Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 271 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better than expected! The saw far outperformed my expectations. One problem though, the chain was installed backwards at the factory (cutting edge facing back) so if you buy one be sure to check this. Just a little monster of a saw! 06/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool, but read reviews before you buy. I read many online reviews before I made purchase, and this saw met all my expectations when it arrived. I read all instructions first, before assembling saw and using it for first time. My only issue, abet a small one, was that the lock washer provided for securing saw to handle isn't sized properly for use. Because of the size of the hole in the handle bracket, the too small lock washer tends to get crushed into the center of hole, making it difficult to remove later on. I replaced the lock washer with a small flat washer and new lock washer sized to fit threaded shaft, which solved problem. I have read several reviews that stated the saw wouldn't cut well, or took way too long to complete cuts. After trying saw, I can only surmise that in these instances, the chain/blade may have been accidently installed backwards. I checked for proper chain installation, and checked chain tension adjustment before first using it (in both cases, the initial adjustments were correct out of the box#. I cut several branches of 3-4" diameter, and in each case, the cut was done in seconds. One should be aware that while not overly heavy #IMHO), the saw, when fully extended, can be a bit awkward to handle. As the safety instructions indicate, I would not recommend using this saw from a ladder. I have been using gas powered saws for over 45 years, so I am very well versed in the do's and don'ts of chain saw cutting. My only complaint with the operating instructions would be the section indicating the method of cutting a branch so that it doesn't split when cut. This procedure only works if you are on the ground, cutting at waist height or lower. Making the first horizontal cut on the underside of a branch while holding the saw in a near vertical position is impossible. If you try, you will either jam the saw, or it will jump and could cause one to lose control of the saw. If you undercut the branch on the side, then try to cut through on the other side, the branch will twist, and still most likely splinter. One who is experienced with chain saw use, should know this procedure isn't a good idea with this type of saw. I worry that inexperienced saw operators might try this procedure, as described in the owners manual, and have an unexpected result. Except for the two issues noted, I am very satisfied with the product and how it works. 03/27/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I live in San Jose which at one point in history was filled with orchards! I have an orange tree, and a n Apricot tree. They both need trimming and it used to be a hassle with the old method of a ladder and trimmers! This tool cut my time in half and no ladder was needed! 01/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the price. I bought it cheaper at Walmart than I could find at Amazon. It has a really sharp chain, and cuts like a hot knife through butter. The extension works great. Overall, a real solid product. The chain oiler is manual, and you wonder sometimes whether you are getting oil on the chain. I highly recommend this pole saw. 09/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good I am a homeowner and this is perfect. Light and powerful. It will get a lot of limbs on the ground in a hurry. I have a small gas powered saw for cutting up the limbs once they are down. Don't expect commercial grade at this price but homeowner perfect. Don't forget eye protection and a hard hat. 03/01/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pole Saw Very Nice But Can Wear Out Over a 3 year period, I cut down two 40' trees, one 30' tree, and trimmed many others. My neighboors frequently borrowed it. Its easy to use. The oil bin always leaked, but no big deal. Eventually, it developed a short and won't work anymore. But, I worked it very hard. I'm going to buy a new one! 06/04/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for price, but it's breakable plastic. This is the third Remington I've owned. The first thing to break is the pole clamp-down on the handle. The plastic used to make the device is so thin it is guaranteed to break after modest use. I solved this problem by using a small vice grip pliers to hold the pole in position. The second, was the plate that holds the saw on the pole. I replaced this with one I made out of scrap sheet steel. The last thing to break was the coupler that holds the pole extensions together. I couldn't come up with an alternative fix so I bought another. The pluses: It's a lot cheaper than those that are better made. It's a foot longer than it's similarly priced competitors. It's light weight in comparison to gas powered models. Plus, if you have near access to an electrical outlet, you don't have to worry with the gas engine not starting. I have used mine up to 250 feet from an outlet. 02/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by well worth the money my dad and i have several pcs. of equimpent from auto repair tools to carpentry,lawn mowers,chain saws,weed eaters etc. this product was a very nice addition to our tool chest! you will be very surprised what you can do with this little guy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 04/22/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worked great for awhile Glad we bought the 2-year replacement warranty. This one lasted 14 months before the chain kept falling off, it looks like the pin that holds the chain in broke off. I only use this for our residence and we have 3 mature trees that we have cut twice in the time since we bought it. A little iffy on whether I'd recommend it, definitely get the warranty if you do, it's well worth it. We don't have to return the saw, we were given a UPS label but still have to drive the label to a local UPS center in order to get our Walmart gift card emailed to us. We did have the option of getting a check refund but chose instead, to purchase another saw. Maybe even this one, WITH warranty. Walmart's customer service on the warranty call was quick & easy, not long at all to process. That alone I would recommend. We should get our gift card in 24-48 hours so we'll see and report back. Stay tuned... Overall, it's a really good pole saw, trimmed two different oaks & an ash quite well during the first year. 03/29/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works reasoably well but be careful Delivery took a week plus. Handle comes in 2 pcs. Once assembling handle cannot separate. Saw is not for weaklings as when severing tree branchs you have to be careful that saw does not swing down and cut something else or get damaged. I regretted ordering after I saw in Sears hardware for same price. 08/03/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Older model saw RM1015P shipped, outdated Wal-Mart shipped last years model of saw RM1015P. This saw has been updated and replaced by the RM1015SPS which has better oiling and D shaped handle and better pole handling. Wal-Mart as always, was fantastic in its customer return policy. Could not have asked for better services. Make sure you order the udpated version of this saw. Prior model had some annoying deficiencies that were corrected in the RM1015SPS model. Hope this helps. 08/10/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Time saver This pole saw will save time. It cuts through thick branches with ease. It's fairly hefty so it is not for the faint of heart, but that is also why it works so well. The 8 amp motor is very strong. Once the branches are cut you can buck them and cut down to size for disposal. 02/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little guy I was working 4 hours cutting down two trees app.10" diameter. This saw is amazing. Without the pole is too light and little shaking. 03/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by got this home and up and running in a few minutes. had to cut off some large branches that had broken during a wind storm. Did exactly what I needed it to do. Easy to use, easy to adjust. great 12/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great piece of equipment for a homeowner I love it,,, I cut down the branch that was troubling me and took and separated the saw from the pole and cut up the other part of the branch,,my neighbor go,,,,can I have those wood blocks,,they would be right for my fireplace..........:-) 05/13/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great. Great for tree trimming for limbs two to seven inches. Hard to read the oil level through the window on the side. I had to remove the cap to keep checking the oil. Easy to use for a woman even when using at the full 15 foot extension. 06/14/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great, but it's not for all.... Not much more to add that others haven't already said, but if you know how to use a chainsaw properly, know that putting even a small one on the end of a long pole is going to be a bit ungainly and difficult to handle. So it's not for those who have limited upper body strength. I like that it's detachable to use for trimming the fallen branches into more manageable size. I have a gas powered Stihl for larger jobs, but for limbing I usually don't have to get it out when this one will suffice. Minor annoyances are that the handle attaches with a screw and wingnut. Easy to lose or misplace. Would be nice to have it quick attach/detach with a locking lever or similar setup. Bar & chain oil should be drained after use or it can leak out. But if you hang the saw vertically (bar end up), it won't leak out, assuming the cap is tight. Overall the tool works great! 06/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for small jobs This is a great tool for small jobs around the yard. Saw cuts fast and easy whether on the pole or not. I cut some firewood that was almost 10" in diameter. Works real well on tree limbs up to 10' high and cuts with ease. It was a little awkward for me to trim limbs 12' -14' high because I just did not have the arm strength to hold it that high for very long, and it was more awkward when the pole was extended all the way out. Would probably work great for someone who is a little stronger than a 66 year old. 06/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good saw fore the money. Good saw for light duty work. Keep the chain adjusted, oiled, and sharp and it works very well. I thought the pole should be longer. I was wrong. If it was longer I would not be strong enough to use it at full length. READ AND FOLLOW THE OPERATING MANUAL! 02/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw My chain was too tight,, I had to loosen it just a little. If you can not pull the chain around the bar by hand its too tight. Be sure to put some gloves on and check yours before you use it. Just read the manual. This pole saw is great and has plenty of power. Its very easy to take the saw off the pole and put it back on, its also a very sturdy set up. 02/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just got it and it worked off the bat I have only use this saw 1 time to cut down about 15 limbs and it did the job. I cut through limbs that were about 8 inches around a few times in the process. I had no issues with this saw. Just remember I have only used it once so far. 04/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product Product is very good as it is. Lightweight and easy to use, unlike other chainsaw that I have made in other country [this one is made in USA], after just a few use the tension adjustment give way. Tried to look if I can repair the tension clamp, unfortunately its made of plastic and can't find where can I buy the part. I cut only a few six/eight inches branches of trees and now it's collecting dust. :( This Remington chain saw is worth for the money. All I need to do is add the oil and ready to go. Chain tension is factory pre-set so no need to adjust for now; maybe to the future. Other good thing in this chain saw is, it can cut more than ten inches in diameter [all you need to do is turn yourself around the trunk of the tree and cut my fourteen-inch tree that lean toward my house]. Very good product. Shipping date is in the time frame given. Shipping is free to the store I chose. With in five minutes of waiting, the associate got the chainsaw and I'm done. 07/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love this saw! I bought the Remington 10" 8-Amp Pole Saw for my husband as we had several trees and large old shrubs that needed to be trimmed. My husband is 75 years old and his power saw is heavy and really designed for a much younger person. He loves this saw. In fact, he has offered to help our daughter trim her trees when he is finished with our lot. Being electric is a slight handicap if you have a large bit of property, but it works just fine on our 100-foot cord. The long pole is the best feature. It is heavy enough to reach those higher branches but doesn't wobble all around as we thought might happen. I like the feature of removing the pole for limbs that are lower. All around, we love this saw. 05/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even better than expected! 1. The operator's manual was easy to understand and rather complete. TIP I: To avoid oil seepage, the instructions advise emptying the bar oil tank (reservoir) "after each use". BUT, if I'm planning to use the saw again in a few hours or days, I simply store it with the chain and guide bar facing upward -- that results in the opening of the bar oil tank/reservoir facing upward which prevents oil seepage/leaking. TIP II: Consider viewing several YouTube videos, etc. before using power tools for the first time. 2. Assembly was quite fast and easy, after reading instructions. 3. It cuts well, vibration is minimal, and generally it's easy to use. TIP: When attached to the pole, it is significantly top heavy. So, take your time to prepare before starting the saw to cut an overhead limb. I practice or test by placing the (not running) chain on the limb at the point I plan to cut; that reveals whether or not I'll be properly balanced when actually making that cut. (Hey, I'm a novice!) 4. Disassembling/removing the chain and bar guide is not complicated even though instructions do not provide complete, step-by-step directions. Finally, I'm quite pleased with this product which seems sturdy and which incorporates several valuable safety devices. It's very reasonably priced and Walmart's ship-to-store makes the purchase a breeze. :) 09/13/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Pole Saw This little gem gets the work done quick. I think I get more than the 15' reach it is rated for. When extended the full length it can get a bit tough to control but never got into a dangerous situation. The chain saw comes off quick and works really good on its own. The only real complaint is the switch on the handle. When extended the switch is hard to get to because your hands are more forward to stabilize the saw and it is awkward to work the switch at the rear. Don't let that sway your decision on this pole saw. I am very happy with my purchase and the delivery was pretty quick to my door. 04/24/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good saw for what it is designed to do This is a good saw for trimming small branches up to 6 inches in diameter. I have mainly used it to trim using only the saw removed from the long handle, but it is lightweight and easy to maneuver. The chain came off after the first cut, but I put it back on, tightened it properly, and had no issues for the next 20 or so cuts on my evergreen trees. It does continue to leak oil after draining the small tank, so store it on some newspaper or rags for about a week or so. It was for this reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. 01/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great choice! This came preassembled. By that I mean the chain was already on the saw. Make sure to READ INSTRUCTIONS. I found out, after my husband handed me a bottle of bar oil, that it takes regular #30 motor oil. This is to lubricate the chain. It worked great, easy to use and handle. Heavy duty pole and good quality overall! 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent, versatile electric chain saw. The hex shape of the upper pole, prevents it from twisting around. Other reviewers provided the tip of not forcing the saw to do the work, just let it do its thing and it will work great. Very pleased, it's a real time saver. 04/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw! This is a great saw. I especially like that the saw detaches from the pole quickly. The pole doesn't flex much when it is extended and the lock make it easy. Important! Do not buy chain saw oil. The saw uses motor oil. 02/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have had about a week and have used it a couple of times, it works great but the fiberglass extension handle came out of the shaft and I had to either return it for another or glue it myself. I have access to some very good glues! 04/15/2011
  • 2016-03-24 T08:12:41.120-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_271, tr_271
  • loc_en_US, sid_19536363, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 250 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw315
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp