See All Reviews
Zebco Dock Demon Combo
Zebco Dock Demon Combo
$9.56 - $9.96
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 70 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 This thing is a beast! For under $10.00 this cannot be beat. The rod is a solid piece of fiberglass, you can touch the tip to the handle. I took the reel that came on this, and tossed it on the shelf, replaced it with a Daiwa D-Turbo DT-B trigger spin reel. Caught 6 decent size trout on this setup this past weekend, was very responsive, had a great time fishing this rig. 04/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Fun and LIVE Action! I got this combo because I wanted a rod that I could take anywhere even on my bike (see pics). I was please to find that it works great. I have caught a lot of nice bass with this combo and the action on this ultra-lite is awesome. It may take a little getting used to such a small rod when casting but it was not to difficult. The quality of the combo depends on how you treat it. The rod is pretty strong. The reel is mostly plastic and a few metal parts so don't thrash it around too much. I haven't restrung the reel and have only had minimal tangles. Price and fun make this a great value. 07/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Blast To Catch Fish On - Especially Reds For $10, you can't beat this thing. I got it just to test it out since it was only $10. I took it with me the other day on my kayak, and caught a 22" redfish and an 18" trout on this little thing. It's one of my favorite rods now. You can't help smiling and laughing as you reel in a good sized fish on this thing. 04/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for Father Son/Daughter fishing trips. This little combo is a great piece of equipment for everyone. Young, old, advanced or novice. Durable and reliable as all Zebcos are. I picked this up thinking it would be nice to keep in the trunk of the car with my son's Spiderman combo. I keep it rigged up with a Rooster Tail and when we go to the local park we both wet a line. It is super dependable. Worth double what Wal-Mart is selling them for (Shhh....). 04/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for back packing I plan on using this when I go fishing with my 3 y/o daughter. It states that the rod is solid glass and it seems very durable. No hollow core here. I have the the spin cast model and look forward to using it on my up coming back packing trip. I plan on strapping it to my external frame pack, to protect the 3 eyelets I think I'll make a simple rod holder out of PVC or other cheap tubing. The reel it self is partially made of translucent red plastic and states it has a 'bearing system' which gives it a smooth retrieval. It comes preloaded with 6lbs test line and I think I'll switch it to 4lbs Stran or Berkley. Zebco is known for their entry level rods, poles and combo packs but I have had nothing but fun with them. They're not going to last as long as the rods that are 10x their price but they will serve their purpose. At a little over $10 when the tax is figured out you can't go wrong with this rod and reel combo. Perfect for kids, ice fishing, tight areas and just as a back up rod to have in your trunk. You never know when you need to catch a fish. 04/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by caught a 14inch 4 lb catfish with this, this morning. one of the best poles I have used. no kidding either. great portable great price. 05/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome for a first or anyone fishing pole. Bought these for my kids who had never been fishing. They were able to cast really well with them and they don't take up much space when packing. Very happy with the product especially for the price. 07/31/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Handy Combo I got this little combo thinking it would be great for fishing from A raft My fishing buddy thought it was nonstop funny that was in tell I was able to use the small size to cast into tight little coves and was catching endless good size crappie perch and bass. This is A great Combo for shoreline or boat fishing to get in the tight areas the fish like to hide in I bring it with me on every fishing trip do to it being so handy and never had any issues with it. 04/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Action Rod Keeping this simple; -Cheap. -Effective. -Strong. The line is a 6#, but it has alot of memory, it is useable, however. BUY THIS, if not for the rod itself. 07/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Great pack along combo I've been looking for a good pack pole and this is the one and with a $10.00 price tag i couldn't go wrong. The pole is HIGHLY flexible and tough as nails with a nicely padded handle. The reel, mine is a spinner, casts and retrieves smoothly. It's a plastic reel and looks weak, it's anything but, the weekend i bought it i caught an 18 inch catfish and the whole combo preformed beautifully. I had it bent tip to tip and the little rod that could just kept asking for more. 08/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for kids and beginners. Great for kids. Easy to cast and reel. 06/11/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought it to play with the cats, but... I bought this inexpensive combo to mess with the cats by tying a catnip fish to the line. But, I discovered it is a nice little unit to keep in the Jeep or to take backpacking. It's only flaw in my opinion is the cheap mono line (good line cost as much as the whole combo). The line is stiff, filled with memory and easily causes birdsnests. I will be replacing the line with quality poly line and getting it wet soon. 03/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beginner rod/reel Great starting rod/reel combo for little fisherman. 07/07/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great first fishing pole for child great starter pole and reel combination for dock or boat fishing. If used for casting with bobber pole is to short to set hook when fish bites. my grandson caught his first fish with it and seems to enjoy it. good bonding experience. 06/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pole for my Toddlers This is a great pole for toddlers learning how to fish. My 2 and 4 year olds love using this pole. My only issue was casting it out, I have long arms so the size made it hard to cast. 05/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great rod to begin with I actually said that the shakespear durango is my first fishing rod but I've got this 1 and the shakespear at the same time. This rod is a beast. You cannot beat the price and I've caught some really nice fish with it. I would definitively buy one more if this stays good and break or damage after a while. I would recommend for everyone especially for beginners. 12/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for kids or tight areas. I've got two spincast and one spinning Dock Demon. I bought the spincast for each of my sons (3 & 4) to teach them how to cast and to take with us camping so they have something to fish with. I reasoned that $10 was as much as I was willing to pay for something that would likely end up at the bottom of the lake. At this point, they have only been used for casting practice in the swimming pool. I am impressed with the spincast reels. For what they are, they seem to be decent beginner reels. Casting is smooth and the reeling has the expected roughness of an inexpensive spincast. It's all plastic, so I don't expect it to last a long time. The real value to me, as an adult, is the short casting rod. Because of its length, it's not the most accurate casting rod, but I have been practicing with an underhanded pitch cast (not actually flipping) that would be very handy in tight areas with low branches. I have a feeling that when the reel is gone, I will be putting a nicer replacement on it and using it myself. The spinning reel combo, I'm not as impressed with. I bought it to have a backup combo in a pinch or for my wife to use. After a few practice casts, I put the reel on one of my UL rods and it works fine. It's almost all plastic, but will serve its purpose I think. The rod is just too short for my taste as a spinning combo. If it were a foot longer, I might have a different opinion. I'll keep the rod as a spare...just in case. Overall, I'm completely satisfied with them. As long as you keep your expectations reasonable for a sub-$10 rod and reel combo, you should be satisfied also. 07/20/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for KIds (especially boys) The reel made of plastic, is not very durable. The rod is very very durable. With standing a 4 year old boy's curisoty and inventiveness. The Reel on the other hand, did not withstand the constant flipping of the wire spool winder. the wire's automatic flipping when the reel handle is turned was the first thing that broke after a week and a half. the plastic ridge that held the spring broke. I returned the Dock Demon and took the 4 yr old once again fishing. he caught two good size Catfish, before the reel's spool of line looked like it bunched up. I got my rod and reel out thinking I would untangle the mess later, because the fish were biting. the next day, i was unhappy to see the spool had broken 05/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke First Day Before I start, I should preface that I didn't pay much for this product. In saying that though, it should have last more than a day. I bought it for my son for his birthday and the first time we used it, the reel broke and would not reel the line in. When I took it apart to look at it, the spool was loose and tangled. I guess you get what you pay for. 07/02/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by great fun but questionable quality I bought 2 for my grandkids and we've had great fun with these rods but on one the reel broke after the third day fishing. The other rod/reel is still going strong. We were catching bluegills and bass in a farm pond when the release button collapsed into the reel and it can't be repaired for less than the cost of the original rod/reel outfit. But for ten bucks I'll just buy another, they're great for small kids and tight areas for those more experienced. Catch a bass on this thing and you're in for a real treat! 08/16/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by For the grandkids I wanted to buy this for my granddaughter because she was using my 51/2 foot spincasting rod to learn on and it seemed a bit too long for her,she is eight,and this combo fits her perfect,she can cast much easier now. I striped the line off and put fresh 4lb. zebco Omni-flex on it and it casts awesome.We haven't had the chane to get out and use it but it seems it will handle things just fine.Very happy with combo for 10 dollars. 09/24/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We bought two of these to take hiking. They fit right down the sides of our backpacks! 04/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great combo for the price My daughter had a Barbie pole -- the rod and reel are molded together, so we couldn't replace the reel. She spots the dock demon in normal adult colors at Walmart,and the reel can be replaced, restrung, etc. She loves it! She's used it for dock and bank fishing, and she's pulled in a few nice sunfish and small bass by herself. Bonus - I don't get hit in the face because she's swinging a longer rod! The price and size are perfect for fishing from docks, kids, backpacking, and I bet it would be great for fishing from a kayak. 02/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great little pole for ice fishing, and grand kids. bought 2 for ice fishing, $8.00, better than anthing I found on line, and no shipping, 02/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by bought the fishing pole for my 3yr old grandson and he loves it and fishes every weekend with it..highly recommend it 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Insane price for a great rod This rod is amazing! It is small and flexible enough for me to fit into my backpack, making it an excellent traveling rod that requires no setup. I took it pan fishing and I've gotta say, it worked wonders. The spinning reel worked flawlessly and I was catching dozens of panfish. I quickly bought a second one for my sis and even though she was new to fishing, she picked up fishing using the rod fairly easily. My bro saw how successful I was with the rod and how cheap it was that he went and bought himself one as well. Overall, an insane value for a quality rod. Its compact size, quality, durability, flexibility, and performance is more than worth the 10 bucks. 07/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by dock deamon i am 18 and i normally fly fish i saw this rod and bought it just as a joke got it home and done a lil playing with it and realized that it is a strong yet sensitive rod and cant wait to put a Clio on it and catch some 2lb trout 06/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by a 3-year-old can cast, reel & catch! This $10 rod and reel is a dream for a youngster and sure to instill a lifelong love of fishing. "It's just my size!" easy to cast and reel in for the youngest fisherman, this little baby is short enough to allow a good cast with a minimum of tangling. My little grandson could focus on the easy cast, the bobber and reeling in the fish without needing or asking for help from the adults. I bought 3 of these; one for each location he may be fishing in. 09/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by TOO GOOD TO THROW AWAY! After a couple of years, the rod tip line guide fell off and was lost. A new one cost as almost as much as the whole combo did. I looked for an old cheap rod at garage sales and took the tip off and glued it on the Dock Demon rod. It's as good as new and we're good to go! These are cheap, but too good to throw away! 07/21/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Reel does not work I bought this for my young nephew. Went to a lake, paid the admission fees, bought the licenses, and some bait. We were set! OH, I was teaching him to cast and the reel would not release the line. I tried a few cast myself and routinely, the button on the spincast reel would not let the line feed out. Translation - it would not cast. Spent the better part of an hour trying to get the thing to work. Pulled the line out manually and slowly reeled it back it think the line may have been tangled on the spool. Still no good. Stopped by a Walmart store and the three outfits I tried all had the same problem. I have now printed return paper work - it's going back. 06/07/2015
  • 2015-10-04T05:22:14.880-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_19491283, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 65 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.