See All Reviews
Black & Decker Single Burner
Black & Decker Single Burner
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $7.00 (28%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 19 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does NOT run continuously.... will not boil water fast as other reviewer claimed on the double version of this unit- B&D, and all other companies come to websites and write glowing reviews for their products all the time. the problem with this unit is that the heat is regulated by the 'on-off' time of the element and not the intensity of the element. so for instance, on the highest setting, it will run for 10 seconds and then shut off for 5 seconds. it took almost 3 hours to boil 2+ gallons of water the other night when i used it on the patio for crab legs. i was ready to take a sledge to the piece of garbage. do not buy if you want to boil water. making eggs, bacon and light things that don't require constant intense heat, should be fine. DOES NOT BOIL WATER FAST!!! 09/09/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I RETURNED IT Black and Decker used to stand for quality.....This heating pad is really very cheaply made and is really not very sturdy. Look at it in the store before you buy, if you can (I bought it through the mail sight unseen). It is so light which I unpacked it I was startled. However the read problem is that the heating element is not big enough. I bought this as a temporary solution because my electric stove broke. The stove is over 50 years old and there are no parts for it anymore so I have to buy new stove and can not afford that right now. So this heating pad is a stop gap. I only used the B&D unit once to heat my tea kettle. The kettle holds 48 oz of water. After 15 minutes it still was not boiling. I since found out that these heating pads are basicly made in 2 sizes...700- 800 watts and 1300-1400 watts. This is a 800 watt unit. I do not remember them saying that in the add. I have since bought a 1300 watt unit on Amazon. This unit must weigh at least 5 lbs, is very well made, actually top of the line quality (Waring SB30 1300-Watt Portable Single Burner Sold by LLC $56.03) has many more features then the BD... a solid metal waterproof heating surface, lights to indicate it is on, and a second light to show that the pad has reached the desired temperature setting... wonderful. I am really impressed. However it does use a 3 prong plug while the BD is only 2 (might have problems using a 3 prong in some motels unless you have a converter). So the BD is going back to Walmart because I am not going to boil my tea water in batches because this unit does not put out enough heat. I am not going to spend 45 minutes making tea in the morning. The Waring heats the kettle up in less then 5 minutes,,, it is even faster then my stove was. Do I really need a new stove?? I am thinking a second Waring may be all I need. I just boil water and make stir fir...nothing fancy 08/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the job I was looking for a hot plate to heat a small pan containing wood chips to produce extra smoke for a smoker. This hot plate did the job at half power and the chips produced more smoke and lasted longer than those in the smoker itself. This worked much better than expected. 08/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is much better design than some of them. There is much more ventilation all around than other ones. It works great and bring the water to boil quickly. It can be fine tuned to meet the specific need of the temperature. The temperature control just come to the loud sound to pause the heating because of the component was made that way. 06/08/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only used it one time but did the JOB! Hunted everywhere for a single burner to cook outside instead of greasing up the kitchen. Seems like I hit the jackpot! 06/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect when you don't have a stove this product is very easy to use. it takes up very little space when it's not in use. the only other thing is that the product i bought works better with the smaller pans than the bigger ones. it works with all size pans it's just that it seems to fit the smaller pans better. i just need to buy one with a bigger burner on it. 04/09/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it can't beat price either great product just took forever to get it site to store 06/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Meet my expectation ...boils water quickly .. 11/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PURCHASE! I bought two of these and love them. I'm setting up a separate cooking center on my porch (outdoor kitchen) and these will lend themselves well for my purpose. When I need to FRY food or cook any items that are messy and/or leave an unpleasant smell in the house, these electric burners will serve as my cooktop outdoors. (Fried chicken/seafood, cooked cabbage, greens, etc. can be very messy and leave lingering odors.) When I cooked dinner tonight, I had only one item that required the use of my cooktop. I opted to use my new burner for that chore and NOT mess up my stovetop. I'm really going to find these very handy! 01/28/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 best in price /functionality Shipping took way too long for site to store, product looks and functions just as described. 09/15/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great... this time! I actually received it , only because I chose store pick up! Recently I lost $86.00 + on merchandise by having them delivered to my home.....My Items were stolen..Who ever delivered my Convection and another burner similar to this Black and Decker one, Allowed a stranger by the name D. Wight, to sign for my Items, the name was given to me by Walmart .com I certainly hope it was'nt the delivery person. I was never compensated by Walmart. 06/17/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by almost 5 One of the supporting legs was uneven. Apart from that, awesome product. 01/07/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not very sturdy or easy to clean but heats up fast Not very sturdy or easy to clean but heats up fast and looks nice. 01/22/2014
  • 2015-10-06T06:23:13.187-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_21582291, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-14 of 14 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.