See All Reviews
Presto Professional SaladShooter Electric Slicer/Shredder
Presto Professional SaladShooter Electric Slicer/Shredder
$42.96
List Price: $48.99
You Save: $6.03 (12%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 198 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must Have A salad shooter is a must have for my kitchen. I love it, and use it so much, I have given it as gifts to others also. If you love to move your salads and other dishes up an easy notch, buy a salad shooter today. You won't regret it! 07/26/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! I first purchased the small version of this product about 25 years ago. Then I found the Professional model a few years later and purchased it also. I use this product more than I use almost anything else in my well-stocked-with-small-appliances kitchen. I am a gourmet cook who prepares food every day. I made this purchase because the Professional one that I had owned for probably 22 years finally broke the shredding cone. Parts are available from several on-line sources, but they were almost as expensive as the new entire appliance. It continues to be as wonderful as the original and I heartily recommend this product to anyone who doesn't like a box grader, a mandolin, a food processor or anything else that's complicated to operate and difficult to clean. Can you tell I'm a huge fan and didn't cook for the 5 days it took my Salad Shooter to get here!!!!!!! 05/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't live without it! I reach for this appliance just about every time I prepare a meal. Great for grating cheese. Easy clean up. I ordered this to replace my first one that I had completely worn out after 10 + years. 04/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must Have This is the best appliance I have ever owned. It is great for so many things. Grating cheese (better than buying the pregrated bag cheese with preservative and chemicals added), grating carrots (I make a lot of carrot cakes throughout the year and grating 3 cups of carrots by hand is a major chore), slicing potatoes (for fried potatoes or au gratin potatoes) and grated potatoes (for hashbrowns). Once you have tried this you will wonder how you lived without it. I buy them for gifts for all of my friends and family. We have tried other brands, but they all just mush up you food. Insted of shreaded carrots you end up with mushy carrot juice. I have owned one for over 10 years and it is still going. They are very durable. 01/30/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by It functions good for a portable unit. The cones are sharp with many to choose from. The locking part of the 2 part pusher is annoying. Some food slices can get stuck in between parts without being ejected nearly wrecking the tool. My comparison to a popular stand mixer attatchment this portable product is difficult to use and underpowered. Its past the return policy and I'll just use it for softer veggies and maybe try some chilled cheese grating. The plastic stains gross with carrots. Otherwise the product is good and functional if you have nothing to compare it to. 11/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this product I've owned the smaller version for years and decided to try the professional one. It makes the smaller one looks like a midget. It makes the best fried potatoes ever. I think because it slices them thin the seasoning gets into them better - yummy. Great for chesse, radishes, cucumbers, carrots etc. I will never be without one that's for sure. With the larger professional version you can put the entire potato into it. With the smaller one you have to cut the potato into half but it's still worth it; easier then cutting them up with a knife just to have the thin slices. Give either size a try - you won't be dissapointed. 04/24/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY ONE!!! PLASTIC JUNK. CUTER DRIVE BROKE ON THE THIRD TIME I USED THE SHOOTER ,SLICING POTATOES WAL MART GAVE ME A VERY CHERFUL REFUND CAN'T BEAT WAL MART FOR FAIRNESS 02/06/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by salad shooter is a must have i cant live without my salad shooter. I used my old one for years til it was dropped & broken & had to have a replacement right away- wish they carried them in the store but had to order online and wait til it got here- its bigger than my old one but does the job! 06/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to Expectations I found this product cut/shredded very slowly, might be good for a small quanity of product. Cutting/shredding cone turn too slow, so I bought a Oster food processor for $17.00 more, that works much faster, and has a finer shredding blade. I have stored the presto in my cabinet ... until I can find a use for it. 03/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product My husband and I had one of these many years ago and used it until it died! We love this thing! This one is bigger than the first one we owned and it's definitely more sturdy. It has a larger feeding tube and works great without the hassel of cleaning a large appliance. The pieces are easy to store and I don't have to leave it out on the counter like a regular food processor. I would recommend hand washing all the parts instead of using the dishwasher as the instructions state. It will lengthen the life of this product. We put the pieces of our last one in the dishwasher and they began to come apart after two years. I would definitely recommend this product. 05/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this product!!!! Had this product 20 + years ago and finally had to retire it about 2 years ago. Could not find another one anywhere .... after trying other products that said they could grate cheese nothing was like my old Presto Salad Shooter. On a whim I checked eBay and found some on there.....checked Walmart and taa daa there it was ...... Had to order one from Walmart.com.....so pleased with this product I use it all the time.....Love it.... 03/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like the larger size. I had an older, smaller Salad Shooter. I thought the motor would be stronger. I had hoped to receive a smaller grater blade with the package instead of 2 the same size. Overall, I do like it and it is easy to clean. 02/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have had the original Salad Shooter (smaller version) for years and just loved it. The new unit is more heavy duty & a little larger. I use it for shredding & slicing. Works very well and fits in a drawer, not taking up valuable counter space. I look forward to even more years use from the updated model than with the old one. Great little item for the kitchen. Saved me from purchasing an expensive food processor. 01/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Pleasant Surprise I had never used a Salad Shooter before and purchased this one only after much research on-line and after rejecting the manual "Mandoline" type slicer as too dangerous. Right now, I'm still in the experimental stage, but so far have been more than satisfied with how easy it is to use. I purchased the Professional grade because it comes not only with four separate cones but also with a "funnel guide" which helps aim the food where I want it. I have used it to chop nuts, make bread crumbs, slice and dice veggies, and to make julienne carrots and celery. As advertised, this appliance cleans up easily. If you love vegetables, cooked and raw, but don't love the work of preparation, I recommend this Salad Shooter. It will pay for itself in time and effort saved. 06/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Love it! Makes it so easy to whip up a salad. I love the fact that you can use the shredder on most veggies and get theme in every bite. Well worth it. 04/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even Better than the Original Finally after 20 years needed to replace my old Salad Shooter. The new one thus far seems much more durable and powerful. So I should get another 20 years out of this one. Makes shredding and slicing so much easier with super easy clean up. 04/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will Change Your Life! This product is amazing. I love that I was able to purchase online and ship to store for FREE!!! 04/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Salad shooter Works fine on most produce, but lettuce can be a challenge. Lettuce seems to be difficult to shred with this machine. Lettuce will clog in the slicing blade. 03/06/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Much work for Poor Results I was excited to get this product after reading many of the reivews. I was dissapointed. It's small enough as I desired, but a lot of effort to set it up & clean it only to get poor or incomplete cutting and shredding results. not good with mushrooms, onions baby carrots, green peppers & cabbage. I do much better with the old-fashion knife & shredding board. 03/09/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as expected The food I tried to slice got stuck in the shute & had to be removed with a spatula. It was frustrating. The salad shooter was returned. 02/23/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great as ever! The Professional Salad Shooter is the best of the Salad Shooters offered by Presto. It is heavy duty and will last for a long time and works much faster than the others offered. 09/25/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Presto salad shooter I have only had the product a few weeks and used it once. It worked well and cleaned up easily. I look forward to finding out how well it holds up and all the capabilities it has. For the money it is easier than grating by hand and not a chore to get out and clean like my food processor. 01/26/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor design, materials For a product that has been around as long as this one we were extremely disappointed with every aspect on the first use. I wanted to return it my wife declined because she didn't want it to go to someone else. Bad design: 1. Sits too low to empty foods into a large bowl. 2. Chops things up too much. 3. Cone shaped product director clogs. Bad Materials: 1. First use carrots stained housing and could not be cleaned in a dishwasher, run immediately after use. 2. The stain is permanent. Other products made of plastic do not stain like this. This is a stinker, a waste of money, it looks good out of the box, but once you use it you will hate it. Buy something else and look for it in a yard sale because that's where they'll all end up. 03/02/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too big I used to have one along time ago, it was much smaller. What did I do wrong> oreder the wrong one? 07/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must have for kitchen This is my second Salad Shooter. The first one lasted over 25 years. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it This is my second one, I had the first for 15 yrs and use it all the time. Great time saver 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Shooter is the best, I love to use it, and clesn up is a snap. 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cuts down my salad prep time to seconds... I've owned 2 previous Salad Shooters but not the "Professional" version. It is bigger and has more attachments, but the motor isn't any stronger than my previous ones. They did last about 5 years before I burned them out, but as I said I'm disappointed the motor isn't stronger. 07/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Kitchen Gadget for 25 Years The kitchen gadet I've ever owned. I received one for a wedding present 23 years ago. It finally broke. I lived two years without one and I will never go without one in my kitchen not even for a day. 05/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised I was pleased with how easy this is to use and to clean. It appears there are some additional blades, which may be super handy. I have used this for grating cheese and slicing vegetables. For both, there is some left over food-product that does not get sliced and tends to go between the blade and the funnel on the slicer. At first this was annoying; but when I saw the result of the slices and tasted the cheese that is fresh grated versus buying already-grated packaged cheese … I figured I can lose a little volume for great quality. I had always wondered how people got cucumber salad sliced super thin … now I know. Oh – and the super-thin sliced onions to put on sandwiches or in a salad... ummm ... it is nice to get a bit of fresh onion flavor without the the mouth shock of a bite that happens to be pure onion. Oh – my second drawback … the plastic around the “shooter” and “blade” gets stained from Carrots and dark yellow cheese. Beets too … by the way, if you like fresh, raw, crunchy beets in your salad … this machine is fantastic! I have used the shredder and the thin slicers … both come out great. No steaming necessary ... just remember to scrub or peel the outer layer so it doesn't taste like dirt. The cord could stand to be about six inches longer, but that is easily corrected with an extension cord. From what I read, the cordless version of the salad shooter does not have the power that this one has … so it is worth the little extra to get corded. 04/18/2012
1-30 of 153 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw353
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp