Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 7 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by You get what you pay for..and it's A LOT!! Let me tell you. This camera Rocks!! My first DSLR was the awesome A200 RIP. The bag and gear was stolen in April 2012 at the LBGP. I was devastated. Thank goodness for insurance. This camera has taken some time to get used to. But let me tell you. When I get dialed in to what the camera can do..I know I will take even better pictures. 09/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by New DSLT user Years ago I used a film SLR but since just point & shoot digitals. Love this camera. I have not had a chance to use many of the features and settings yet but got some great fireworks pics on the 4th. I liked being able to have more control over the settings. I'm still getting used to all the different settings 07/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2 weeks with the A57 As a long time user of 35mm SLRs (film), it took me a while to invest in a good Digital SLR. I have found the A57 can be very easy to use, or complicated beyond beleif. Excellent pictures can be obtained in automatic mode by anyone, get out of auto and the choices are so diverse one can get lost in the technology. I will learn and catch up, but I do not consider the A57 a beginers camera, the manual is written for an experienced photographer. Good points, all my Minolta AF lenses work great, and speed is awsome. Flash is slow to recharge and flash with auto has mixed results. Quality excellent as with all Sony products, but very poor manual and online help files for this camera. Not for the faint of heart, high technology with high complexity. 06/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I wanted and MORE! I went to Wolf ready to buy the Nikon D5100. I left with no camera and, based on the rec of the salesman, started researching the a57. After a few days I went back and bought the a57. I owe this guy a huge debt because this camera is everything I wanted and more. The almost instant auto focus and 12fps just cannot be beat and (as someone who hasn't used a dslr seriously in years) the menu makes the camera so easy to use. Plus, the photos are top notch! 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent camera especially for small budget I've had this for a couple days and just upgraded the firmware today, for the money spent cannon nor Nikon can't touch this camera. The video being shot in 60p is not offered by any camera under $1500 easily and this camera films seemly, no jumps in film. The ISO is great I've used it at 3200 and had no noise issues, the competitors like to talk about 30% light being redirected to the EVF this has had no effect that i have seen thus so far.I recommend buying the body only, save the $100 and get the 55mm x 200mm lens for $249 its a good starter lens and in essence your getting it for $149 if you coose this option. AF is quiet and seamless, buttons in all the right places especially the ISO, and exposure. I think you'd be hard pressed to find a better camera for this price. I'll give another review at a later time. 04/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera! Not much to complain about with this camera. My biggest concern was the EVF, but it is very nice and has some huge advantages over optical viewfinders (guideline overlay, histogram, orientation level, picture review). The size of the camera is great, but can get a bit heavy when shooting with one hand. Battery life is good, especially when considering it has to power both the viewfinder and the rear LCD. I cannot comment on the video quality at this point because I have not really used it in any serious video situations. The burst shooting is incredible and makes shooting fast moving subjects very easy. The biggest problem with this camera at the writing of this review is the lack of RAW file support for iPhoto/Aperture and Lightroom. 04/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Step up from an A100 I had to buy this camera in a hurry. My A100 decided to not record images after taking a two foot fall. I did a bit of research on line....took a look at the Alphas that were available on short notice. I decided to buy the a57 over the a65 primarily on price. I didn't see 200 dollars worth of difference for a OLED viewfinder and 8 more MPs. This is my first use of an SLT and it has taken a bit of getting used to. The a57s LCD screen is a big improvement over the a100. The ability to shoot at low light with less noise (call it electronic grain) is a big plus as well. I am also pleased that the a57 is completely compatible with my HVL-F36AM flash. I am impresed by how fast and how quiet the camera is when taking shots. When I took my first shot I wasn't sure the camera was working. The A57 is a bit lighter than the a100 even with the same 1870 lens attached. Both bodies are just about the same size, which is a good thing. One of the reasons I had not upgraded before now was that I found it hard to grip a lot of the previous models, they were just too small. The a57 controls are easy to understand and are located logically. The only problem is that if I am not careful I can hit the movie button by accident., not by touch but when changing a lense if I hold the camera against my chest. The LCD viewfinder is extremely bright and easy to read. I do find that it has a bit too much contrast when shooting in bright daylight. However it great for reviewing shots under the same conditions. The built in flash location on the body is a definite iimprovement over the a100. Its forward location should help to prevent shadows when using larger lenses susch as the 1118 zoom. I have not used any of the effects that the camera is capable of such as auto Portrating or HDR. I prefer to put the camera in program mode and shoot. I want to decide when to use the flash, not have the camera do it for me. I set the VF to display as little info as possible, however I find the digital level gauge to be very helpful when talking shots of buildings or the horizon, etc. I find the the A57 ito be a very enjoyable camera to use, and a comfortable step up from my A100 (which I hope to repair and keep using as well) just as the a100 was a good camera to migrate to six years ago from my Maxxum 550si. 04/18/2012
1-7 of 7 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw271
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp