Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 65 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic value! I really did my homework when I decided to upgrade from my 4 year old desktop to a laptop. I've studied the internal specs and product reviews of many laptops, extensively for months. I concluded that the NE56R12u by Gateway offered the best bang for the buck and would fullfill my specific needs. The fit, finish and function of this laptop compares favorably with laptops costing two and three times as much. Everything worked flawlessly out of the box. The performance parameters for processor, ram, intel graphics card were all very good. So much so, that I immediately upgraded to 8 gigs of memory for 20.00 from Micron. Now it positively screams. The unit stays much cooler than a couple other name brand laptops I tried and is very quiet. Optical drive works very well. It will read and write large complex files and video. Plays video extremely well with no lag and streams flawlessly. Keyboard and layout is excellent. The HDMI is a must have and expands it's capabilities for TV. It made my cable subscription obsolete. I would totally recommend this laptop over other units and brands costing much more money. Also purchasing through Walmart gives you an ironclad garantee that can't be beat. Buy this laptop with confidence. It is worth every penny and then some. 09/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Just bought this last night and i must say WOW It really is a great Laptop for the price and the Sales lady at Walmart is what really made me stop looking for another model....If your looking for a laptop and are on a budget then you should get this one..... 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent value, and the price was right This is my fourth purchase of a Gateway Computer. Gateway's service is excellent, and should you have to call them, you are speaking with someone in the USA> 09/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value My laptop arrived at the store, picked it up and brought it home, plugged it in and turned it on. Set up was simple and fast, it recognized nearby wireless networks listing mine first and luckily I had my security key handy and got online without a hitch. It's a little bigger than I realized, for laying in bed would probably prefer a netbook, but it's a very good back-up to my desktop. The keyboard takes a while to get used to, some keys like to go "home" are in different places, and Windows wants to do updates every time I shut down, need to figure out how to turn that off, it says please do not turn off your computer but I turn it off anyway, starts back up no problem. 09/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great laptop The Gateway ne56r12u is a great laptop. I've had it for a week and, i have had no problems. The connection is fine i can get to other websites fast. I could finally download the game i wanted. I just haven't watch a dvd yet on it or taken it to a wi-fi hotspot. It does connect my in house wi-fi no problem. Oh and the picture is nice. Did get complimented on the hard drive, memory and GB. Good laptop for day to day use and can paly your games to. Great value proud to say this is my first laptop. Oh and site to store is a great service will use again. 09/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best deal around With 4gig ram and 500gig hard drive I could not find anything close to this for price and preformance. 10/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by no complaints here i read reviews, maybe their were some defective ones, but mine runs smooth easy to set up, no touch pad problems, no slow processor it fast, speakers are good, one bar behind keyboard makes a a single speaker but go in speaker control and turn on the equalizer and and volume control, it came installed with bing, so if you want ie9 you have to put it in, please remember to go in and customize how you want everything , some computers will ask at set up this one did not, make sure you install all updates from windows and your set to go, its a sleek beautiful design, we love it i have a hp, and this gateway is almost as good, my hp is a little more solid built, but the picture is better on the gateway, i would not hesitate to buy this computer, grab the extended warranty for peace of mind 09/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOWW!! this computer is amazing it runs way faster than my hp and the screen is perfect its light weight downloads are instant and the keybored is nice overall this is the best laptop ive ever had and ive and 3 including a macbook pro but this thing beats them all gateway should be proud the built an amazing product 10/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! I never thought my daughter would be happy with a computer again. She has had complaints about the last 3 computers that we have bought, but this one exceeds all expectations. The WIFI receiver is excellent (the last 2 we bought and returned could not get any signal at all in her apartment). She has plenty of hard drive and the memory is good for her use. The battery life, in her words, "is amazing"! 10/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great laptop I am not an IT person, but my buddy is and he actually suggested this laptop. I have had it for about 2 weeks and it has been wonderful. i love it to be honest 10/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by gateway laptop just started using and found that this gateway is very good and very easy to get started with. Just one thing that needs to be better is the internal speakers are just so so. 10/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far this laptop has been great. I really liked the fact all software was already installed and I only had to do a backup disk. 10/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great laptop! So far I'm very happy. A lot of laptop for the money. Battery life seems less than what the specs say, but still ok. Very happy with the purchase & the free "ship to store" shipping. Even with local tax it was cheaper than anywhere else online. 10/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better Than Expected I had a tight budget and was leery of buying a Gateway because of feedback I received from others. Previously, I had a Compaq Presario and Toshiba laptops with the later being my favorite. The Compaq Presario was good but it got so hot that it burned my lap. The Toshiba was excellent however I wasn't going to spend $600 for a laptop again. My specs were simple: 2.1 GHZ, 4GB RAM, and at least 500 GB HD. With these specs I perused Amazon.com, New Egg, and a couple other sites. Although this computer was on other sites, WalMart had the BEST prices. My only critique is the mouse pad, it transitioned from being hard to move to extra sensitive. On the other hand, it meets all my needs and it's sleek and light. I'm more than satisfied and would definitely recommend this computer to others. 10/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I needed a laptop so that I could take my stock show documents to meetings and events. I use the Word, Excel, and Publisher programs. Also, I wanted to be able to watch full length TV episodes, movies and maybe play a game or two. So far, the computer meets all of my needs and the price was perfect. Also, I added a 2 year drop, spill and crack protection for next to nothing. Purchasing from WalMart was a much better deal than the last 2 Dell laptops we have purchased. 10/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good buy Bought this for my junior high aged-child, mainly for schoolwork. Really good price for the processor and screen size and useful for what we're using it for. The only thing was the shipping time--it said on the website that it would take 7-10 business days to get to the store for pickup and that was not an exaggeration--it was available for pickup 10 full business days after the order was placed! It took 4 days after I placed the order for it to arrive at the sorting facility in Utah, another 4 days to arrive at the delivery facility in Red Bluff, CA, and then another 4 days to travel 130 miles to the store for pickup. Talk about slow!! Walmart beat Amazon for price but Amazon is miles ahead of Walmart for shipping speed. 09/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat bang for buck on this one! Hard drive going out of old laptop, so bought this one. I am not a techie, but this deal cannot be beat. Will definately recommend this to others. 09/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I think a good computer, wish I could say for sure I ordered this laptop on Wednesday and it was delivered on Thursday, wow. I noticed when I turned it on the first time at the bios startup there were errors in the loading of the basic programs. I tried the service people at Gateway to help and I did what they wanted me to do but the problem was not fixed. When I called them back they said I should send it back. I have decided to return it to Walmart. I am going to order another of the same laptop. I do believe it will be a good computer for the money. I am hoping anyway. I am using the defective computer to write this review. 10/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A LOT of Laptop for the Money! I found this as a special deal on the Walmart website. I liked the fact that it was a name brand, had a big screen, and had the Pentium processor, versus the cheaper and slower Celeron type. At $335, I felt it was a great value. I special ordered it in the store and the woman who helped me was terrific. I received numerous emails from Walmart regarding the shipping date, expected date of arrival etc., and it was all very reassuring. It arrived in half the time they predicted. I've been using it for a few weeks now, and am very happy with it. I also like the fact that it has a DVD recorder, etc., and a lot of bells and whistles. I haven't tried the various options it has yet, but so far I'm very happy with it. My first choice would have been a nice Apple Mac Book, but at 4 or 5 times the cost, it was tough to rationalize. Also, knowing I have Walmart to back up the purchase, I am more at ease regarding the overall purchase. 10/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The keyboard is shrunk to make room for the number pad. It takes getting used too. Especially since the touch pad is off center. Another issue to be aware of is that the sound quality is poor. The max volume is barely audible, and virtually silent if you are in a room with any amount of background noise. Nevertheless, this laptop can handle multiple open tabs for internet browsing without freezing. It handles gaming software very well. The battery is long lasting. It does not heat up much, remains silent, and is light. Overall, I give it 4 out of 5 stars. Would definitely recommend. Great value for those on a tight budget, like yours truly. 10/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Computer I purchased this computer so I may continue my college education. It was an easy setup from start to finish. It's fast and easy to operate. I am very happy with my purchase. The battery life is great compared to my old laptop. Only issue I have is the mouse area. When it's on I am always hitting it and losing my information or opening other pages. Solved that with a wireless mouse! I am pleased with my purchase. 10/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy I had a horrible HP Dv5 before which was horribly slow and had over heating issues. Wanted something not too expensive yet a laptop which is good for daily tasking/work/personal use. I am completely satisfied with this product and recommend it to everyone, especially college students. light weight well built cool scroll pad features WORTH THE MONEY!!!! IF NOT MORE... 10/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT LAPTOP FOR THE PRICE Upgraded to a laptop for on the go. Mostly for games and web browsing. Very fast and nice graphics. Just wish the battery lasted a little longer but for what I paid, can easily afford a backup. 10/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good buy I am a heavy user and travel every week - to the tune of 200K airmiles per year. I pass through TSA checkpoints at least 2-4 times per week. So far this has been a good laptop, and an excellent value. I've never owned a Gateway before , so we'll see about longevity. The keyboard took a little adjustment coming from a Thinkpad T42. 10/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product Exceptional value, definitely would recommend to others to purchase product at Walmart. 09/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by you get what you pay for . . . and sometimes less. It would not connect to wireless. I spent days troubleshooting, and Gateway tech assist finally offered to fix; however, I decided to return for refund. Why waste anymore time on this unit? 10/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to be a good Computer We are not real savy when it comes to computers so if someone is looking to this review for gobs of information, you aren't going to get if from us. This computer is serving our needs well. Was easy to set up... 10/09/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I was expecting I bought this computer to help me with my first semester of college: this being my first laptop, I had expectations that were not met at all. The mouse pad area is awful. When I use it any slight move I make opens up windows and clicks on things I wasn't even close to. I ended up buying a wireless mouse because I disliked it so much. Second, the internet connection is slow. Sometimes it doesn't even load all the pictures on a page. Since getting WiFi for my house my desktop computer works perfectly on it and my laptop the WiFi is slow as a turtle. With it being so slow I find myself not wanting to use it because of the wait that it takes to load a web page. I feel like I have wasted my money on this product and I can't afford another for a couple of years. 09/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would not recommend this computer to anyone. I am completely dissatisfied. I spent all this money and the computer will not connect to the internet, or do many things the cheaper pcs could do without problems. I have never been able to do what I need to do with this gateway... 10/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor quality Would not charge. Returned to store for refund. 10/04/2012
1-30 of 46 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew322
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp