See All Reviews
Dyson DC34 Bagless Cordless Hand Vacuum, DC34
Dyson DC34 Bagless Cordless Hand Vacuum, DC34
$129.00
List Price: $169.00
You Save: $40.00 (24%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 33 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Good, the Bad, The Ugly When first got it worked great. Would shut off and went through various troubleshooting items. Turns out I read another person's post.... very similar. It would just shut off. After getting a replacment parts, same issue. More troubleshooting and now a new motor component coming so I hope it fixes the issue. The main issue is holding the trigger down. I can see how those who cannot apply continuous grip strenght would be bothered (those with arthritis, carpel tunnel, etc.) I woud not reccomend this device. Not sure why Dyson has not come up with a way to turn it on or have a "hold trigger down button" similar to cruise contol. Waiting to see if the new replacement part works. Lastly, I am sure it is coming, but if you have a lot of cleaining the device will need a longer life! 06/14/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing battery life While this little machine has great suction, the battery life is extremely disappointing. It's really useless if you are trying to use it for more than one quick pile. Plus, you can't use it while its plugged into the charger. For the price that I paid for it, its has been nothing short of a disappointment. Will probably be my only Dyson purchase :( 06/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hand held This is the lightest yet most effective vacuum I have ever used! Well worth the expense... !!!! 05/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for it's Intended Use As stated in the title, this machine is perfect at the job it was designed for. Too many of these negative reviewers bash the runtime of the unit. To that, I say buy a plugin model - you're using this for the wrong tasks. A small, cordless vacuum is meant for quick tasks around the house. Like the kids dropping crumbs on the floor, or some dry dirt from shoes near the front door. And no, not saw dust, fireplace ashes, or talcum powder. Particles that small is the reason why industrial companies make big, expensive machines to handle that type of material. There's an old adage........the right tool for the job. Well, stick to that principle and this is the perfect tool for the types of jobs for which it was designed. Just because you can go out and buy the most expensive bicycle on the market, doesn't mean you should expect it to traverse coast-to-coast as well as an airplane. Good job once again, Dyson. This is my second vacuum and I still marvel at the designs. Excellent engineering. 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Attachment envy My DC34 has DC35 attachment envy. We want a long wand attachment so that we don't have to bend over to pick up the dog and cat "bunnies" . As a pet hair vacuum it would be nice to have a rubberized "scraper" or some other attachment to lift the weaved in hair stuck on the sofa, pillow and other cloth surfaces. No amount of suction will pull out all the fur! You can mail me the commission check for that idea! 05/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by kind of disappointed Its powerful, lightweight, but pricey. Work for couple minutes, and it stop, i have to constantly squeezing the trigger..:( Wish the battery can last longer; or it will be nice if i can use the charging cord as the regular power cord when the battery runs out and still vacuum a little bit more to finish the job instead of have to wait for the battery to be fully charge in order to use again(I know, it defeats the purpose of cordless). If i know that's the case, i would've purchase this product. 05/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerhouse little rechargebale I gave my wife grief when she came home with the little plastic rechargeable vacuum, but now I'm eating a little humble crow. The vacuum is lightweight as it should be, it has a very handy wall-mounted charging station, and most importantly, its has powerful suction that lasts a long time. We use it to clean our remote off-the-grid, seasonal home and this thing works twice as hard, twice as well, and twice as long as I had thought it would. I'm very impressed. I do wish that there was a standard charging interface so my phones, laptops, power-tools and now vacuum did not each have their own charging cord, but that's not Dyson's issue to fix. 04/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE THE NEW DYSON I REALLY LIKE THE HAND HELD DYSON, IT IS SO EASY TO USE AND SO EASY TO EMPTY. IT GETS INTO SMALL PLACES AND PICKS THINGS UP SO FAST. I LOVE IT AROUND MY DOOR WAYS, FRONT DOOR, PATIO DOOR AND LAUNDRY ROOM DOOR INTO THE GARAGE. WE HAVE HAD OTHER HAND HELD VACUUMS, BUT NONE WORKED AS WELL AS THIS ONE. 04/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Read the directions I purchased the DC34 handheld, after reading several articles. When I got it home and tried to use it, it shut down after about 20 seconds. Da, your supposed to let charge for three hours before using. I followed the instructions, and it performs as promised. I really like it. I would recommend it to anyone looking for power in a hand held-cordless vacum, it really performs. I made a right decision. Coop 04/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect...and a Design Classic! A fantastic hand-held cleaner thats perfect for cleaning the cab of my pickup truck and quick jobs around the house......and it looks AMAZING...a design classic and functional!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!! : ) 04/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Handy, time-saving little machine I have really enjoyed this machine in the couple of months I've used it. The size of the machine, the light weight of it as well as great design make it easy to use for all kinds of touch ups. I have a dog and mostly hardwood floors with area rugs. I vacuum a lot. I rely on this convenient handheld to go around the baseboards of all the rooms on at least a daily basis if not a couple of times a day. I can just zip around and in a little bit of time, rid the floors of those "dog hair dust bunnies." It has really good suction. Emptying it is a snap - just push a button over a trash can - done. The length of the nozzle makes it easy to get into small, tight places as well as lessening the amount of bending one usually needs to do to get around baseboards. I'm really glad I bit the bullet and spent the money for this great little machine. It would be nicer to have a longer run time, but it is, after all, a handheld, battery-operated piece of equipment. 03/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by hand-held van Bought this unit based on recommendations from several friends, and they were right on. Great machine, and a great design. Almost makes me look forward to cleaning the carpets in the cars!!! We also have a full size Dyson and it too is awesome.. 03/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by dc34 Great product a little pricey but worth it in the long term.As for the trigger that you here most complaints about, I love it, it turns off quickly without having to look for on off switch when you or busy. Could use a few more attachments. Great product, first time dyson owner! 03/12/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Vacuum - Terrible Battery Like the other Dyson vacuums I own, this is very powerful for a handheld. I use it to clean my car. Unfortunately, I experienced the same problem that other reviewers reported, it shuts down after less than a minute. I could not believe a new vacuum could have such a poor battery, but I bit the bullet an bought a new and very expensive battery. It operated the machine for about 5 minutes before requiring a new charge. After 2 months, it is down to about 1 minute of use. Come on Dyson, you can certainly do better than this! Very disappointing. 03/06/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DC34 We have two of Dyson hand held vacuums, as well as two of the uprights for two separate houses. Both the handhelds experience the same issue as another reviewer noted - they shut off after a few seconds of using and are essentially worthless. I loved the "sculpture handing on the wall." comment. 02/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice.... but Between my daughter and I we have 5 Dysons. Love them and won't ever buy another brand. Purchased this hand held for my daughter Christmas 2010, used this for the first time. It was light, easy to use and the suction is great. HOWEVER, I will wait to purchase one for myself when they can get it to hold a charge longer than 30 minutes. Very disappointing for a DYSON product. 01/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it ! but.... Does not hold with battery long enough (13 mins max)! When I get into the mood to use this easy to hold machine... I'm barely getting into all the great stuff it can do with it and can be frustrating! Wish it had a 2nd battery like the 'drill' my husband has that I could pop in and get another 13 minutes! Great on catching those nasty spider webs that suddenly appear out of no where and the crumbs out of my computer keyboard, along with all those so many other things! 01/18/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Power Button is a "trigger", NOT a Switch! Power and suction of this product are great, but in order to have power you have to keep the red button pressed in at ALL times with your finger. NO power SWITCH to just turn on and off. Also automatically shuts off after a brief amount of time of pressing the power trigger. 01/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mini Dyson Vac This little vacuum is the best small, hand-held vacuum I have ever owned. It is lightweight and easy to use. It is great for small messes and in the car. But, the battery does not last very long. On average, it goes out after about 20 to 30 minutes of continuous use and then needs to be charged for about 4 hours. 01/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This machine SUCKS! This machine SUCKS! ------Really, it does! I really like it! My only complaint is that you have to hold the trigger to keep the power on - can be difficult with arthritis. It could also be improved if there were additional brush attachments fro cleaning other surfaces. 01/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love this machine My wife bought me a DC34 for Christmas, it is wonderful ! I had read some negative reviews about battery life, but it is just not an issue, as long as you use it for what it is intended for, small jobs. It will clean the interior of 2 cars with power left over, I love the design and ease of maintenance. This is a quality product, well worth the price. 01/11/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just got it It looks like it will work well, but I am a super-senior and all of the bending down to clean a floor spill is getting to me. I wish it had a longer vacuum tube!! 01/04/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by DC34; good for a few minutes The DC34 was great for the first few minutes. However, as described in the manual, after 6 minutes or less, the battery dies. The vacuum is great for cleaning extremely small areas or items. Very hard to find extra batteries to make this vacuum worth all of the money. 12/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by love the little machine i would recommend the hand held vacuum to anyone that wants a work horse out of a hand held. I have had different brands in the past but i am certainly sold on this one. the suction is great. it is expensive but well worth the investment. thank you for letting me share. 12/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wouldn't live without it! I absolutely LOVE my Dyson Hand Vac. I've had it over a year and I use it all the time to do rugs, steps, baseboards etc. It prevents me from having to bring out the big Dyson or even a broom, on a daily basis. I've heard complaints about battery length, but I don't mind. If I have to this machine that long, it might be time to bring out the big one. I would like to take one star away because it's soooo expensive for such a little guy, but I can't because I feel it's worth every penny so far! 12/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Little vacuum with big heart. Just purchased this little vacuum a few days ago and I have to say I am impressed. I have never seen a vacuum of this size with the suction it produces. Short battery life but more than I have needed for any project I have found so far. I procrastinated buying one of these for quite sometime because of the price. Being an owner of 2 Dyson DC33 Animals I finally decided to take the plunge figuring I would end up returning it after it didn't perform to my expectations. But I will admit I should have purchased it along time ago. I find myself making messes just to use it. I highly recommend this product. 11/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by DC34 is AWESOME My husband calls me a "collector" of vacuum cleaners. I have owned as many as 8 at one time but when he bought me the DYSON my collecting stopped and I thought I was through looking for the "perfect" vacuum !! But then he bought me this little handheld. It is the perfect little vacuum, I have used in on baseboards, filters on refrigerator and dryer, my car, and the best part of all is the spot cleaning I can do in a jiffy when my husband brings in half the Ranch on the bottom of his boots. Well, I thought that was the best of all until I realized I can empty the canister, wipe it out clean and then suck up my craft beads to replace to their containers without having to pick them up individually or look for them on the carpet or chase them down on the floor! It is AWESOME and I highly recommend everyone give it a try. 11/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Delighted My husband and I have a Dyson upright and wanted something that was more compact and could travel with us. This is it! It is VERY powerful, charges quickly, and is light and easy to manage. The canister is easy to empty the attachments are very useful. I have nerve and muscle damage in my hands and it is very difficult to grip and hold anything that is heavy or awkward. This machine is easy for me to use. The suction is consistent with the Dyson claims. The MAX feature (boost of power/suction) is not something we will use very often as the normal suction is so strong. 11/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great little machine This was a purchase of over a year ago. I have given it a work out and it running strong. It is designed to pick up the stuff that is easily missed by a full size machine, For dog (pet) owners it is truely a gift. It will quickly suck up all the fluff balls (Pet hair)hiding under and behind furniture, close to baseboards and in the furthest corner. This is where it excels. On stairs it is fantastic as it is relatively light and will fit between the upright rails.It may run for only 20 min or so, but that is the extent of time I want to spend vacuuming anyway. I am planning on giving one to my son this Christmas to be mainly employed cleaning up small child messes on table tops. A versatile little machine. I love it. 11/26/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Maybe we overtaxed this vacuum but we expected better from Dyson for the price and reputation. We used this to clean up after cleaning our cat's litter boxes. Our old Dustbuster seemed to last better. In spite of scrupiously cleaning all on board filters our Dyson handheld simply cuts off the power after a few seconds of vacuuming. Now it's just a pretty sculpture hanging in our laundry room closet. :-( 11/24/2011
1-30 of 33 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw256
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp