Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT Laptop So this is the my first review ever but I love the product so much, I have to add my two cents worth. To start from the beginning, my old laptop was a Dell that was only three years old but running Vista (I hate that OS). Due to Vista's instability, I decided that rather than upgrade my laptop's OS for $100, it would be a better deal to just buy a new computer. My Dell was in Inspiron 1525 with a Pentium Dual Core processor and 4GB of RAM (good general purpose computer but couldn't handle a fairly intense graphic game I had). After doing some research, I figured it would either be Dell or Lenovo. Man am I glad I chose Lenovo. The computer is a great deal. My option package includes the 1 TB 5400 RPM HDD, 8 GB of RAM, and an Intel i-5 3210 processor. I love this laptop to death! Pros: Processor was able to handle the game my other laptop wouldn't run and hasn't encountered anything it wasn't able to handle. Huge storage capacity still have more the 9/10 of my hard drive space left. Battery lasts for a LONG time. (It has lasted up to six hours on battery.) LOVE the keyboard. It is firm but responsive. Great key size. Windows 7 is much better than Vista. More stable, although it did have an issue (more on this later). The fan is VERY quiet and can be set to several different settings, including super silent and efficient cooling. The overall build seems to be fairly sturdy. Cons: Due to the fact that the drive is only a 5400 RPM HDD, it is rather slow when copying files or installing software. I didn't want to shell out the money for an SSD though so I can't really complain. The touchpad is very responsive; however, I am not a big fan of the fact that the right and left click buttons are also touch sensitive. Windows 7 had an issue with the Windows Update software. I was able to download the updates but, in normal settings, WU wouldn't configure them. I tried all of the Microsoft fix-it tools for the problem but they didn't work until I did a clean boot of the system and ran the tools. The issue was more with the software and not Lenovo's fault. In conclusion, I am EXTREMELY happy with the computer (now that the software issue is resolved). For the $600 I paid for it, it is DEFINITELY worth the money. 10/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by average type it`s quite amazing impression at the first glance by the way this product looks neat colors lightweight and very portable considering it`s a 15.6" but as iv`e explored its contents some of the features are quite a bit off from its advertisements.good sound yep its true,have a good display too(though i haven`t maximize the graphics yet)..love the keyboard`s spacing but the size of its keys are bit awkward.it does not utilizes the whole keyboard area.the island keys should be proportioned to its over sized track pad.felt its made of cheap materials and that it`ll easily break anytime.it would be better if you provide a series of models which is one tone only for major parts(white laptops are more appealing with white keys and the speaker area should not be noticeable).no sata port.can`t connect to a wifi signal as fast to its booting time.should you provide same amount of memory and storage drives on lower ends of those which are on the top?better if can be used minimum of 5-7 hours in battery mode..charger design is a chunk..cords should be plain and longer.nice dual output wire and plug.too much unusable usb ports. 10/14/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by i returned this idea pad i have experienced problems with the cursor jumping up to any place when typing. The keyboard and case are of cheap quality. this laptop has been reduced because you are purchasing what you paid for. it is a trade off not a real discount DONOT RECOmmed this product. 09/30/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Worth It I got this laptop during the Labor Day sale, and I see now why it was discounted. Despite all the talk about powerful computing and quick start-up, this computer has been anything but. It takes 4-5 minutes to start up (and I've barely installed any new software). When it does turn on, it takes 2-3 minutes to connect to my home wireless network. The computer constantly freezes while I'm doing basic functions, such as browsing the internet. The only way to fix this is Ctrl+Alt+Del, which "wakes up" the computer. Since the first day I got the computer, I've been trying to install basic Windows updates...and it fails every time. With a list of 30+ available updates, I've had to install them one-by-one and restart my computer every time to try to get them to work. The speakers on this computer are pretty weak. If you don't use the Dolby Home Theater, the speakers sound hollow and almost seem to have an echo. With the Dolby program on, you get a more robust sound, but I don't want "surround" sound on a computer that's sitting in my lap. I have no problems with the touch and feel of the computer, the battery life, the display, or of the general appearance. It's very disappointing that as soon as I installed one basic program on this computer, all that great computing power and processor speed suddenly disappeared. I do not recommend this computer. 09/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by the worst machine This is honestly one of the worst machines I have ever used. I am a college student and I use this laptop all the time to do my work and I have been using it for about 3 weeks now. Every time I move the mouse on the mouse pad, the size of the font and words on that page get smaller or bigger. It gets me extremely frustrated all the time and I can't deal with using it anymore. Also, it always clicks things when I don't click them, sometimes it doesn't let me type or even use the mouse pad, and it just always goes to screens or pages that I don't want to go to. 09/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Laptop I just purchased this laptop and i very pleased with it. I had a strict budget and expected to find a laptop with at least a i3 processor and good memory. After researching for months for the perfect school laptop, I became very upset. The only laptops that I could find were poorly made or didn't have the amenities that I wanted. Then, I found this one. Beforehand I had never heard about Lenovo and their laptops, but i am happily surprised. The Z580 has a great design and a comfortable keyboard. I was really surprised that i could find a laptop with great memory, processor, and sturdy design all in a great price. After reviewing other companies laptops (HP, Toshiba, Acer) this one is definitely a great bang for your buck. 09/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but battery disappoints I really like the way that this computer looks and feels. It is very light weight and easy to carry around. I have to use this as both my personal and work computer. I take it with me and need to rely on the battery. If you are using the computer on the battery only (even with the settings adjusted to save battery life like dimming the screen) it only lasts about a max of 3 hours. The only other weird thing about this laptop is the keyboard. The right shift key is realy small making it difficult to use. The laptop is extremely fast to me and it even tells you how fast it starts up-- my fastest is 55 seconds!! I am pretty happy with the purchase, but the battery could be better. 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lenovo I love this computer. It is everything you could ask for in a pc and is light weight. Oh and the I5 performance is phenomenal. Best PC I have ever bought by far. 08/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not buy this model I would like to take this time to tell you that this model contains an extremely low quality network card. It's connectivity to wireless network is worst I have ever seen. It doesn't matter how many add-on feature you add when you are compromising with the basic design components. I have this problem with two laptops of this model, which makes me think that the model design itself is at fault. 08/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Deal Ever I got this laptop from staples for 400 after rebate, (which has since expired). I know alot about computers and knew that I could not find a better deal for the specs. This laptop (3rd gen i5, 8gb ram) starts in 30 sec. It is also very quiet. The trackpad is very customizable. It has a clickpad which has left right click buttons on the bottom, and normal left click everywhere else. The top half-inch doesn't click though. I used the top right corner to create a open new tab button. The multitouch is very good as well as the palm recognition which stops you from moving the cursor while typing. You can get 6.5 hours of battery life if you run it on power saver. 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by my search end here....deadly fan in 1st review performance = *****/5 looks = ****/5 sound = *****/5 entertainment=*****/5 over-all = *****/5 go and grab ur machine. 06/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by super machine at this price m loving my new purchase. It,s simply brilliant in respect of its dolby home theater, latest graphic card that will fulfill the demand of the latest games. white look is simply superb and what i like is the touchpad giving the feel of the macbook air. so overall this is a great launch from the lenevo side 3rd gen series. m happy. 06/17/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Got a bad product from Lenovo The screen is bit loose, if we put on our thighs , it slides down and each time we need to pull it up. Besides that when we mouse over the power option it shows Not charging even the charging unit is plugged in. There is a screw inside the motherboard making a lot of noice scrolling from left to right and top to bottom. Not sure why lenovo such a great company sends products with out a proper check. 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by best laptop hi performence sound is very good and 3rd generation Intel processor and very beautiful looking in white color high performance gaming and 3.5 hrs battery. finally value for money 06/12/2012
1-14 of 14 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw468
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp