Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 284 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by ZTE Merit--Great Phone for the Price I researched this phone before I bought it, I also went and entered 93 zip codes from SC, NC NY and NJ and all but 3 said that this phone worked in those areas. So I bought the phone, then went on a trip from Myrtle Beach, 'SC to New Jersey and I never lost coverage or data use. So far it has been a great phone. I was worried about memory, but I simple went and bought a high MB MicroSD card(problem solved#. Took photos while on my trip and they came out great. #FYI: You do not need a high pixel camera (on phone or regular camer#, unless you plan on blowing them up for a poster or are on a crime photography team. Just an FYI) Browsing has been fine. No problem there. Downloading apps thru Google Play Android Markert. No problem there. Since this is a GSM ATT phone I foresee and have had no problems. So if you are wanting a good Android for a good price and one that works very well on the East Coast #that I know for a fact) I highly recommend it. 07/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PHONE, GREAT PRICE, GREAT SERVICE! I just purchased this Android (ZTE Merit) from my local Wal-Mart for my wife. I was a little skeptical from hearing about the short battery life and the fact it runs on AT&T and not Verizon. My wife has downloaded everything onto this phone, been surfing the web, playing games, etc. and without charging it for over 24 hrs. and the battery life was around the half way mark. It never has froze up, never had any problems with downloading programs, no dropped calls and the battery lasts just as long as any other phone. We have been with Straight Talk for going on 2 years and the service has always exceeded our expectations. Great phone, Great Price, and Great Service. I highly recommend the ZTE Merit. P.S. As far as the battery life follow the instructions on how to save your battery which comes with the phone, that is what we did and we have had no problem with the battery draining to fast. 07/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the price I love this phone. I moved and had very low signal on my Optimus Q because it uses Sprint towers. I read the reviews on this phone and they said the Merit used AT&T towers. I went to my local Walmart and it wasn't there. I went here and it wasn't online either so I ordered directly from StraightTalk. The phone came quickly with free FedEx Overnight Delivery. Easy to set up online on my account and they had it registered and working within a few hours. The only bad part is that the lower left part of my screen broke in my pocket. I contacted StraightTalk and they said they will send me a replacement phone, so now I will be waiting on that. StraightTalk has had excellent customer service the few times I've used them. I mainly use their online customer service because their call center is in another country and I have hearing problems as it is, and trying to get through an accent is difficult. Text knows no accent... lol It's a great Android phone, you won't be sorry buying it, just make sure you find a hard cell phone case. mine was in the mail on it's way to me when the screen broke. Day late, dollar short... 06/19/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over all a decent phone for a light user ZTE Merit ZTE Merit 200 mb internal memory After having this phone for a few weeks, I have decided to write my review and thoughts on this Phone. The phone itself it fine for a light user, with just a few apps, as the internal memory is small and after a few apps installed, it will starting giving low storage space message. For those that are new to smart phones or have complaints of a smart phone running slow or short battery life. There are two apps you will want, Kill Process or memory optimizer and a widget which will allow one to turn on and off sync, wifi, data, etc. you can turn these off when not in use. Kill process app or free memory apps will clear unused running apps. Freeing space and memory. My biggest complaints about this phone is the low internal memory, the processor speed is half the story and straight talk shows that Spec, the internal memory information they do not show or mention. After researching I found some specs, the ZTE Merit has 200 mb internal memory . To get around this and to install more than 3 apps, I had to root the phone and make the default install directory point to the SD card, I also use Sysappremover and Apps2Sd to move apps tothe sd card. By doing this I now have 25 apps installed, and not every app will install correctly that is something have to mess with a bit. I expect the average user is not going to do what I have done, that is how I was able to make use of this phone beyond 2 or 3 apps. If you’re a light user and only need a few apps, this phone should be fine for you. The Mic is in a bad location, it is at the lower bottom corner, on the edge , just where my fingers hold the phone. I have to rembber to move my finger when talking otherwise people can not hear me talk. To end a call, you have to wait for the screen to come back on, then open dialer then touch End Call, in the settings you can change this to press power button to end call. The Screen time at defaut is far to short I also adjusted this, this will take more battery life, but it is frustrating while you’re doing something and the screen goes blank. Using home wifi is much faster than the 3g as with any phone, I have the option to turn off the wifi when I leave the house. Using the 3G connection, ( the speed averages at about any other 3G ATT / Verizon phone, conected to a PC speed test shows 130MB Download, about what my Verizon USB cards does ) Pandora, you tube, and crackle work great, tv.com did work but now will not load? Netfilx works but it skips, I suspect that is on the Netflix end and not this phone. Other various video playing applications have worked well . After researching the true specs, I have determined the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim with internal 1gb At $179 to be the best deal with straight . the LG Optimus Black at $329.00 with Internal 2 GB storage (1 GB user-available), 512 MB RAM is the best phone, but expensive. The LG Optimus Zip with 150mb internal memory is not so good and more thatn the ZTE Merit. Straight talk does not offer 4G phones, I am uncertain if using a sim card will work with a 4g phone. I do know 4g if available in your area is much faster. Virgin has a 4g Phone and it allows wifi sharing, it uses sprint network. ( The merit zte uses ATT ) . I am considering going with that phone and giving this phone to a relative. ( I am really just testing this thing ).. Overall ok for a first time smart phone user with a few apps installed. 09/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ZTE Merit has met all my expectations! I have been very happy with my ZTE Merit purchase, so far. I have owned this phone for about 2 months and have not had any issues with it so far. I use it everyday! My previous phone was a Blackberry Curve from Verizon and I had numerous issues with freezing. I have had none of those issues with this phone. Super fast downloads. I use PhoneZoo and ring-tones download in about 10 seconds. Streaming music does not lag at all. The pre-loaded Apps are pretty cool and the phone comes with the Google App store where you can find many free Apps. Only downside is the battery life lasts only about 36 hours but as long as you plug it in before bedtime, you should not have a problem. I am going to be looking for a better battery. Other than that, this phone is great for the money! 06/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware! Internal storage is ONLY 160MB! Pro: Good phone if you do not wish to install apps. Great for phone calling, texting, social networking. Con: Very low internal storage of 160MB. This is only < 20% of a Gig. If you download any apps do not get anything higher then 10MB or your storage will be low and you will need to dump the apps. Bloatware on the phone cannot be deleted. SOME downloaded apps can be moved to the sd card but that is fruitless because those same apps will take up space on the internal storage so having a sd card is useless. There are MANY MANY complaints of this phone on the straighttalk forums. In the Samsung forum every inquiry has a mysterious canned request from straighttalk to take the privately with them thru email. The other thing I had noticed and did my own research on straightalk that the phones that are listed only the iPad phones list their internal storage on the website. All the other phones that they offer DO NOT list the internal storage space. Wished I known this before I purchased it from Walmart. 01/16/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I just bought this phone to upgrade from my other straight talk phone. I was kind of scared to get a phone without a keyboard, but i really needed to upgrade. Though this is going to take a while to get used to (the touch screen), i like this phone. It's very easy to use. The call quality is great. The vibrate setting is very subtle though. Gotta keep the ringer on. 06/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Want an Android phone without spending big big $$$ then this is the phone for you. This is by far the best phone that I have owned so far. I find it to be the best budget friendly phone for the price. You just can't beat it. You get all the things you are looking for in an Android phone but without spending close to $200.00 or more. Mine is running off from AT&T, great signal. Call clarity is great. Text messaging sending/receiving has great response time. The web features are awesome for this phone. There are many features pre-installed on this phone. For example, GPS, facebook, google search which has speech to text option available, and many more. You will also find many "free" apps to choose from from the Google Play app. store. (I would suggest downloading the Dolphin browser to use instead of the pre-installed web browser. It seems to work a little faster.) This phone has a 5mp camera and camcorder function. They both work nicely in a well lit room but not so great in a dark setting. Having a flash would have been nice but still I'm satisfied. The battery life on this phone in my opinion is "excellent". I don't make that statement lightly. I have used this phone for long periods of time in a day and the battery life barely decreased. At the end of the day I still had 35% battery life. This phone also comes with a charging cord that can plug into a computer USB port or a wall outlet. If your thinking of purchasing this phone, I say go for it. I don't think you will be disappointed. In fact, I believe you will be happily surprised how feature rich this phone is. This is the first device that I have rated a full 5 stars and was happy to do so. 07/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far, so good!! I bought 2 of these phones just yesterday and so far my daughter and I love it! I am not a cell phone techie, but it was very easy to enter all my contacts into it. I had another touch screen phone that I did not like at all, but this one has been very easy to use. The screen is not so sensitive that it opens everything that is touched. My daughter had hers all set up and ready for activation within 15 minutes of taking it out of the box. She activated boh of them through the Straight Talk website and all went well and fairly quickly. Both of these phones were activated and running within 2 hours. I think I have my husband convinced to switch to this phone from another Straight Talk phone he got yesterday! I had to call Customer Service to complete the activation of his phone and they were very nice. I had some concerns as I knew they were not located in the US, but the woman I spoke with was very easy to work with and was very helpful. 06/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, love , love! I've had this phone for about a week now and I absolutely love it! This is my first smartphone and I couldn't be happier with the purchase. The phone is easy to use, but does a lot! Everything is so much easier with this phone. I have had no trouble with it freezing or resetting as I read in a few other reviews. I went with straight talk (and with this phone specifically) because a very helpful walmart associate said that of the straight talk phones, this one got the best service coverage. He could not have been more right. The service coverage is awesome and the phone itself is fantastic. It makes social networking, texting, browsing, and anything else you may need simple and fast. Activating my service was quick and simple. I did it online and within 10 minutes the service was active. I have not had to contact customer service for anything yet, but I have read several reviews stating that the customer service is horrible. I guess we'll see...the phone, however, is worth every penny! 08/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeds Expectations I previously had the LG Optimus Q. That phone was the only android at the time and works off Sprint network. The service was HORRIBLE in my house. Never had a dropped call or anything just could surf the web and get on FB like I wanted to. So finally they came out with this one that is $50 cheaper than the LG. I can say that it does everything that the other phone did. It is way faster and I can watch youtube in my house without it buffering AT ALL. I absolutely love it. The only difference I can tell is that when I try to make a song a ringtone it won't let me because it says it is too big. On the other phone I could do that. The song has to be a short ringtone...like 30 seconds or less. I can live with that. Wonderful phone for the price. Don't be fooled into buying more expensive phones....this one is great and just as good as the more more expensive ones. 06/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by One small design flaw....one MAJOR problem This had the potential to be a good phone, instead, "Smart" is not a word I would to describe this phone. It is made with only 160 MB (No, not 1.6 GB, 160 MB) of internal memory. It is loaded with progarams you cant remove. Problem is those programs update, and as they do, your internal memory shrinks. It lasted me over the 15 days they give you to return it, but shortly after I just kept getting error messages that I'm low on space. Had plenty of room in the SD card, but doesn't matter. Without internal memory, you cant download/update anything. my top bar is loaded with error messages. I have plenty of RAM and space on SD, but becuse the phone itself has fiiled its own memory with things I don't even use, its worthless. You can go through every program, delete the updates, download/update what you want, then transfer that to SD. But that doesn't seem too much like a "Smart Phone" to me. 03/07/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed. The first one of these I bought wouldn't charge right so I exchanged it. This one is the exact same way but I realized that the reason that it sometimes charges and sometimes not...heat. When the phone gets hot or even overly warm, it will not charge. It gets hot easily so it's almost impossible to charge while you're talking on it because the heat from your head and your hand holding it is usually enough to do it. The battery life is poor yet it takes a long time to charge it. The internal memory on the phone itself is terrible. The preset apps take up so much room that almost every other app you download in addition to those HAVE to go on the memory card and you can't put every app on the SD card. Sometimes I even have to remove an app to have enough memory to download and install a new one that can go on the memory card then I have to download the one I removed again. It has also started freezing after about 3 weeks. I would NEVER buy this again. Actually I'm hoping it breaks so I can use the insurance I got on it and get a new one! 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone for a great price. This is my first Android phone and I love it! The Merit does everything that I expected and more. I bought a nice cover for it and it looks nice. In fact, one of my co workers thought it was an HTC phone lol. The thing I am most pleased with is the speed of the internet. The internet on all of the other Straight Talk phones I have had was very very slow and didn't load a lot of webpages. The Merit is super fast. I am even able to watch Netflix without even connecting to wifi. I used to have a Blackberry through Verizon and the Straight Talk ZTE Merit by far a better, and faster phone. LOVE THIS PHONE!!! 09/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY, SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE I did not want to pay Verizon's prices anymore, so I purchased this phone. It has been nothing but trouble. Let me first say, that I'm very careful. Have never dropped it, got it wet, etc. You cannot get rid of the preinstalled apps. or move them to an SD card which leaves you vertically no space to download any additional apps you might want. I have put on 2 and get messages that my phone is out of space. Phone now rejects incoming text messages due to no space which forces me to have to delete pics and messages (even if I have no messages, I still get incoming texts rejected). Phone #1 began rebooting itself over and over. Only way to get it to quit, was to take out battery and wait on shipping label to return it. Phone #2. doing same thing PLUS now when I make a call, I can see they've answered, but I cannot hear them. Sending the phone in again, but may just use it as a back up or give it to my son. Going back to Verizon. I travel and this phone is not reliable at all. 08/19/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst phone I have ever had. I'm on my 2nd and my husband is on his 3rd. They over heat and stop charging. Storage fills up even if you haven't added anything. It stops excepting txt messages b/c it is full even when there are no txt messages. I DO NOT recommend this phone for anything except the signal is awesome. 07/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by A "dumb" smartphone? My first android (WOW!) phone and bought it blinded by starry eyes that blinded me. It failed about 8 months after purchase when the back button broke inside the circuit board - no repair. Here's what I learned while it worked: This phone is handicapped by grossly insufficient memory and while it claims you can add a micro-SD card, you can't really USE that card for loading many aps because the phone comes with a ton of pre-installed google based aps that can't be uninstalled and they use all the VERY small internal memory needed to download or run other aps. Basically, the Merit could've been a good basic "android for beginners" choice but instead, they made a "dumb" smartphone that can run the mostly useless google aps that come with it. To use this phone, you will NEED to learn very careful memory management skills. I gave this phone 3 out of 5 only because I bought it as an education and it taught me all the things that I wanted and it wasn't. I definitely would NOT recommend this phone to anyone. 04/01/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by i might got a defected phone but i hate it. my phone is junk. granite i am smart phone illiterate , but I do know a lil bout them. i cant get into any apps now. im on day 2. it tells me this application has stopped unexpectedly. or a error has occured. i have 10 text messages on my phone and says that they r full. when i try to erase them that error message appears. and it will beep if u have a text but thats it. it doesnt show unless u go in the inbox and happen to see it. 07/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Considering cost & capabilities it's great! I have had a Nokia e71 and used the $45 unlimited plan for years. After Nokia dumped the Symbian operating system I decided to switch to Android and this phone. For the most part it has exceeded my expectations, especially when I consider the price a paid for it. I only have a few gripes about it that keep me from giving it 5 stars: The major one is that battery life is extremely short, especially when you have all the "bells and whistles" running. ie. bluetooth, gps, wifi...etc. The second is that there seems to be no way I can set up a different sound when I receive any type of message #ex. text, email, facebook message#. It just makes the same noise for each and they are of different value to me and what I need the phone to do. Also, buyer beware, you WILL have to buy a micro SD card with some serious memory space on it #I put in a 16 GB one, though the phone will support up to a 32 GB# because the phone has a pitiful amount of memory built in. Finally, you're NOT getting the latest version of Android #Ice Cream Sandwich# but that isn't such a bad thing. There are still some kinks to work out in it, and this phone wouldn't be able to upgrade to it anyway. There bulk of Android users still use the operating system this phone has #2.3 Gingerbread# so you've go some time until you'd truly need to buy a new phone to upgrade operating systems. 07/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by reboots constantly I was really happy with this phone initially, lots of features and a really good value. However, I am on my second one in a matter of 2 days due to its constant restarting. The first one I bought within 20 mins of opening it and charging it restarted about a dozen times. I put up with it thinking that it would improve. It didn't. I returned it the next day to exchange for a different one thinking that maybe it was just this particular phone. Within an hour of being fully charged it restarted twice. Better than the first one but still glitchy. When I returned the first one the sales associate who helped me (awesome customer service btw) said she had never had any similar complaints and it was their most popular model. Since I had problems I looked online and have found several reviews from other consumers reporting a similar problem so I know that while not a common one it is an issue with the phone. If you are lucky enough to get one without this problem then aside from the lack of memory due to bloatware I think you will be happy. If, on the other hand, you happen to get one that is defective save yourself the headache and just buy a different brand of phone. 09/13/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Value, but has Problems Biggest problem is there is a lot of interference when I use the Speaker when talking with others. No problem listening to things on my end, but all my friends complain of interference when the speaker is on. My husband has a ZTE Merit as well and the interference is unbearable if we talk to each other using the speaker. No issues if the speaker is off. I would love to know if this happens to others. Your friends probably won't complain, but do ask them if they are getting interference if you turn on the speaker. I have had none of the problems with recharging that others have written about. It does need charged everyday, I've read that's not uncommon with Smartphones. The internal memory is limited and I get "memory low" warnings all the time and have to clear out some apps. This has nothing to do with the small size of the SD Card. I'm talking internal memory. There are some preinstalled apps that cannot be moved to the card, so it's not easy to resolve and I'm just living with it. I can use it with my car bluetooth, but have to manually dial and then can use the car speaker. It does not let me give a name to call, so somethings off there. I have a gmail account and it works pretty good. It will sometimes freeze up if the message is long. THen I have to turn it off and on to get it to work again. I'm going to keep this as long as possible and then go with the SIM option and buy a good phone if ST doesn't come out with a better Android. 08/09/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Small Internal Memory I am very disappointed with this phone. This phone makes great calls, has great service, and takes good pictures. However, it is an android and I expected more. My biggest complaint is the internal memory. This phone is continually notifying me that there are updates available, but I cannot install them because the phone shows the memory at near full before the installation has completed. In addition, the phone may support microSD cards up to 32GB but, there is very little that can be saved to the SD card making it virtually useless. 08/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not buy this phone Do not be lured in by the low price-- this phone isn't even worth that. Very limited storage, lots of pre-installed apps one does not need but cannot delete to free up space. I am also unable to move the useless apps to SD card. I will randomly be told that my text message inbox is full when I have 2 or fewer messages, which I must then delete. And restart the phone. And if I'm lucky, I will receive the incoming text that prompted the "text message inbox full" notice several hours later. Now, after about a year, the touchscreen has randomly failed. I cannot unlock the phone. Two restarts later, it still will not unlock. If you only want to place calls, this phone may be (barely) adequate for your needs. But anything else is nigh impossible with this poor excuse for a cellphone. In short, DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. 08/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ZTE Merit I was sceptical about buying this phone, but am glad I did. I have not regreted it one bit. It not only meets my needs and price, but it exceeded my expectations. I would recommend this phone to my friends!!!!! 08/09/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible battery and email does not sync The camera on this phone is great, as is the easy-to-use text messaging. However, if you want to connect Hotmail, good luck...it doesn't sync up properly, so if you delete a message on your phone, it will not delete from your Hotmail inbox. The battery life on this phone is horrendous. This morning, I made one phone call for six minutes on a fully charged battery and when I was done, the phone beeped saying that there was only 5% battery left! Last night, I went into the store with a 21% battery life left, did not even use the phone, and 35 minutes later, came out to a 3% battery life. This phone is going back. 06/19/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just ok Had this phone for a few months. Purchased the AT&T version and the straight talk sim card. AT&T service was very good in my area. The phone was decent but had issues. The internal memory is very small making it hard to download aps. The phone lagged a bit too. It did freeze a few times too. Just upgraded to the Samsung galaxy proclaim which runs on Verizon and for me it's like night and day. Phone itself is so much faster! It has tons of space for aps. I find it a lot better. 06/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Phone I thought this would be a great phone after reading reviews but it is terrible. Bluetooth will not pair, I can't get on the internet unless I am in a wi-fi area and I can't open picture texts. I am so disappointed. 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great phone for texting this phone is excellent i can control good its the best phone i ever had :) 07/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sweeeeet Have had this phone for over a month now. It does everything i want it to: good call quality and reception, texting, internet, video watching, apps, etc. The only reason i gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the internal phone memory space could be bigger. I put a larger sd card in it and keep all my apps on the card, not the phone...and i still have to pay attention to keep the phone memory space clear enough. Other than that I love this phone! 07/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I am in my 50s so I wasn't sure I would like a touch phone. But my kids have helped me use this phone. And I love it. Thank u straight talk! 10/11/2012
  • 2015-10-07T08:34:55.375-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_284, tr_284
  • loc_en_US, sid_20933055, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 264 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.