See All Reviews
Rated 2.9 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth the problems At the beginning of the release, trying to play was terrible with all the server overloads. The game itself is fantastic and very addicting. Ive played for a couple days straight now and havent had any problems playing on the servers. EA has done multiple fixes with the servers including adding a ton more to take the load off the rest of the servers. The game is worth buying "now". Dont let the bad reviews steer you away from a great game with great potential. Ive logged 20 hours in a week playing this. 03/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by If I would have given a review days after buying this game it most likely would have been poor. As a huge MMO gamer, server issues was something I deal with often. After EA finally got it together and we were all able to play. My review is 5 stars. There is so much to do, hours and hours of game time. The online aspect is great. Maybe later we will get added content. It is online but you dont have to play with others, you can block people from joining. If you loved the past Simcity games. You will love this one!!! 03/16/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Regrets Purchase I was able to log in to the game when I first installed the game without any issues. I had to run an errand and when I tried to log into the game I was put into a que. I have been que’ing for hours. I went to the forums and I am not the only one that has wasted hours waiting to log in and play the game. This is possibly related to the game being new and EA not being prepared for the load so if you have not purchased the game yet I would hold off on purchasing the game until they get this situated. If not you, you can play the que game with the rest of us. You must have an internet connection to play this game. 03/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Please people, get real... I give this 4/5 stars. As much as I love Sim City games, this one has to be the best I've seen in a long, long time. The people here giving it a 1/5 stars are too biased at the fact that this game is new and requires an internet connection. No one, not even EA could foresee how well the game would actually sell, thus giving it some problems on launch. But as far as actual game play goes, mind blowing! Now, I agree that the whole DRM part factors into the rating, which is pretty much the only reason why I gave this a 4/5 instead of 5/5... As far as the business end goes, EA definitely did the right thing with DRM, even though it is an inconvenience to some. All in all- Game play, 5/5; DRM and online issues 3/5 ( But you must realize this will not be an issue for ever. I'm sure EA is fixing it, or even has fixed it already by the time you read this review) Final verdict: Amazing game to play and watch. Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone who wants to try out a Sim City game, or even to those long time veterans. 03/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the game, hence all the negative reviews Everyone: Remember when a new game first comes out there's always glitches. I bought the game on 5/8/13 and haven't stopped playing. When I first put the disc in my PC, logged onto Origin (which I can't stand but you have to use it in order to play) there were many updates that had to be downloaded. I haven't been kicked off a server yet and have enjoyed hours and hours of game play. My PC is about 4 years old and plays the game well and the graphics are ok but if I had a newer computer I'm sure it would look even better. To any of you who are on the fence about buying the game: I say buy it. It seems EA has been updating the game on a regular basis and it has been out for two months now. Thanks for reading my review! 05/13/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great gameplay, if it ever works. The game itself is great. But what is killing it is the DRM always connected forced feature. I was able to play it for a while on launch day. But now I can't play at all because of the ineptitude of EA deciding to save my gameplay on a server instead of on my hard drive and all servers being down. I just hope that my investment can be rewarded later on when they finally fix the servers. 03/06/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pretty pictures on the box... But since the EA SimCity servers are overloaded, you'll never actually get to play. I've owned the game for 48hours, and have had less than 1 hour of playable time. During that hour I was also repeatedly disconnected and unable to play for longer than 5 minutes - this game is an absolute waste of the disc it was printed on, an abhorrent time sink for updates and attempting to actually login, and a disgrace to video gaming in general. If you don't believe me, go take a peek at EA's "Answer HQ" for the game - no answers, only questions regarding when exactly the servers will be playable. EA is supposedly working to resolve the problem, however there is no time-frame, and they've already been flat out wrong and indicated the servers were up when they were, in fact, down for emergency maintenance. Don't waste your time and money. Get SimCity 4 if you're that desperate for a good SimCity game - that one doesn't require EA to have their servers in working order. 03/07/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Dissapointing EA was not prepared for this game, they have a mandatory online mode that can't be turned off, and their servers are over run, so you cant even get on to play ..... save your money until this problem is fixed!!! So far it has been a flop and a huge disappointment. 03/07/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maxis couldn't have done any more. This game is by far fun to play. Maxis did a great job with the game. Although the servers are down a lot, once you are in the game and playing the down servers have no affect on you. This game is a 5/5 no doubt, but that potential is kind of shot since you have to be connected to the internet even when you are just playing single player. Game's still a little bit buggy as well, but for the 3 days I have had this game I have been extremely impressed and have to force myself to get off and get some sleep. 03/10/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This game must be played on-line,if your internet connection fails this game cannot be played,origin servers are constantly down or experiencing problems,crashes just as much if not more than SimCity4,and each time I've been brought back to the tutorial,5x so far. 03/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best way to break the time and educational :D I play SimCity on an average of 5 hours a day. It's a great way to break the time for me because its summer break and i play the iOS app; Clash of clans, Which is a game where you wait for buildings to upgrade which takes real time. So while im playing SimCity, time is going by quickly. I think the game helps you learn more about what goes on in your city and cities worldwide that you didn't know and the game really gives you a feel of what controlling a city is like and all the problems you face as a mayor. 07/16/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My son enjoyed the game My son really enjoyed the game. He has a lot of fun playing it. I didn't want him to buy it because of some of the negative reviews I'd read about the game but now I'm glad we bought it. The only negative we had was the difficulty in purchasing via ship-to-store. 06/27/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not Buy! This game has DRM (Digital Rights Management) that requires you to always be logged onto EA's (EA being the publisher of this video game) online servers. The biggest problem here is that huge numbers of people who purchased this game are unable to log on because the servers that are available to play on are unable to accommodate all the people trying to play. Those that do manage to log on, loose connection almost immediately after booting the game up. This game at the moment is as far as I am concerned, is broken and would advise anyone who might to be interested in buying to stay away from this title until at least the problems w/ it have been addressed. 03/08/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Toxic cloud. Always on DRM .. servers offline Thousands are reporting these connectivity issues in forums everywhere. Game requires you connect to their servers for single player; even tutorial. With the servers offline or in a constant state of patching over the past two days few are able to connect. And those that are able cannot join a game or create their own single player map which also requires connectivity to a server to "save your game to their cloud". Game is overpriced to begin with but this is brutal as it makes that overpriced game unplayable .. even unlaunchable. As a fan and owner of every version since classic b&w this is a terrible failure for EA/Maxis. They started offering refunds and then backpedaled on this too. THIS is a prime example of why PC gamers feel that Steam rules and Origin su__s .. just in case you're still missing the point. 03/09/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sorry I purchased this I purchased this game at my local Walmart on the day of release, March 5th. I have only been able to play about 8 hours worth of the game. Mostly due to updates and being knocked off their servers. And when I am able to play, the gameplay is extremely slow......Save your money for another game........No offline play what so ever.....Going back to playing SimCity4. 10 years have passed since this one was released and the new version goes back in time.. They have even turned of some functionality of this game. I paid full price how come I don't get a full game? 03/09/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A great game ruined by poor online system. Simcity was a game that I held high hopes for, only to be let down quickly when I actually was able to play it. The Always online was an annoyance, one that looking back should have steered me away from the game all together. Game maker Maxis, and EA assured us that was because calcualtions performed in the background required the server itself to do the heavy lifting. This was later admmited to be false, as well as proven by the gamming community. Now they say that they had to make it online, because it was their vision to do so. What about your customers visions of what a franchise was, and should be? Aside from the horrible Online aspect, the game itself has glaring flaws. (though Maxis is trying to work to improve them.) First and foremost is traffic issues, the sims will always take the shortest path from point A to B, even if that path is a two lane dirt road. Secondly, the sims always start the day unemployed, and fill in jobs starting with the closest to them. This too causes traffic congestion with every sim in the game going for one open job till it's full, then onto the next closest. Fire trucks and other emergency vehicles spend all their time in traffic, almost making their addition in your city pointless. I am sure within a few months, all these points will be addressed and likely fixed. That doesn't take away from the fact that the game shipped out on day one, was unplayable, and as of this writing still is if you have any serious intentions to make a working city when playing. 03/19/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Buy this right Now The SimCity launch has been plagued with server stability issues. Now that many of those issues are being resolved and people are getting into play, a plethora of game breaking bugs are showing up, making cities unplayable. It's also possible for your city or region files to get corrupted and continuously get a "Cannot load this city at this time. Please try again" message loop, losing hours of progress permanently. The multiplayer, one of the 'key elements' of this game is buggy. Sending and sharing resources and vehicles with friends is delayed 5 minutes to an hour. Sometimes, money or resources sent are never received, but are still deducted from the player sending them. SimCity has some good elements and a lot of the gameplay is fun, until it bugs out, which seems to happen to everyone. Save your money. Wait until the game drops in price and the issues are fixed. 03/13/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This game is horribly, horribly broken I've had this game for just shy of a week now and I've only been able to play it for about thirty minutes in total. It is a single-player game that *requires* a constant Internet connection. Their servers have been failing constantly and I'm often not able to get a connection. When I do, there's a wait queue that I've spent up to an hour in. Who wants to play a game where you have to start it up and then wait for an hour to start playing? Not me. I'm finished with SimCity and I'm finished with EA after this debacle. What a waste of money. 03/09/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Those darn server issues!!! I really think the game is a lot of fun and it has a ton of new concepts. If you liked sim city 2000, you would really enjoy this game. The graphics are great, the concept is real, and if it weren't for the server issues, I would have given it 5 stars. 03/19/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can't use I will be returning this game. We live in an area the does not have high speed internet and this game can only be played online. Which would uses excessive amounts of our bandwidth. 01/08/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by piece of junk broken piece of junk 03/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would give this game a zero or negative rating I would give this game a zero or negative rating if I could. It made me register my email address online and it made me give myself an "identity" so that others would "know" who I was. When I bought it, I thought I was buying a game that the kids would play offline after it was installed. That does not appear to be the case. If you don't want your kids exposed to or playing with strangers on the internet you probably do not want to buy this product. The kids like to play computer games sometimes while I'm working. Due to my computer needs for work, they cannot be on the internet while I'm working therefore this game is useless until I'm done working for the day. After spending $60 for this game, I am very, very angry. 03/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by do not buy until server issues are fixed. We haven't been able to play the first week b/c you need to access a spot on the server and they are all busy. Then you go thru the tutorial and it locks up at the same spot each time and it starts you over. You can not start your own city yet according to interviews with the developers 03/10/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not buy this game! Unless you are looking to waste $60 on a game, do not buy this! You might think that the other reviews are old and outdated and they've probably fixed the problems with this game by now, at least that's what I thought. This is possibly the most bugged and glitchy game I have ever played. Maxis and EA are not even trying to fix the situation! 04/22/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good buy This game really does not let you build what you wish, you cannot just have a small town, it forces you to grow and grow. The sites are not big enough to put everything in one city, so when you start a neighboring city and ignore the other one, it goes into chaos and banktuptcy. Its very hard to get anywhere in this game 09/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! This game has great loading time.Don't Listen to what others say about this game it is a great game.If i can pick a number i out of 10 i would most likely pick 10 all the way.if you have a kid who like to build cities or play a game like minecraft get this game for him. 06/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great game I have really enjoyed playing SimCity Limited Edition(PC) as well as my dad has 05/31/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by fun iteractive gameplay that seems to never end. Very addictive but is not worth the troubles that come along with the game. The servers are unreliable at time and the game will randomally exit and and loose all of your data. If you are willing to deal with these randomally occuring problems you will still have a lot of fun with this game. 04/14/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Yes and No So this my first Simcity game and looking at the past games, this one lookes the best. Even though it has some bugs, we all know that it will get a huge update. Maybe not now, maybe not tomorrow, but someday. One thing wrong about this is the cost. $60 for the Standard Edition, $70 for the Limited Edition, and $80 for the Double Deluxe Edition! The price should at least start at $40 or something else, but the price is bizarre! I got the game on Walmart for their their quick shipping, and that the Limited Edition is $10 lower than the Origin price. So i am on the fence to recommended this, but I say yes, but buy it off Walmart for a lower price than Origin (no offence Origin). So this is your choice, do you want to buy it or not? -Me!!!:) 03/16/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by D.O.A. (Dead On Arrival) I never got a chance to actually try Sim City Limited Edition. After I loaded it onto my laptop, either it would crash or it would crash my laptop. I am still trying to find a few "lost" files since I uninstalled the software and removed the disc. I will return it for credit as soon as I can get to the post office. 03/15/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T09:20:12.009-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_52, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_20532210, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 46 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew386
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp