See All Reviews
Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker
Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 76 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great rice cooker For the price this rice cooker has exceeded all of my expectations. I generally cook two cups of rice at a time, and have not had any problems with liquid sputtering out of the steam vent as others have described. In cook mode it seems to be on a 1 hour timer, then it kicks into warm mode. 1 hour may not be enough for some brown rices, but its easy enough to work around. I just unplug it, add a bit more liquid, and plug it back in. You will be on your own with timing at that point, but it's still easier then tending a boiling pot, at least in my opinion. 06/04/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by a middle size rice cooker The cooker looks okay. It cooks quite fast and cooked rice is more or less fine. The problem is that it always comes out some liquid when it is cooking. I have to clean up the area near by after every usage. I do not cook too much, just about 3 cups rice. BTW, the cup comes with the cooker is smaller than usual, and bad in shape. Their 3 cups is like 2 standard cups. 05/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome rice cooker @ affordable price Read reviews & wasn't sure what to expect, but I am VERY happy I decided to take a chance. Makes enough rice for our family of 3 to be able to have left overs for a couple days. Haven't had any problems with water mess as some other customers have mentioned. 100% satisfied 09/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have used this product twice. Its excellect for a party. It comes with a small measuring cup thats why its a 14 cup rice cooker. I'm enjoying it. 10/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!!!! A MUST BUY!! I got this rice cooker mainly because of price, but it was worth it!!! I use it to cook 6 cups of rice pretty much everyday! We have a dog that needs a special diet and I tried once to make it by hand and boy is that a pain!! So now we give rice to all our dogs everyday and meal. Not ever having used one before, this completely surprised me. I am still surprised that in about 20 minutes it is done. add a little water and it wont stick to itself. I am currently trying to find another bowl for it or buy another one of this one. The price is awesome for this wonderful rice cooker!!! 07/24/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by MESSY! No matter what amount of rice I use, this rice cooker spews foamy, starchy goop everywhere. Not only does it come out of the vent hole, but also bubbles out around the lid. I've tried rinsing the rice to wash away some of the starch, that just made the rice more pasty-very unhappy!! 04/19/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Great This was my first rice cooker and sad to say it didn't work out. The no matter how much rice I cooked it boiled over. Maybe mine is malfunctioning, but it got so hot the rice browned and stuck to the bottom every time. Back to the store! I am going to try an Aroma cooker next. Wish me luck! 05/16/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Boilng water and rice slime everywhere! I had a smaller version of this Rice Cooker and it did spew steam out of the vent hole in the lid, but I was able to cover it with a small paper towel to limit the output. This larger version is worse by far. When I tried to slow the steam with a small paper towel, it began spewing from the lid and covered my counter as well as the lid. What a big mess! 02/11/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by messed up measurements ive been buying black and decker rice cookers all my life...use it almost everyday...when one finally dies, I have to go buy another the same day....just got this one because it was the only black and decker Walmart had on the shelves...came home to cook rice and put my 2 cups of rice in the pot ( cup that comes with it like they all have) cleaned my rice with water a few times and dumped it out...THEN I went to fill it with water on the line for 2 cups....something was very wrong...it was like a few spoons of water....I knew that was wrong....so I dumped it into my old pot and much more water was needed to get to 2 cups....I finally figured out that IN THIS RICE COOKER you have to put the water in first to the line for 2 cups , then the rice that has already been washed in a bowl...this is an extra step and an extra dirty bowl...not how ive done it for 25 years...if my old pot fit into this one ( a little too small) I would just use that....they shouldn't have changed it..... 08/25/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stop working quickly Bought one two weeks ago. At first it works as expected. I have a small Aroma Rice cooker but I wanted a bigger one for family & friends get together dinner. So I bought this 14-cup two weeks ago. I used almost everyday to cook rice and it works fine. Then yesterday, I notice the lights were not on and no longer cooking. So I bought another one, because I really needed a bigger rice cooker. The first time I turned it on, it smelled like plastic was burning, so I ignored that and continue to cook my rice, it heated up and then it stop working, no light on, it didn't even bring my rice to boil. Tried unpluging it on and off, but no luck. It will not come back on. I don't know if anyybody else is having the same issue. But I'm returning it and getting another brand. I'm sticking to my Aroma. 05/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great! The Black & Decker 14 -Cup Rice Cooker works great! It's not too small and not too large for us. I've been practicing cooking Spanish rice recipes, and the rice turns out so fluffy. Very nice! The trick is not to stir the rice, and to let it rest after cooking for at least 10 minutes. The steamer basket could be improved by putting handles on it. I steamed some baby carrots and they turned out fine, but removing the hot steamer basket is awkward. 04/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rice taste better. Rice taste so much better. It is soft and I can cook more with less rice. When I save the left over in the fridge the next day I warm it up in the microwave and it taste like I just made it and still very soft. Love it! The only regrest I have if that I didn't buy it a long time a go. It would of made as happy as I am now in the kitchen. Price is good so, I would say try it. It is worth it. 06/12/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by DON'T BUY THIS RICE COOKER!!! I am using this rice cooker for the 2nd time. First time I only cooked 2 cups and it burned on the bottom. This time I am cooking 4 cups. It isn't even done yet and is boiling over and spewing boiling rice water all over the place and burned my arm when I tried to move it. It will be going back to store. Glad I saved the receipt. 09/21/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by makes perfect rice, although i wouldnt leave it on the warmer setting. I left it for the 10 minutes it said after it was done cooking and the whole bottom was like glue, i just scraped the top layer off. Next time i will set the time for about 15 minutes and keep and eye on it so when it changes from cook to warm i can remove the rice so it doesnt cook anymore. Also the directions on how much water isnt very clear. I pretty much guessed at what they were saying about the different lines for different types of rice, they dont show what is what in the manual and it turned out fine except the bottom was way over cooked from the warmer setting. 03/26/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worked great for one month, then died I loved it as long as it worked. After one month, it suddenly died for no apparent reason. It made great rice. I ended up getting an Aroma brand rice cooker. It steams faster and has a larger bin for steaming veggies. 04/11/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tossing in garbage First cooker stopped working after 10 weeks. Returned plug per warranty instructions to receive replacement. Took over a month to get. This one has stopped. Putting in garbage. 01/28/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great cooker worked well for the size and price. not complicated. 12/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great rice pot great I am so happy with my item, glad I order 2 1 for me and 1 for my daughter. 07/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Switch failure is the bad part of Black & Decker. I really wondered how Black & Decker produces products with bad switches. I replaced my 2month old cooker with a new one because of switch failure. 04/30/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent price for a good rice cooker I am Asian and eat rice almost every day. In the middle of moving so I'm without my Tiger brand rice cooker (the best brand for rice cookers). Needed a temporary rice cooker at a low price so bought this one. Likes: works, rice tastes good, cooks rice fast, good low price. For 1 person (1 serving) = 1 cup (the cup comes with rice cooker). For white rice: 1 cup rice + 1 cup water. For brown rice: 1 cup rice + 1 1/2 cups water. I usually eat/mix 1/2 white rice (kokuho rose brand) and 1/2 brown rice (nishiki brand) for taste (white rice) and fiber (brown rice). Though rice cooker says makes 14 cups, I usually only make 2-3 cups at most at one time. There is a hole in the lid to allow steam to escape when cooking rice. 10/14/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It cooks moré than rice I am very happy with it, the size is great for 4 people. The first one I bought thinking it would be enough was "6" cups....turns out that is messured according to the plastic small container that comes with the cooker, that small cup is equivalent to 1/2 regular cup/mug. So rally the 6 cup rice cooker I first bought was just 3 actual cups...it was tiny. This one is much better, I can cook rice, pasta, quinoa and soups. I saw that you can also make cakes and breads with it.... I like it very much! The only thing that prevents me of giving 5 stars is the fact that once it's set on cook, it won't pop up automatically, so you have to check it before your rice or anything you are cooking burns. 01/15/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 14 Cup Rice/Steamer Makes perfect rice, doesn't spit all over the place like one review stated. I love it. 12/08/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product for the price!!! Cooked brown rice perfect, clean-up was a breeze. 08/04/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplifies supper preparation. I received my B&D rice cooker for Christmas several years ago. Honestly, I rolled my eyes. Another kitchen appliance for Christmas. It turns out though that I love this one, and I use it several times a week. I just purchased one for a wedding gift. Highly recommend. 08/20/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's a great product This is great product for everyday usage and its very quick. Rice will not stick to bottom. I really love this. 07/25/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very bad product. When i bought online. I went and pick the cooker in store. the same day i was using it.its not at all working and the light is not blowing also.Please put the products away from the store which doesn't work. 04/19/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Messy This is the second rice maker I have purchased this month. When using the first one, I made the smallest amount of rice that the recipe called for. Within 5 min the rice water was spitting out the breather hole of the lid and onto my counter and down the side of the cooker. This B&D started to do the same, but didn't make quite the mess the other did. I will try steaming some veggies and see how that goes 01/30/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a great value product I like this cooker...It's a great value product 01/24/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great Would buy again as a gift. 01/22/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect and compact rice cooker My mom's old rice cooker finally took a dive and she was optimistic about getting another rice cooker, but when I went to Walmart and found this rice cooker after reading all the reviews on rice cookers I took the chance and broke down and bought it for her. She absolutely loves it. The rice cooker cooks faster than her original one she had for years. She likes this it's because its compact so now she leaves it on the counter. Thanks walmart! 01/20/2016
  • 2016-02-10 T05:50:33.384-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_76, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_20564674, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 70 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew488
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp