Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 8 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by SATA 3 6Gbps 3TB hard disc drive works great SATA 3 6Gbps 3TB hard disc drive works great. I installed this as a data drive and it works plenty fast with no problems. You need to have the partition set as GPT instead of MBR to get the full 3TB of disc space. You may not be able to install Windows OS on a GPT partition unless your motherboard allows you to do so. Otherwise, if you want to install Windows OS on an MBR partition, you are limited to only 2TB of disc space. 10/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 3 Good 1 Bad I bought 4 hard drives for my home disk server NAS. 3 drives worked, the 4th one has a bad root directory. I'll see how good Seagate's warranty is. Good price for 3TB. 10/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by eSata transfert with Barracuda a must This Barracuda HDD 1Tb connect with Voyager from Newer Tech + Pci eSata from the same company card in my MacPro Quad make this a sensational kit to transfer with it is now almost 5 to 6 times faster then before, i download my boot disk 612G in about 1 hour, reinstall this Barracuda in my MacPro boot on WOW everything work perfect and my opening it is now faster then before, so go ahead Seagate Barracuda it is the way to go. 07/15/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Different caracteristics and specs from the same! Hi, I have purchased 3 units of Seagate Barracuda 2000DM001. One of them works fine. The second makes clicking noises, it have a lot of delayed reads at different sectors. Those troubled sectors are changing positions at HDD Regenerator tests, they are not at certain sectors, seems head alignment problem. The third one did not work at all. The motor did not spin up. The electronics part generates too much heat at the center in 5 to 10 seconds. I have sent it back for guarantee. But I have noticed on one thing at it's front facing side. The C typed depth was about more than half a cm. But two others were only 2mm. This means that, the lesser depth ones have 3 platters, but the higher depth one was 2 platters design. I have no chance yet to test their performance differencies (because the 2 platter designed unit did not worked), but if the 3 disc design modified by the bios, than maybe it will not reach to the very end of the disc, and so may give a better overall performance, if the track density arrangement is the same like the ST3000DM001 parts! 06/25/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slow Transfer Rates? [ST31000524AS] I'm not an expert with hard drives, but after reading the specs, I believe this HDD is a fast one. Basing on my file transfer rates, I find it slower when transferring or copying files to/from a USB (Flash drive, Phone, etc.) > When transferring/copying files PC to/from USB: I can only get a maximum of about 3mb/s, and a few times it drops to somewhere below 1mb. > When transferring/copying files within the PC: I can get a maximum of about 90mb/s. Is the USB file transfer rates normal? [My PC Specs] 2nd Gen. Intel Core i5 Quad-core (3.0Ghz), 8GB RAM 06/15/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fast & feature packed, but bad firmware & warranty These drives have excellent features on a similar level to high end competitors (dual stage actuator, 64MB cache, 7200 rpm etc) with very fast performance as expected, but a terrible 1 yr warranty which is now the worst in the industry. Seagate used to have the best in the industry at 5 years, but at least their advance exchange program is excellent. Very aggressive pricing offsets that short warranty, but constant head parking chirps / clicks from my 2TB drive (CC9C firmware) was not fixed with the CC9D update and random read access time was very slow on HD Tune at almost 20 msecs including rotational latency. The new CC4H firmware will not apply to these CC9x drives despite having identical part #'s and model codes, and the CC4H download page replaced the CC9D firmware so existing users can't even download the CC9D update anymore. After months of waiting for something beyond CC9D, the CC4H restrictions was a disappointment. So I bought a 3TB version and confirmed all the issues are fixed, including an ~15ms access time on HD Tune random reads. The CC4H firmware still doesn't achieve full rated sequential read-write speeds on Crystal Diskmark on my platform (AMD AHCI SATA3), but I can confirm they happen under some conditions when testing with ATTO. I test and evaluate many drives of all forms (SCSI, SAS, SSD etc) on this hardware platform and this behaviour is an anomaly specific to this drive, so the problem is not the machine. Today I finally got fed up and ate a restocking fee to return my noisy 2TB with CC9D firmware for another 3TB model that I can update. Kudos to my supplier for allowing me to do that as I had waited for months for a better CC9x firmware, but the drives shouldn't be shipped with these problems from the factory, and the updates shouldn't be so slow to arrive & disorganized in their release. 06/03/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by clicking noise Purchased this model(ST1000DM003-9YN162, Serial: S1D1EXSA, Firmware: CC4D) 2 months ago and I am very disappointed. I'm sorry I bought it . I think to sell it and buy another brand. And here's why:I used for 4 years another model of Seagate(320Gb) and I had no problems with it. Very quietly, quickly, stable, was very pleased with it.Still works great.But this model has thas that clicking noise which is very annoying.I have a very quiet system and the only noise is from this Seagate HDD.The operating sistem is on a SSD and I use this HDD for data storage.But very often I hear that clicking noise when ,,the heads are parking”,even if I browse the internet,write a document or things that should not be connect this hard drive.With OS on SSd and these two models of Seagate on my system,only the new one clincking.Clink, clink,clink.......at irregular times.For me,these feature is useless.This is the only problem that I have with this hard drive.Otherwise works great.I want to know if could solve this problem.There is a software for this,or maybe a firmware update?My actual firmware from factory is CC4D.I want an answer if someone can help me.Thanks a lot. 05/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by St2000dm001 is defective My ST2000DM001 came just 3 weeks ago. Had the same chirping sounds described by other users, but this did not bother me. Occasionally, the drive disconnected from the SATA channel, requiring a full power cycle to reappear After filling at 50% of its capacity, drive became unusable since the SATA disconnect problem got very frequent. Tried swapping cables, SATA ports, firmware updates. Tried a full erase and then a new refill. Still disconnects. The problem is that - by making these attempts - I surpassed the time frame allowed by my reseller for a DOA exchange. (just 1 week, while the drive takes half a day to reformat and refill) So, now I'm here with a defective drive and the maximum that my reseller will concede is a warranty replacement which will give me a refurbished drive...I think this is not a fair commercial policy 05/23/2012
1-8 of 8 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew460
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp