Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 17 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rod Snapped It is a great combo for the money. I caught a five pound lunker largemouth on this and it performs great. I wad kayaking with my uncle and cousin and I flipped the kayak and my combo was gone... I was so mad but my uncle walked in the water found it and pulle it out and it still performs like a charm. Because of my own stupidity I opened my car door when getting out from fishing and I closed the door on my rod and 6 inches snapped off the rod. So I'm not mad at Abu Garcia for this but the rod is very stiff and I question if it is to stiff. Anyways I put the reel on a different rod and I love it. Great combo but pair reel with a different rod. 09/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Impressed!!! This is my first baitcasting reel, and im having mixed feeling about it. The rod itself is strong, durible, and performs well with fighting fish. The reel however, it seems to birds nest a lot!!!!! Almost every cast the spool goes haywire and tangles me up! Now, im still learning how baircasting works, so it might work out better once i get used to it...but until then, i guess ill jus deal with tngled line! 08/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Casting Everytime I casted this combo the line became all wack. It would always come loose and I would get a birds nest. I even kept tension on the line. I tried the heaviest lure and it wouldn't even cast a few feet 08/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 black max this is the first baitcast reel that i have owned and it was easy to learn to use . i have caught alot of bass with this rod and reel and i love the action . i plan on buying some more to keep rigged with alot of different thing thanks abu garcia 07/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't Fear trying A Baitcast Reel After hearing all the war stories from family and friends I never would try a baitcast reel even though I always wanted to. I ran across this combo earlier this year and just hade to buy it. This combo is so easy to master because of the features are such good quallity like the Mag Trax Brake system and lightweight feel (not to mention really good looking to) that I couldn't imagine fishing with anything less than a Abu Garcia Low Profile Baitcast Reel. I will say this the combo is so good that I now have a MGX/Villian Combo to go with it. Think about it the bottom end product is so good it sold me on the top end product if that doesn't say it all nothing does. Thanks Abu Garcia you have changed fishing for me forever with this combo. 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Great combo for the price. The Black Max Combo was my first baitcasting reel, it was real easy to learn how to cast it. I have the combo that has the 6' 6'' medium rod, I plan on getting another combo with the 7' 0'' medium heavy rod. Great product! 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Combo I have had this combo for a month now and it has been doing really well fishing in saltwater. I fish with it probably about 4 times a week and it's a great piece of work. 06/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First yet the best I'm 13 years old and I have been fishing since I was four. I got this awesome combo last year for my first bait caster and I learned how to use a bait caster with it in my backyard pool. This is my first fishing session with it and I've already reeled in 2 two pound and 1 five pound largemouth bass. Love the combo now I've got my eyes on the bcx combo which I plan to get very shortly. 05/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 the best combo i have i bought the blackmax combo this year and its the best one i own abu garcia is the best my next buy is the silvermax 05/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Combo For The Price I just started fishing again. First time in well over 12 years. I bought myself and my wife this combo. It was very easy to use and within 3 cast had a small mouth bass on the line. Takes alittle getting used to the smooth open face aspect of a baitcaster but I have been very pleased with the performance and the ease of casting. 05/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing combo!! this is a amazing rod and ver affordble. Ive had mine about 2 weeks i have had the first little problem with it, well except the first time used it i didnt get a bite but thats not a problem with rod, haha. Im thinkin about buying another one! its a great rod for throwing a worm, spinner bait, topwaters, etc... If they mad this rod in a 7'6" flippin stick id own atleast 2. i love fishing with this rod its a really smooth rod to throw and retrieve the smallies dont have a chance once their on, their on, with this rod. haha. i have a revo too and i wouldnt trade the black max for another revo.. so far abu garcia hasnt let me down. id rather have a abugarcia than i would a g-loomis or any other rod out there. since i really got big on bass fishing and getting into tournament fishing ive really loved the way abu garcias rods on reels perform, i want good quality gear that i can trust and rely on, and i can put all my trust in abu's rods and reels when im in the middle of a big tournament. ive noticed that to me the abu reels perform the best with about 10-12lb basspro excel line and the spinnin reels work great with around 6to8lb bass pro excel line. if you are thinking about purchasing a baitcasting rod i would recomend this rod to you anyday of the year. 05/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Good combo It seems to be a pretty sturdy combo. I bought this to be my worm setup and with very little adjustments it is showing to be a great fishing investment. 04/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm impressed I wasn't overly thrilled with the old models in the Max family but these new Max reels and the combos are the real deal! 03/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 BMAX THE GREATEST YET?? I believe so! this is the best combo on the market! great with the MH rod for bass/walleye... just cant beat this deal!...do not keep browsing the web anymore! just click CHECKOUT!! BUY ONE NOW! AND BE AMAZED!!!!! you can also cast lighter lures with less backlash, (i am a beginner with baitcast) i have found that other reels with lighter lures were very difficult for me to throw but not with blackmax... 12/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for Walleye I use this med. combo to drift fish 3/8's to 1/2 oz. jigs. I love the stiffer rod tip, the drag has not let me down yet and the casting is great. I do a lot of trolling with Rapala type lures. I can set a hook and feel when the line is not right. For the price range, I would recommend this rod to any body. Just remember to buy the weight combo for what you entend to fish for.. 12/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 best present yet I got one christmas of 10 and I have been using it ever since. Now I have caught more and larger fish where i probably would have lost them if I had been useing what I had before I got this combo. It was the best present yet. 12/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Buy for a person who wants to do more better fishing I bought an Abu and i was new to the reel but after doing a few casts i realized that you need a certain way to cast it and i still use the Abu. Its a good long lasting pole and reel and that people who fish with open faced reels should get one. 11/30/2011
1-17 of 17 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw277
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp