Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 326 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Room Cooler i bought it at my local store for $107 (cheaper then online) because at my apartments it has a VERY old swamp cooler that hardly cools off the back part of the apartment. &when i pulled it out of the box i was worried it may be too small to cool off my master bedroom since it says to cool a small room only. but too my surprise, it cools off the room VERY well! i have a fan that blows toward my door which helps it cool off the back part of the hall & small bathroom. i plan on buyin a second one for my sons room since it gets so hot in his room as well. totally worth buying! would definetly recomend it for any room, :) 04/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Price and Performance In store for under $100.00 and does a great job for the size! Would I buy it again? You bet. 05/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome little AC for a one room I have central air, but needed something for when I'm the only one who's hot. I was a little worried because my room was on the tail end of the space recommendation. But it's great. It really chills my room. I love it. 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We have central ac in our house but its an older model so we decided to buy a window unit to try to cool the house. We have been very pleased with this product very much worth the 120 dollars spend on this product. Our house is cool and feels very comfortable! 04/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cools a bigger space than it advertises.... This was so easy to install, it took only about 15 minutes. And it really cooled down the room, and very quickly! Within about 10 minutes my room was already feeling cooler, and it's now comfortably 10 degrees cooler! My room is about 23ft x 12ft, plus the 10x10 room next to it is also cooler, and the 10x10 room on the other side of the door is also noticeably cooler. This has worked out great so far!!! 06/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Deal! So far me and my husband have been very pleased with our purchase. When we got the a/c home and out of the box my husband was skeptical about how well it would work because of it's small appearance. But after the first night, he changed his mind! It was very cool and comfortable in our room. (room size about 10X15) Installation says that it is easy, but for us it was a task in itself; I would definitely recommend having at least two people install this unit. Overall we are very pleased with our purchase, and would recommend this a/c to others looking to buy an inexpensive but efficient machine. 06/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, Quiet, Cheap Little A/C I bought this to replace a 10,000 BTU being used in a smallish, attic room. I went to WalMart looking for a Frigidaire with a remote, but all they had were this one and a few other ones. The one I replaced, which was only 3 years old, but in all fairness, a stupid bird had built a nest on one side of it, so it was sucking in that trash, so it probably only needs a good cleaning, was a GE and never really cooled that well anyway, so I was nervous about getting another one. I am glad I got this one. This one gets a little cool at night so I sometimes have to adjust it, but that's a good thing. It's whisper quiet, and to me, that's not really a good thing because I like white noise anyway. Sure it's cheaply built and only has a one-way air flow adjustment, but heck, it's less than $100 and the one-way adjustment hasn't proven to be a problem. If you're looking for something cheap and quick, and something that actually cools, get this. One thing though...the backing that goes underneath the top rail is wafer thin and when I was taking the backing off, it stuck to the top of the A/C and there's black junk where I had to tear it off. Be careful when applying it to the rail. The screws in the rail didn't want to seat very good, but I will get a #3 phillips to screw it in the rest of the way. Also, even though it's small, it ain't light! I had no problem with it, but a woman or weaker man might want to get some help lugging it up stairs, and if you have a high window, lifting it in. I'm a big feller that works out (I'm handsome too, just to complete the picture in your mind), and I thought it would be lighter because I had one-arm carried my daughter's 5,000 BTU Frigidaire from the car to her room without breaking a sweat. I hope the review serves you well. I don't know what the complaint about them being loud is all about, as mine is quiet as a church mouse. You're welcome. 07/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by seems good so far i've had it this ac for a few weeks now, so far runs great, no problems. i wouldn't recommend this for larger rooms but for smaller rooms it is perfect, i dont regret buying this item one bit:) 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent little unit After getting it home and unboxing it I thought it would have a hard time doing the job, boy was I wrong! This thing puts out a lot of cool air. In fact I am going to buy another one before they raise the price on this little guy. 06/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good product The overall product was fine. The problem I had was with installation. For the longest time couldn't get the sliders on each side to go on the a/c properly, finally decided to put them in opposite of how the directions told u to install (from bottom to top, rather than top to bottom) 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works very well I bought 2 of these ac units, one for my living room and one for my bedroom, they cool the rooms very nicely. Very happy with them, and plan on buying 2 more, for my dining room and my son's bedroom. Good quality and price. 05/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the price It is smaller than i thought it was, but it those the job. Good little Air Conditioner 05/31/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good cantidate for installation in casement window I have sliding casement windows in my house and resisted the idea of buying VERY expensive ($400+) units designed specifically for them. I found that by building a frame to sit inside my sliding windows (on the sill) it was actually pretty easy to install these. I used a plexiglass pane in the upper part of the frame which makes the install look very good. Check out the Instructables website for "Mounting a Standard Air Conditioner in a Sliding Window" to get some ideas. About the AC unit itself: There are two fan speeds in the cooling mode. The power consumption is almost identical in each mode since the compressor still draws the same power regardless. The only difference is that in the high mode the air exchange is a little higher, so the initial cooling might be slightly quicker. The low setting does seem to create more condensation around the vent adjustment wheel. Electrical stats: The power consumption starts around 420 watts and seems to stabilize around 500 watts about 10 minutes after turn on. The power factor measures 0.97. Although the power consumption may appear to be low, be aware that if you run this thing at max (7) on the thermostat for 24hrs a day, 30 days a month, you could see an increase of $35-$40 in your electric bill. In real world usage, your increase will only be a small fraction of that. Cooling ability: This is largely determined by how well insulated the room is. In a newer home with good insulation, this unit will have no problem attaining a 20F drop in a medium sized room. However, in a large uninsulated upstairs bedroom it may struggle to achieve a 10F drop. It's only 5000BTU, don't expect it to do the job of a 10,000BTU+ unit. Window size: The bare unit is 16 inches wide (not counting the clips on the side for the mounting rails. This exactly matched the opening size for one of my sliding windows. By constructing a special mounting frame (see comments at top), I was able to shoehorn it in. If you want to use the included mounting panels, it CAN be made to fit windows somewhat narrower that the specifications claim. You simply have to cut off an inch or two from the ends of all the plastic rails where they slide into the top and bottom of the unit. By doing this, I was able to use the included hardware to easily install one of my units (I bought two) into a window opening of less than 20 inches. I'd guess that somewhere around 19" to 19.5" is going to be the lower limit unless you discard the mounting panels. Misc: The water that collects inside the unit (from the evaporator coil) is channeled into a low spot in the bottom of the unit that the rim of the condenser fan dips into. The water is flung around shroud surrounding the fan which allows the water to drip down into the fan blades. This can be heard as a ticking or soft snapping sound every so often. The water then gets blown onto the hot condenser coil where it quickly gets evaporated. This prevents the unit from dripping (outside) under most conditions. When turning the unit on after a rainstorm, you may hear an increase in this noise for a few seconds until the fan picks up the accumulated water and blows it out the back. 07/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good little unit It's a good basic unit - no remote control or anything, but we'd only need it on if we were in the room anyway. The thing I can't understand is why these manufacturers can't get directional fins to shoot the air where you want it! Really, I can't believe it's rocket science, but I have 2 units that are very difficult, if not impossible, to redirect the flow of air from just blowing straight ahead. 06/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great a/c unit for a small room! We purchased this a/c unit for a room in my sister's house to use (and then leave) while on vacation. Installation was easy and the unit cooled the room easily. It was nice and chilly in there while we were sleeping. I would recommend this unit to anyone needing to cool a room when a/c is not available or when a/c doesn't reach the room you'll be occupying. We will probably order one for our upstairs bonus room at home to supplement the a/c we have in the house. Excellent product! 06/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very cool! I bought this AC for my daughter's bedroom-we live in a 3rd-floor apartment. We already had 2 ACs-one built into the wall in the dining room and a Frigidaire I bought for my bedroom a couple of years ago. Her room was still too hot, even with these 2 running non-stop, on 80+ days. I read many reviews and decided to get this little GE AC- it works great! It's nothing fancy (dials not digital, not energy star-which bothered me during my research (but I found out that it's hard to get a 5,000 BTU AC that is energy star-Fridigaire had one at Best Buy but it got terrible reviews.) I wanted something lightweight that I could manage to get up the stairs and in the window-this one weighs 43 lbs-the other brand at BB weighed 52. It was a great price ($98) and does the exact job I wanted it to do-keep my daughter's room cool-now 70 degrees in her room (rather than 75-85) which is perfect-she gets too cold if it goes below 70! I have recommended it to several other people since. I have also found that it is much quieter than my 6,000 BTU Fridigaire, which seems to cycle on and off constantly-not true of the GE. I also think it cools better. We have only had this AC for 2-weeks-and we have used it non-stop since it's been a heat wave-and have had no problems at all. You might want to get one before they are sold out-you may be able to order it online if it sells out of your local store but why wait. My neighbors are jealous because they're sweating! I told them for a hundred bucks get this GE and you won't be sorry-this is the one to get (not the Haier at Target which is the same price but got worse reviews.) I'm glad I got this one! I highly recommend this product for a small-10x12-room. 06/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Good SMALL unit We bought this because it would fit in a casement window due to its 16" width. we werent expecting the best, but this unit is ok. room is 144 sq ft totally shaded and it cools it a little but dont expect a 60 degree room on an 85 degree day. at best it makes the room a little bit more comfortable and really what do you expect for a hundred bucks. 06/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product for the price. I got this unit trying to beat 98 degrees outside, I live on the 2nd floor of an old brick building - it works GREAT, better than I thought it would since this apt. is larger than the unit should cover. 06/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by General Electric 5,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner Air conditioner is good and cools the room within minutes of switching-on. Good product. Recommend to my friend. 06/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keeps a small room cool. My bedroom is quite big and I find that it takes a while to cool down on a very hot day/night. But when it is cool, it stays there. 07/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by do you mind the noise? This unit was a good buy. It will cool off a small bedroom quickly. It is a bit noisy. 07/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unexplainably Great Service I bought three of these onlinefor my small BnB. 36 hours later Fedex delivered them for 97 cents each. They work perfectly in small bedrooms. I highly recommend both the AC units and Walmart/Fedex service team 07/03/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over rated I think This unit is suppossed to cool 150 sq ft. I have a room that is pretty well insulated so purchased it as the unit would be on the shady side of the house. First the tape that sticks to the bottom of the top lip is really thin and will tear apart very easily If it sticks to your fingers it will rip I have the unit installed and the outside temp is roughly 90 degrees the room is at 76 degrees I have had it running full blast for over 6 hours and it has only cooled 4 degrees I do not think it would even be noticed when the outside temps get to a 100 or it is a hot sunny day If it will only cool down this much then I do not think you could turn it off and let a room get into the 80's and be able to cool it down at all The unit shows to be a 5050 BTU and everything you read says 5000 should handle 100 to 150 sq ft. I guess it is an opinion since there is nothing that says it will cool from this temp to this temp It only says will cool 100 to 150 so if it cools 1 degree it is doing what is stated I will be returning it and get something bigger 06/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works! It arrived and was damaged. On the top right corner, back...had been bent--working on that concern. It works and cools a small room. The fan is fine, but when the compressor runs it is louder and a bit much at night. You get what you pay for here. Does it cool? Yes, very well in heat at the 90 range. Does it work when I put the setting on 6 vs. 9? Yes, the compressor shut off and then came on when the temp went up--good feature that worked. The adjustment for air flow is sufficient. The drainage is a bit tricky if the unit is not seated properly. I tilted mine back a bit to ensure it emptied the water. Otherwise, the fan spins and spits the water (not out to you-exhaust). For the money and home delivery, return policy it's a good buy. 07/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for what I wanted I purchased this for a glassed front porch which is an office and receives hot western and southern exposure. I can run this item on low and in combination of a ceiling fan can become chilly. The best part is the cool air also goes into the house and with ceiling fans makes the rooms immediate to the porch comfortable as well, which means I need to run the main air conditioning less. I will be curious to see the next electric bill. Keep in mind, this unit has been very effective during this record 100+ degree weather in the midwest. It is small, fairly easy to install, and makes life much better. 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy This a/c is great for the price. Cools quickly and gets job done. Only draw back is the fan is loud even on low, wish it had a lower speed or silent fan. Some tape or weather stripping will be needed to seal it to the window. I have central a/c and I used this unit to just cool bedroom at night so I'm not cooling entire house 06/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Does not last for to long I bought this last year and it worked great, and this year it does not even stay on long. Does not even keep my small room cool at all, I could not even stand to be in my room on 100degree days. I would tell someone looking for an air conditioner don't go with this one at all. I had to replace this after one summer, It does not even have a proper way to drain, the water just stays in it and sounds like a water fall. BAD AIR CONDITIONER DON'T BUY IT 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great deal got this a/c yesterday and it cooled my small apartment in the middle of a heat wave,did a super job.it cooled both rooms and only took about 20 minutes to set up.if your looking for a small a/c i recommend this one. 07/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's cool! I purchased this for use in a ~120 sq. ft. bedroom. This unit was selected based on size, cost, and it's advertised specifications. Installation was easy. The supplied instructions were satisfactory. The manual states that modifications may be required based on the way the window is designed. I found this to be true as I had to make a few minor modifications. I downloaded a copy of the manual before purchasing this ac to make sure it would install safely and correctly in the window. The power cord length is ample, and the controls are user intuitive. It performs well in cooling the room facilitating blissful slumber in the hot Texas summer. When the temperature, humidity, and dew point are high, I also use a fan while running this window unit to create a wind chill and have found this to be quite effective. The filter is easy to remove and clean making this basic maintenance chore easy to perform. This unit also runs much more quietly than anticipated. 07/03/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by You will be disappointed I read lots of good reviewers about this AC so I decided to buy one. I also persuaded my friend to buy one. Both of us live in one-bedroom apt with small room, however, we all felt disappointed about this AC. It is very small. very weak, and gives you 5-min cool air every half a hour even if it is set to the coolest level. Worst of all, even the cool air is not cool enough: frankly, after using this AC, I felt that outside was cooler than my room. So my suggestion is: unless you live in a 2-bed-size studio without kitchen/computer/or any other things that might heat the air, do not buy this AC. I also have friends purchased Haier AC which works great. Now I have returned it to my local Walmart and ordered a Haier online. Hopefully the Haier AC will work well! 07/09/2012
1-30 of 255 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew358
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp