Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 49 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, Educational Kids' Tablet LeapFrog sent their new LeapFrog LeapPad2 Explorer for my family to review. We checked out some of the differences between this device and the original LeapPad and tested its functions and apps. If you are wondering whether to get a LeapPad2, just let your kids use your iPad, or skip tablets for kids altogether, here's our take: My educational philosophy is that outdoor activity and play is key for very young children. Despite being high-tech in my professional life, the early childhood teaching techniques I advocate are decidedly Pre-Industrial. Yet there are places where a thoughtful use of technology can enhance learning. Initial studies show that using a tablet can boost literacy scores in Kindergarteners and help children on the Autism spectrum improve their communication skills. The idea that tablets can help reluctant learners or provide a reliable and safe learning interaction for children makes a lot of sense. What doesn't make sense to a lot of families, however, is handing a $400 device over to a young child, even with a super-rugged cover. Also problematic is sharing a device the adults need for work and communication with a kid who is just beginning to grasp the concept of taking turns. Another concern is an Internet connection that lets your kids veg out on the entertainment equivalent of junkfood, see inappropriate content, or "accidentally" rack up bills buying game points or new apps. The LeapFrog LeapPad2 Explorer restores parental control to the equation. To download apps, the LeapPad must be connected to the computer. All the apps and games are created by LeapFrog, a company that is practically synonymous with educational tech toys. And the LeapPad 2 is even more durable than its predecessor so your three year old can hog it without you worrying about getting it back destroyed...or not at all. Here's what you get with the LeapPad 2. I've highlighted the main differences between the original LeapFrog LeapPad and the LeapPad 2: * LeapPad2 Explorer Learning Tablet (4GB Memory, double the original) * 2 Built-in Cameras & Video Recorders (the LeapPad 2 has a front and back camera; the original has only one camera in back) * Extended battery life (about 1 additional hour) * Faster processor (550 MHz, compared to 393 MHz on the original) * LeapFrog Learning Songs App (5 Songs Included) * Pet Pad Writing App * Cartoon Creativity App * Art Studio App * Free App Download * USB Cable There is also a recharger available separately for purchase, a welcome change to the original since these devices are total battery drainers. Just about the only drawback to the LeapPad 2 is the cost of cartridges and apps. To someone of my generation, this is not a deal-breaker. Younger parents, used to cheap and free apps on smart phones, might balk, however, at the recurring cost of purchasing additional games. Plus, the cartridges can be traded or resold. The games available on the LeapPad is what truly distinguishes it from the pack, however. Although there are definitely winners out there, a lot of free and cheap apps for smart phones and adult tablets are hastily thrown together and provide little educational value. With LeapFrog, parents know they are getting appropriate and pedagogically correct content for their kids. Plus, some of the games "auto-level", adjusting the difficulty to challenge each child. A few games even allow parents to customize the device with math sets and spelling lists from school. As with adult tablets, kids can play LeapPad games using the stylus, the touch screen, and the built-in motion sensor. Kids' interests are often character-driven and so my daughter's favorite is the LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra eBook Adventure Builder: Disney Fairies: Tink's Midnight Tea Party: in this game, she can read the story at three different levels, make choices that affect the story, and play games. There are different modes (read the book to me, read the page to me, and read it myself). You can also record yourself reading the book, a great option for parents and grandparents who live far away. The ever popular Pet Pad app comes with the LeapPad and allows kids to practice writing while playing with their virtual pet. My kids are also big fans of the Disney Pixar Brave Cartridge, a first-person adventure game in which the player moves Merida to solve science puzzles. The variety of different science activities (learning about life cycles, experimenting with physics) is very engaging. My personal favorite is the LeapPad Creativity App: Disney Animation Artist: Mickey and Friends. I really enjoy trying to draw Mickey and his buddies with the stylus and think this is a great game for future artists and Disney fans of all ages. The addition of Little Pim language videos is the start of a beautiful relationship and I am hoping the two companies will develop some interactive language learning content. The bottom line is that you will get an excellent learning tool with plenty of high quality content if you are willing to invest in apps and cartridges. As stated above, we received this tablet from LeapFrog for review. All opinions are my own. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Educational Device! The LeapPad2 is geared towards kids ages 3-9 years old which is perfect for all my girls but especially for Kaila (2.5). She can be a little rough on her toys and I’m always afraid to let her use my iPad since I know it will go flying across the room eventually. We have found the LeapPad to be very durable and can definitely take a beating. It's also very user friendly and my kids were able to figure out how to use it with minimal help from me. Some of our favorite applications have been the Disney storybooks where you can choose among 3 options – have the entire book read to your child, have to book read page-by-page, have your child read the book. There are also games and activities to keep your child engaged. However, what my girls like the best is that you can record your own voice reading the story and play it back whenever you want. This is a great feature for our family since I travel a lot. My kids love the LeapPad2! 07/26/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would be a 5 star product if it worked properly. I set this up with with the free apps no problem and then I went on to purchase apps from the app store. I spent $60 on 4 apps and only 1 app(the $5 one of course) downloaded to my leappad2. Also the microphone didn't work for blow drying the monkey on pet pad. So I sent an email, got no response so called the 800 number where they told me they would email me. They had me hook it to my computer to do a repair on it. So then my art studio was gone and apparently they cant figure out a way to fix this. Haven't returned emails that I have sent to customer support. So then yesterday I hook it up to my computer to get the shampoos and treats needed for his pet and after an hour, I still couldn't even get into leappad connect and there is no option for a disconnect! I tried disconnecting it, turning it off and taking out the batteries and still nothing. Now I couldn't even get into anything, all I had was a screen saying to hook it to the computer. Turned it off for awhile and eventually decided to reconnect it to the computer. Left it hooked up for another hour and finally it redownloaded everything and all the videos and pics we took were gone once again. I would love this if it worked better! I have spent more time trying to make this work than my son has played with it. He does love the pet pad and he is only 2 1/2 and I was surprised at how good he does with it. He can even trace some of the letters so I believe he will learn from this if I can get it working properly. 08/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great upgrades from the original LeapPad Containing all the things we loved about the original version the LeapPad 2 has some really fantastic upgrades. We love the addition of the 2nd camera. Kids love to look at themselves. They love to make faces and they love to make videos with them as the star. With the outside camera they can take video's of their subject with the inside camera they are the star. My boys are ages 4 and 6 and the LeapPad 2 offers over 325+ apps and games to download. They can be customized for their age level making the games challenging for their specific age group. I really love that. You'll find the processor is faster making the game play smoother and quick responding. We also love that Leapfrog made an improvement on the battery compartment making it easier to open with a simple push in and slide. Does take 4 double AA's but you can also get a recharger which is great. Most of all my kids love playing with the video and drawing features and along with watching videos and playing games with their favorite characters like Phineas and Ferb, Brave, Cars and so much more. They also love the music from Kids Bop app. My boys love singing and dancing and this is a fabulous addition!! Works with both the LeapFrog Explorer apps and games as well as with the original leapPad games and apps. disclosure: Product provided for review for the purpose of sharing my honest opinion. 07/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Toy I bought this for my 2 year old and every day he picks up on something new. It was a little expensive and i would recommend buying the $20 app card instead of a game cartridge (you will have more options.) But my son loves it so i would def reccomend it. Technology is teachign kids so much and you will be surprised how quickly they catch on to these type of things. The only - is that the touch screen stoped working so I called CS and they have me reset something. Its a little ridiculouse to have to do this with a 100$$ toy, so hopefuly it doesnt continue to do that. 09/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for my child My son is two and is able to work this and loves it. Watches videos and plays on it forever. 09/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My son just loves it! It only took him a day to learn how to navigate thru it. Very kid friendly and kid sturdy. Although its for 3 and up my 2 year old is able to play and understand it just fine. I actually believe it is helping him learn his numbers faster. I just love this product would recommend to anyone. 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations for Educational Value I had no idea that I would be able to see and track my four year old's learning online with the new LeapPad2! I love that she's learning while being entertained and I can see where she needs help! Really cool feature. Plus, SUPER durable. 07/31/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super fun toy but mainly for ages 3+ I really like this toy. The new Leappad has some cool new features too (although I don't have the old one so I can't really compare.) It has some great stuff that is included and I like that each child can have their own login with a picture assigned. The recommended age for this toy is 3-9 but let's face it, if you have younger kids at home, they will want to try playing with it. And it was a little too hard for my 2 year old, who is pretty smart. That being said, the games are great because they encourage practice! There is one writing game where the kids trace the letters with the stylus and it is VERY picky about preciseness. That is what frustrates my kids! But they now can actually write letters with a pen and paper. All of the Leapfrog stuff has been amazing for teaching my kids their letters, sounds, and numbers. I wish the Leappad came with a charger, like a phone does. Instead it just comes with standard AA batteries which die rather quickly. You can buy the additional charger pack which I would recommend or you can buy your own rechargeable batteries. 08/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Deal for Xmas Present bought this for my 4 year old , i love leapfrog products and the reviews on the original leappad were awesome so when i saw the new one for this price with extras couldnt pass it up. cant wait for santa to give it to her 09/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My daughter loves her LeapPad2 It is durable. Do not try to put a screen protector on....does not work. We also purchased the headphones and AC adapter. The camera is a great feature. This was money well spent. I highly recommend this product. 09/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome!! Love this tablet...we upgraded from the 1st leap pad. I love that the cartridges are interchangeable between the leap pad and the leapster as we own both! I purchased the battery pack...highly recommend that...well worth the price :) My son plays constantly......we have 150+ dollars of apps downloaded...what we had on our first leap pad went right to the new one. I love that you can put the battery pack in...and no longer have to remove the batteries to charge it. Just plug it in and go!! We also purchased the car adapter...recommend this for road trips. Fabulous while shopping...and for the long car rides when the DVD player gets old! Fun and educational 08/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Three Year Old & I Love LeapPad2 Aside from being a cool mom (or dad, or grandma or grandpa, or aunt, or uncle), what else do you have to look forward to? Well, a lot! This is one sweet “toy”. Lets face it, we call it a toy, but it is jam packed full of puzzles, logic, books, letters, and learning activities. - Mommy and daddy’s phones get a break. Finally. - I don’t have to worry about him calling someone, downloading something or seeing something he isn’t suppose to. I know everything is safe and meant for him. Relief. - He can do it all by himself. And when he gets stuck, there is this awesome little voice that says things like, “Drag the crown to Queen Eleanor Bear”. And the voice doesn’t even know to get frustrated or annoyed so everyone wins. - Quinn was excited about letters! Like stoked. Anything that makes a kid excited about letters is good in my book. - He is quiet and still. Lets face it, everyone needs quiet and still sometimes. - He feels proud and successful when he completes new or challenging tasks. - There is a huge age range on this bad boy. There are things he isn’t ready to use yet, but will be perfect for him when he gets older. Perfect for growing with kids or if you have multiple children at different ages. - You can hook it up to the computer and download apps and check out what the kiddos have been up to. - If you already own one and you want to upgrade, no worries. The LeapPad2 is compatible with older games. Whew! - Some cool upgrades for the LeapPad2 include a front and back camera and a charging pack. No more wasted batteries. - It is pretty tough. Quinn has dropped it a few times and we are still going strong. - We had one little snafu. Turns out the screen just needed to be recalibrated. As simple as hitting home and the volume up button when you are at the log in screen. This brings you to all the parental settings. A little “good to know” tip. 08/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Educational Toy for a Wide Age Range Our family owns both the LeapPad and the LeapPad2. We already enjoyed the original version, but notice great improvements with the LeapPad2. The apps load quick due to a more powerful processor, and the front and back cameras have made for much photo fun for my two and a half year old twins. Even my older children (8 and 10) have fun with games such as Phineas and Ferb as well as capabilities to edit photos and create animations! The LeapPad 2 has slightly longer battery life than the original version, but it is still a battery hog. I bought the recharger pack and have been very happy, e kids can play all day and then we plug the unit in to charge at night. At the very least you will want to invest in rechargeable batteries as this unit will get a lot of use! I was given a LeapPad2 to review, however, all opinions are my own. 08/22/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as I thought The camera on this item isn't very good. There is no flash or any type of settings to make the pictures brighter. This product is supposed to be for ages 4-9, looking through the different apps most of the things seem to be a bit "kiddy" to me. Not sure what 8 year old wants to read little kid books. The most disappointing thing so far was the white dotted line going down the front of the screen from the very first time we turned the device on. 08/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broken in less than a month Bought my son a leap pad last year and it still works great,thought the second would be even better. He's had the leap pad 2 only a few weeks, and it no longer works. Very frustrated with this purchase. NOT WORTH THE MONEY! Just get the original, it's a lot better 08/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Product I purchased this gift for my granddaughter's 3rd birthday. She loved it right from the start. The only problem is that her six year old brother keeps trying to take it away from her. Guess Grandmother will buy another one for him for Christmas. It is an excellent buy considering what is initially included with the LeapPad2. I do recommend buying the rechargeable battery pack with AC adapter. I wish there were more apps, games, etc. in the three year old range, but since it grows with the child, that will not be a problem for long. 10/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great learning tool for kids I purchased the LeapFrog LeapPad 2 Explorer Learning Tablet Green as a gift for my grandson. I love the size of the pad and the fact that my daughter can purchase additional programs according to my grandsons learning needs. 10/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Electronic Educational Toy! This has everything you want for a kid! My son just turned 5 and he absolutely loves his leappad! Good Job Leapfrog! 10/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clear pictures We bought this devise for our daughter so she would be intertained on a 5 hour plane ride, it deffinately has served its purpose plus some. She loves it and never wants to put it down, even the adults love playing with it. 10/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for my toddler My daughter would not keep her hands off of my iPhone so I decided to get her the LeapPad2 for her 3rd birthday. It is GREAT! She can already use a mouse and computer so I knew this would be so easy for her to use. Great buy! I haven't bought any games for it yet and for now I don't think I need to. She can read books, draw, and take pictures and video and that seems to be ok for now. I think I'll buy the Jigsaw Puzzle game for Christmas! 10/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product My son really loves the new features and enjoys playing the leappad2 more than the leapster explorer now. I wish that it came with a rechargable built in battery instead of taking regular or rechargable batteries. 10/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My kids luv it. They learn n have fun at the same time. Mi disabled child can even work it n she luvs it its an awesome product 10/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 The best toy ever invented! So glad we purchased this for our 3 year old. He enjoys learning and playing with his favorite characters. The variety of features and applications are excellent; its really worth it and a great investment to his educational growth. 09/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product We bought this for our 2 year old and she loves it! It's so easy to use, and she's learning how to use all of the features so quickly. Her favorite things so far are the cameras, her little pet, and the art studio. I would definitely recommend this product for any toddler. It's educational, improves child's dexterity, and is a great way to introduce your child to the modern technological world. 09/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product Gave to my son for his 4th birthday. He plays with it every evening. He loves watching the video's, playing the games and just exploring what he can do with it. The only draw back is that it goes through batteries quickly, and does not give much notice of the batteries needing to be replaced/ recharged. And the rechargable batteries do not recharge if he is playing with the toy while it is plugged in to the a/c adapter. He needs to leave it alone while it charges, and he does not want to leave it alone while ti charges. 09/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LeapPad2... perfect birthday gift! We bought this for our grandson's 5th birthday. We had purchased the original LeapPad for our granddaughters (ages 5, 3 & 2) and they love it! The 3 year old is reading almost as well as the 5 year old! It is a perfect blend of fun and learning. Really like the new LeapPad 2 features, the rechargeable battery is great. We bought rechargeable batteries for the original which is an additional expense. 09/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best investment for a toddler. I purchased this tablet for my son as a 2nd birthday present. Though he is only 2 he absolutely loves his leap pad! He uses it everyday... I have to literally make him put the thing down. I love that the pad will grow with him and he is already learning new skills with it daily! 09/07/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The touch screen has issues and sometimes the callibration goes out of whack. The games are not engaging enough. Its not age appropriate either. 09/06/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great once the quirks got figured out. I purchased this item for my son's birthday. It was great and worked fine for the first 3 days and then it would freeze at the leap frog start up screen. After waiting out the weekend I contacted customer service and did what they said and problem was fixed. It was just having software issues. Now that the software is fixed it runs great. I also think that this products batter life is better than the original leap pad. 09/05/2012
1-30 of 44 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw260
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp