See All Reviews
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 62 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use with great coverage I have never had much luck with dying my hair. It would usually come out spotty, mainly in the back where I couldn't see what I was doing too well. I thought I'd give the foaming hair color a try, and I'm glad I did! John Frieda's foam color had the best reviews, so naturally I chose to use it. I decided to go with the 8G (Medium Golden Blonde). I was already blonde, but a dark dirty blonde. I wanted to add more shine and life to my hair. Before I get to how my color turned out, I'd like to talk about the process first. The foam went on so smooth and easily. It took me a little while before I could get my hair fully saturated, but that's just because I have really thick hair. It really does help if you pile all of your hair on top of your head. Once my hair was fully covered in foam, I had no doubt that I would end up with even coverage. With saturation like that, there'd be something wrong if your color came out spotty! When I finally washed the color out, it was definitely what I expected, which was a surprise. Normally whenever I dye my hair, the color never ends up looking like the box- but this time it did! My hair feels soft and looks shiny and has more "life" to it than it did before. I will DEFINITELY be using JF hair foaming color from now on. It's so easy even I can do it, which is saying ALOT. I can finally feel confident dying my hair again, KNOWING I'll get even coverage! Sorry for such a long review, but I couldn't just sum my great experience up with a few sentences. 09/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I have been using this product for about 6 months and I absolutely love it.. far better than paying 130 bucks to have my hair done in a salon and the results are very close to what I usually get without the price... I use 8N and it is right on the money as far as color. Your not suppose to go higher than 2 shades up or down so keep it too what you normally have and it will look great.... :) 06/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good especially for grays I've been coloring my hair for 20 years, and I really like this one. It does not smell as bad as many you buy, and it is easy to put on. It comees with plenty for even my very thick hair. 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Going to sound like a John Frieda spokeswoman... As a child I have always had long, straight, thick, beautiful hair. When I hit puberty that changed big time. Since then it has been dull, dry, (still thick), curly/wavy, frizzy and completely unmanageable. I have had hair stylists that were completely stumped on what to do to get my hair nice. Sure, I could straighten it and have it look ok for a few hours, but it was obviously not really that 'nice'. I have always been a fan of John Frieda products. They have seemed to tame my hair the best, or as best as it can be tamed. Then one day I got a coupon in the mail to try their new boxed dye. I figured, "why not? Their products have been working well so far". It was the best decision I have EVER made for my hair. I used 2 boxes because my hair, as I stated before, is long, and very thick. When I dried my hair after coloring it that day, it was like my hair came to life. I can not straighten my hair in 20 minutes instead of an hour and no matter how I style it, it looks and FEELS amazing. I am not even close to kidding when I tell you that I received a ton of compliments after coloring my hair. I will attach a couple of before and after pictures. I used the box with the color code 4BG. It has been about 6-7 weeks since I colored my hair and the color and livlieness is still absolutely wonderful. My roots are coming in but otherwise I wouldn't need a touch up. 12/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 15 years dying my hair BEST HAIR DYE EVER!!!! Like I said I have been home coloring my hair for 15 years. And I have been every color under the sun. I have used every brand of hair color there is but something told me this time to just give this one a shot. I bought preference but then went back and bought John Freida... Ok, you know after you wash out the dye your hair feels straw like cant run your fingers through it and have to use an obscene amount of conditioner just to get it back to some sort of silkiness? Well with John Freida that is NOT THE CASE! Lets start with the process its a foam so its not as messy as the other bottle jobs. No splats on your shoulder or on the sink or the toilet and if you get it on your forehead and on your ears and back of your neck taking a wet wash cloth gets it right off straight away not like the other ones that actually stain your skin leaving you walking around with marks on you for a few days. 20 mins total unless you have grey or go blonde so much nicer than the 45 or more mins it takes on other ones. Washing out was easy easy easy didnt take forever didnt keep me in the bottom of the tub forever trying to get it off my skin didnt stain the white tub either. Conditioner they give is a good decent amount! Not a little tiny packet you have to attempt to open with wet hands because who the heck brings scissors to the bathroom? I did not shampoo after rinsing out the dye just went straight to the conditioner. This is the 2nd day and did shampoo as soon as I shampooed I could run my fingers smoothly through my hair used the john freida conditioner and my hair is silky smooth and pin straight no dead ends showing no fly ups on the ends its a masterpiece and I did not use any product afterwards. I would highly recommend reading this whole entire review because its all 100 percent truth and I will never use another dye as long as I live. Im going to look for his shampoo now cant wait to see what wonders the shampoo will do! 05/10/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than the salon This is the best there is. Most natural looking. Also, it covers the greys. The color stays fresh until my next color about 6-8 weeks after the growth :) YES! It WORKS! Great product Thanks!!! 12/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sooo soft! Very pleased customer! I love this product! So easy to use. I have been buying this product for about a year now. It works better and blends better than what my hairstylist used on me. My husband even says the color is better than the salon's color! Covers grays very well. And soooo soft too! Very pleased customer! 11/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best At Home Hair Dye Love this stuff! I used to color my hair at home years ago, but then for the past 4 years or so I only went to the salon and was hesitant to use anything else since. Decided to try this product out, and it exceeded my expectations! I have had many colors put in my hair over the years and wanted to change it up and go natural. Also, my hair is very damaged from my straightener and all the dye jobs, but this stuff felt like it did some damage control! Felt so soft and vibrant after. Great great coverage, unlike other brands I've used in the past where you run out before you have covered all your hair, I still had some left when I was finished! Great product, Great buy! 02/05/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by one box out of 6 damaged. Product great! The color and condition of my hair after using this product is great, but when shipped by walmart, one of the boxes was smashed and the developer had leaked out. The shipping box was undamaged. 06/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use - Fantastic Color! As a first time home colorist, I was apprehensive about trying this. But in the interest of saving time and money, I rolled the dice and tried the John Frieda Precision Foam Colour in 7NBG. I could not be happier! Now I get compliments on my hair color from professional stylists! This product is a great value, do not hesitate to try it. 11/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised I've been coloring my own hair for around 30 years and occasionally went to a hair salon. This is more expensive than most other dyes but way cheaper than a professional. I was nervous about using the foam but it turned out to be easier and less sloppy than the liquid hair dye. And the results shocked me. My color was dark caramel blonde and my hair looked exactly like the color on the box. Cool. That never happened before. And I had lots of gray hair since it had been many months since I had dyed it. Very pleased and recommend it highly. 06/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I use this product often. It is the best product I have found since my previous product is always out of stock. Great product, easy to use and great color. 12/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous easy use color I was always terrified to color my own hair, but finally had too much gray. My first trial was the dark caramel blonde. The color was GORGEOUS, but a bit darker than I wanted - I will probably go back to it in the fall and winter. For Spring/Summer I have switched to a medium warm blonde and it makes my hair look just like a younger version of itself. Same pretty color, minus the grays. And it's nice and shiny. Definitely super easy to do. I will be a repeat customer. 07/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad that WALMART stocks this product- cant get it anywhere in Richmond, Va other than thru the Walmart online order process-Thanks Walmart for being there for me 10/31/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful color but fade away quickly I don't know if it's just my hair too dark and I colored it without bleaching it first. I got a lot of compliments from people but the hair color doesn't stay longer than a month. 12/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! I love this product. It lasts very long,I dye my hair every three months.I use the luminous blue black and I love it! I've used tons of different hair dyes and this is by far the best! 12/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but... The foam was easy to use and it smelled nice. Not harsh smelling at all. The color turned out just like the box color showed which was nice; but a quarter size of color spilled onto my eye glass lens and permanently stained it. I used the red color and it shows on my lens. I've used other brands over the years and have had an occasional spill on my lens but it never once stained it. Now I have to buy a new pair of eyeglasses. I put the color on for 35 minutes hoping it would cover my stubborn grays and though it did a very nice job not all of my grays were colored. I probably should have left it on for another 10 minutes. So beware that if you have to wear eye glasses be sure to take note that it can easily stain the lens. For stubborn gray hair leave it on a bit longer than the initial suggestion of 30 minutes. 03/05/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent home color This is the only home color that really works well for me. Easy to use, does what it says, and produces natural-looking results. I can't tolerate salon coloring as it causes my scalp to burn. This doesn't. 09/19/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't waste your money trying to cover gray hair! The product is relatively easy to use, although the foam was not quite like the picture (yes, I tilted 5 times and did not shake!). The color was MUCH darker than it shows on the box and I went to their site and used the color selector based on my hair, etc. The biggest disappointment is that I now have MUCH darker hair with gray as it did absolutely nothing to cover the gray around my forehead and temples (yes, I allowed extra time and I massaged the areas). 01/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hair Color Great coverage, easy to apply, price is reasonable too. The color last about a month also. Its pretty true to shade on box. Have bought specific color more than once and will buy again. 01/18/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great At-Home colour Basically this is the highest quality home hair-dye product. Its perfect for beginners because the foam is so easy to spread which is also ideal for those people who have long hair like me. I have been dying my hair light blonde for about a year and decided it was time for a change. With a lot of careful research I selected the Dark Cool Pearl Blonde. Due to the reviews I saw I got the light/medium brown color I was expecting which is what I wanted. You have to assume the colors are going to be 1 to 2 shades darker than the color advertised. If you want a medium blonde select a light blonde shade, if you pick smartly you will love your soft shiny color. It is way cheaper than the salon but it doesn't leave patches or spots like some other dyes use. Highly recommended for all of you perfection seekers. 03/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stuff!! After reading numerous reviews, I decided to give the John Frieda brand a try in the 5B medium chocolate brown. I am so glad I did. I've been dying my hair for 12 years now and this stuff is the best by far. The foam is great! It's not messy (unlike liquid hair color), the smell is not overpowering, and I could not believe my thick, mid-back length hair only needed 1 box! My hair looks and feels healthier now than it did before. My previous hair color was a light reddish brown and putting this color on top of it transformed it into a beautiful medium/dark chocolate brown. Wish I had tried this sooner! 08/23/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 John Frieda Precision Foam Colour I am glad to have the opportunity to purchase this hair colour on line. It is of high quality and better than the salons hair colour. I color my hair at home and save a lot of money. 11/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful color I just love it. 10/20/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like this product. Had to order online since they don't carry it in the store. Dis-appointed that one of the color boxes came all mangled & taped together-not sure I want to use it in case it was tampered with. Not paying to return the item, so will probably discard it. Shouldn't send products out looking like that! 09/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FOAM COLORING I have been using John Frieda for several years now...I love that it is foam and it does not drip all over...it colors beautifully...I always get compliments on my hair color...and it lasts...my hair dresser asked me what product I use because she liked the way my red stayed in so long..and looked great...thank you John Frieda 04/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy it. I've been through more than my fair share of boxed hair dye over the last 15 years... I finally found one I really like. I purchased the "deep cherry brown." It is easy to use and works very well as long as you FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!!! It wasn't messy, didn't feel like I was burning my hair off, didn't stink up my whole apartment, and it was a piece of cake to apply half asleep at 5:45am.. best of all, it worked! So spend the few extra bucks and buy this. It comes with a decent amount of conditioner, too. 09/24/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time user of John Frieda hair colour I am a long time user of box hair color and they have come a long way. I always used another brand and thought let me try John Frieda brand. I have to say, I am NOT switching back to my other brand. I LOVE what this brand has done for my hair. Soft, shiny, the color is vibrant and rich. I am a life timer now!! 02/11/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hair color Easy and great color 11/20/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Try It, You Might Love It! At first I was not sure about coloring my own hair. I had done so many, many years ago. I finally decided I wanted to try it myself and go the cheaper way. It was very, very easy to apply being that it is Foam. There are no drips and no mess! I had no trouble applying it at all. I like that they give you a small tube of conditioner that will last a few times. I feel it's a very good product and would tell all the ladies out there who are not sure whether they should color their own hair or not to "Just do it!" I was very happy with the outcome, it covered all my grays and the color was a perfect match! 10/09/2014
  • 2016-03-24 T07:50:20.452-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_62, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_19415745, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 62 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw336
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp