See All Reviews
Sceptre E245BD-F 24" 60Hz LED 1080p HDTV/DVD Player(2.6" ultra-slim)
Sceptre E245BD-F 24" 60Hz LED 1080p HDTV/DVD Player(2.6" ultra-slim)
$149.99
List Price: $199.99
You Save: $50.00 (25%)
Special Buy
See All Buying Options
Rated 4 out of 5 by 965 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations I was definitely wary purchasing this TV given its mixed reviews. I have been looking for the past month, keeping an eye on my options in the 24” / 1080p range. I wanted the best value with the highest quality possible. This TV has exceeded my expectations considering I paid 149 for it. I have it hooked up to my Dell XPS 13 via HDMI. The picture is crisp and audio decent after some changes to the settings for both, although I do prefer to send the audio to my LG soundbar via BT. The TV is quite slim even with the built in DVD player which works great. One thing to keep in mind, which I learned to hard way, is the wall mounting options. The pattern for this TV is 100mm x 100mm, but because the back is not flat, a mount arm with a universal mount on the TV end will not work. You need to have a mount that is 100mm x 100mm max. I would suggest this TV to anyone. 12/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV I bought this TV for my bedroom. Once I plugged in the hdmi cable-oh my goodness, I came into the 21st century-wallah! Someone complained about the sound and initially I agreed, until I went into the sound menu and changed the settings. Gave it much more bass and now it sounds great. Use the menus to give you what you need. Great picture, sound and price. The DVD works great also, but it does take a little getting use to when inserting the DVD. It doesn't just "grab" the DVD the way I am use to it being inserted. I ordered TV on Thursday and had it on Friday. Way to go Walmart. Will buy another to replace other, older TVs. You can't go wrong. 11/20/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by For my sons room Got this to hang HIGH on the wall in my boys room. He can't reach it, so I'm under control of when it's on/off and what's playing. I got a wall mount that allowed the extreme angle he would be looking at it with to be within the view angle of the screen (~45*). I wouldn't categorize the sound as small, it's plenty loud enough. The problem is it seems as if the default EQ is WAY off. It sounds like you're at the other end of a really long hallway. I haven't played around with the audio settings yet to see if I can dial it in any better. My son doesn't seem to mind (he's 10). I did notice, however, that the remote has a section for controlling a sound bar. It could be a strategy of Sceptre's to get you to buy an accompanying sound bar. But the way I see it that's flawed logic. The target audience of this product are people who want LESS equipment (TV+DVD combo), so they're not going to be getting a sound bar, they're just going to rate the product lower and tell you the sound is under par. The picture is as expected out of a 1080p, awesome. 12/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This tv surpassed my expectations, I have purchased two Sceptre TV's for my camper and am so impressed with them that my next TV purchase for the home will be a Sceptre. 11/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Majorit of reviews were spot-on I read many of the reviews. This TV is a good deal. And somehow got it shipped to me in one day. Great picture quality and it comes with a DVD player. That's awesome! But the sound is so horrible. The iPad speakers are better than this. BUT.. I knew this before buying because so many people mentioned it. So I wasn't disappointed. I needed the TV with a DVD player and they were harder to find than I expected. So it's just a matter of buying a soundbar if I want better quality. It's in a bedroom and will eventually be for my son, so it's not that big of a deal. If this is your main TV, look elsewhere, or buy a soundbar to go with it. I assume Sceptre knew the sound was such garbage, that's why they added SoundBar buttons to their remote control.. possibly knowing people would be buying that extra accessory. 11/01/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good little TV for the bedroom, kitchen, etc. We bought this knowing that the sound quality on these TVs isn't great. I am using it in our spare bedroom which is my craft room. I love the fact that the DVD player is built-in and I watch a lot of DVDs-I have like 150. I had some old wireles speakers that I actually hooked up to this TV and then the sound was great! My boyfriend (who is all about surround sound and speakers and whatever) has purchased me a soundbar which fits this TV and should fix the sound problem with out the wireless external speakers I am using. If you are using this TV in your bedroom or the kitchen then I don't think you need to add any sort of external speakers unless the sligtly tinny quality of the sound bothers you. I was fine with it and if I had not had the extra speakers I would have not puchased any, or the sound bar on my own. The remote on this TV is also very nice and not tiny like my last TV's remote. It has a row at the bottom which can be used to operate an additional sound bar, if added. I am pleased with this purchase. 02/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product, beautiful picture. Product arrived quickly and in perfect condition; well-packed. Right out of the box, the unit worked perfectly, and showed a nice, crisp picture. Spend some time reading thru the well-written how-to booklet to familiarize yourself with the basic operations, and you'll save yourself some time. A lot of negative reviews center around less than stellar sound quality. That is a tradeoff of this and all thin-panel TVs, you cannot have thin panels and big speakers; it's a compromise. That being said, I found the sound to be perfectly fine, once I adjusted the bass and treble up; bass up about 70%, and treble around 55% up - but you should trust your own ears as the room and placement of the TV affect acoustics. My 74 year old mother thought the sound was perfect, with her viewing at a distance of eight feet, volume turned up about 70%. I will be buying another one to use as a computer monitor; love the picture. 12/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great combo for an RV Bought this TV-DVD combo to use in our RV and it is OUTSTANDING! Very good picture quality, screen is big enough, built-in DVD player works well and is much more convenient than a separate unit. The TV has far more features and menus than expected and build quality is very good. Lightweight and easy to store when we hit the road. And since it has both PC and HDMI connections, we also use it as a wide-screen monitor for our laptop -- at home when we aren't travelling and in the RV when we are. We can even use it to play music we have recorded on a zip drive. So for less than some pay for a TV alone, we have a TV, computer monitor, DVD player, and music player -- that's great value! The sound is rather tinny -- as you would expect from such a small and thin package. But that's easy to overcome by plugging in external speakers to the headphone jack (we use battery-powered ones that also work with our Ipod; a set of powered PC speakers would work as well). 12/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i love it, great picture , clear , great sound , i would buy another 10/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great buy.. and movies too... I purchased a 40 inch Sceptre last Christmas..from WalMart and just loved it.. so. when I needed a small TV for my office I looked for this brand.. and surprise surprise.. found one just the right size and wow - Can watch DVD's and not extra equipment.. Love this and love the picture and the sound.. It is a great Television... and the price is right....even had my friend purchase the same one yesterday... 11/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the money I bought this set for a spare bedroom and have had guest in the bedroom every since. The TV is a great value. The picture and sound quality is great. It was worth every penny. The DVD works great also. 11/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I have the 42inch model and its great. These tv's are made by Sony and will never fall short of what you want. I use them with my computer the pictures are great with nexflix and hulu, I don't have cable tv. 11/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by All the right features at an awesome price I am using this as my main computer monitor with a PS3 hooked up to it on a multi-monitor desk. I have no picture or eye strain problems with this thing, but I did have to tone it down a bit in the picture options. Make sure to use a VGA cable if you are going to use this as a computer monitor often. I noticed slight graphical differences between the HDMI and VGA options... The speakers could be a bit better, but I turned the bass up and it seems passable now. The volume cant be turned up too high with the bass jacked up, or the speakers get very distorted, but luckily the sound carries pretty well at even low volumes... I would have bought this even without the built in DVD Player. This is the best deal I was able to find for a 24" 1080p LED TV. The remote control seems tough and works fine, but I have not tested it at a great distance. I cant say how the built in TV tuner is, as I have no current need for it. Eventually this thing will be used as an actual TV so having these other features is great... 11/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by recommend to everyone 10/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice TV for the money My old TV in the sunroom lost audio and was not a HDTV. I was able to replace it with this larger, flat screen TV/DVD combo that was much more light weight than I thought. The wall mount I had fit this TV, and I was able to install it alone (female, age 61). It is connected to a Hi-Def receiver, and the picture is great. The DVD player works perfectly as well. My only complaint, as with other reviewers, is the sound isn't what I thought it would be. It isn't intolerable (rather tinny), so will keep the set. Upon my research prior to placing my order, I found that many TV's of this size seem to have he same problem with the sound. This TV met all the requirements I wanted, and the sound ratings were not as bad on this set as other brands I researched. As an aside, there was free shipping for this TV. I ordered it on 4/20, and the confirmation stated I would have it by 4/30. I then got another email saying it was shipped and I could track it. It came today, 4/22. Very pleased with the speedy delivery! 04/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous little TV...what a bargain After reading most of the previous revews on this product which were mostly positive with some negative about sound quality I was taking a gamble with this purchase. I have to say that after using it a few weeks, I am thoroughly impressed. Amazing TV for its cheap price and even comes with a small stand. Pros: Easy assembly Multi use as TV and computer monitor for working with good clarity. Needed a little adjustment so I could see the print on the screen especially from my spreadsheet which was a little blurry at first. Contact with Spectre customer service with excellent results. Stand is not wobbly even when I had to place it on top of my printer to save space. Great picture. Good sound. DVD player on the side of the screen is genius and so easy to use but read the directions first haha. Nice not to have to plug and unplug wires from behind by other TV that is huge. Light weight so fairly easy for even kids to move around but perfect screen size to use as a bedroom TV or computer monitor. By the way, it was the same price as a monitor alone of the same screen size. Remote is easy to use and came with batteries. Cons: None so far 03/21/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT TV/DVD COMBO FOR A BEDROOM JUST A QUICK NOTE ON THE SOUND QUALITY, IF YOU TURN THE TREBLE BELOW THE BASS THAT WILL DROWN OUT THE EQUALLY SOUND FROM THE POOR QUALITY. NOW IN DVD MODE THE SOUND IS ALMOST 70% BETTER. NOW I DID HAVE A 32 SCEPTRIC THAT BLEW OUT SO IM HOPING FOR BETTER LUCK THIS TIME. 11/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the price Bought this TV for wall-mount in an approx. 250 sq ft home gym. The set up was easy and I am very satisfied with the picture and sound quality. There are several reviews giving this TV a poor rating on the sound quality but I don't have any problems in my particular setting. If you plan to wall-mount this TV, you may want to consider that the DVD case at the back of the TV is not flush with the rest of the TV's back. In other words, wall-mount plates that suit a range of TV sizes (and are thus larger than the recommended 10 x 10 mounts) may overlap with the DVD case and you may be better off with a standard mount plate. The DVD player did not require any adjustments. You just want to make sure that the TV is set in DVD mode before inserting DVDs to prevent any damage. Overall, the TV provides a great value for the price. I can't judge the durability since this is a new purchase but based on my experience so far I am happy with my choice and would buy this TV again. 07/11/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great tv dvd combo for the bedroom Perfect for what I needed. Cleared up alot of space my old TV took. Works great. I would buy another one in a flash. Walmart shipped it to me in only 2 days. Thanks Walmart. 11/15/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought 3 of these for our church Our church purchased 3 of these TV's for our children's ministry rooms so that our teachers would have a TV first with a DVD player in order to show movies or video curriculum's and also so we could stream our worship service into the room during services. They are light weight, very good sound and picture run over HDMI from about 50+ feet away. No issues with sound or picture quality. One of them had a letter of the name fall off the front but it was a sticker so I just reattached it, that's aesthetic not functional. 11/22/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Picture but sound needs some work... The picture of the TV is really great, however the sound is not so great. luckily I had a set of computer speakers I could use with this TV. I would suggest buying a set of inexpensive speakers that have a 3.5mm jack on them to fix the sound problem. Also there is a weird chirping noise that you can hear when the sound is real low while using the DVD player. Is if you plan on falling asleep while watching a DVD with the sound low, think again... But for a bedroom TV it works just fine! 11/14/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed I have had a 42" Sceptre LCD HDTV in my living room for about two years. I am very happy with it in all respects. So when I was ready for a new TV in my bedroom, I stuck with Sceptre; got a 24-inch. The first disappointment was the lack of an HDMI cord. My other one included the cord. The picture coloring could not be adjusted to a normal depth, tint, etc. It was the difference between looking at a water color v. an oil painting. The sound could not be adjusted to a quality that I found acceptable. I tried to adjust to it and watch it on different shows, but it remaind unacceptable. I returned it. 12/01/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by What did they say? OK, I didn't spend a lot on this TV and it is a little better than the one it replaced which was 11 years old. If I had waited a few more days I could have purchased a better set/larger screen for close to the same amount of money. Anyway, if you want good sound don't waste your money on this TV. If you want it for a small work shop or to use in the kid's room it will be OK, other wise try something else. Once you get use to using it, the DVD is a nice feature and works OK. In short, it's OK for the money but you can do much better. 11/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great value tv I purchased this to use in my home gym and it works great. I would recommend it for the quality and the value. 11/13/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Although my on line shopping experience was good, I cannot recomment this product. The picture was washed out even after making all the adjustments we could and the sound quality was awful. Will return it to the store tomorrow, but will probably buy a better quality tv. I guess you get what you pay for. 11/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This TV was purchased to replace a ten year old analog. Screen size (after viewing a very small screen, is a treat!) We plan to use the DVD more than the other features, but it is nice to know that we have computer connection options. 11/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DOA - very disappointing First of all, this looked like a great bargain and the Walmart shipping was very fast, as usual. But the darn thing was DOA. I called Sceptre tech support and it took only a few minutes to determine that the unit was definitely dead. I'm so disappointed in such poor quality control that would allow a unit to be shipped with such a major defect. I'm not sure I'll order a replacement after reading some other reviews about this unit, and other Sceptre products. 11/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good little TV and DVD player combo It's small and compact. Very light. Great for a guest room. Dvd player works great. Sound comes from back of set, so could be better. Picture quality is okay. Very easy to set up. Delivery was very fast. 11/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Increditble tv for the money! Very pleased! What a buy! Excellent picture and options. Love the ability to change the aspect of the picture from standard, to zoom to cinema to wide, etc. Sound is a little tinny and LOUD, but havn't tried to use the advanced adjustments yet. Overall a great tv! 11/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke after only one year bought 2 TV's for my daughters for x-mas 2012. Recently ThanksGiving night, one attempted to turn it on and it did nothing but make a clicking noise. Tried to call tech support Friday (black Friday) of course they were closed! Many more attempts were made to get ahold of tech support, without success! I was on hold 20-30 mins each time I called, then ultimately would get disconnected. I will cut to the chase, my 1 year warrenty expired during my attempts to get ahold of tech support, so when we finally got a live person, they wouldnt do a thing because our warrenty had expired! The other childs's tv is ok so far, but we will see! 12/12/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T09:30:57.484-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_965, tr_965
  • loc_en_US, sid_21668672, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 886 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew480
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp