See All Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by 43 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by You get what you pay for I purchased this razor because of another going bad. It is not as good as quality as the old one was but it does shave pretty well. It does not come with a head cover or carrying case like the old one did. If you are going to purchase one just be sure to do your homework. It is unfortunate that a lot of things now days are being made cheaper and not made to last. Have only used for a short period of time but it will be interesting to see how long this product lasts. 05/20/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pulls instead of cuts While the display of hours remaining and overall battery capacity is great, the actual function of shaving is terrible. I switched from Norelco to Remington on a whim (based on price) and am totally dismayed. The rotary cutting system of Remington is garbage; it keeps grabbing and pulling the hair instead of cutting. It makes shaving TORTURE! Going back to Norelco. 02/28/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Larger form factor (grip) power supply is external I have been a daily electric shaver user for 15+ years. After getting poor results with another brand shaver I moved to Remington two shavers ago (~5 years). With this shaver, it seems like Remington is looking more like their competition, weaker RPM, the power supply box is now out of the shaver casing, flimsy plastic. It used to be very convenient to just carry a standard cord while travelling, now even though the body has become larger, I will have to carry the explicit power supply box. The Pivot implementation is annoying, because it feels like there is friction between the outer casing and the blade holder (top of the shaver), in reality there is no friction. The outer body has a glossy finish. This shaver body is larger than past shavers, which could help people with gripping difficulty. In short with this shaver Remington is trying to look more their competition, and giving up on their strengths, which were solid build, higher RPM, power supply inside a solid body, using a standard power cord. 06/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving it!!!!! have no complaints 08/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close shave worth the upgrade Recently switched from my 11yr old Remington razor to this one and love that so much about it is familiar but it's "new and improved". Love that I can rinse it out and really appreciate the digital display of how much time is left until it needs a charge. Snap-on cover to protect blades is appreciated and I just use my old case since this one doesn't come with one. A bit closer of a shave than my last one and rotating heads are a nice bonus. Recommend it. Was concerned that when it shipped it was just placed in it's off-the-shelf packaging into a flexible enevelpe and stuck in the mail with no additional packaging. Fortunately it made it to us safe and sound. 01/21/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by To be given as a Christmas present. This item is to be a Christmas present for my husband, so I do not personally know how well it works yet. 12/06/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap Razor. I needed a new razor and thought that this one would work good and I tried it 1 time then returned it . My old Norelco with worn out blades did better. 02/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is very reliable. I've been using this product for well over a year and I have to say it is one of the best electric razors I have ever used. It does not tug on my hairs, leave an itchy feeling, or razor burn. Although you may have to run over a few spots a couple times to make sure a hair doesn't slip past, it leaves a remarkably smooth shave. As for the durability of the product, I've dropped it, tossed it, juggled it, and anything you can think of to potentially damage it. But I've always managed to pick it up use it. As for cleaning, all you have to do is open it up and tap the head a couple times and finish by rinsing with water. Easy. Only 5 minutes of my life every day. 01/07/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I experienced this shavr when my sister bought it for my father who had had a sroke. It went through his 7 day growth esily! I since bought one for mysel online and am very impressed at the close shave it gives in less time than my old norelco. Plus the digital timer of remaioning battery charge is great- I have been using it 2-3 times weekly for the last 3 weeks with still over 25 inutes of charge left! Buy it. 12/21/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by R5 Rotary Razor Purchased 3 weeks ago. Takes about 20 minutes of shaving going over and over the same area to get anything close to a clean shave. Stubble appears in a few hours. Not impressed with this razor at all. I will be returning it. 05/12/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I prefer the rotary blades. I have tried other shavers, and rotary blades seem to give me the closest shave. I ordered the shaver online and it was quite a bargain,including an extra set of blades. 04/21/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by works great Great razor but disappointed it doesn't have a charging stand or a cleaning brush. bought an Norelco about six months ago very disappointed so I thought I would try Remington. Hope it outlasts previous razor. 02/28/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by shaver really shaves works well for the price 02/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is a good electric razor, but the packages need more. This is a great razor and using the Shaving powder, it gives a great, pain-free shave. BUT -- Remington should have at least included a cleaning brush and a head cover. The Razor gets really dirty with the powder, but is very hard to clean without either brush or using water. 01/31/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good razor I have always bought this razor, works well...I make sure they have the titanium coated blades....usually stay sharp for a year...then i easily replace just the blades....finally bought another complete razor , instead of changing the blades, after 5 years of use. The sideburn trimmer attachment went dull after a couple of years but the new one I will now oil just the trimmer attachment weekly...My 5 year old one still keeps a charge and runs well to this day 12/19/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good traveling razor for constant use I found the R5 rotary razor to be a good, low cost alternative for those of us that spend a lot of time on the go. It's light weight and longevity between charges makes it an ideal razor for thoes of us that are traveling constantly and where abuse from dropped luggage, falls from small countertops and other forms of abuse take place. The R5 does not produce as close of a shave as some of the higher priced models but it does do an adequate job and seems to be a reliable razor under most conditions. 12/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AT LAST A GOOD ELECTRIC SHAVER I have been using this shaver for a couple of weeks now. It shaves as close as a blade. I dont suffer from irritation, razor burn, or any painfull pulling not cutting of my 62 year old wire like wiskers. I now have a SMILY FACE :) when i shave. Thank You Remington. 11/22/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great choice works very well and it's very quiet, give's a neat cut. i'm undoubtedly happy to have it 11/18/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quality in a shaver This is my second shaver of this type - purchased because I liked the first. I like the non-slip feature, and comfortable grip. The shave is quick , clean and not irritating to the skin. For the price I know of no better shaver. 09/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent shaver and trimmer for reasonable price Ever wondered whether the online product you want will be as good as it appears? Well ... look no farther. Remington shaver R5 and the personal trimmer perform above expectations. Quick delivery without charging an arm and leg. I suggest you buy now, before they realize what a bargain they are selling and raise the price. 06/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Good Shave It took my new razor and my beard several days to equilibrate, i.e., to get used to each other; now, I am very comfortable with it. I like to alternate between safety razor and electric razor shaving to minimize facial irritation caused by constant use of either method. No matter what electric razor I have used, including this one, the safety razor always has the capability of providing a closer shave, by the nature of it's design (blade against the face). 06/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great battery life! I love this Remington R5 shaver. It works great and is far less expensive than other brands. I get nearly 3 weeks of shaves per charge (with a rather coarse beard). My only complaint with these razors is the on/off switch has failed over time with my last 2 razors. I would like to see this problem fixed. 05/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by R5 Shaver review Bought this as a gift for our 19yr old son.Previously had a norelco which he didnt care for.He has used it a month now and is very happy with it.The speed of the cutting blades is an important factor to considor to eliminate the pulling you get from slower units. Lets see if it lasts longer than a year which is when the norelco died. 04/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this shaver Best deal ever... For this price......Excellent ..... I cant live without it...... it charges really fast. 04/19/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great overall quality! My only issue with the shaver is the clip to release cut hair, it's not very ergonomically designed! other than that the charger cord is very long LoL! 04/05/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Electric razor This is a good product, but doesn't shave as closely as I hoped. The price is great and was delived quickly. I wish it came with a stand and a travel case but otherwise satisfied with the purchase. 03/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Product R5 Rotary Shaver/I love the features I love the window that tells you how much time you have left for shaving, no guess work. The rotary is one unit when it comes to replace. Easy to handle even though my spouse has a tremor on his hands, razor does a good job, has given me peace of mind I am a caregiver. 03/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great price for a good shaver I have used other Remington products and am pleased with them as as well as this one, however it would be nice if there was a head cover included. 03/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Great razor for the money. Great razor for the money. Great shave with little effort. Did not get a rash from it. Highly recommended. 02/11/2013
  • 2015-11-25 T03:35:55.009-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_19590274, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 39 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.