Rated 2 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 Hate the New Formula I loved the old formula and bought at least 15 of the bottles. This new formula is so oily and gross and unless they bring back the old formula I will continue boycotting Burts Bees products. 08/05/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please get Old Better Formula back!!! Walmart, please tell Burt's Bees to re-stock their old formula of this same product. This product is no where near as good or the same. I want to order it. I can't find it anywhere. Amazon.com com is actually selling some of the old original formula for $65.00 for one 10oz container!!!!!!! 11/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST SHAMPOO EVER!!! I would have given this a 0 if I could. I bought this shampoo because it was Burt's Bees and organic however when I got home it smelled like vomit but I spent $8 on it so I decided to use it and regret that I did. It did not clean my hair what so ever and made my hair extremely oily and heavy. I am very disappointed in this product and do not recommend it to anyone. 07/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by For wimpy hair Perfect for truly wimpy hair. Stiffens lifeless hair so I have volume. This is all I use. Love it. Always sorry if I try something else. 10/20/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please bring back the original Just name your price. Everywhere in New York used to carry your product, now no one does, because no one is buying it. Just bring back the original and name your price. 09/13/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shampoo Please bring back the old shampoo. I purchased several bottles of the old before it was discontinued and now I am out and have tried the other. I already returned the one I purchased. I can not believe you will not bring it back so now I will find other products and will no longer buy yours. I will not buy any of your products because when I find something I like you discontinue it. My favorite lip shimmer color was also discontinued. I don't understand why you would not want the sales back. 09/07/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst shampoo ever The original volumning shampoo was great. The new formula is the worse. Who's idea was it to change???? Last year I went on line and bought several bottles of the old formula that was on clearance now I am about out. I will be looking for a different brand of volumning shampoo. Burt's Bee you made a mistake by changing what was a great product. Listen to your customers. Bring the original formula back 08/25/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Yucky :( I bought this shampoo and conditioner because even though I have lots of hair (LOTS), it's very fine and flat. I liked that it was Burt's Bees, and so natural, but it has been the worst thing for my hair EVER. It left it dry and frizzy and completely unmanageable. After two washes, I threw the bottles away. People say the old formula was better? I'd try that, but I'll never use this stuff again. 08/11/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Shampoo ever! I bought this shampoo because it was Burt's Bees and organic however when I got home it smelled like vomit but I spent $8 on it so I decided to use it and regret that I did. It did not clean my hair what so ever and made my hair extremely oily and heavy. I am very disappointed in this product and do not recommend it to anyone. 07/04/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Shampoo I've Used Ever since deciding to grow my hair out i've been trying to use sulfate free chemical free shampoos. I'm so glad i came across this one. A lot of the reviews here are negative and i'm glad i didn't read them beforehand or else i wouldn't have bought this. My hair is naturally wavy/curly and can get greasy easily. I love my curls and thought this would keep them lively. For the most part it does. I find that shaking the shampoo bottle helps a lot. It lathers pretty well for me and still leaves my hair full and clean. Something else great is the smell. It really does smell like pomegranate and i love how it lingers for the rest of the day 07/02/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by why the change? Hey Burt, ever hear "if it's not broke, don't fix it"? The original formula was WONDERFUL. This one is a sad, sad replacement. The old formula with soy left my hair clean, silky, and full of body and bounce. BRING IT BACK, PLEASE! 07/02/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please bring back the old formula! The old formula was so much better, why did you guys have to change it!? It made my hair shiny without stripping it and my hair definitely felt more "full." It also made my hair smell soooo good. The new formula leaves my hair dry and it doesn't really do that much for volume. Please, please, please bring back the old formula! You're losing us!!! 05/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by SHAKE THE FLIPPIN' BOTTLE!!!!! I am putting this review on mostly for the people who do not like the new formula. You have to shake the bottle. Since this is a naturel shampoo all the oils rise to the top and the other stuff sinks to the bottom. Just give the bottle a quick shake before using it and it will work great. The reason it's so oily and leaves a residue is because your getting all the oils. You don't have to do this with other non-naturel shampoos because the chemicals keep that from happening. Now onto the actual review. I love this stuff, it smellls wonderful and gets a good foam where it doesn't over foam dripping into my eyes. Once my hair dries it is nice and shiny with some nice wave to it. My hair is beyond straight-when I was a little kid my mom curled my hair and twenty minutes later it was straight again-so finding some shampoo to give itt a bit of volume is a mini-mirical. I also have EXTREMLY bad dandruff and this stuff helps with it a lot, I think it might be the oils helping to moistrize the scalp. The bad thing about this is the bottle, since it's not clear I don't really know when it needs replaced, I just buy a backup when it starts to feel kind of light. I like the design but maybe a little strip on the side? It'd help me know when I need a new bottle, and it's also help others to see when the shampoo has seprated. All in all, a very good shampoo, I never tried the orginal formula but this stuff is good. 04/30/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE!!! Bring back the Original Formula!!! I'm very sad to see that you can no longer purchase the original version of this shampoo. When the new version came out I tried it. It was awful. Left my hair very greasy, and not full of volume as this shampoo is supposed to do. Burts used to offer the original through the website, but now it's gone. Please listen to your consumers!!!! Bring back the original !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 04/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best shampoo for me I recently tried the Volumizing shampoo for the first time and have now given away or thrown away all my other "backups" It gives my hair bounce, shine and volume. Enhances the natural waves. Leaves it very soft with wonderful texture.Yes, it does leave a bit of residue. That is what makes it work. Burt's Bee team: please don't follow the suggestion of some who ask that you give up this product. Or let me know first so I can start hoarding enough to last a lifetime! 03/29/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Please bring back the old one I really don't like the new formula, it leaves my hair slicked with what sort of looks like grease. As another commenter said, it's harder to wash out and feels like it leaves a "residue". Yuck. The whole reason I liked the old version was because it DIDN'T leave a residue. Please bring back the old option for us residue-resistant shampooers. Thanks. 03/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best shampoo ever! I have tried many natural, chemical-free shampoos. This one is the best ever. Since I started using it (about 8 months ago), my hair has improved not only in volume but also in general vitality. I encourage everyone to use it regularly. 03/25/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible This one is a little better than the other two new shampoos. At last does not leave my hair greasy. I have very straight hair and since the introduction of the new shamppos I have been suffering! No volume nor clarity... 03/25/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by New and Improved ? I'm afraid NOT! This "new and improved" shampoo seems to give only half volumizing as compared to the old formula (which contained soy) - and seems to leave more "residue" in hair - where as the old formula seemed to "clarify" and volumize with perfection. Now I ask - where can I buy the old formula?? 01/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT! I used Biolage for a long time, and it eventually got to be too expensive. Whenever I saw this, I had to try it, considering I have tried all of the other Burt's products... AND HAVE LOVED THEM ALL! I love this shampoo. My hair is clean, soft, manageable, and smells delicious. Thank you Burt, for producing a wonderful, yet cheap, shampoo that is brand name quality. YOU ROCK! 01/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great shampoo! My hair had become straw after 40 years. I discovered that due to my sulfate sensitivity (I'm allergic to sulfonamides) that most beauty products are damaging to my body. So I made the move to real natural ingredients in the bath products I use, bath soap included. When I switched to this shampoo ( about July 2012), I was nervous about spending the extra to try something of unknown value to me. Then after a month of enjoying the clean, nourishing, great smelling shampoo my teen daughter comes to me & says my hair looked healthy again. That convinced me! I have also tried the mango shampoo & it works great too. 12/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Use to be better The new formula is not as good as the previous one. The older one had more oils (the good kind that made my hair smell EXTREMELY wonderful and lasted for dayssss - no lie). Now it smells cheap, doesn't last as long because it's now so watered down, and I will not longer be buying products from this line anymore. If you're looking for a better natural product to wash your hair with, I've found that a tablespoon of baking soda mixed with a cup of warm water works wonders on the scalp. Then rinse with a solution of a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and a cup of water. 11/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turn Up The Volume. I use this shampoo as well as the conditioner every time I need to wash my hair! I always find my hair really shiny and soft after the use of this product. Not only is pomegranate great for the skin, But it's also great for the hair and makes your hair look refreshed after every use! -BlakeyBee3 11/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Oh my Love.. This is how I shampoo my hair: I DO NOT use alot of a product, I have shoulder blade length hair and use a dime size amount, apply directly to my roots area of my hair and lather then rinse quickly. I do not let it sit and do not put it on my ends. That is what conditioner is for! This has worked great for me and my hair is not weighed down at all. The smell of this product is great, it last a long time for me, and it has made a difference in the volume of my hair! My hair is also so soft. My husband loves it. Do not understand the negative reviews so I thought some insight on what the users techniques are would help get to the bone of it... 11/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Shampoo. Ever. I really don't understand the negative reviews. I love how natural the product is. I've been searching forever for a truly sulfate free shampoo. I know how bad sulfate is for every part of our body so I was thrilled to find the burt's bees shampoo and conditioner - and it is cheaper than many high end brands that use fillers and bad for you ingredients. The shampoo foams a little, but it takes a little work to get it throughout the hair. It took me about twice the amount of a sulfate shampoo to fully clean my hair. However, totally worth it, because the results were amazing. My hair never felt stripped. In fact, it is soft and shiny, yet I can still tell it retained its moisture and natural oils. It is NOT oily, and I have fine hair, but lots of it, so it often gets oily and flat. I am not having this problem while using the shampoo and conditioner. Also, it has a very pleasant scent and is quite fragrant. This can be a positive or negative, depending on if you like to wear perfume. I don't think it would really interfere with perfume, plus I really like the scent, so I don't mind. I highly recommend!! 11/18/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not too voluminizing Smells wonderful but does not give enough volume. I hope Burt's goes back to the drawing board with this one. If they make improvements, I will purchase again. 11/01/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not impressive I bought this shampoo because I wanted to start treating my hair with natural products. I have fine hair so it gets greasy very easily. I was really disappointed with this shampoo. As many of the reviews state, it leaves your hair greasy and heavy - the opposite of volumizing! I used to be able to shampoo every other day or even every 3 days and not have greasy hair. Now I can't even shower at night and sleep on it because my hair will be greasy when I wake up. I also can't ever get the shampoo to lather, so I end up washing it two or three times in the shower. I'm using so much shampoo for something that doesn't ever leave my hair nice. Someone mentioned having to "detox" your hair, so I'm giving it a chance. It's been a whole week of washing it every day I plan to go at least 2 weeks of this before completely giving up on it. I spent twice as much as I normally do to get a better shampoo just to find out I'm going to throw it out in a week or two. It looks like none of the other shampoos went over well, either. Very disappointed by this one. 11/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE this shampoo!!!! For the past few months I have been losing a lot of hair, my goldish brown wavy hair became frizzy, thin, and was falling out a lot. I had no idea why. I was using tea tree by paul mitchel, it did not work. I've used Organix brand products and nothing worked. After all I decided to go back to good old Burt's Bees. I bought this shampoo because I really needed volume and despite the bad reviews I decided to give it a try. The shampoo and conditioner worked amazingly for my hair! From the first wash my hair became very shiny, the frizz went away, my waves are more defined AND it gave my hair a volume! After a second wash my hair looked even better! Also, it stopped falling out as it used to! A friend of mine really liked the way my hair looks now so she went and bought the same product! I;m again very happy with Burt's Bees! I don't know what the old formula was like but I guess the improved one is better! Thank you Burt for your products! 10/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not as good as the old formula I used this in place of the old formula for volume and I was so disappointed. It makes my hair heavy and dirty looking. I also dislike the smell. I'm not sure if I will even use the rest of the bottle I purchased. 10/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dont' give up on this.Rethink the way you shampoo! When I first started using this I didn't like it. I would wash my hair and it still looked greasy on the sides. But I recently read an article that lead me to believe that "rebooting" my hair would take time so I stuck with it. Then I started realizing that it was the WAY I was washing my hair that was causing it to be ineffective. So I reinvented the way I washed my hair. In the past I could just slap the shampoo on top and the suds would carry it around. To maximize this shampoo put a tiny bit in your hands, smear and then apply to the top, then do the same for each side, then the bottom. Focus on the scalp and the hair will take care of it's self. After 1.5 weeks my hair became totally different hair. I believe that it took that long to wash all the old junk out. After 1 month my hair looks better than it has in my whole life. So don't give up on this. Think of it as a detox for your abused hair. 09/25/2012
  • 2015-11-25 T03:27:09.235-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_67, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_19766052, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 67 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.