Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 108 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Device! I bought this device from my local wal-mart over the weekened and I am very satisfied with it. The set up was easy and I was able to watch youtube videos on my big screen. I also signed up for Netflix and plan on cancelling part of my direc tv services(cut down on bills)...Great device for the value and very sleek design as well. Strongly recommended! 04/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent online content streamer My main reason for buying the D-Link Player was to see Netflix movies and shows on a large screen home TV. The price less than $50 at Walmart seemed right but I was skeptical. Since Walmart has a friendly product return policy, I went ahead and bought this unit. Well, what a pleasant surprise! This small thing works great. It streams VUDU, Netflix, YouTube and Pandora content. It comes with a simple one-click remote, and output jacks for HDMI as well as RCA for older TVs. Resolution is HDMI 1080p with 802.11n Wi-Fi and ethernet. Set up is very easy. I have connected it using ZyXel powerline adaptor for high speed Internet connection. Excellent reception. I am happy with it. 05/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dlink MovieNite Bought this at a local store the other day, and product is awesome..it was easy to set up and it was up and running and ready in 30 mins. I like the pandora feature as our tv is hooked up to a nice sound system. I highly recommend this product. Great value as well(the cheapest one out there) Don't let the price fool you. Great buy A+++++ 04/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lot of bang for the buck Worked great for me. Was usining an attached PC to do streaming but this is much simpler. From the comments I have read I think that problems with connecting to the internet are due to lack of knowledge or the fact that they did not read the manual. I did encounter a problem with the sound quality but went to the tools menu and did a firmware upgrade (easy), and the unit performs perfect for the money. 04/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Price/Performance Can't Be Beat My primary use for this unit is Netflix, with a little YouTube tossed in. I would buy this unit again as a "meat and potatoes" player. Pros: Small. Low power draw. Boots in about 15 seconds. Home Screen to Apps in about 10 seconds. Full 1080p HD on my set (my ISP gives me 100Mb/s down so I have the bandwidth). Goes full HD on Netflix in about 5 seconds after it buffers, also about 5 seconds. I like the dedicated App buttons on the remote. Gets the job done for those of us who want to watch a Netfilx video. Easy setup - got IP address immediately and proceeded to update itself. No hand-holding required. HDMI output was flawless. Cons: Best used as a player. Searches involving thumbnails can lag. FF/RW/Pause can lag. You might want to go up the food chain a notch if you do a lot of text searching or in-show searching. If you are tossing on a video and pausing it every now and then you will not notice this much at all. But at this price, I can't complain. Other: No wireless, which is fine with me. I don't think anything but N-wireless has the bandwidth, and even then, I don't care for quality-of-service issues. If you want an RF or Bluetooth remote, this is not for you. It's just old-fashioned IR, which is also fine with me. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product & price!! I bought this product recently so I could watch Netflix in another room other than on my Xbox 360 and bring it with me when I travel. Not only does it have Netflix but it also has Pandora, Picasa, and YouTube. It comes with everything you need to get started right out the box. The RCA cable that is included is not that long and since the player has up to 1080p hdmi capability I would recommend using a hdmi cable which you can find a variety of in any Walmart store. The player has a wired/wireless connection. I use a Linksys WRT120n router and Road Runner Turbo for my internet service. The router I have is located in my living room and the streaming player is in the guest bedroom upstairs. Netflix takes about 5-20 seconds to buffer depending on what movie I select. Pandora loads fast and sounds great and everything else is pretty decent. Setting up takes about 5 minutes due to it checking for an update and typing in your account information for each service you decide to use. If you have any trouble there is a easy setup guide inside the packaging and support number. 05/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great This device has enabled me to stream my netflix to my TV without having ot replace it, or add a computer. Works great, and easy to use and set up... 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great. So easy to setup and use, even my Dad could do it...and he's not the most tech savvy person! And you can't beat the price! Home run in my book. 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great player i bought this because it says it can be hooked up to an older tv it has the av component cables, but i was a little worried because other people said it had problems getting it to work on their tv with the cables, and at first it didn't work. i couldn't get the picture to come up and it made a buzzing noise. i had to push the plug into the unit all the way and it came right up and it works great. sometimes it freezes and i have to unplug it and plug it back in then it works right, but it works fine. 06/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by D-Link MovieNite-Awesome Great Steaming Player!! Our family has been using the ROKU player for awhile but I decided to buy another one for my room. While the roku player was good, I decided to spend about $30 less and found the Movienite at Wal-Mart. I was very impressed with the simple set up and it works as good as the roku player. Had this steaming player for about 2 weeks and no issues what so ever..great buy!!! 05/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for kids room... My daughter doesn't have an X-Box, and we wanted to let her stream Netflix movies in her room. The store was out of Roku so we tried this instead. I've been happy with my D-Link router, so I figured we would give it a try. Set up is pretty easy. I just plugged it into the HDMI and connected to my wi-fi. I noticed on the D-Link website that there was a software update. It installed once I connected to the internet, and now everything works great! . I'm thinking of getting one for our bedroom, too! 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Awesome! I've been waiting for an affordable netflix and vudu multimedia streamer to come out for a while now. My TVs are relatively new but don't have internet apps built-in. I have Xboxes and a PS3 on some of my TVs but I've been looking for something inexpensive for the other TVs. D-Link read my mind and built exactly what I was looking for. My son has been using it for NetFlix all week with 0 issues. If you are using the A/V cable, make sure you PUSH IT IN FULLY to the d-link otherwise, the wrong signal will pass through the wrong cable. This is not an issue with the cable or the MovieNite but is instead, user error. Push the plug in all the way and all will be well. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vudu is really awesome!! I have friends who use Vudu who have been telling me I've been missing the boat. They were right. Vudu is awesome. The D-Link MovieNite is a great way to access Vudu, plus it has a ton more great content partners in the box (Pandora and YouTube are my faves#. MovieNite set up in less than 5 mins #and I am not a techie) and the user interface is very good. One pleasant surprise was that the remote has the colored buttons on it to "one click" to your favorite content sites. You see these buttons on connected DVDs and TVs. That was a good idea D-Linkers! MovieNite is kind of a limiting name for this product. It does a lot more than movies..... although I do like the Vudu the best. This is perfect for the 2nd and 3rd TV where I dont need a DirecTV box. I'm now down to 2 DirecTV boxes from 3 and when my 2nd MovieNite arrives from WM.com I'll be down to 1 DTV box. Woo hoo! 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by After software update, this unit is GREAT! I really enjoy commercial free Pandora for music, and purchased this unit just for that reason. Installation was quick and simple. The unit found my wireless network just fine, and the QWERTY style on-screen entry was a help over the ABCDE style some items use. I had just partial operation initially, but remembered the comments about a software upgrade. Sure enough - I was prompted to do that upgrade, and then all was well. Overall performance is very good - can't complain a bit. I use the analog cable set as I have the unit connected to the stereo system and know the Pandora menus by heart. I am pleased with my purchase, and definitely recommend it to someone who just wants the basic Internet access for entertainment and needs WiFi. 08/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT VALUE Very user friendly...connects to Netflix and Vudo in a matter of seconds...no lagging...take it from room to room...can"t beat it for $38.00... 08/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great device. Installed the device within 20 minutes and was watching NETFLIX. The D-LINK was easier to install than my Blu-Ray I purchased. 06/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! Bought this at my local Wal-Mart last week and this product rocks! Easy set up and it’s awesome with Netflix, YouTube and Pandora. Best price for great quality; fantastic purchase! 06/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Compact Device... A lot of Options This is my first time trying a streaming player, so I didn't know what to expect. First of all, I was surprised by the size! It is super compact for what it’s capable of doing. In general, the set up was super easy! Simple steps are described in the manual provided. I was literally done setting up in a couple of minutes. Just had to plug in the cables and input the wireless network information. This device allows you to stream movies from VUDU and Netflix. You can search for movies and watch it as desired. It comes with $5.99 of movie credit to spend on VUDU, which was a nice plus. You can also listen to music on Pandora. It was easy to set up; I simply had to enter my Pandora account information once and it’s all set to go. I actually really like this feature. There seems to be other features as well, but I haven’t tried them out yet. I didn’t give it 5 stars because of the remote control. I like the compact size, but I wish it was easier to enter information, such as a password. You have to use the arrows to enter each letter, so it can be a bit time consuming. But luckily I didn’t have to do that often. It’s good that each main feature has its own button on the remote though (VUDU, Netflix, Pandora, & Youtube); that makes it much easier to switch between interfaces. Please not that it doesn’t come with a HDMI cable, but it does come with a regular audio/video cable (which also works; quality might just not be as nice). Also, the overall experience also depends on your network connection. 08/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was unsure, but now I'm not!!!! I have an LG 42" and Philips 42" for which this product works great on both. Clear picture and fast setup makes this item a bargain. It is definitely worth trying, especially for the money you save. If it doesn't work with your TV #some people's complaints on here are the issue with it working on they're TV# return it for a refund and get the Roku. I tend to think it's definitely worth a try! Watching Conan The Barbarian 2011 right now on Netflix... I'm for D-Link and against this Movie! 07/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works fine -- with caveat Need a very good or upgraded broadband connection to watch movies without a buffer issue, which is not a criticism of the unit itself -- Pandora works fine. easy interface and connection 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Set up and Easy to use The set-up was very easy and the menus are easy to navigate. After trying each of the services VUDU had the best movies and features. The D-link system is priced great at less than $50 plus you get a $5.99 credit for VUDU which I used for 2 movies...much cheaper than renting on demand movies through cable! And you don't need a subscription you just pay for the movies you want to watch. I also signed up for 1 free month of Netflix, but the movies available are not as vast as VUDU. 07/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product to have if your watching movies via wi-fi, and dont want to waste so much money on a game console!!! 07/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did Not Perform As Stated The 3 main functions we bought this device for were: Netflix, YouTube, and Pandora. Netflix runs with acceptable video but there is something wrong with the audio signal as it is strewn with static and an annoying clicking scratchy sound. We tried multiple configurations and nothing fixed it. YouTube ran fine. Pandora's setup was so cumbersome that we never were able to figure out and have since purchased a different device. We are planning to return this device today. 04/08/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Spend $10 more and get a Roku HD I purchased an MovieNite for my mother to use with Netflix. I have used D-Link products in the past and figured this should be a decent product... Oh how wrong I was... During the setup, I had to enter the MAC address of the wireless adapter for my wireless networks security. However to do this you have to plug it in and turn it on. The MAC address printed on the sticker on the box is only the wirednetwork MAC address. Annoying but livable. My biggest issue was with the actual setup: The composite cable included is fairly short, and feels really cheap. To hook it up to your TV, you need to put the RED plug in the YELLOW jack and the YELLOW plug in the RED jack. The manual tells you to do yellow to yellow, white to white, red to red. Also the 3.5mm minijack plug that the AV cables plugged into was loose, and I had to rotate and angle the jack for an image to appear on the screen, and keep the audio from crackling. Very poor build quality. Then you have the shoddy software. I have multiple issue with trying to get the wireless to connect, but finally was able to. It did not list all the wireless networks, and cut off the names. I entered the wireless password, but the onscreen keyboard is really small and hard to read unless you are right infront of the TV a foot away. I decided to check for a firmware update since the shipped firmware was version, and when you go to the check for update option under maintenance, it said not enough room to download update, and forced a reboot... So if it can't download an update, how can you ever add fixes and features? After it rebooted, it wouldn't automatically conect to the wireless again. I had to manually reconnect and enter the password. After several tries and several hours, we took the device back to the store and purchased a Roku HD for $10 more. In under 30 minutes, I had teh Roku setup, updated, and configure for my mother to use. Save yourself the hassle and go that route. 04/16/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Won't work with HULU+ This unit is an OK value if all you want to use it for is Netflix streaming movies. Unlike the entry-level ROKU, which costs about $20 more, this unit will only access a limited and fixed number of streaming services. The DSM310 only supports: VUDU (Wal-Mart's own streaming service), Netflix, Pandora and YouTube. So, if you want to watch HULU+ for all of the ABC, FOX and NBC shows, it won't work. The same goes for Crackle. The picture and sound quality are fine, and the built-in WiFi adapter is handy. But, it is a very limited unit. The DSM312 MovieNite Plus is much more capable and offers many of ROKU's features, but it also costs about $30 more. (And, it's not currently offered by Wal-Mart.) 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME This is the best money I every spent in a long time. This device streams netflix,vudo,u tube and free pandora radio. its awesome. the best feature is pandora as you choose what music you want to listen to. its all music no news or interruptions. I love it. 06/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes The Netflix Streaming Membership Worthwhile! I'm currently trying out Netflix with a free trial, and I heard about this box being on sale for $38. I'm glad I purchased this, as it has made me want to continue my $7.99 netflix membership with just the streaming plan... Lots of movies and TV shows to choose from and I don't have to watch them on my PC, I can watch them on my 46" TV. What more could you ask for? I love it, goes the job! 10/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome for the price! Would love it even better if you could add more to it.. Otherwise for the price does the job well! Easy setup! 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, very helpful technical department with installation. I would highly recommend this product. 09/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Value for the Money! My partner and I purchased this item because we wanted to get Netflix video streaming and the Roku device I felt was too expensive and we thought we would try this alternative. The installation was a breeze but we did not choose to do the wireless option because where we installed ours it was easier to do a direct cable to the internet for faster downloads. It has always worked well and we have had no issues. 09/07/2012
1-30 of 102 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.