Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 271 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I build computers, graphic designer, web page designer, video editor, and a college student. This computer will handle anything I throw at it. I've ran 3 programs at once without any problems... Mind you they were a powerful video editor software, photoshop, and a sound editor. All at one without no problems... I also had my music playing, plus the Internet with many tabs open. 02/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Overall Everything works great and the speed online is amazing and faster than my windows 7 computer, but as of yet, I cannot get the fingerprint reader to work on any websites. 10/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware this model hp 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl I purchased 3 of these - 2 from Sam's Club and then this one from Walmart. Each computer had a motherboard problem - the power indictator showed 'plugged in, not charging'. Working with tech services, we tried a number of fixes, including hard resets, total drainage of the battery, and reinstallation of the operating system, including all original software. Any and all of these procedures provided a temporary fix lasting anywhere from a few hours to a few weeks. But the problem always returned. Luckily for me, each time it occurred, it occurred within the return policy and I was able to get my money back. First time, I thought it was a fluke. Second time, I thought maybe a bad production run. Third time, something inherent in the motherboard. I know this because the 'plugged in, not charging' indicator occurred without the battery in and without the ac adapter hooked up. If you google HP and 'plugged in, not charging', you will see a plethora of users having the same issue - an issue that HP has not fixed. And think about this - HP is getting out of the computer business within a few months. This was announced in August of 2011 (something else you can find by googling). How interested are they in solving inherent issues with technology that they will not be improving upon? Users in the HP forum expressed maddening frustration at their inability to get answers after the return or warranty period had elapsed. On the positive side, both Sam's Club and Walmart services were terrific. Great places to buy a computer but I would steer you away from HP. 02/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A really good computer easy to use and great for entertainment purposes. Not a fan of Windows 8 though, I think it would be even better if it had Windows 7. 01/03/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Windows 8 is very difficult to operate. If you can avoid it, do not buy a computer with Windows 8. Also I don't really like the keyboard. The keys feel different than what I am used to and it makes it hard to type correctly. I think they are just not tall enough. I did find it cool that this computer came with a separate keypad. 11/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Its a nice machine Its a nice machine. It is not touch screen so you should not expect that. The only thing I was not happy with was it took Walmart 3-4 days longer to ship it then what it said it would on the shipping webpage. 01/25/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not to happy with it I needed a laptop for school but also wanted something that could hold my music and watch movies.Windows 8 is difficult to navigate and find any files. Would be better if it was a touch screen but a far a using it for school its extremely frustrating. While the 17" screen is great for watching a movie, you must never be far from a power source, Battery life is less than the length of a movie. Because of its large size the board is very comfortable. 11/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Returned within a week kept freezing up! I bought this laptop as a gift for my daughter. Thankfully I did not show it to her before I checked out. It completely frooze up within 5 or ten minutes of starting up and would have to be turned off with the power button. I tried several different mouses and tried it with and without the wireless, still no luck. I only tried using it on 3 separate days and each time the same issue. I spent almost 2 hours on the phone with HP and we couldn't even get it to work long enough to download the latest updates from HP. They kept telling me "we will resolve this". Well a brand new laptop should not behave this way so I returned it. When I was at the store returning it another man came in returning his HP. He said he had the exact same problem. No more HPs for me. 05/26/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Two Strikes and It's Out I upgraded a very old Dell Vostro, thinking the Envy's fast processor and spacious video and hard drive space would handle high-end games. The problem: after a few minutes on even the least-demanding applications, such as Solitaire, the screen minimizse to the Desktop, forcing the user to re-click the application icon in the tray to proceed. This occurs randomly but normally within the first fifteen minutes. After that, the screen may switch to the Desktop every few minutes, sometimes three or four times a minute. I was running Sims3, so I tried less demaninding applications but had the same result: the screen would switch to the Desktop often and unpredictably. I thought I had a defective Envy, so I returned it and bought another one. Same problem. It seems this model has a systemic defect, or at least the two out of two Envys that I bought both had the identical defect. What are the odds? I'm returning this second machine for a refund, and I'll then be shopping from a local merchant who can tell me how well his machine handles heat. I wouldn't recommend this Envy to anyone for even the simplest applications. 06/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by FedEx left this product at my front door without ringing my doorbell 01/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by IT WILL ALL BE GOOD WHEN I FIGURE OUT WINDOWS 8. 07/07/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice laptop for the price, but the fact that it is designed for Windows 8 is a drawback. There are NO drivers available for earlier versions of Windows. HP only has drivers for Win8. I normally run Linux and I was finally able to get that installed, but doing so wasn't easy. 07/01/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Misguided changes This computer is OK. I bought it to replace my previous HP dv7, which is dying after only 2 years--not an acceptable product life. I hope this one lives longer. The good --Good price, lots of memory. The bad Needless reduction of efficiency of use. Example: Many users (including me) prefer single left click to open documents, etc. But if you set it up this way, you can no longer use f2 as a shortcut key to rename files or folders. Why? Because HP decided that f2 should be dedicated to screen brightness. All HP had to do was set fn+f2 as brightness control, and the f2 key could still be used as a "rename" shortcut. This may seem like a minor issue to some users, but I bought this computer for photography (large screen) and on some days I have to rename hundreds of files. Either I have to go back and reset L click to double click (inefficient) or I have to rename files the long way (right click, scroll down, choose "rename"). Either way, HP's failure to consider the end user has created needless waste of time and energy. It's all about efficient workflow. I hope that I don't find other flaws. 12/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product has some great features. I do not like KEYBORAD!!!!!!!!! I would not have bought this laptop for this FACT alone if I had known. Also, I was told this model would fit in my laptop case after giving the measurements, it does not, so be careful if you already have a nice LT case that you intend to use. But, the product seems to be a good one and the graphics and sound are great, I have had 2 previous HP lattops and liked them, I am sure this one will stand the test of time also. Thank you! 12/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall A Great Laptop Overall, this is a great laptop. Used primarily with Microsoft Office, internet and as a Media Center; low light and bright sun light conditions. Ordered with 8 GB ram, non-glare screen, backlit keyboard, bluray, 9 cell battery and bluetooth. Has an open slot for second hard drive that can be added later if necessary. Build quality is excellent. Streams audio and video wirelessly (recorded and live TV mostly) with hardly any breakup/pixelation. Battery life is fairly good for an entertainment laptop, although it is primarily used on the charger. Touch pad is almost too sensitive-has no native sensitivity adjustment that I can find. The 1tb hard drive (5400RPM) is a little slow but I knew that going in. Lack of an instruction manual prompted a call to customer service with a question about the keyboard; answered immediately. I give it 4 out of 5 stars only because of the instruction & touchpad issues. 12/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect This (and the smaller dv6) are -almost- the perfect laptops. They, however suffer from two very annoying flaws. First, the VGA port and HDMI ports are too close together so you can't use them unless you butcher a VGA cable. Second, the graphics card (NVIDIA 650M) is capable of driving three monitors, but with the "dynamic switcing" between the Intel HD4000 and the video card, you can't use 3 monitors (even if you butcher the VGA cable and use both plugs) In general, the dynamic switching works really well, but it would be nice to be able to disable it and force the graphics card use (can't do this even in the BIOS settings...) One final little nitpick is not being able to select an SSD larger than the 160GB SSD. Otherwise, the laptop is very well built has a great screen, keyboard, etc. 12/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Purchased for Windows 7 I bought this laptop because I wanted to avoid the machines running Windows 8. The dvt7t-7000 is a full 17 inch laptop and the large size surprised me. It is heavy and almost not portable. The performance is top notch and I am happy finding the familiar Windows 7 features. 12/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good laptop This laptop has great resolution and features. The only reason why I dont give a 5 stars to this computes is that the built in microphone is terrible, no one can hear me while using it. ... the rest is great 12/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has great features that everybody can enjoy. Has all the software that any body can use 12/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really fast and great features The dv7t-7000 is a great upgrade. The boot-up speed and applications start-up speed is amazing. For an example, If you click on EXCEL or WORD to do some work, by the time your finger lifts off the mouse from the click, your ready to start working. Also, if I receive 50 or more e-mails in Outlook, it downloads them 100 times faster than my other HP core 2 duo laptop.I installed a SSD drive as the main drive and cloned the operating system to it and used the 750gb factory drive as my secondary drive(caddy & cable purchased separetely from HP), this allows me to create back-ups and system images without having to hook up an external hard drive. The extended battery goes forever on a charge which is nice !!! HP should include restore disk because it really would not cost them anything... oh well. 11/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amzing I use a USB keyboard with Pianoteq to simulate pianos and other keyboard instruments. I can tune it how I please and play the classical sonatas in the temperaments of old. Previously, I had to run this through an external sound card to eliminate noticeable latency. Now, I send the signal directly to my speakers from the headset port. Adapters facilitate sending the signal to ordinary stereo speakers. I installed a solid state drive with a clean windows 7 Pro installation to speed things up and found that the 750 GM 7200 rpm drive that came with the computer also boots and restarts and loads programs rapidly. I can play my music with either Windows 7 Pro version without hearing any of the crackling and popping sounds that result from a stressed system.. I am very impressed. 11/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Runs fine except for NVIDIA GeForce I've been trying to fix this problem since I detected it two weeks ago. Device Type NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M Device Status Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43) Plug and Play ID PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0DE9&SUBSYS_181D103C&REV_A1\4&438082C&0&0008 11/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value! I have only owned if for 3 weeks. I had no trouble setting it up and using the HP "Maintain" option of the "Support Assistant" software tool that came with the unit to tune it up by downloading and installing updates released after the unit was manufactured. It is a delicate piece of equipment so make sure you have a good case to protect it while in transit. Not too happy with the quality of the keyboard. Everything else, so far so good! 11/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast computer, pour wireless connectivity System is pretty nice and quiet- i7 processor, 16GB RAM, 7200 RPM 750GB Hard drive. 1080P Full HD Screen is very nice, colors are bright and clear. Backlit keyboard is kind of cool but an unnecessary option that you will probably find yourself never using. Beats Audio sounds good and is better than typical laptop speakers. Simplepass feature is ok. However, it seems to prevent your web browser from opening up very fast at times if your homepage is a site that you have a saved password. Sometimes it will freeze the browser and it won't open at all which is very frustrating. Thankfully there is an option to turn it off altogether for web pages. Once I turned it off all webpages open as normal. I got the 9 cell battery upgrade. The angle it gives the laptop is nice but battery life is not as advertised. It will say that there is a half hour of battey life remaining and 2 minutes later will be at critical state. Wireless signal strength of this laptop is pour and is much weaker than my older HP Pavilion (6 year older!). It's disappointing to pay top dollar for a performance machine and have it come with an inadequate wireless card. Overall it's a nice system but HP still has some work to do to make it great. 11/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by superior in all respects Good construction, very fast, hybrid HD is excellent. Computer boots in half the time of a standard HD. 11/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sharp Laptop The HP Pav dvd7t 7000 Laptop is great. It's FAST screen is Sharp and everything is Excellent. Thanks HP. 11/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I have had my HP Pavilion dv7-7012 laptop for about a week and I love it. I love the style of it and love that the keyboard is backlit. It doesn't say that in the add but it is. I swore I would never have a laptop but broke down and bought one and I am very pleased with this one. You can't add memory to it but I will never have to anyways. It is big enough for my use. So far a very nice product. I love how it doesn't get hot. All I can say is that you won't go wrong with this laptop. 11/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best laptop I've ever used. I am a college student that needs to use demanding software such as AutoCad, and this laptop runs all of my programs smoothly. The high-end CPU combined with extra RAM allows me to create more complicated models without performance lag. Not only that, I am able to run Skyrim on ultra-high settings. I have also watched a few blu-ray movies and the high resolution screen makes movies look amazing. The audio is also far better than anything I've heard on a laptop. All in all, I love my new laptop and I would highly recommend it. 11/03/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pavilion dv7 On my second laptop, the second one is better then the first one they sent me but this one is still dodo. Won stay connected to the internet wifi or wired. 11/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, Beautiful Screen, and loud When the only thing I can complain about is fingerprints. It is a winner. This laptop is fast and handles tasks with ease. As other reviewers have said the beats audio is good on the external speakers but better with headphones. This is the first laptop I have had that my wife complains that I need to turn it down. The. HD screen is gorgeous. You won't be disappointed 10/27/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T08:43:45.896-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_271, tr_271
  • loc_en_US, sid_21666187, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 266 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew494
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp