See All Reviews
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 39 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great concept....POOR QUALITY! After doing a lot of research we opted for this grill. However, as we put it together it was scratched and we were going to have to repaint it to protect it properly....that is straight out of the box! Very disappointed. Next, we grilled one time and being that we were grilling burgers we did not use a lot of charcoal....the charcoal pan is so flimsy that after rolling up and down a couple of times the frame bent and simply would not hold up. The entire grill is of poor quality. What I liked most about it was the cast iron grates, the fact the shelves would let down for more effective storage, the fact we could move the flame up and down for better cooking, and an easily removable ash tray. Like I said previously....overall great concept just poor quality! 09/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gift for the BBQ Chef in your family I Bought this Charcoal Grille for Dads day for Hubby who is a Dad to 4 and Grandad to 13....and it is so awesome...we love the taste of Charcoal grilled Meats etc as opposed to gas....we feel ya might as well cook on the stove. This grill went together easily and perfectly as per instructions and after we seasoned it with the (Your choice) Veggie/canola/corn oil as per instructions we cooked on it 2 days later to our delight....All of the meats were so tasty and done to perfection. Great Product made by Charbroil....try one won't be sorry Pam in Mich 06/21/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by THE WORST!! I bought the grill on sale and was very excited about the price and the grill size. Little did I know I was buying one of the worst grills. The front handle does not work properly. The in the front is a total defect along with the handle and the drawer for the charcoal is not lined correctly. I am so disappointed with the grill and would never recommend it to anyone. 05/27/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Nice Smoker/Grill Beware of shipping This product has very nice features to it, if you do use a lot of natural lump charcoal be forwarned that the grate the charcoal sits on is a little on the light side and will most likely burn out pretty fast, should work ok for briquettes though. This product offered free shipping and fact are they should have paid me to let them ship it because it came a little beat up and would suggest that one would have it shipped to the local walmart rather than your residence as it may arrive in better order. 08/23/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor quality I have had this grill less than a year and the area where the charcoal sits is rotting out. The grill has never been in the weather and is ALWAYS cleaned out after it cools down. Not happy that I now have to find another grill. 05/27/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst grill ever First thoughts was great price for such a nice looking grill, but the old saying, you get what you pay for is so true, however with paying close to $200, I would thought it would have lasted longer than 1 year. Started falling apart after 4 months, but now we can not ever use it because the grate that holds the charcoal has completed rusted through. DO NOT BUY THIS, you will be sorry you did! 06/12/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor design--wheels break Unfortunately this Char-Broil grill is poorly designed. The front caster wheels both broke within 18 months just from moving the grill around the patio. The casters screw up into the legs, but that housing inside the leg is weak and breaks loose. Avoid this grill if you are looking for a mobile grill that you can move around. I have Char-Broil grills before that were sturdy. This one is not. 06/01/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Grill I ever brought The tire came off. The grill height screw in adjuster does not work. after about a year if has all most fallen apart. Do not buy this grill and expect it to last for a long time. On the positive side it does cook good. 06/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by like it very well like it very well 09/04/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Charcoal Tray Rusted and flimsy Rating poor only for the charcoal tray as it rusted after being put away covered in my shed from last years use. No to mention it is so flimsy when the charcoal is added on to it it drops down on its own when it is leveled high. 08/13/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought this grill almost a year ago and just had to order a replacement rack that holds the charcoals and just notice the bottom pan has to be replaced also.It is a very good grill just wished some of the parts could be made out of better material.Good grill for the price 08/08/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality grill I love my grill... great control of heat well made for the price Easy clean up of wood or coal ashes also when I lean up the exterior I wash it then give a very light coat of oil... I would highly recommend to people that take care of their things and want something I think will last for years 07/13/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Char broil 800 Bought this grill couldn't wait to get it home and put together. Opened box got it all out and NO HARDWEAR NO INSTRUCTIONS ONE PART IS BENT NO SWING AWAY GRATE OR THE PORCELAIN GRATES. Store advises to call char broil. We'll it's Sunday CLOSED. Now I'm stuck with a box of grill parts. Very unhappy!! 06/14/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tough cooker Love it and have been using it at least three cooking seasons. But we need to replace the coal shelf but there is no model sticker on the back of the shelf so I can't search for parts. It only has one outside shelf and the chimney is on the right side. The charcoal holder moves up and down manually on a ladder type system. Any help you can give me is appreciated! 06/11/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap material about this gril 2 years ago jerry is very thin doesn't hold up very well so I had a chance I do it all over again what thicker grill 05/28/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this grill. Yes when you move it around parts come loose. I always tighten them back up. All I need to know is where I can buy more grates for this exact grill? 05/28/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I disagree with many of these reviews I've had this grill for almost two years now and love it. I've cooked turkeys, pork shoulders, tenderloins, steaks, you name it and have never had an issue controlling the temp. I've moved this grill on many occasions with no damage. Maybe if your dragging it out to go tailgating you'd have an issue but not moving it around the patio. The quality is fine, I'd buy another one in a minute. 05/14/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looking for accessories! Have a charbroil grill very similar to this one (only one side shelf- right). I don't see my model on here. Wondering if charbroil makes a smoker box accessory to attach. 05/10/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by want another We have had this grill for 5 years and used it year 'round. It lived outside, sometimes without the cover. It has served us well. Time for a new one. We have shopped all over town and believe we want another one just like this. It served our needs for large gatherings and family dinners. Perfect size and does the job for the price point. Now, we cannot find one without paying $200 for shipping. HELP!! 04/22/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great grill for charcoal grilling the best This is my second grill im ordering today. Moved. My first and last one is still going strong at least 10 years. Never had a problem ever. After several years, I took the body off the frame and used it as a desk top in our newly built barbque center. We also installed a gas and never used it. Only reliable charcoal broil. It always delivered the best taste and quality of cooking 03/07/2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice grill, thin metal The adjustable fire grates, multiple vents, and ash tray allows this grill to accomplish most grilling needs. The major downside of this grill is the thin metal. The lid has begun to warp and it doesn't sit flat when closed. I used it ever weekend last summer, so I learned how to adjust my grilling to accommodate for the thin metal and partially open lid. 02/20/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Totally Converted Me Back To Charcoal Cooking I have been using Char-Broil gas grills for the last 10 yrs. I previously had the Char-Broil Vertical Gas Smoker but after 3 yrs of usage I noticed I couldn't maintained the heat level needed to cook food safely. So I decided to try going to charcoal. This works so well for my needs. It did take us (me and my sister) a couple of hours to assemble (poor instructions) but once we got it together I can't say enough good things about this grill. I use it more as a 'smoker' and it works pretty well. I've read some of the other reviews about the metal being very thin and rusitng and I haven't experience that so far. I use mine about 5 times a month. I really like the ability to raise and lower the charcoal grill as well as being able to add charcoal without having to open the entire lid and losing heat. I've smoked brisket, pork, and turkey legs and the've all came out perfect. Also the grill grates are the best I've had from any grill (gas or charcoal). I have 4 other family members looking to buy one now. Highly recommend!!! 09/12/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideal size and load worthy I really enjoy the abilty to grill good size portions on this grill. You can fit a couple of large turkeys on it at one time and still have eoom for steaks. The fold down sides are outstanding. 09/11/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Flimsy At Best Cannot move it without something coming loose. Metal is thin enough to be bent with two fingers. Had to purchase additional fasteners and screws from a hardware store as many were missing from the parts package. Extremely beat-up from factory packaging. Only thing of quality is the grates. I will not buy another Char-Broil product. I would not recommend this or any other Char-Broil product to another buyer. Sorry I purchased it. 08/29/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by could have been a great grill I really wanted to love this grill but the really cheap construction, super-thin walls and an ill fitting lid leaks heat all the time, I use an old brick to keep it down. Assembly took hours. Rolling it around it rattled horribly and the shelves really wiggle alot. The food grates are wonderful. 08/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice grill for the money! After deciding to go back to charcoal (from gas), I got this grill as a "startup". It was very inexpensive relative to other grills. I was attracted to the solid frame and the barrel-style hood. Assembly was a bit cumbersome (probably because I was doing it all myself) but well worth the effort. I seasoned it one day and cooked with it the next. Everything cooked to perfection! The best attribute is the temperature control. The raising/lowering coal sheft and the smokestack make for perfect cook and flavor. Highly recommended... Great grill for my purpose!! 08/08/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best grill we've ever bought. We were originally looking for a smaller grill because it's only two of us. But we decided on this grill because we do entertain occasionally (using the full grill), and we would only use half if cooking just for ourselves. Love the fact that the charcoals can be raised or lowered depending on the heat needed. We mostly use just half of the grill (one grilling grate) which leaves the other one clean for the next use. Great quality, easy to use, easy to clean. 07/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Grill I NEED this in my LIFE!!! This grill is a must have, easy to maintain & very durable. I am very glad to have this grill. I have posted many pix of my grill being used on social media & many of my friends/contacts have inquired about this grill. I have definitely more than a few times recommended this product. 07/10/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this Grill! I am on my second grill of this model, and just ordered a replacement charcoal pan. I like the ease of clean-out, the large cooking area, and especially the crank system for raising and lowering the charcoal pan. Use it for my family as well as large gatherings. Only complaint ( and a small one) is that the charcoal pan rusts out too quickly. Would like to see it made more sturdy. 07/08/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Every man shoul own one It was easy to assemble by myself, directions are more then clear on assembly. Little bit of a seal issue which makes for interesting indirect grilling at times but overall the best grill I have ever owned. Raise the coal tray all the way up to sear a pork loin then drop it down and go to your cool zone to indirectly cook for an hour this grill is perfect. 07/07/2014
  • 2015-10-06T07:56:12.874-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_21726126, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 39 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.