30°. Well worth the price. 05/25/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unexpected side-effects While the mower itself is very attractive and easy to start, I was not prepared for the way the front wheel drive would pull the mower into the direction of every dip or uneveness in the lawn. I am 74 and bought the self-propelled more to save my arms and shoulders, but fighting it to cut straight paths ended up with me letting go of the self-propelled lever and just using it as a regular mower. Now the only problem is that it is heavier than my old mower and too much of a hassle to get someone to help me return it. It had been delivered directly to my house which was a big advantage to getting it, but not to return it. Otherwise it ran and cut beautifully. The mistake was mine. 05/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased I was contemplating buying a Honda mower, at twice the price, but opted for this one instead. I am very pleased with this product. It starts on the first pull, and has plenty of power. I do have a few notes, however. 1. Assembly is very simple, IF YOU FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTION MANUAL. While there are some pictorial diagrams on the shipping box tabs, they are useless. Follow the manual step by step, an you will have not problems with assembly. 2. Briggs and Stratton (the engine mfr.) instructs initial oil change at 5 hours, then every season or 50 hours See Mfr. video here (copy and paste link into your browser): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2aMsu6gerBo. Personally, I have opted for full synthetic 5-30 oil. 3. I use my mower in mulching mode, and have found that after every mow, it is important to clean grass from underside of mower deck with a putty knife as per Instructions in the owner's manual. All in all, I find this product to be quality / great value. 05/21/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the money. Haven't had it long, but was impressed with the reviews and I believe this is a keeper. Very basic and does a great job. Sturdy and well-made; AND easy to start! The perfect remedy for someone like me who is dealing with arthritis & carpal tunnel syndrome. Mowing isn't such a chore anymore. 05/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay Away from Murry I bought this on a whim to save a few dollars and I guess I should know you get what you pay for. it does start on the 1st pull but it seems a bit under powered and stalls easily in taller denser grass. I've had it since June 2014 and now its August and I've had to replace the blade adapter 3 times and the drive belt once. the Original blade adapter is very thin and will shear along the keyway slot if you run in dense or wet grass. I know people say don't cut wet grass but I have a K-mart special I bought 16 years ago that still runs and I've never seen a repeated failure such as this. Never going to buy a mower from Walmart again.... 08/27/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very light for so much power This mower was a little more than the standard (red) ones - Walmart put it together for free. I took it home, put in the pre-measured (enclosed) oil, put in gas, it started first pull. Was amazed it is so light but extremely powerful. Mulched everything into tiny pieces. Got it within 24 hours. Only regret is I did not get one last summer. 04/16/2014
  • 2016-03-24 T07:23:03.942-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_185, tr_185
  • loc_en_US, sid_22094735, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 169 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw267
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp