Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 28 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Riding Toy on the Market! We purchased the new model of the John Deere Gator XUV for our 2 1/2 year old grandson. We have a very large lot that is all grass and wanted to have something he could ride around on when he came to visit. Could not have made a better choice. This vehicle is slightly larger then the previous model Gator and is of very high quality. Took about 2 hours to assemble including the application of all the decals. Peg Perago missed no details in designing this new model. It looks just like the full size version. One small part was missing and I called Peg Perego customer service. They shipped out a replacement part without question and we received it in 2-days! Great customer serivice!!!! This vehicle is powerful and handles hills without any problems. The working tail gate and working rear bed dump are a real plus. Our grandson simply loves this vehicle. Battery life is about 2 hours even on hilly terrain. Quite remarkable. If you are looking for a top quality ride on toy then do not hesitate to pick this one up. Walmart has the best price on this toy bar non plus free shipping to the store. Can't beat the deal anywhere. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this for my 3 year-old son for his birthday. He absolutely loves it. The quality is great. Price is fair and I would recommend this product. I will purchase more Perego products in the future. 05/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great if your land is flat! We bought this for our 3 year old son, he has wanted it for a year! It looks very sharp, and my husband had no problems assembling, just an hour. My complaints are the tires spin out unless you are driving on completely flat land. It states that it is for 3-8 yr. olds, I also have a 6 & 8 year old boys, and my 6 year old has to sit sideways as the passenger with his legs hanging out the side, because there is no leg room, I won't let the 8 yr. old sit on it. For right now the big brothers follow along behind to push it when it gets stuck, but my 3 yr. old thinks it is great fun! 06/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the $ Met all of our expectations and more. Our son couldn't have been more happy with his birthday present. Basically put together just small details to finish up. 06/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This John Deere wasn't designed for the country. My son spends more time sitting with the tires spinning on the grass and on gravel then he does riding around. This product stinks because of the cheaply made tires. I would not reccomend this product to anyone and wish i never spent 400.00 for it. It was defintely a waste of money! 08/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No traction when attempting to navigate small inclines. Only works on level ground. Very disappointing. 06/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by We bought this for our 6 year olds birthday, to replace the one we bought him for his second birthday. The age recommendation is 3-8 years, it should be 3-5 years! His knees are hitting against the dash board, it is no bigger than the old one. The width is wider than the old one so I thought the seat would be wider, NOT at all, same size! We should not have bought this for our son:( Great product for a younger child 3-5 years! 08/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love I bought this for my 2 year old son & he loves it!! the only fought i have against is that u don't stay in reverse u have to hold the leaver down to keep it there. 05/30/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by My grandsons love riding the Gator which is great. BUT when it comes time to charge the battery you have to take most of the front of it off just to charge the battery which is VERY time consuming. Also you have to hold the shifter in reverse while you are backing up and my 3 yr old does great with it but the two 2 year olds don't understand that you HAVE to hold it in reverse to back it up. I also feel like they could have done a better job with the tires.... they are hard plastic and have trouble with traction at times, If they had put some rubber on the tires I feel like that would have solved all of the "sit and spin" situations!!! I think they will out grow this one quicker than the John Deere Tractor models - there is not a lot of leg room in them. IF I only had one child then I would buy the Tractor model over the Gator model due to them out growing the toy so quickly. 08/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by My 3 yr old loves Product is great. Do not buy in store. We bought a display drove an hour home it was broken. Drove back another day 2 hrs round trip got one in box got home missing steering wheel charger and other pieces to dump bed. Had to order online to get correct one untouched 07/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice toy! Tires spin a lot. You have to add some weight to the dump bed like 25 pounds or tires will just spin. Spins on grass gravel and pavement. Otherwise great toy, my son loves it. 06/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This fits both my 2 boys, ages 4 and 6, well togehter. We had the older version but wore it out. It was 11 years old, but really only saw heavy use the last 2-3 years. So far, so good, but if it's anything like the old version, don't expect the battery or reverse to last long. 06/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchased for a birthday gift for our grandson (age 4). Well constructed, easy for him to maneuver and climbs backyard hills. Minimal assembly required and easy to understand directions. One of the best ride-ons we have found. 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got this for a gift for my 2 year old. He was able to figure out how to drive it and steer it. He thinks he is so cool driving around the yard. It is nice to be able to lock it into 1st gear to ensure that he does not go too fast. Our other son has the motorized tractor and they love them both! 08/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expensive for what it is Granted we bought this for a 4 year old's birthday (who has a 6 year old sibling) but it definitely is smaller than it looks in terms of seating space. It is plenty roomy for the 4 year old and 6year old, but they will likely outgrow it sooner than later. It may have been better to purchase the single John Deere tractor that accomodates one slightly larger child and let them take turns, plus save over $100 in the purchase price. It seems fairly well made, but was a nightmare to put together given there were only picture instructions vs picture and written instructions. It is rather large and bulky of an item so it is tough to carry across the yard when the battery dies far away from the outlet in the garage. The battery only seems to last an hour or so, and the battery is not easy to get to to plug in...you need a screwdriver to remove the battery cover each time. Overall, my son enjoys riding and taking friends for rides, but I have the few gripes mentioned. 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The kids love this! So far, it has worked out great. I would recommend this to anyone 3 and up. 09/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun for three year old! My three year old LOVES this product! Rides it constantly. Battery only lasts for an hour or so though, so needs to be recharged regularly (18 hours)...I would recommend purchasing a second battery. Product is very pricey for what it is, but it has made one little boy VERY happy. The only complaints I would have would be the price, the battery issue and that the packing plastic had melted onto the parts and was quite difficult to remove, making assembly a bear. But after getting it together, it has been nothing but fun for my little guy... 08/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product I have the old model gator from 2009. This one is awesome compared to the old one. It runs great. The kids LOVE it!! 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 3 year old would ride this all day if we let him. We absolutely love this and it was worth every penny. It was even simple to put together. 08/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i bought for a 4 year old It runs awsome on grass or concreat.My 4 year old loves it alot.. 08/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great ride on We bought this for our sons 3rd birthday and he loves it!! In my opinion it was way too much money for cheap plastic but it's been almost a month since our son got it and every day he wants to go outside and ride his gator. so it was worth every penny if it makes him that happy! 08/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic ride for 2! I bought this for my sons's 2nd birthday, while he is able to touch the pedal he has a hard time pushing the pedal, steering and watching where he is going. No doubt, in a few months I know he will be driving the gator everywhere. My daughter is almost 4 and LOVES to drive her brother around. It drives great on flat roads/grass but struggles a tad to go up hills. They love the back of the gator, they toss their garen tools, babies, snacks, water in the back and go. Its fantastic! I wanted something they both could use and the Gator is perfect! It's so nice to go on a walk and not have to push a dbl stroller. 08/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product is very nice but deilvery was not delivered on date promissed? Seems to please the 5yr old it was purchased for! 06/04/2012
1-25 of 25 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.