Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 357 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving This! I was scared to try this after reading so many bad reviews. I actually bought the box over a month ago and just decided to give it a try. My hair is dark brown with red undertones. Some people even think it's black at times so I wasn't hoping for a miracle, it's box color. If you want something amazing, go to a salon. I just wanted a tint of purple-ish red. I mixed it up and it was white, which put me off a bit cause usually my color turns dark right away. I started to apply anyways and soon my gloves were a reddish pinkish purple color. I just went with it. Now it's dry and its a lovely purple color with hints of red. I am not a fan of red but this is really beautiful. Obviously it works different for everyone, but I will be stocking up on this color for sure! 07/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 gorgeous deep violet This color is a darker version of the other new shade "London Lilac", and it is gorgeous with my pale skin tone...I am stocking up on this colour just in case it gets pulled off the shelves! 03/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the color This is a great color and has held up extremely well. I will use this again and probably try the other shades. 03/13/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quality hair dye I really liked the color and that it actually showed up because I had dyed my hair black for many years. The dye makes my hair look black still, but in the light and especially when I go outside, it gives off a violet to red shine. However, it is really runny and if the dye sits for too long, it begins to separate. This was the only issue I had with the dye, since I had to use 2 bottles for my longer hair. The scent of the dye is pleasant but really strong and made it hard to breathe at times. Other than that, I would purchase this product again. 03/16/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great product but not the color on the box I love all of the Vidal Sassoon hair dyes simply because they make my hair feel softer and healthier than before I dyed it. I usually don't have much of a problem with the color but this one did not turn out as I thought. The color on the box is noticeably purple but the actual color on my head is almost black. There is a slight very dark purple tint to it in the light but that's it. I don't hate it since I'm a fan of black hair anyway but if you are looking for a true purple color, do not go with this. 07/08/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Looking for purple tones Great product but you either sell out too quickly or do not keep enough 03/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantabulous! I love VS 5 RR medium vibrant red! Vidal Sassoon is right on point with this product! The color is super easy to use, mix, apply, and gives excellent pigmented color that lasts for 6 weeks or more on my thick curly gray hair. I don't find the ammonia overwhelming; it actually has a nice smell to it. The color is the right consistency, as a normal color is, and applies just as easily as other cream colors. The cream conditioner that comes with this product is absolutely excellent! It leaves my hair soft and smooth to the touch, never greasy. And easy to manage! I've been this color for over 3 years now, so please DO NOT stop producing it. I get compliments all the time and the color sets off my hazel eyes and olive skin. The price is right, the color is excellent, and the product is wonderful! I finally found a red that is a red, not orange or coppery, and a red that looks Fantabulous! 02/19/2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by washed out the box says 8 weeks of color, mine washed out in a week. worst hair dye I've ever used. 11/09/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Color AND Value! Excellent color with great conditioning system that ACTUALLY turns out as vibrant as it appears on the box! I'm in love with this Vidal Sassoon shade and how easy they've made it to use. To make it all the better, Walmart sells it for an exceptional price! PLEASE don't ever discontinue this product!! 02/28/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love I love this hair color. It is nice and red, on my hair. After about a month, it starts turning a light pink color, so I wish that it lasted longer. But, we all know that red hair is hard to keep. I love the color, when I first put it on. I even love it, after a month. It's a great color, just hard to keep. 01/11/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Color This is a beautiful color. The purple is exactly that, Purple. It starts out pretty dark but eases into a beautiful jewel purple in a couple days. I will be using this again. 09/04/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by London Lilac 5VR I am an office manager of a medical facility, so I was a bit skeptical about trying this color out, but trust me, it's appropriate for those of you who work in a "professional" setting. I wanted my hair purple, but not too crazy, and this has been the best on my hair. I have dark brown hair, but the purple is definitely visible (subtly). In the sun, however, it is brighter. I started coloring my hair with London Lilac 5VR since Feb this year, and I repeat every 2 months. It does wash out a little per every wash, so I suggest don't shampoo daily. I wash my hair once every 2-3 days and it last. I must warn that towards the end, the color is lighter... which is a good thing if you really want that purple to pop. 08/25/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this color Love the color 07/30/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible I used two boxes to go from brown hair to this violet color.. results were awful.. color washed out did not show or last! I have more purple color down the drain than in my hair. 06/25/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by So-so color Color beautiful when it was applied! Color, however, did not even last 2 weeks. The color "bleeds" every wash since. For the price, the result was very disappointing! 10/21/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome color! I have been using this product and color (5VR) for about 2 years! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! Easy to use, and the color stays for about 5 weeks in my hair. I like to color as soon as I see roots. I am complimented frequently on the color and how my hair "shines". I will continue to buy the product. 10/15/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it I love this hair color. I've had it over a year now and get tons of compliments. I go for a while with the lavender and then this one back and forth, totally love them both! 05/15/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Love this hair dye 09/15/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great color Love this color, Walmart seems to be the only store i can find this color in. Hair is very soft and silky with this product. Love it 03/02/2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice color while it lasts Faded within 2 weeks. Looked great at first. 02/20/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING!!! I absolutely LOVE this hair dye! The color is beautiful in sunlight and indoor lighting. Being someone who has tried many other hair dyes (Manic Panic, Splat, etc.) this one is by far the best. Yes, I would definitely recommend this to anyone. 02/13/2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really looked great and natural. Looked natural and shiny. 01/29/2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not work I had medium brown hair, and this turned my hair black with no purple.. after a week or so and 4-5 washes I finally had a little purple hint, but only in bright lights or sun light. The color also faded so fast that by week 2 it was just blah looking. I am so bummed, I wanted purple hair without going crazy and had been so excited. I have used other colors form VS with great results.. 01/26/2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Color It was much darker than expected but matched back of box.Great gloves included! Only complaint I have is that it took FOREVER for the water to run clear and it still seems to be dying things when my hair is wet over a week later!Make sure you dry your hair! 01/22/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shock and amazment I was a little skeptical at first to try this color fro a long time.. I had been look for something that would different and also cove the red hair I had... tried several different brands of purple but it wouldn't come out right...I saw this product and figured this is my last chance....boy I'm glad I took the chance and did it.. I had already had read hair and it covered it beautifully.... Pros.: It covers easily Smells delightful easy to Use Cons: Cheap gloves Little bottle of Conditioner over all I'm in love with Vidal Sassoons hair care and color line.....will be using it for years to come 01/12/2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Recomended I did my hair and it didn't work at all it just left spots not a very good product. 01/11/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great The product is great leave hair really soft 01/03/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE London Lilac! Switched to this hair dye after paying out almost $200 multiple times a year to have my hair colored in a salon. I have thick, curly hair and one box of this color covers my hair pretty well. I used two boxes the first color. I have a few grey hairs in the front that this color covered pretty well. AND I get compliments on my hair color ALL THE TIME! Its a beautiful color, kind of daring without being too daring for the office. In the sunlight it looks a little more red, but still beautiful. PLEASE dont ever take this color away!!!!!!!! 12/20/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I use this color and product all the time. Haven't found anything comparable. 12/15/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by mixed feelings this product covers and colors beautifully, the only bad thing is the smell, it's not recommended to anyone with breathing problems because it is VERY strong 11/23/2015
  • 2016-03-24 T07:19:36.466-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_357, tr_357
  • loc_en_US, sid_34217115, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 357 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw303
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp