See All Reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 28 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 Fine for embroidery designs, not for monogramming I bought this machine as a beginner and I will agree that it is easy to use. I bought it with the intentions of monogramming and using it to embroider names, etc on things. In order to monogram, each letter has to be done separately, meaning you have to manually place the hoop on your fabric, etc for each letter and makes it very hard to get the placement 100% write for your monogram. The 4X4 hoop is not large enough when you want to embroider names/monograms on large things such as beach towels. I have been embroidering last names on beach towels and because of the size of the hoop I can not get the names large enough on the towel for it to even be worth it. Also buying fonts off the internet for this machine is a waste, because you can only do one letter at a time, again forcing you to manually place each letter which is time consuming. I have had this machine for one month and I am already ready to upgrade to one that at least allows for a bigger hoop and easier monogramming. 07/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for simple projects I'm not a master crafter. Last year I bought myself a Singer Curvy sewing machine and have made some simple bags and skirts, but I don't do very detailed, complicated projects yet. So for someone like me with basic experience, this machine offers a good way to start embroidering. My Singer came with a dvd that showed how to get started and I wish this machine had done that. The manual is a bit tricky to follow when it comes to setting up and threading the bobbin and machine the first time. Luckily it was similar enough to my other machine that I got it in just a couple of tries. What I like about the machine is that the touch screen made it very easy for me to get started with a plain text design very quickly. I wanted to make some fun, geeky bibs for a friend's baby and from the time I took the machine out of the box to when I got it set up, read the directions and finished my first bib it was just a little over an hour. (In the picture, the yellow bib came with the giraffe on it, I just added the monogram.) Changing the thread wasn't too tricky after I did it once and saving the pattern I created so I could use it again was simple. The only tricky part is that if you want to do something bigger than what the small embroidery hoop area allows then you have to follow the instructions for connecting two designs. I haven't needed to try that yet, but I could see how it could be limiting in your work. Using just one color at a time wasn't a problem for me since I was just doing text, but if you want to do more elaborate flower patterns or something it would be more time consuming. It looks like the machine guides you through the process though. I haven't tried downloading patterns from the website, but that looks simple enough. I would have liked for the manual to provide more details on how to create your own designs on a computer and add them to the machine, but there was nothing about that. Youtube does have some videos about it though, if you're really interested. Overall, a simple, fun machine to use. But if you want something with more options, or that will let you load more than one color of thread at a time, then you should invest in the next model up. 05/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Embroidery Only Machine I have experience using regular sewing machines and this was the first time I ever used an embroidery machine and it was very easy to set up and use. The self threading needle is awesome and the self cutter button is a great feature that all machines should have. If you are looking for a machine that only does embroidery then this is the perfect machine for you! If you need a sewing/embroidery machine I would recommend the Brother sewing/embroidery machine. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and does a good job Two years ago I bought my wife a high end hursqvarna embroidery machine, but it was complicated to use and had to be closely monitored during each job. My wife saw my frustration early on and refused to deal with it, so that job fell on me. I finally had all I could take and sold that unit on ebay for $950. Then I looked at smaller units and found this online. I bought it, choose site to store delivery and picked it up in an hour. Right out of the box my wife had it sewing and hasn't stopped. Not only was it easy to use the stitch quality is better then the high end machine I had before. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This machine is GREAT!! Stitches beautifully! Good, if you have a small space for your sewing area or as is the problem that I have...too many machines, but I use them all. This machine is very easy to thread. Directions were easy to follow. I love the different patterns that it offers. Very nice that it came with embroidery thread (3) to get started. You can also connect to the internet and down load additional patterns. To me this is a very good 1st embroidery machine (my 1st). Only thing I don't like is the PINK decoration on the machine, I'm not a lover of the color. If you want a larger hoop than the 4x4 that comes with the machine, a bigger one can be purchased on the Brother web site. But for this price...this machine is awesome!!! 07/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use, great for letters and monograms I currently have a brother sewing machine that I love (also bought it from walmart.com!). This is my first embroidery machine and I'm really pleased with this so far. what I love: - easy to set up and get started on, especially if you're already familiar with using a Brother machine. All the set-up (like threading, bobbin winding etc) is all the same. Once I plugged it in, I scanned the manual and within an hour I was already doing some test embroidery. - the LCD touch screen is really user-friendly, and the graphics are intuitive - I know one of the reviewers said he/she had problems doing monograms, but I thought it was actually pretty easy to use, and you can fit a good size monogram into the 4" by 4" embroidery area, or you can just set it up so you can line up whatever letters you didn't fit the first time into the next pass - I love that it runs on its own, I can just put in a bunch of text and hit go, and then walk away and grab a drink, and come back and its all done what isn't perfect: - I experimented with a few fabrics and without the stabilizers (the white paper sheets) the stitches won't be exactly symmetric. you really do need to use the stabilizer sheets if you want the embroidery to be perfect. Especially if you're working with any kind of fabric that isn't 100% stiff. - I still can't figure out how to use the automatic threader, but I just squint and thread the machine without any issues 09/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by okay for a very beginner Had to go to u tube for product demonstration All other brother machines had a cd with them .Will only hold 1 importer design.Has a nice stitch Be sure to use size 15 bobbins or it will skip stitches Have not figured out how to take it back stitches to cover it when the thread breaks 06/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Difficut to Setup and Use This product was very hard to setup and use. There are many pieces to put together, but I managed to complete the setup. When I tried to use it, I received an error message. It indicated to turn off and turn on again. Even after turning off and on multiple times, I still received the error message so I gave up on it. 08/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my first time to use this machine , good f I just love this and I have had so much fun with this, and I will be making all my gifts this christmas. 06/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use It is easy to thread, easy to load patterns from computer. It really does all the work for you 06/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Machine This machine works really well! I love it! Easy to learn and does a wonderful job. A friend of mine has an embroidery machine that cost thousands of dollars and this one does as good or even better. Well worth the money! 06/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by After looking at this machine for over a month at my local store, I decided to buy it. I love it ! I've only been seriously sewing for a year and this machine is so easy to use. It has step by step threading instructions on the machine, so there's no forgetting how to thread it , The LCD screen is easy to see and the machine is not only upgradable by way of the internet but has a card slot for purchased designs. It came with a USB cord , a nice variety of patterns and three different fonts for monograming.Nothing else to buy except extra thread . I monogrammed a towel the day I got it ! I would definitely recommend this machine for at home machine embroidery. 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great starter machine for the price! I have had this machine for a little over a month and I actually have been getting a lot of use from it! It's a great starter machine for someone just starting out. It has an awesome self threader and it is very very easy to operate, right out of the box! I have another machine with a bigger embroidery area, but I seem to be using this one a lot more. You must have a computer to download designs from the internet. This machine does not use the usb sticks. It has some great designs already loaded onto it and it also has some fonts too! If you are wanting to try machine embroidery, buy this machine....you can't go wrong with it! 06/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for new embroidery This product was very easy to get to know how to use. I have other brother products, so the transfer of knowledge was easy. The threading pattern was the same and written on the machine. The documentation that accompanied the machine was easy to understand. For a beginner with this type of machine, this is perfect. 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice,I still having trouble with understanding how it works,but I will get it right .Love the Embroidery machine,Thank you ,D.D 06/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it!!! This machine is great for me. No switching from sewing to embroidery..I bought the card reader also, and it works great with the machine. I have had no issues at all, except one's I created myself (threaded wrong, forgot stabilizer, duh). I highly recommend this machine!! 06/01/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by i read the reviews before buying so i thought i could handle this. it's not as easy as everyone else has found it for me. i'm a pretty crafty person, so i can follow instructions but the manual for this is so lacking to me. it says you can combine patterns but doesn't tell you how. i haven't had time to google so it's i haven't found any extra instructions. i've used it twice and already had to take it in for service. I'm not happy with it. 08/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love the machine and it is easier to thread top and bobbin than any Brother I have seen. I guess my only complaint is that it can be sewing perfectly and without changing anything it will lose either the top or bobbin thread. Still practicing but so far it is kind of unpredictable when it will mess up. I would probably purchase again because of the price but slightly disappointed. Could be that I have no embroidering experience at all. If you cannot afford more get this machine and keep practicing. Overall pleased. 08/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine for the price I am an avid crafter and sewer. I wanted to start dabbling in embroidery but didn't want to spend a lot of money on a machine. This was the perfect machine. I was embroidering in within minutes of taking it out of the box and haven't stopped since. There are some designs that are preprogrammed in the machine but thousands and thousands you can download from your computer. Many websites with free or inexpensive designs. I am so glad I purchased this machine!! Back to my projects!! 10/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome machine..great price! This machine is reasonably priced, but don't let the price fool you...it is ready to go right out of the box, easy to set up, easy to use and does wonderful embroidery! The only down side is that you are not able to embroider a pattern larger than 4 x4 without buying additional software. Highly recommend this machine to anyone who is new to embroidery and is interested without having a big expense. This is my first embroidery machine and the first time I have done machine embroidery. Having a great time embroidering!! 10/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really cute, really nice embroidery machine! I've had Brother embroidery machines for over 15 years and picked this up recently to do the 4" designs on. I really like everything about this machine; the price, the look and the functionality. This is a great embroidery machine for anyone from the experienced embroiderer as a backup machine to a beginner starting out wanting a good embroidering experience. 10/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Embroidery machine I have used embroidery machine for the first tome when I got Brother PE-500 Embroidery Machine. It took couple of trials to get a basic embridery done. It is very simple to place the thread and bobbins compared to other machines. I haven't tried downloading the designs from PC yet, but i feel comfortable that i can do it sometime soon. 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great machine! Purchased and received the Brother PE 500 embroidery machine and I love it. Does everything I want to do. The only cons I can think of are the smaller design area...other than this it is.the best buy for the money paid. 08/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by really one great product to begin one business 08/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i got this machine in good condition, havent' used it much yet, but it is quite, and sews good,i can use my other hoops with it, they are from my White machine and can use all my cards with it, havent' tried the internet thing yet, will be anxious to try 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun starter embroidery machine Once past the basics of reading thru the manual and using the machine the first time, it doesn't seem nearly as daunting as I imagined. It is a fun little machine to learn machine embroidery on and, while I wish I could do larger designs and didn't have to rethread for every color, I am quite happy to have it! I wanted it just for fun, not for commercial applications, so it isn't heavily used and I expect it to last me a long time. Love being able to download patterns from the internet in addition to the prestored ones on the machine! 08/11/2012
1-27 of 27 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew345
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp