See All Reviews
GE 30-Pint Dehumidifier for Basements w/Drain, White,  ADEW30LQ
GE 30-Pint Dehumidifier for Basements w/Drain, White, ADEW30LQ
$154.00
List Price: $164.00
You Save: $10.00 (6%)
Wal-Mart Exclusive
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 261 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well, but it's loud This review is based on approx 1 month of usage only It seems to work well in an area the size of a fairly large living room. It's super easy to operate. Almost no setup required for this equipment, just removing tape (and connecting a garden hose if you decide to do that). The water collection bucket only holds a gallon of water. It does have a way to hook a garden hose up to it, but I haven't gotten around to it yet. Emptying and replacing the water collection bin is a cinch! The drawback is that it's VERY LOUD (much louder than my previous dehumidifier), so you will not want it running if you are trying to sleep or watch TV on same floor level. [If your basement is very large or and sectioned off with walls, you will probably need more than 1 unit. Two of these would be way too noisy to deal with.] The beep/alarm that is supposed to let you know when the water bin is full and the unit has stopped running is NOT loud at all so I find that feature useless. It was pretty heavy for me to lug into my house and down into the basement - so if you're a lightweight or elderly, you'll probably want help for that. The filter is just a little screen that's pretty much like a lint filter on a clothes dryer - very easy to remove and replace - appears to be easily cleaned (haven't had to clean it yet). 05/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Live in a basement apartment and this is a lifesaver. Didn't have one last year and had mold all over the place. I have to empty it 2X a day but its much easier than cleaning up mold. 06/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the job for being a smaller unit. Does a great job of replacing the 18 year old unit that I did have. Only problem I have with it, is it runs all the time. Not sure how that is an energy saver. 04/17/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This product is good if you don't want to connect a hose to have it drain, the connector in the machine is located so tight you can't get in to it to screw on the hose connector unless your a plumber with lots of tools. Also doesn't tell you what % to set it at. 05/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied I bought this for a replacement unit to run in a rental apartment. It will be used in a basement level apartment and in Ohio, that means moisture! It has some features that the last one didn't have - you can adjust the percentage of humidity, you can set a shut-off timer for 2 or 4 hours. It has an external water level guide, so you can see if it is getting close to time to empty, or if there is a lot of room left. That is a nice feature. I think it is a good unit; time will tell, and it will get much use in the basement, because there is a good deal of moisture there in the summer. I need something dependable there, and I hope that this holds up well. I have had this for about 2 months now, and no complaints. Seems to run quieter than the old one too. 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy setting up with simple operating instructions What impressed me the most, which at my age (80) was it only cost a few bucks for delivery by FEDX to my front door, rather than me breaking my back carrying the dehumidier out of some store. It has been operating in my basement (finished rec room) on four hour cycles with the warning light alerting to when easy removable bucket is full. Of course after empting the water, the 2 or 4 hour cycle has to be re-set. My biggest concern before was the musty odor that did exist in the room, which is now gone due to this product. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased with this purchase. I use mine in the basement. On high humidity days I have to empty the bucket twice a day. In nice weather I only have to empty it every couple of days. Pretty quiet. The cord could be a little longer. I highly recommend it. 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good, worth the money if you have it As a college student it's hard to let go of this much money, but it was well worth it. It runs very quietly...about as loudly as a fan, and it brought the humidity in my room from 85%-90% to as low as 55%, which is very comfortable. My only disappointment was that I thought the bucket was able to contain 30 pints, but the bucket is about the size of a gallon, which is fine. We empty it about 3 to 4 times a day. I would highly recommend this one to anyone! 08/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Compact size, rolls easily. Easy to dump water, just pour slowly. I have been using water to water my plants. My mistake I ordered the 30 pt because I thought that meant the water bucket size and didn't think I could handle anything larger. Actual bucket is about gallon and a half which means I a dumping it every day but for my location that is not problem. My basement is summer humid damp never wet. Live in a split and this size is working fine. Actually glad I didn't buy a larger unit. 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is doing the job. I am very happy, this unit is doing a great job so far (after two weeks). I very much like the features, especially that is shows the present humidity. This exact same unit was $25.00 more at Lowes. I bought this online and only wish I had paid the extra 97 cents and had it delivered directly to my house, because it made its way across the country in 3 days, but sat in the local 'distribution center' (about 10 miles away) for an additional 4 days... Overall - Walmart is great! 08/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't be swayed by any negative reviews. This unit is super quiet,performs,great and to the poster who said the hose hook up needed a plumer,my 10 year old hooked it up in 2 minutes. I very ,very highly recommend this product.paul 07/08/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good with some exceptions The unit works efficiently at taking water out of the air which is it's main goal. It has a built in humidity monitor which is supposed to shut the unit off at a pre determined setting you make. I have two hygrometers and had them next to the unit. The built in monitor is way off. I returned the first one hoping to get one that would work properly. The second one is the same. The humidity monitor is off by about 20 points. So for example if I want the unit to shut off at 50% humidity I have to set it to shut off at 70%. If you didn't have a separate hygrometer you would never know and the unit would run forever trying to get it down to say 50 or 55% humidity. I decided to just keep it and have it shut off at 70 or 75%. Also the second one has the overlay decal that tells you what all the buttons are for etc., which is bubbled up in a number of spots. Hopefully it won't come off in the future. Otherwise it seems to work well and do the job I wanted it to. The rooms I use it in are now much more comfortable and I was able to get rid of the musty smell. 06/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great price, works great, very pleased Product arrived quickly, literally no set up, plugged it in and it worked great. Used it in the basement and it kept it nice and dry, no musty smells, very pleased, I would recommend this to anyone. 02/03/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by GE 30-Pint Dehumidifier I bought this for our fifth-wheel RV. It works very well, lowering the humidity from 70% to 50% in a couple of hours. This winter has been damp and rainy for us on the Gulf Coast, so we decided to use a dehumidifier. We place it in the shower and let it drain through the hose, rather than using the bucket to catch water. The unit is fairly compact for what it does but is not a lightweight. We are very happy with it so far. The only remaining question is durability, since we have been using it for only a week or so, otherwise I would give it five stars.. 01/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice de-humidifier I've only had this unit a couple of weeks, but so far it's performing great. I have it in the basement and it's really sucking up the water. The water bucket is rather small, so I have to empty it twice a day, but I don't have a problem with that. Glad I bought it. 09/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A +++++++ The unit is great.easy to set up,the hardest thing was getting it out of the box.Plug it in ,done deal.it has been removing almost a gallon of water a day since it started.Very easy to remove the bucket.Love the fact the discharge air is on top. 11/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy I am very pleased with this dehumidifier. Easy to use, easy to empty. I have started to use it now which is the late fall season, but it has still removed water from the air. I only have to run it for an hour or less, and my whole basement is down to 45. Would definitely recommend to anyone in need of this type of item. 12/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy delivery, Great quality, Easy set-up Walmart made this purchase easy. Delivery was fast, price was the best and when I got the dehumidifier home, it set up in about 5 minutes. Has been running quiet and maintaining my basement at 50 % humidity. 11/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by damp basement had a little dampness in the basement, and my Kenmore dehumidifier died. Found this GE on sale at Walmart. It really sucks up the moisture! Has fairly small tank, so need to empty at least once a day, but works great. 09/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dehunidifier works well. Used in basement where there is a lot of moisture. Old machine died and wasn't able to replace for a week. A LOT of maisture and water build up but with in 3 days the GE model had it dry again. 09/04/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Works well but noisey I purchased this on 12/22/2012 and it was easy to setup and it was working well. I could hear the fan blowing then the compressor kicked in and everything was great. About 2 days later when the compressor kicked in the midst of it's cycle there is a rattle (vibration) right behind air filter. If I lean it back on the rear rollers vibration is a minimum or if I lift it up. It clears the air of moisture and is convenient but the vibration is loud. Deciding whether to return it. 12/26/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by might work for a small room Unit is loud, which is normal for a dehumidifier, I suppose, but in my living area, which is not terribly big (20' x 15' or so) just doesn't do the job...I'll be returning it for a larger unit. I've had it on almost continuously for weeks and it has only dropped the humidity from 75% to 60%. I had a larger unit previously and it got the humidity level down as far as I wanted (around 45%) in a few days or so, but it quit working after 3 months. 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond expectations The bin size was my basis for choice and a good move it was. The Dehumidifier works as i hoped. all in all it just right for my apartment. 06/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent unit I would recommend the larger tank. This thing pulls in the water like no other. Thank god my other dehumidifier broke, I would gave never known how damp my basement actually was. 05/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by smooth quiet operation Works much better than my older unit. very quiet operation. Would reccommend getting a larger capacity unit in a very humid climate. i emth this one about 3 times a day, but I do live in Florida, where it is very humid. My A/C runs less often and it doesn't get as warm and uncomfortable as it use to. 05/10/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quite satisfy!!! A little bit on the noisy side. I used it in my downstairs 1 bedroom in-law apartment. Very easy to setup. Just plug it in and it works. Many dials are self-explanatory, like the 2 or 4 hours time setting, low/med/high speed setting, degree of humidity setting, bucket full indicator. I did not set up connected to a hose and have it run continuously. It got the job done. The only thing is like other reviews said, it does sound a little noisy. This product does exactly what I expected. I'm satisfied and will recommend it to anyone who's looking for one. 09/05/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's a typical dehumidifier It works so far so good. Easy to operate. Not very quiet as one would expect from a dehumidifier. I like the light that comes on to tell you when to clean the filter. I don't like thta when it's full it sounds a loud chime for 10 seconds and wakes you up in the early morning or middle of the night. When we bought this we thought it said you could disarm this feature, but there is no where on the machine or in the instructions that is possible. Other then that, we will see how long this one lasts. ? 05/29/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This unit has no longevity. Units have no longevity. Repair estimates exceed cost of the dehumidifier. G.E. customer service says they don't have walkin service shops. Want a service man to visit your home for a charge that itself exceeds the unit's cost? G.E. says "Good Luck". 05/22/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was what expected and I am pleased with the quality. I also like the home delivery for 97 cents. Much easier than trying to wrestle it into and out of the car trunk. 05/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use - works great!! Easy to use.....works great!! 10/31/2013
  • 2016-02-14 T07:56:20.669-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_261, tr_261
  • loc_en_US, sid_19717449, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 247 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw491
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp