See All Reviews
Gold's Gym Vinyl Weight Set, 100 lbs
Gold's Gym Vinyl Weight Set, 100 lbs
$38.76
List Price: $89.99
You Save: $51.23 (57%)
Wal-Mart Exclusive
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 277 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not bad for the money The 100lb weight set is a bargain as a cheap 'garage' set. There are enough different weights to get a lot of combinations, the discs themselves are well-finished and quiet (concrete/plastic construction) and the clamps are strong enough & easy to use. The one drawback is the joint on the 2-peice bar - it digs in your back when doing back squats & in your neck during C&J's. I'd reccomend finding a 6-7ft length of 1" pipe or solid bar to replace it. At $45 though, it's a steal. The product was ordered with free site-to-store, no express delivery or anything, and arrived one full WEEK before it's estimated arrival date. Two WM associates even took it out & put it in my truck for me.Outstanding service from WalMart. 10/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value, excellent quality, good for everyone. I purchased this set from a Walmart store to replace an old raggedy set of cement weights that have been passed down for the past 25 years. I got "swole" using the last set and had been using them for 10 years. First, I'd like to let everyone know that there is NOTHING wrong with cement weights. Your body will never be able to tell the difference between a $48 set of 100lb cement weights and a $200 set of 100lb steel weights. You get exactly what you're expecting with this set. The bar is sturdy and strong, and the weight plates are thick enough to take numerous short drops to the ground without cracking. I would recommend this set to anyone, whether you're a body builder or a teen trying to gain a few pounds. This weight set is awesome! 10/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the job! Just what I need to do my workout st home instead of joining he gym. Got it on sale in the store, and for that price you just cant lose! I placed tape over the junction where the pins are inserted and the two rods meet to prevent pinching, etc. Overall I am very happy with this...mostly for the under $45 price because even if I should stop using it I didnt lose too much. 03/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price. Very good set for home use as most of us do not have room for an Olympic set. And of course its way cheaper than an Olympic set. Very good value for the price. I have been using them for a while now and have zero complaints. The people giving bad reviews do not understand "you get what you pay for". They expect a $300 dollar set for 40 bucks. 06/09/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by A few problems Definitely a low price but this product could be improved by 1: The bar should be shipped in one piece or at least let the buyer know in advance that a hammer will be needed to connect two short bars into one by smashing two rivet type connectors. 2: The spring clamps are shorter than most and it makes them a bit more difficult to use. They could have easily been made with longer arms for a couple cents more per piece. 11/11/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent value! Great way to start a home gym. The product provides exactly what it says. 100 lbs in vinyl coat cement 1" weights, a barbell, and two spring clips. The weights are an excellent value on their own and come 10, 15, and 25 lbs sets. The barbell is the only reason this product doesn't get 5 stars. It is a two-peice bar connected with two pins that must be hammered into place. I had no issues assembling my bar, however it would be ill advised to attempt to use this bar for more than the weight provided in this kit. The spring clips are another draw back, so far they have done their job but threaded bars would make me much happier. All said and done thought, for under 50 bucks you get an amazing kit that is great for starting off. If you need a robust bar capable of taking over 100 lbs look at the more expensive options. If all you need is a basic barbell for casual personal fitness get this kit, you won't be disappointed. 02/03/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gold's Gym Weight Set I bought this as a starter set for my teenage son. It is great for the money! 12/30/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Weight Set We liked this set but one of the weights was craked and leaking sand. Better quality control would have been nice! 03/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product. This is a great product. It's good quality and does not feel cheap. It's perfect for anyone who is trying to get into a little bit better shape or for someone who regularly visits a gym but wants to supplement their training when they can't make it to the gym. I gave the item 4 stars instead of 5 because I wish the weight incriments were more gradual. You are only given two 10 pound, two 15 pound and two 25 pound plates. I would have liked to have seen some 5 pound plates in there. Without this, the minimum increase in weight you can go is 20 pounds total (10 plate on each side) without having to switching from 10 lb plates to 15 lb plates. It can become tedious. Other than that, this product is great. The value is also excellent. I'm very pleased with this product. 08/31/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unbelievably poor quality Fast delivery - got it at 10am just 3 days after ordering - had it back at a WalMart store by 3pm the same day. There's no way to mess up a plastic-coated piece of concrete - the weights themselves are just fine. It's the two-piece bar that's the problem. The bar was in two pieces, is HOLLOW, and is made of a relatively flimsy metal. It joins in the middle as an insert, and doesn't even have screws to hold the two pieces together. Instead, there are two metal pins that you have to hammer into place to secure the two pieces together. On mine, the two bars fitted loosely together, and they kind of hinged-off in the middle, making the bar appear BENT in the middle. The pins didn't line up, either, and one of them was actually damaged when I tried to install it. I wasn't going to hang 100 pounds over my head attached to this bar. I wouldn't buy this again, and wouldn't recommend it to anyone who didn't want to get injured trying to get healthy. 10/21/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent Product/Terrible Online Experience I ordered this for my boyfriend for Christmas on 12/14. The shipping initially said delivery on 12/22. Then it changed to 12/24. Then it changed to 12/28. On 12/28 it was delivered to the wrong house, six houses away - even though the address was correct on the label. I get that was a FedEx problem and not Walmart. The box was barely holding together. There was sand leaking out of the box. Once we got it home and opened, we saw that the product itself was damaged and leaking sand. We took it back to the store. When we picked a new one off of the shelf, the packaging was equally terrible and barely holding together. This product was in much better shape. The product is great for the price, it is just a disaster trying to get the actual product. Whether in the store or ordering online. 01/11/2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by I want a refund This is hands down the biggest piece of garbage I have ever purchased. The fact that it got 4 out of 5 stars is mind boggling. The screws that hold the barbell together KEEP FALLING OUT. Literally every time I touch the bar or pick it up, the screws fall out and the barbell falls apart. I am so angry I wasted my money on this. I cannot even use it because it falls apart in my hand. I am going to see if I can get a refund on this. This is not only unusable but DANGEROUS. To be lifting 100 pound weights over your head and then have the barbell break apart because the screws falls out. GARBAGE! 07/09/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great beginers Set Cons: The connector pins that hold both bars together do not stay in place; I've had to tape them to make sure they stay. (Simple Fix) Pros: Durable, Good Build Quality, Strong clips & Bar. Very reasonable Prices Conclusion: This is a great deal at an excellent price. It gets the job done. I would recommend this product. 04/07/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the weights had busted open during shipping. The sand inside the weight went EVERYWHERE and made a HUGE mess. Returned it the same day that I got it in the mail. Would not recommend this to anyone. 03/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reasonable Should have been packaged better as there were small cracks in 2 weights. This is a basic starter weight set that is reasonable in price and that is what you get. No more,no less! Be aware that the size of concrete weights are quite large if you can deal with that you should be OK. 02/19/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great weight set for the price. This was bought for a present, the price was good,plus free shipping,you can't go wrong with this item. 01/01/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Gold's Gym Vinyl Weight Set, 100 lbs The weights are okay, it's the bar and clips. The bar is two piece and held together with pins in the middle & it's HOLLOW. The clamps are small and the weights wobble when in place. We had to buy a solid bar. Had we known the bar was as it is, we wouldn't have purchased it. Description left that info out. 01/01/2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by you get what you pay for if you want to lightly train at home this is the set for you. total weight is ok but if you want to increase it there is no more space available at the sides. one downside is that the bar comes in 2 pieces and you have to hammer in 2 rivets which I dont think its very practical/safe since sometimes it feels as if the bar was gonna break in the middle. but overall its a good amount of weight for the money. 03/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great set The weights are exactly what they need to be and the price is great. 02/24/2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by great value just needed to add some weights to my home gym. simple to put together. nothing fancy but for the price cant beat it 02/11/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product I was extremely pleased when I got this product. It arrived a day early and the shipping was great. Everything is pretty sturdy. For the price, it is a steal! The only down side is it is a 1" diameter bar. Almost all barbell weights are 2" diameter. So if you you want to add weights they would have to be in the middle of two of the original weights if you get what I am saying. They would be lose, but they would work and stay on. Overall, if you are not looking to add weight, this is great!!! The bar will have to be put together with a hammer, 2 pins need to be connected in the bar, just so you know. Also, the pins dig into you back when doing squats, so I would recommend wrapping some tape around them or some sort of cushion. I love his product and it is absolutely amazing for the price!!! Thank you Gold Gym! 02/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Value weights A very good value. 100 lbs is 100 lbs no matter the material. The only problem for me was the grip for the bar, that is easily fixed with a pair of gloves. 01/15/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bar is cheap and dangerous. If you put much weight on the bar it comes apart. Dangerous if trying to bench press. 02/01/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great beginner set Beginner set great to start. Bar needs to be longer and pins in bar should be more secure. 12/30/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good basic weight set The only thing I think they should do is break this down into two boxes. A couple of the weights were slightly damaged due to employees trying to move the heavy box. It is also very hard to get out of the trunk when you get it home. 11/23/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Weights aren't accurate and clamps are garbage I just broke my living room coffee table doin an oblique exercise with only seventy pounds. You put the bar on your shoulders as in doin squats and bend to one side then the other. well the cheap junk clamps couldn't even stop thirty five pounds from sliding off the end. Bar also bends pretty easily and the pegs that hold the bar together that most 2 year olds would notice is not smart at all, used to fall out all the time, only one at a time never both, 'til i decided to put electrical tape around em to hold em in place. Overall, yeah it's cheap, yeah you can do some things with it, but it's the dumbest weight bar i have ever seen in my life. You will never see it on display cuz they know they would never sell it if it was. spend double your money on name brand, Gold's Gym is garbage, and never ever have any of these problems. my fault for bein cheap. 11/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product!!!!! I think this weight set is very good and it gets the job done. The only set back is that the pins that hold the bar together can come out very easily. I actually had to tape mine down in order for them to stay. Other than that, this is a great product at a good price. Of course it wasn't going to be perfect since it's so cheap. When doing squats, the pins in the bar may hurt someone's neck so I suggest wrapping a towel around the bar as a cushion. Great for beginners, and be careful with adding extra weight to the bar. I believe the bar is made to handle the included amount. Any extra weight may damage the bar. Since I bought it I've been doing deadlifts, squats, power cleans, clean & press, and anything else you can think of. You can build up great strength and size with this weight set. BUY IT!!!!! 07/27/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great starting weights New to weight training and I wanted something basic and inexpensive to start off with. These are great and get the job done!! Definitely recommend. 11/10/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Gah Overall the set looks great.... but... when it was delivered it was left in the rain (even though we have a porch) and when we opened it we threw away the box. Then tried to assemble it but a piece that holds the bar together is missing. I have tried to get a new pin but the company is no help saying I have to return it but I can't return it because I threw away the soggy box. Overall very frustrating. 01/23/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for beginners and busy people I got this set & the dumbbell set because I have no time to go to the gym. My only problem with it is that I can not use more than these 100 lbs with this bar! It was stated on the package. 11/11/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T08:12:59.136-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_277, tr_277
  • loc_en_US, sid_21672519, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 247 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw351
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp