See All Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by 244 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good phone. Has its ups and downs. First off, this is my 3rd Straight Talk android phone. The first was the LG Optimus Q. Good phone overall, but horrible service being that it was a Sprint network phone. The second was the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. Great overall phone, but it was missing just a few things I wanted, which is why I bought this phone. Now, on to the ups and downs of this LG Optimus Extreme (which is what the phone is really called on the box, not LG L40G). First off, the upside to this phone compared to the previous two. It has Android 4.0.3 so it's the only ST (ST from here on out vs Straight Talk) phone that I know of that has ICS. The downside, however, to ICS is that it doesn't support App2SD, which is the ability to move certain apps, such as Netflix or Words with Friends, to the SD card to save phone memory/space. The upside to this, though, is that you can actually disable some bloatware apps, such as Google+, Play Books, and so forth, so if you never plan on using those apps like me, then you can disable them, in a sense freeing up the phones memory. Another great feature that I like about this phone, which is one of the main reasons I switched back to an AT&T based phone, is that they're the only provider that will allow you to use 3G based internet while you're on the phone. Of course the other phones that aren't AT&T will allow you to use internet via WiFi, but not if you're away from a WiFi source. So to me, that in itself is a huge plus. Another cool feature is that this is my first phone with flash. You can download apps that will allow you to use the built in LED flash as sort of a flash light. Of course it's not super bright, but it could come in handy when you really needed it, for example if you dropped your keys at night, or if you were in a room and the power went out. Finally, what surprised me about this phone is that the battery life is way better on this phone that the previous two I had. You can really almost go the whole day without having to have this thing on the charger all the time. So, to sum it up, the perks are: Android ICS, flash, ability to disable bloatware, 3G while talking, and really good battery life. The downs, in my opinion: not being able to move some apps to the sd card, not having HDMI out (which not many phones do), and the fact that WiFi hotspot is not accessible in the system menu. Oh yeah, I know the features listed says FM radio, but I don't think that's true, because I haven't figured out how to use it, nor do I see an icon or anything for a radio app. Hope this review helped! Maybe one day ST will finally release some phones that are 4G. Now that would be really cool. 04/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The absolute best phone I have ever had My husband bought me a LG Optimus Q for Mothers Day and I thought it was the absolute best untilllllll my charger connection broke inside the phone. Thank goodness I bought Walmarts cell phone insurance for the phone about a week after I got it because when it broke 2 weeks ago I dont know what I would have done. I filed a claim by phone on a Sunday night, was sent a ups label via email on the same night, sent the phone back via ups the next day monday and recvd my gift card also via email on tuesday. Went to walmart to buy a new phone because someone told me walmart had the samsung galaxy on sale for $299 which was a lie and plus they had none stocked in the entire store so I took a chance and bought this one. This phone so far has not only met my expectations but has exceeded it and Ive only had it for about 2 weeks now. It has way too many things to brag about but I promise if you buy it, you will definately love it. 03/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LG Optimus L40G- also known as the Optimus Extreme Hard to find but was worth the trip once I found the store that carried it. New Android operating system (come on Straight Talk, 2.3 on all the other phones in your inventory??). Fast on the internet, WiFi up and running in a flash as well as the Bluetooth syncing to my portable speakers in a matter of seconds. Runs on AT&T's system and I seem to have a nice strong sign all all over Central Florida. For this price how the heck could we go wrong?? 03/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING!! This is my first smartphone so I was a little unsure what to expect. The phones that I had previously were the blackberry style but with limited access to the web or apps. From the first moment I unboxed this phone it was the easiest and best one I have ever had! It has tons of features and is super quick at loading web pages. Also the call clarity is fantastic. For this price it is an amazing value and would highly recommend it to anyone! 04/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Smartphone I've ever owned This is my third smartphone (I've owned an HTC and a Samsung smartphone prior to purchasing this one) and I can't get over how much better this phone is than the others I've owned. The battery lasts about 12 hours without having to be charged (unlike the samsung galaxy phone I had, that had to be charged constantly). The webpages load really fast, and the camera takes very clear photographs. I like this phone so much I'm purchasing an insurance plan for it (which I NEVER do, when my phone malfunctions I buy a new one). My only complaint is it's difficult to find a case for this phone using it's american name (try using the European name instead the LG optimus L5) 04/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleased with phone...Met expectations I researched this phone extensively since it was my first smartphone. I didn't use a phone for much more than making calls but after I got a tablet a few months ago and saw all the useful apps that were available, I thought that having them on a phone you could take with you all the time would be great. This phone was easy enough for me to learn how to use since I was already familiar with the android OS from my tablet. I have WIFI at home so I can use my internet related apps without using any data but I can still access them when I am away from home via my phone plan. BTW I got the Straight Talk plan also after doing much research on it and so far am pleased with it as well. I have now got it set up with all my apps and was able to keep all my pictures and contacts from my old phone since it takes an SD card which I simply removed from my old phone and inserted into this phone. Since my old phone didn't do much of anything, having this smartphone is like stepping light years ahead of what I had. Very pleased and hope I will continue to be so. 10/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal! I want to thank all the previous reviewers who have been specific about this phone - it really helped me in my purchase. First of all, it seems to be the best deal going since it has a 4.0 OS. I have only had my phone for a few days, and this is my first smart phone, so I'm not comparing it to more expensive "fancier" phones. So far I've been very happy with it - I was able to easily figure out the basics right from the beginning since it is quite intuitive. I really like the screen designs and menus and the easy navigation. There are helps onscreen for a lot of actions - it was so easy to attach a picture to a message - I still haven't figured out how to do that on my old phone! And I found the LG 40 user manual by searching for it online, so that has been helpful for what I cannot figure out on my own. I've experienced excellent speed. It uses AT&T towers. The voice to text is GREAT - it hasn't garbled a single word yet! Being able to enlarge the keyboard by turning the phone on its side is very helpful. Also, I think I'm going to really like the synchronization with gmail - I can handle all my contacts data entry online and it automatically updates my phone's contact list. I am very happy with my purchase! 05/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Phone!!! This is an awesome phone. It does EVERYTHING I need it to. I had the Palm and Evo in the past and was nervous. This phone does everything my last phone did. In fact, it is much faster and does a lot more things a lot better than my last phone. Also, Straight Talk is phenomenal. I was with another major contract phone carrier and couldn't get signal in certain areas. Now I get signal EVERYWHERE!!!! It took me about 1 and 1/2 years to finally make the change, but I have done it and I have no regrets or complaints. 04/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This phone was made for me. Nothing but good things to say about the phone and the Straight Talk service. I know this is no iPhone. But for the difference in price, I am very satisfied with this product. Even my wife is happy with this phone. This is the first electronic toy I have ever bought for her that has not caused her much frustration. She actually picked up many feature before I did. We are still learning new things after 4 days. The screen size, weight, cost, ease of use, voice call and so many other features all make up a very enjoyable product. There has been nothing to complain about yet. I did call Straight Talk a couple of times to get me started. I had a very pleasant experience both times. Caring, informed service is one thing that ran me away from another carrier two years ago. That was a very unpleasent experience that was an experience from you know where. Bottom line: very nice phone. So glad I found it and decided to give it a try. Recommend it highly. 06/07/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by l40g AKA optimus extreme AKA L5 E610? this is my first android phone and ive only had it for a week. overall i really like it so far. i was choosing between the samsung galaxy proclaim (a cdma phone piggybacking on verizon) and this one (gms phone running on att) , both priced @ $150. i ended up with this because it uses a newer version of the operating system (android 4), has a larger screen and supposedly better camera. additionally, i foolishly assumed that being gsm, it would work overseas (more about this below) the phone is snappy and intuitive but comes full of the usual google privacy infringing software. the camera leaves some to be desired: poor focus, excessive shutter times, so-so colors makes it an entry level phone cam, 5MP or not. i appreciate the large screen. but for reading it is blown out of the water by an iphone or even a $60 e-ink reader. of course, the former is more expensive and the later only good for reading, so its an unfair comparison. for what it is, it works! the battery life is ok for a smartphone, a few days if you dont use it too much and dont run apps that use gps etc. the description claims it comes with 1G of memory, but per the phone it is actually 2.5G, of which the preinstalled apps only takes a small fraction. from searching the internet i believe this phone is the same as the L5 E610 (or possibly 612) sold outside the US. this is useful if you want to root the phone as there is little info on the l40g but a lot on the L5. dunno if it applies for this one, waiting for someone else to risk theirs first :) the only thing i do NOT like has more to do with Straight Talk than this phone. Even though this GSM phone is designed to work anywhere in the world, ST has really gone the extra mile making sure that will not happen. i can understand that ST doesnt allow international roaming as they would have no way of passing the foreign charges back to you, but they have also locked this non-subsidized phone so it cannot even be used with a local sim card while abroad. they stone wall you when you ask them for an unlock code to your - not theirs - phone. your only recourse is to install spotify and call via local wifi networks. oh well. all in all its still a great phone. i would recommend it to anyone looking for a decently priced smartphone primarily for US usage. 04/20/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Phone Good coverage , it's ATT. Works great inside where I work. Tryed Sprint and Verizon covered phones had bad coverage in my work place. Great battery life. Pictures are ok, depends on where you are. You can save battery life by turning off your browser. I'd buy it again. 12/10/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great phone but ..... I order this phone off of the web site and I got it the day it was supose to get to my home . When I got it I opend it and transferd my number from my old straighttalk phone to this one wich took about 2 hours . Then I got to playing with and I like the android 4.0.3 because it has a lot of nice features . The down side is the screen you have to angle it to get a clear view if what is on it you just cant have it straight up and down 06/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome phone I have had all three types of smart phones, and enjoy the Droids a bit more, so of course I went with what was sung as the Galaxy killer. This phone was easy to set up, the tutorial was optional, it backs up my contacts and data automatically, and allows me to customize everything. One three day period, I lent it to my less tech savvy mother, and she easily adapted to it using that tutorial and is now buying her own. Definite good purchase, no problems, and well worth the money. 05/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have had it a month and really like it. It is operating fine, I have been a AT & T customer for many, many years and my phones operated great with them even in the mountains of N Mex, Az and Colo and all over Texas . I nnede to save some money per month and the straight plan so far works good for me. I do not download a lot ofapps but I can if need to do that too. I bought this phone because of the good reviews and so far glad I did. I do not usually all the google stuff (which is personal) but I set u my e mail and internet through A T & T Yahoo just like I have had on my home computers and notebooks and it works fine. The only thing I am trying to find out how to do is a simple one, but I have ot found how to save" an incoming call when it comes in and I do not have it i my contacts. Also LG has a support and instance messaging on their site that was great. Track phones has tutorials on their site. 05/30/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by LG Optimus Extreme I was wanting to get a new touch screen phone. I saw this one was on sale it looked like a good deal. so I ordered it online because they didn't carry it in my hometown walmart store. well so far its been a good phone, does nice pics, and over all its a good phone for the money. It does have some flaws but they are minor. Like you have to clean you cache often if you have alot of apps and sometimes the keyboard slow. so sometimes you may get frustrated but that has happen to me on ever touch screen i have owed so I call that a minor flaw. I think its a good phone for the price. I'm getting my wife one for Christmas she currently has the att prepaid. I think she like this phone. 11/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Phone My only disappointment in this phone is the fact that you cannot move downloaded apps to the SD card. But one reviewer pointed out that you can disable some built-in apps that you don't use which helps save internal storage space. I previously had the LG Optimus Q, which allowed you to move SOME apps to the SD card. Those which could not be moved used up most of the internal memory. Even though you cannot move any apps on this phone, I still have plenty of memory available and I have more apps downloaded than on the Optimus Q. The screen is big and easy to see, the dial buttons are also big and well lit so no dialing wrong numbers. I love the touch screen. A light touch is all it takes and you can customize your home screens with folders so you can put alike apps in one folder (games, photos/camera, etc...) One folder only takes up one spot on the screen so you don't have to scroll thru 5 screens to find what you are looking for. I do miss the slide-out keyboard which I used all the time. I am still getting used to the virtual keyboard. A.I. Keyboard from Google Play is a nice option that can be customized. I am still learning the camera, but so far the pictures are so much better than the Optimus Q. This camera has a flash and many settings that I have not even begun to dive into yet. My favorite is the "Say Cheese" feature - turn it on and all you have to do is say "cheese" and it takes the photo - no need to push the button. I have not used the video camera yet so I cannot comment. 04/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I am impressed While this is not my first "Smart Phone", this IS my first really SMART phone. Totally blows away most of my friends verizon 4g phones with their Android 2.0. Very fast, multi-tasking a breeze. My only *itch is a really poor manual. The manual assumes the consumer knows a great deal about LG phones, AND, LG smart phones at that. Use the tutorials available online and blogs to really learn how to use this phone. This is a T-Mobile phone!! 04/26/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent starter android This, being my first smartphone,was an okay device. At first, everything ran smooth, but after heavy use and customizing it to my specifications, it slowed heavily. Music would stop playing, and just generally not load at times. Apps ran slow, and below expectations. Clearing the cache, and stopping apps from running helped at first, but near the end it just didn't cut it and the phone continued to lag. The processor is poor (800Mgz) and the small amount of RAM leaves something to be desired. That said, for it's reasonably cheap price, it was nice. I would buy this ONLY as a starter android, as it really isn't much to look at. Personally, I'm upgrading to the Samsung Galaxy s2, which for only about $50 is a considerably better phone (Just a recommendation if you cant afford it). In summation, the Optimus Extreme is what it is, and that's just a starter phone for the less tech-savy among us. 11/07/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great phone. Got this online because my local store did not carry it. They had the "showtime" which is basically the same phone but with a 1000 Mhz processor instead of the 800. For the $130 difference, I'll take the processor that's a bit slower. Unless you're a real teckie, this is a smart phone that has all the features most people will use. As long as I close apps when I'm not using them, I have plenty of battery for the day and then some. The sound is clear as is the screen. My one complaint has nothing to do with the phone but with the fact that StraighTalk GSM phones run the AT&T towers and AT&T is not really "unlimited" data. After 1.5g they radically throttle usage. There is a CDMA model of this phone and perhaps I should have gotten that one. I would appreciate if LG had something akin to the Nokia Suite but haven't found it if it's there. 05/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too Early I am a smart phone neophyte and cannot compare this phone to any others. However, so far, I love the phone. Works great and you can't beat the price with functions it has. A better camera would be nice, but this one works fine for what I want it to do. I think the value is terrific. 04/29/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Phone and service are working very well. Initial start up was difficult in that the startup info card had the wrong serial number for phone. The serial number inside the phone is required to turn on with Straight Talk. The phone number assigned by Straight Talk had a previous users name that continues to appear on the caller I.D. of people I call. I have spent almost 2hours on phone with Straight Talk with negative results. So far, I would recommend the LG phone but maybe not Straight Talk service. 06/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this phone! This is my first smart phone so really I can't compare to owning other smart phones. I do like the phone a lot! The menu's are easy to operate. Everything seems to work with no problems. The sound is better than any phone I've had. I Work in a auto factory which is noisy and can hear very good, very clear. The picture quality is very good also. I'm comparing it with other's top rated phones and I think its better or just as good. So far I have no problem with signal. 3G seems fast enough for me. I don't think you can go wrong with this LG L40G. 05/23/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Big Screen charges fast I read a lot of reviews before purchasing this phone. I have been very happy with it except for one thing. The owners manual is short and basically non-existent. Beware of the screen it is easy to butt dial people even if you lock the screen. Have butt dialed 911 more than once. If you shut off the Bluetooth by mistake, do yourself a favor and just shut off the phone and turn it back on. If you try to turn in back on from settings you will be waiting forever. Camera works great and so does the video function. I would purchase again. 04/30/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great phone for the price I have had this phone for about a month and love it. I have a work phone that is a I phone 4 and I would take the LG over it. The only problem I have seen so far, is there are no plugs to block debris from getting in the charging port. I really enjoy this phone, and got a 32 GB micro sd card so I have plenty of room to download music. My wife and son will be upgrading to this phone in the near future. 04/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4.0 is a lot better thsan 2.3 I originally bought a Huawei Asend Y that had a 2.3 Android OS. This was garbage and always crashing and not allowing me to add contact. Also said memory was low all the time. When I saw this phone with a better OS (assuming 4.0 is better than 2.3) I invested in it. So far no problem except it won't let me save programs to the micro SD card. I suppose I could use the SD card to hold my music. Other than that I am very happy with this phone. My suggestion is to spend the extra cash and buy this phone over anything else out there with a 2.3 OS! 04/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great phone is great. battery life is almost 2 days with a full charge, enough memory to download all of my favorite apps and more, typing is easy especially since I had trouble typing on a touchscreen. sometimes i do get disconnected from internet access even though I have full bars but its rare. otherwise, great phone great price great carrier 06/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This phone is great. The plans offered are very affordable. The over all quality of the phone is good. The screen resolution is not as good as what I am use to but after using it for a few days it wasn't that bad. The options offered are pretty cool and are user friendly. The camera takes great pictures and the flash is a nice option. This was a great phone for 150.00. This phone works off of ATT towers which has impressed me very much. I had sprint service before and I was always dropping calls and not having signal, so the ATT service is way better than Sprint. 05/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I really like this phone. I wanted a smart phone and so far this one is doing everything I wanted. I like being able to add apps. The Android 4.0 is great. I am still learning about the different features of this phone. I like the text messaging balloons and when I am talking on the phone the reception is better than my previous phone. I admit this is the first smart phone I have had and I am very happy with it and would recommended it to anyone. 05/03/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Smartphone Overall I've had this phone for about six months and overall its been a great phone, however I wish the phone had a better processor. The phone only has a 800 megahertz processor which causes the ram to shoot up if you have too many apps. It also causes the keyboard not to come at times. The camera is ok but the pictures tend to blurry and fuzzy even though it has a 5 megapixel camera, the camera is bad about taking a picture even when the camera is not focused, outdoor shots are pretty good but indoor shots are not too good. The phone is bad about lag especially if the ram is up. It uses AT&T towers which works good if you live somewhere where AT&T works good in your area. I will be looking at upgrading to another Straight Talk phone in about a year. 02/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone at a great price This is a great phone. It meets all my expectations. I purchased the smaller lg version on black Friday. I knew I was going to love this one. It has the 4 inch screen. It does everything the smaller phone does and more. I would recommend this phone to all my family and friends who are looking to purchase a very nice phone at an affordable price. 04/30/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T08:26:19.865-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_244, tr_244
  • loc_en_US, sid_21997721, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 204 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw479
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp