Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 31 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought this as a temporary feeder I bought this as a temporary feeder for when I go on vacation instead of those time-dispense cubes. However, this works so well that I have been using it as the main feeding device for many years now (probably 7 years if I had to guess). The main problem with it is that there is no indication of the battery status so if the battery dies so will your fish. Make sure to replace the battery at least once every few months (it can probably last a couple of years on 1 set of batteries but why chance it). Reuse the old batteries (but probably still good batteries) in a TV remote or something instead of discarding them. The only other minor issue is that the plastic tabs holding the feeding wheel together are very flimsy and feel like they are going to break every time I try to open it to put more food in. But so far, they haven't fallen off yet. Maybe another type of design for holding the wheel together would be more robust. Aside from those issues, this has done it's job for many years now and I would highly recommend it. 05/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by much,much better than the timed release food pucks My fish survived 5 day with no problem. The compact food pucks failed twice, came home to dead fish. This works, worth the money. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Misunderstood This device works great, but many reviewers misunderstand how it works. They expect it to slowly rotate as a clock does. The timer is INSIDE the machine, and suddenly, every 12 hours, it makes a rotation, thus dropping food into the tank. Many reviewers assumed their product was broken because they can't see it slowly turn. Two things to consider: it can be a challenge to attach to some aquariums, and if your feeder is very close to the water level, the food can clump from the moisture that evaporates or bubbles out. 02/15/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works just like it should!! I love the fact that the fish in my classroom aquarium get fed twice a day, even on the weekends. It has been a relief to have this feeder in place so even when school is closed the fish are taken care of. It is battery powered so it works even when the power goes out. The only thing I don't like is that I need to crumble the flake food so it is fine enough that it doesn't clog the system. All in all, I am very happy with this feeder. 12/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life just got a little easier! I got it for when I go on vacation and at first didn't realize that it was working because it doesn't move barely at all, but if you check it in a couple of hours it does! It's very quite too. I just makes life a littler easier especially when you go on vacation. 08/20/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Bargain! I'm very happy with my purchase of this fish feeder. I bought it to take care of my fish tank in my classroom at my school over weekends and breaks. I tested the feeder during the week by putting it on a tray and allowing it to dispense. I adjusted the amount accordingly. The only thing I don't like is that you don't have the option of changing the frequency of the feeding. The feeder will dispense 2x day as it works like a clock. I just rationed down the food so I don't think it's a big deal. It uses one AA battery and it's easy to take apart for refilling, cleaning etc. Nothing fancy about it, but gets the job done and at a terrific price compared to other feeders I saw. I will get another one for a second tank I am setting up. 10/05/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Like price like product - Pay less expect less It does not do that much if you like to get more food in the slot. Also the Battery slot is too tight that seems it will break. Also experiencing it turns every 12 hours so you may feed 2 time daily. But if you have lots of fish in the tank then you should buy more depending of nature of your fish. 08/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by fish feeder works great and the fish are happy too 07/07/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fish feeder did not work at all Right out of the package the feeder did not work. The motor ran (I could hear it up close), but the feeder spline/barrel did not rotate. I returned it. 05/31/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I purchased this item afew days ago. I would of given 5 stars and better review, If I hadn't spent a lot of time and effort to figure out how it works. Instructions at best is poor. It failed to run as described from package. After several hours of tearing it apart, and experimenting with the feeder. I finally figured out that the battery compartment contacts wasn't making contact with the battery. Then it still didn't work. I placed my ear next to the battery compartment, and heard it ticking, but nothing was happening. Once I turn the feeder housing 360 degrees clock wise, then finally it started to operate. The bottom line is: You get what you pay for. cheap and worthless. I won't recommend this feeder to any one. Since I had to tear it apart, and put it back together again. I couldn't return the feeder for a full refund. 05/23/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Returning Thank The Lord we realized this wasn't working before we left out of town. 04/25/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by automatic fish feeder I purchased this item for a business fish tank. I do not want to have run into work on a weekend to feed the fish. it does the job. 01/30/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! Left on vacation for a week and all the fish and shrimp were alive when I returned. I set it on the smallest amount of food since it feeds two times a day. That would prevent overfeeding since I have a smaller tank. Just tested out ahead of time to make sure that it is dropping into the water and not on top of the lid if you have an opening. 06/18/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by We use it everyday We purchased this feeder because we were going out of town for the week but it has been such a good thing we left it on when we returned and have kept it running for months now. It works as designed. We had questions of it at first because we could not tell if it was running or not. There is no light or "on" switch. The way you know it is working is to set the tube to a known position and check back in 6 hours. If it has rotated, it is on. I like this design, a light requires power, a switch could break. If you don't want it running remove the battery. It is quiet and the fish seem to like it. We were over feeding our fish with all the kids wanting to feed them, then sometimes the fish starved for days. Now this feeder takes care of it and it solved one problem of raising short attention span kids. 05/28/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good feeder I purchased and decide to try it out before we left for a week for vacation. Good thing I did!!! It does not even work! 05/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product works well This product works well but we lost a fish. Since we only had two and this feeds up to 4 to 5 he over ate. Other than that it does what it is suppose to feed the fish while your away. 07/12/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Life saver for when you are traveling. Using walmart online and having it sent to store saves so much time. It is hassle free and cuts down your time in the store, so that you can do other things. 10/24/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This feeder will not work with flaked fish food and would not feed more than one fish. 08/14/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by It did not work Plan and simple did not work. 04/16/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by did not work did not work 08/17/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Automatic Fish Feeder Never had so much problem ordering a simple product. First was sent to wrong address,, then reordered and sent to the store, finially got product and it did not work. Now have to spend the money to take it back to the store. I'll think twice before ordering on line from Wal mart again. 08/13/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fish feeder from Walmart Seems like it's working but you really don't know if your fish have been fed by this until you go feed them manually and they don't eat. 11/29/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome! I bought it for when I am away from home. It works great & distributes the food on time. 11/19/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your time. I hear it ticking so I assume it's going to turn at some point twice a day. I had a feeling it wasn't feeding my fish. I too it off the tank and sat it down on a piece of paper. After two day no food on the paper but still ticking. I had a bad feeling about it base on the cheap look. I was right, horrible. 08/07/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent performer Excellent easy to follow and to use , Really is going to give us a relief in case we forget to give food to the fish this will do our job . 07/23/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It does the job Needs a low battery indicator but for the price, it works great! 06/13/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by works as expected I wish it would allow you to regulate the food better. For the price it works fine 02/23/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't work Hear clicking noise but no movement over 10 hours. Gonna try another and see if I got a lemon. 01/24/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't work for me... Had to return it because it didn't work w my tank. Couldn't find anywhere to attach it to without removing the entire hood. 01/03/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by inexpensive mechanical device An inexpensive mechanical device that works on a 12 hour rotation. Nothing fancy , just simple function to feed fish 2x per day. 06/21/2014
  • 2016-02-10 T04:58:46.067-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_20976063, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 31 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw350
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp