Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 40 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This lawnmower does it all and does it very well. The motor has the power to cut through seriously high grass and pulls itself up hills with little strain. It always starts on the first pull and all adjustments are very easy to use. The ability to change from bagger to mulcher to side discharge is accomplished easily and quickly, all without the need for tools. Since it's set up as a rear bagger and the side discharge deflector is removable, it's very easy to do edge work on either side. The only things I can caution anyone about are the weight of the mower and possible weakness of the rear wheels. This is not the mower to buy if you are going to be picking it up to load over and over unless you have help. The four spoke design of the rear wheels, when cutting side to side, doesn't seem to be sturdy enough for repeated use on banks or hills of any noticeable slope. I have had to replace mine due to the wheel spokes cracking and breaking near the hub. I went with a set of heavier design to avoid a repeated result. Still, I love this mower. 04/17/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by runs great, the rest is disappointing Bought it last summer. 4th time cutting the grass (and I don't have a big yard) this season and the cheap plastic wheels are already broken!!! 05/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is mower is not worth buying I was given the mower as a gift and one month went buy and I decided to open the box and start cutting. I added oil and then added the gas. It started easy and I started to mow my law. In one hour the back wheel cracked. I called the manufacture and they sent me a new wheel for free, good service. Then the following week and the mower engine shut off and would not restart and since it was over 30 days I had to take it to a repair dealer and they said it would be 3 weeks before they can even look at it, what a pain. This lawn mower is not cheap at almost $300 and all wheels and many parts are cheap plastic. This is mower is not worth buying. 05/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smooth start, sturdy Started on 1st pull, smooth cutting. 03/04/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I order this mower on line and had it shipped to me, I live 80 miles from nearest Walmart I thought I could save some gas money. When it arrivided and I inspected it a front wheel and axle were bent, so much for saving gas took it to the nearest store and returned it. when I picked up the next one it look fine brought it home removed it from the box, and a rear wheel was broken around the hub, and while using it for the frist time the fan belt broke. The good news is brigs and stranton are sending me replacement parts. 05/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor wheel design The rear wheel broke at the hub after 14 months part of which it sat in the basement for winter. They do not cover wheels under the warranty even though it is a weak / poor design. DO NOT BUY! 06/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk!! Didn't even last a year, and now we have to buy a new one. Not worth the money we paid, that's for sure. The part to fix it costs just about as much as a new mower does, and the MFG is ZERO help and will not stand behind the warranty and fix it. 05/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use Great machine, it rolls so easy even without the power drive and the adjustable speed is great 06/02/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall it's good If you want a mower that you don't have to mess with at all,.. DO NOT buy this one! That being said,... The engine is plenty strong and horsed though stuff that would kill the mower it is replacing. The variable speed drive works nicely. Wal-Mart.com took so long to get it to me that I was going to cancel my order and go buy the roughly same machine from a Sears scratch-n-dent outlet. (same base mower, just different accoutrements and marketed under Craftsman name) Came in the day I was about to say "Keep it!" The rear wheels are junk. Mine had cracks in all the support stringers near the axle. I contacted both Wal-mart AND Briggs and Stratton and received 2 new wheels within a few days. I have filled the recesses on the rear of the wheels near the axle mount with Bondo-glass short string fiberglass. Hopefully this will take care of the issue of using a bearingless wheel and putting all the load and flex to be supported on the end of the axle. For the price it's a good mower. If you are not mechanically inclined or don't wish to fix design flaws though,. I would suggest you keep looking. 06/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First one broke in less than an hour The first mower lasted about 1 hour before the engine seized. Had to take it back to Walmart and exchanged for the same mower. Second one is working fine. 05/04/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could have just been this one.... I ordered this mower online and had it sent site to store. The first time we used it the belt slipped off 4 times. We kept putting it back on just to get the yard finished. It was still under store warranty so the only thing I could do was return it and order a new one online. I took it back and was refunded the amount for the mower, I had purchased a 3 year extended warranty and had to call to get that refunded, but it was as well, no questions asked. It was easier to return than I expected, I give walmart Kudos for that and it could have just been this one mower; I'll probably purchase another one just like it, giving it the benifit of doubt. We'll see. If you have one please leave a review! 09/03/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by 1)the drive wheels snap;break off 2)chug-a-lugs 18 oz of oil per 1.5 gallons of gas 06/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Starts easy as promised. Only problem was during second mowing drive belt came off. Was not that hard to put back on but you do have to have special screw driver to take cover off. Like the idea of chemical to keep gas fresh during winter being supplied for first year. So far so good have used two months. 10/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great mower if it would only start!! I originally purchased this mower for the self-propelled feature and grass catching bag which was included. I paid $294 on 3/29/12. Initially, the mower performed well and the self-propelled feature made mowing extremely easy! However after the fourth time using the mower, it would not re-start when hot. If I stopped the mower to empty the bag I would have to wait a couple of hours for it to re-start. Yesterday the mower simply would not re-start. The mower is not even 90 days old! Monday the mower goes in for a warranty repair. Obviously, this is a manufacturing defect, but what a hassle! 06/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great mower. Easy to start and operate. 05/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Job Started on first pull. Easy to operate and does a good job on my grass. 05/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by junk yellow caps fail off engine quit working only 9 months old 06/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor communication I ordered it online. It took almost 3 weeks to receive it went somewhere else bought another Had to cut my lawn very poor communication . Kind of sad Stan 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heads above all other mowers I have ever owned Fantastic start up, no prime, one maybe two easy pulls on the starter rope and I am in busimess. Exceeds any other mower that I have owned. 10/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost 5 stars I would have rated this mower a five star but the only thing keeping me from that was the yellow plastic covers on the front wheels that fell off almost immediately on its first run. I have owned this mower just over two years and have not had one single issue except that Walmart sells a product and then doesn't carry any replacement blades for it but can't blame the mower for that. My yard is pretty big and takes me two hours none stop to cut the front and back so the mower gets a work out and living in Florida I cut the grass every two weeks. The mower is pretty good on gas and oil and is powerful enough for its duties. The self propelled feature works without a hitch. I read many reviews complaining about broken rear wheel issues but i have not had that happen yet. I don't know if this issue is do to the fact that my mower has the large rear tires and the problems are on the small rear wheel models? I also use the mower as a mulcher and never have had the bag attached so there is no extra weight to drag around possibly causing the rear wheels to crack for some users? I'm pretty rough with it to getting it in and out of my shed that's about 18" off the ground. The mower has always started as well usually on the first pull no problem so all in all it's been great to me and I would recommend to anyone. 10/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Works better than I had hoped for 09/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Problem with cheap wheels The Briggs & Stratton engine is fine... no problem and plenty of power. It's the plastic wheels that are the weak link. I should have checked reviews before buying this. Two days after the 90-day return policy was up, the rear left wheel came off while mowing. I could not put it back on as it was damaged. I had used the mower about six times. I turned it in to a repair shop for warranty repairs and it was three weeks before they could get to it. Six weeks after I brought it in, I am still waiting for the wheel, which is on backorder. My shoulders ache from bursitis, and tendonitis, brought on by mowing my entire lawn with a grass trimmer, one section at a time. By the time I get to the last section, it's time to start over. Never again! 09/21/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by used this yesterday and i was amazed that it left a pattern in the lawn, as if it mowed closer to the ground part of the time, almost a checkered board pattern?? the self propelled part worked great and it started easily.Stubby 08/23/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE Had this for two years but due to drought have only used it MAYBE 5 times. Self-propel quite working after the first use and I don't have a large yard. Today after the 5th, maybe 6th time it's ever been used the back wheel just snaps off. 08/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by From the very first start the drive belt came off the front wheel drive. It continues to do so no matter how I adjust the throttle cable. The only answer I get is to takeit to the nearest dealer which is several miles away and I have no way to transport it. 08/21/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Brute 22" Self propelled mower I bought has a problem with the front wheel drive. I've mowed 4 times with it and the belt has come off 3 times. Took it to a repair center where they said it needed a slight adjustment. Brought it home mowed lawn and belt came off again. Planning on taking it back and either getting my money back or exchange it. 08/16/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lasted less than one summer After the first few uses, it became more and more difficult to start. Then I ran over a stump and it became almost impossible to start. When it finally did, it ran too fast and vibrated excessively, breaking the plastic cover over the motor. I suspect I bent the shaft. This never happened with my previous mower, which lasted many years getting the same rough treatment. I was actually happy to trash it. 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problem! I've had this mower close to three years and have never had a problem with it. Runs great and works great. Never had a problem with starting it. The front plastic yellow covers on the front wheels came off, but that was just decoration, didn't affect the mower at all. 08/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice mower, does very well I purchased this mower a few years ago for the back lots and have had great success with it. The mower has run great until this year, 5 years later. Under no fault of the mower, it finally needs some attention. I believe the ethanol in the gas has finally got to it and then when I went to mow the lot today my new dog has decided to chew up every knob, button, cable, etc on the mower and rendered it currently useless. So my only real issue is finding parts. I never could locate the fresh fuel cap at the local Walmart and now I am looking online for the cable. I will visit the local Walmart store to see if they can order one. Overall, without dogs present this mower did fantastic. 06/27/2012
1-30 of 35 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.