Rated 1.7 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of seven Seagate Hard Drives we own...Great Product. 06/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Buy! I had thought I had done my research before buying this product but somehow I missed the reviews on this. I never would have bought this after seeing all the bad reviews. This product worked fine the first time I did my back up although it did take 4 1/2 hours to complete. The second time it worked fine too. Since then it won't work at all. Keep getting a message that it wasn't connected. It would also shut my computer completely down. My son and I have done everything we know to correct the problem and nothing helps. I thought I was doing something great getting a 2 TB because I have lots of photos that are large files that I wanted backed up. I'm very disappointed. If I could have given this a zero star rating I would have. 10/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Headed back for refund Bought the 3TB GoFlex Desk on Sunday. Now Tuesday and repeated attempts to back-up computer results in 40 ish corrupted files in the log. What files get damaged varies from session to session. Replaced the hard drive with the old 100 GB drive and repeated with 0 errors. Both drives use USB 2.0. Another annoyance is the activity light. It's really hard to tell when something is happening with the 10% to 90% gradual change. As an electrical engineer I can say that there is no reason Seagate couldn't stay with what works and blink the light when it writes or reads. Can't really recommend this drive. 07/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Third and last time Previously I had bought two Seagate Expansion Drives. They simply kept disappearing from the PC, which is a relatively new windows 7 machine, until eventually they would only stay around for 10 minutes or so and in one case not at all. I had done all the turn off power saving tricks in the forums and various other suggested solutions. I tried them on an old PC to no effect either. It is not my PC. I had to lose the warranty by dismantling the drive in order to get the data off it by plugging the drive into a caddy. So I lost the money! Foolishly optimistically I bought a 2TB USB 3 Go Flex Desk. It is now developing similar problems. On this occasion Windows intermittently informs me that it needs formatting, which it does not. Then it disappears after anything up to a half hour. It strikes me that this could be USB related except that the forums are full of similar complaints about network devices too. If I can scrub my data off this one (ie if it will stay with me long enough) it's going back. I am tired of throwing money away on this rubbish. I have an MSc in Computer Science and am quite competent. But I do not think these devices are of merchantable quality if you have to keep wrestling them back to life. I will never buy another Seagate device. Never. 07/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Slow slow slow!!! I bought the GoFlex Desk 2TB for my Vista and iMac backup. I am very disappointed when I found that the transfer speed is only 400KB/sec when moving files (5GB) from my Vista and it tooks more than 2 hours to complete. 07/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for backup or supplemental storage I've been using this drive for several weeks now, mainly as a backup device for my computer. It worked great right out of the box and has been serving without issue. I don't use the backup software that came with it, but so far the drive itself works like charm. 07/03/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Happy I Have a goflex 2.0- 3.0 usb 1 TB , I installed it used it once, then put away,8 mounths later I tryed to move some files, and I can't open the unit. It says there is a drive problem and gives me an error code (10 ), tryed to get some help, but they don't have a phone, so can't talk to any body about it, so ya not happy with spending money on something that works once.some one told me that the code means that the power supply isn't working, I can;t find a new one nor should i have to pay for another one, the second time I use it. 06/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beeping Sound, Device No Longer Recognized I am really dissapointed with this product. I purchased the 1.5 Terabyte version and I had about 700 Gigabytes worth of data. Now, the drive has stopped working, beeping sound and no solution in sight. It beeps, it is not recognized. I have downloaded Seagate's Diagnostics and no help. Not a good weekend! 06/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Replica Goflex Desk "disconnect" Product disconnected itself after 1 years use and stopped auto back up. Support offered no usable diagnostic, did not return request for assistance. Downloaded support wizard but did not work. I unloaded software thinking it would re-install from device software but it did not and there is no software media included. Waste of money, do not buy. 06/19/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by My experience I purchased the hard drive as a replacement for a WD smaller hard drive. I was changing notebook computers, I used the new Seagate as a backup for replacing the note book under warranty. After sending in the old note book and going to upload the information back to my new note book, the new Seagate stopped being recognized!!!!! I lost all my documents, and pictures when I thought I was backing them up and only had to depend on one hard drive for a period of one transfer! The USB 3.0 cord is too short, I have to turn the hard drive around back wards. There is no wide base on it, consequently you have a hard drive that is 7" tall and only an 1 3/4 tall that is waiting to fall over, which it does! I was having trouble using it at times from what i read it sounds like it has a sleep mode and was not waking up, so i would have to plug it back into my computer to start it. There is no program to fix miner problems to the hard drive only replacement. So if there is any type of failure, even miner you loose your data & information! 06/15/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Black screens on bootup I have the 2TB version which for some reason only works with USB2. It has been working well up until this week. Now when I bootup (Windows 7) I get 2 blank screens and the mouse pointer, and there it sits. No welcome screen. The only way to get booted up is to force a shutdown and turn on in safe mode after unplugging the external drive, shut down normally then reboot. The pc boots up OK and then I can connect the external drive and it works as normal. I have to make sure to unplug the drive before I bootup each time. 06/08/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad design: unit overheats Pros: From the box, the drive easy to use... 1. Quick and easy to install and setup 2. Has driver’s works right after install. 3. Supports USB 3 (and USB 2) Problems: 1. The power connector -- wall wart. I needed to find an (additional) extension cord as the provided wall wart (plug) take too much space on the power strip (up to 3 plugs). 2. The design of the box that holds the drive is bad - it doesn't ventilate properly. I've started a "scan" of the drive to find the overall drive quality (before I copy my files to it); and at about half way through the (read-sector) scan, the drive is up to 55 degrees C. (This is at USB 2 speeds) Due to the bad design, I would not recommend this device to be purchase. If you don't have hard drive temp monitoring software, you might never know that your drive is being cooked. Even with the hard drive temp monitoring software, you will only know that it is overheating, and you shouldn't use it. Tech note: The hard drive is rated at up to 60 degrees C.; however I don't trust my data to hard drives that run that hot. 06/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by just another unsatisfied customer My 2 Tb drive failed in less than a year. I wanted to have a comprehensive back up for the photos of my children. Having lost one machine recently, I was horrified when my mac stopped recognizing the drive. Now it makes a nervous ticking and beeping sound and is only good as a paperweight. After searching for help, I found numerous complaints about the same issue. Sorry Seagate, I'll look elsewhere for the replacement. 06/02/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buy the Goflex Desk for just 1 year and died I don't know why this harddisk died so easily. In HK, the Seagate does not offer data recovery. No matter it offer 3 years warranty, once I open the case to recover my data, no warranty is guarantee. Is that stupid? 05/31/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Drive not recognized, plan on returning unit. Seagate GoFlex Desk 3 TB. Spent a long time trying to troubleshoot. Drive is recognized by Device manager, but cannot access through Windows Explorer. Installation Software on Drive is not accessible. Spent a long time trying to find Online Support (full manual; drivers etc.) but apparently Seagate has decided to hide these cleverly, even if available on their site. Plan on returning Unit 05/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Flakey go flex 3.0 driver has been disappointing Purchased this and so far it has obliterated my apple finder , it only works on occasion saying it can't find the driver much of the time. Very slow download when it finally does find the driver and the content. This will probably go back to the store for a refund if I don't get some resolution to the many problems posed by this 3.0. The smaller Seagate external drives had worked well but this has just been a headache and like I say now my computer directory is in disarray. Sooo disappointed 05/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not complete a backup! I have spent hours trying to erase, reformat, back up and research support on the website. The HD will not complete a transfer and is basically useless. The transfer rates do not go above 10mbs and will get stuck once it completes 30-60 percent of the data, I have tried multiple times and on different machines. I do not recommend this product at all. 05/24/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Seagate 2TB pain I bought my 2TB harddrive a few months ago and it worked great for like 3 months and now it will not stay connected. Every time I try to download something to it I get and I/O divice error. I tried new calbles and changes USB drive on my computer nothing fixes it. Then I try to open up a file or video I moved to the harddrive of my kid playing or something and it freezes up everytime. Very disappointed and I am not even a 1/4 full on the drive. So be very care if you are planning on buy one of these the price was great but i found out why the hard way now that i have everything saved on the hard drive not sure if i will be able to pull it off and transfar to a new one again very upset. 05/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Replica Fills up Disk -- 1,5TB can't back up 300GB Don't buy this if you are going to use Replica to back up your PC. Currently Replica claims my 1.5TB Seagate hard disk is full and when I select properties it does indeed show that the disk is almos full. When I use Explorer and select properties for each file on the disk it doesn't even come close the the 1.6TB that shows when I select properties for the entire disk. So somewhere there are hidden files that take up over 1TB of space and don't show up in Explorer. If Google problems with Seagate hard disks filling up while using Replica you will see that this proble has been around for three years and still exists. The only solution seems to be to reformat the disk and start over again. My guess is that Replica is saving older backups that do not show up in Explorer but do eat up the apce on your hard disk -- SO YOU CAN'T DELETE THEM!!! Don't buy this product! 05/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by GoFlex headache I purchased a GoFlex desk 3T USB 3.0 a couple of moths ago and every time I try to transfer files or work on editing from files in there it keeps freezing!! I though I had done something wrong during installation, but know that I have the time to some research I see that is a common problem. I have other Seagate external drives and never had problem. It's frustating specially because I'm not able to return it anymore and I don't seem to find a solution to this problem. 05/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing but a headache From a friends recommendation, I bought the 3TB Seagate GoFlex USB 3.0 - Model # STAC3000101. Followed all the instructions given, by formatting it for the Mac (Journaled HFS+). All was good, ran its drive test and says all OK. The problem is when you transfer files to it, or go to access the drive (watch a show). It seems to have lost connectivity or has gone to sleep, and you can not wake it up. You have to unplug the USB, then plug it back in then you can continue to watch your show or transfer files for a while until it dies again. What a headache! My power settings are set to never go to sleep. Other USB drives that I use work flawlessly, so it isn't the Mac. Being very disgusted with the product, I have my doubts that I would purchase another seagate drive. 05/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Constant Disconnects I have had this 2TB drive since 2010 and it constantly gives a disconnect error. I have tried everything, new cord, different computers, different usb ports....nothing works. It still works okay, but the disconnects are horrible. Imagine watching a movie on netflix or something and having to click on ok when the computer informs you that your disc wasn't disconnect properly every 5 minutes or so..... 05/08/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Orange Exclamation Point My drive was working great and it gave me a sense of security. Now it says that it cannot be found on my computer. I've tried several other ports and no luck. It has stalled at 93%. When I click resume it tells me there is no drive connected. All of the lights are on the drive. Getting worried since I have business files on the drive. I'm not having any luck finding help online. Thinking I need to shell out more money to buy a new drive even though this one isn't that old. 04/28/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anyone else have this problem? The drive is fast and the software that comes with the drive is acceptable. The ding on the saftware is how long it takes to do the initial backup, mine took FIVE DAYS! After that it maintains the backup nicely. My real problem is the USB Mass Storage Device driver. I'm using a GoFlex Desk 2TB with USB 3 interface. If the drive is connected (on) when the compter starts up it fails to load the driver everytime. My USB 3 device is an ASMedia on an MSI 970A-G46. If I have the power cord or USB cable unplugged at startup and plug it in after logging on, it loads fine 04/28/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Slowing Down I love seagate products, they almost never give me headaches, until now. I have the 1TB model and it was amazing at first. Then one day I came home and I was getting data transfer errors and everything was transferring extremely slowly. I checked it for bad sectors and what not and it came up as having 4kb of bad sectors (which is 8 or so out of the whole 1TB iirc which is no big deal.) I can't even stream movies from it, and I have it hooked up through USB 3.0. I tried seeing if it was my computer, so I hooked it up to a laptop and I was getting transfer speeds of less than 1MB/s at peak rates, and sometimes it would slow down to only 1-2 kB/s. 04/23/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by There is no owner's manual I've spent an hour going to every website to just download and print the owner's manual for Seagate GoFlex Desk external drive only to have each site want me to talk to a tech that charges. This drive doesn't come with instructions for use other than how to plug it up. Very disappointing. 04/22/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by STOPS TRANSFERRING DATA I recently bought a 3tb Seagate Goflex external hard drive and successfullu put about 500+gb of data on it (videos, photos, music and documents...some from my macbook and some from my PC desktop). I am now trying to back up all of the 500+gb of data (all in one giant drag-and-drop or copy-and-paste transfer) from this 3tb Seagate to a SECOND identical Seagate 3tb external hard drive, but after connecting both identical Seagates to my macbook, the transferring of all 500gb stops part of the way through (no where near being finished). I try to click STOP TRANSFER and nothing happens; all I see is the macbook freezing and I see the "rainbow wheel of death" so I force quit everything and/or force shutdown the macbook but holding down the power button, then restart the macbook. I've tried to make the 500+gb transfer repeatedly, but it still never works and the same issues occur. I even tried transferring dramatically smaller size folders (small folders containing 30GB or less), and it STILL seems even that has issues and DOES NOT always transfer and freezes. It seems sometimes the only way to transfer data is to go file by file, which is a long and time-consuming process that should NOT have to done for trying to put 500+gb of information onto a 3tb hard drive . I need help and suggestions please! 04/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor - will return tomorrow Box had no directions; plugged it in and it totally failed to perform; will return to where I bought it tomorrow; will not buy from this company again--this was my first purchase from Seagate and my last. 04/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by junk Got this as a gift. Donwloaded my lap top that had vista on it, changed to windows 7 now will not even light up or come on. Worked on it until I was ready to crush it with a hammer. Put it aside and tried latter. Tried every site to get new drivers. Nothing works. It is junk just as others say it is. I can't get anything off it. 04/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Seagate I'm disappointed. Just bought the GoFlex Desk 3TB to back up my MacBook Pro which I recently upgraded to Snow Leopard. I followed the simple directions and after 3 days and too many tries it has not backed up my laptop. The time machine says it's backing up but just spins and spins. I have not been able to figure out what is wrong. I have also tried to force quit the backup since it clearly not backing up properly and it says that the finder is not responding. Very disappointed. 04/15/2012
1-30 of 123 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.