Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 105 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsome well I just got my new unit on 19th april 2012 . I live in hawaii so in the summer time my condo get pretty hot and there is no A/C in the building so anyway I got the unit and took it out the box follow the insturction and place it in our bedroom turn it on I n about 20 minutes my whole room was nice and cold It was too cold in the middle of the night i found myself having to turn off the system. and just using the fan.... you must follow the insturction for the unit to work ...one window must be slightly open and the door too for it to work properly.. IT IS WORTH THE MONEY.... 04/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent item, unless you live in high humidity I found that this item works pretty well when you have it in the "cool" position and when you have cold water. It is important that your water be cold for the item to be of good use. I put very cold faucet water into mine and I also add some shredded ice cubes and it makes it work like a charm, even on hot days. I also do what the instructions recommend and set it up with an open window behind it. That improves its efficiency for some reason. Remember, add cold water! However, I live in a nice and dry state with no large bodies of water so the humidity here is low. I can tell that the ac emits quit a bit of humidity into the household because of its water use. If you live in an area with high humidity then I wouldn't bother with this machine because its likely just gonna make things worse. 05/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Finally a mini, portable swamp cooler! I work from my home office and my job has a "no noise tolerance" policy. I can not have an open door or window at all. I thought I was going to melt into a puddle & die until I saw this beautiful, life saving machine at walmart.com! I did not care what it cost, I had to have it. This machine is a portable "swamp" cooler! This is a wonderful item and I highly recommend it. The cons: #1. It is loud. Like if it's near you and you're trying to watch TV, you have to crank up the volume. As for phone calls, I've tested it and it just sounds like "white noise" on the other end of the phone. So my customers hear me just fine and don't notice a thing at all. It's just slightly hard for me to hear them. #2. I also do not care for the white "bobbing" device/water level indicator. It is deceiving. I over filled the machine twice and made a mess on the floor. But lesson learned, I haven't done it since. The "bobbing" device never moved while I was pouring the water in. I kept checking it though, thinking it should be moving any time now. And it never moved. Until....oops! It suddenly sprang up and water gushed out all over. Now I just keep track of how many quarts I'm pouring into it. It holds 3 gallons. I should mention the "bobbing" device is located on the side at an awkward angle on the bottom half of the machine, making it difficult to read. I was on my hands and knees with a flash light. So other than being loud, I'd say I would buy this again in the future if I ever needed to. I love the remote control, the portability, the pretty LED lights, the ease of use right out of the box, everything. 05/18/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not very effective in hot summer days This is a nice product overall with all the features, however, this does not come close to an air conditioner during a hot summer day. It may be useful in not so hot days to keep the electricity bill on a lower side but not a replacement for an Airconditioner at all. 05/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by it is a pretty good fan i had heard this was a good brand name but it was not any better than a fan.. i had a cheap fan that did just as good so i had to take it back...i was so looking forward to it working...it looked good and was already put together and i put the water in like it said and left the windows open ..left a damp feeling to the house and i think it made it feel even hotter...... 05/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A nice option to air conditioner I read the reviews on walmart and kuulaire sight. Walmart had it for less. My apartment is 500-600 square ft. This keeps my living area cool and at night rolls in to bedroom and cools that down. You do need to keep a window open a little it does work better that way. I like that it is quite and moves were I need it. Very happy with it! thank you walmart. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fits the bill Bought this for the wife who is always warm no matter how low the ac is set. Blows nice cool air and moves nicely from room to room and is quieter than a big fan. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great even in Florida! Have had the KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit for a few weeks now, and have been very satisfied with its performance for the price paid. We use it both inside the house as well as out on the deck. The motor is quiet enough as not to be annoying, even on high speed. The water reservoir lasts a few hours even outside in 90+ degree temperatures. The only minor complaint is that the water in the reservoir can slosh and spill while moving the unit if not very careful. For the price, we will remedy that complaint by buying a second unit for outside. 05/31/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is not an a/c as advertised. It is a regular fan that blows humidity. The air it blows is not cooler than any regular fan. It made the room very humid, which I didn't need. It is very big and noisy. I returned it and bought a regular fan! 06/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greatly suprised! We spent the begining of summer reviewing affordable but useful cooling options. Knowing we didn't have much money to spend we worried that what we could afford may not be as good as we would hope. I'm a strong believer in you get what you pay for and if you buy the less expensive product it will probably not work as well. I Was So happy to be WRONG! This product is priced low compared to other evap coolers I had found, but just right for our budget. It got here ready to plug and go, I added water and turned it on in 90 degree heat. Immediately it cooled our front room to livable!!!!! we were so excited! No it does not cool the entire house but its clearly stated 200sq ft cooling. It more than handles that size room. If you expect it to be as cool as an air conditioner then this is not for you. But if you want strong cool air to help cool your home this summer I would definitely recommend this product to you! 06/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent cooling The only drawback is the water indicator, I have tried with a flashlight and all other lights being on but can not see how much water I've filled it up with. I do have an iced tea pitcher and I count how many I filll the cooler up with. Normally it takes five and a half pitchers to run 15 hours, eg. twice 7.5 hours like you can program. The swing feature is especially nice if you have to work in different rooms. I do recomend this product for the coolness it provides when set on cool for a swamp cool effect, but also for the powerful fan action it provides - just get a pitcher and count how much water you add, this way you won't be staining your carpet. It is not a feeling of coolness throughout the house like a swamp cooler or air conditioner, but it does help. 06/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by no better than a large fan This nifty unit cranks out cool air but it doesn't necessarily cools a room the way in claims. I basically spent $170 for a device that essentially serves the same function as a $30 fan. I tried both with the window open and with ice cold water and they both seem to be about the same in terms of cool factor. I would not recommend it at all. 06/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I stay alone and so I brought this product so that I would not have cool rooms in the apartment that I'm not in. I use it every day and I have not turned on the ac since I have had it. The works great I stay in Ga so it gets really hot here, but the product still cools the room I'm in. The only draw back for me, being a really small female who stays only, is that it works better when it's next to a open window or sliding door and I can't leave either of those things open when I go to sleep. Also you have to fill it up with about 2 to 3 gallons of water for it to work, which makes dragging from room to room a little annoying. Also just having to fill it up with water daily is a little annoying too, but over all it's still a major money saver. According to the box it only uses as much power as an 100 watt bulb. 06/23/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by gets it cool but very humid...... This product would be good for out west where its dry. I live in ohio so when its already humid it isn't really the air conditioner u want. 06/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good The product works very well 05/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good to keep self cool I got this since I work graveyards and it was starting to get really hot during the day when I sleep. So far this does work. It doesn't cool the temperature in the room but it keeps me cool when it is blowing on me. I think on hot days off when I am hanging out in the rest of the house I may move it with me so I don't have to have my window air conditioner running so much. The only bad thing about it is after you fill the water holder you don't want to move it, it will slosh water all over the place. I had to use my biggest towel to try and get the water out of the carpet and a couple of days later it was still wet. Water went everywhere. I think I will look for some kind of tray to put it on so it will collect the water that leaks out. 06/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Product operates more like a floor fan than a cooling unit. I used it in my bedroom, which is 11 x 14, and it did nothing to cool the room down. I tried using cold water, but that made no difference. The only place that was cool was directly in front of the unit sitting about 3 feet away. I returned my unit. 06/22/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by is an expensive fan... the kuulAire cooling unit was disappointing. the air coming out of the fan using the water option was no cooler than our lasko pedestal fan, which i purchased for $100 less. the water feature actually made the air in the room feel very humid, which was not condusive for sleeping. it is a great idea, but just not enough cooling capacity for the money. 05/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I bought this because I have a home office in the upstairs of an older cape home, where the A/C doesn't quite reach. I found that it cooled well enough and I live in Ohio where it's humid, but I couldn't work with the noise. It's very loud and I'm on the phone all day with my job, so for me it was not an option. 05/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Being disabled, I need to be cool. A fan wasn't working. This puts out cool air. Don't get this thinking it will cool your entire house. If you want your bedroom cool, or your living room, or next to your computer, while you are on it. This is Perfect. You can also just use the fan, without the water. This works for me, since I don't have a air conditioner. My cats seem to approve of it, as they will lay in front of it to cool off. 06/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! All negative reviews of this product....don't listen to them!!! This works fantastic - with your existing air conditioner. Great extra cooling booster & it's quiet. Great value for the $. 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool air for disabled Purchased this for a disabled mans room. We can't put one in the window so this was a choice to try. I did read reviews so made this choice. He uses it for about 3 hours in late evening when going to bed to cool room down. It does work for him if it's pointed at his bed. So far with 4 or 5 days of use the water compartment hasn't evaperated all the way. It doesn't necessarily cool the entire room, but it does a good job for what he needs. The best main feature is it can moved to any area needed, it doesn't take up much space and you don't need to vent it anywhere. The remote control is a must due to him not being able to get out of bed to control it, works great for him. The best cooling product we've found for him to give him more control over his environment. Only down part is you have watch the water level so it doesn't run dry, so it's not 100% self sufficient. 05/29/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Today is the first hot day since receiving my air conditioner. My immediate impression of it is poor. As far as I am concerned this is nothing more than a glorified fan. The air coming from it isn't any cooler than a regular fan. Also, when it is full of water the wheels don't work very well on anything but non-carpeted areas. I am going to return it for my money back. It's a huge disappointment! 06/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great unit bought 2 they are great If you are trying to save money this is what you want this is what you need it gots every thing that you need 3 speeed with remote, timer,it swivels, less than a light bulb comsuption only 85 watts 120volts great unit 06/21/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by works just okay in ill weather this product would not keep up with the humidity in our area. i called the company direct to explain how we had it hook-up and etc. He said he had it right but that is should have not been mailed to a climate such as ours, works better in drier heat area. 05/29/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not an air conditioner This unit did not meet expectations for us. It does blow cooler air than a typical fan, but only by a little bit. It creates more humidity in the air, so if you live in a humid climate, that's a negative. It does not lower the room temperature by 15-20 degrees as promised. On the positive side, I love the sound of the fan and water combined...very soothing. Overall, I would not recommend, though. 05/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by PLEASE DO NOT BUY!!! I really hate giving bad reviews for anything but this "cooling" unit is terrible. I followed directions to add water and crack window/door as the instructions said and it made my room even hotter! Better off getting a fan. I had to take it back after trying to work with it for 2 days. Please take this product off your site Walmart! 06/03/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by no match for this heat wave I bought this to cool my one-car garage and it only made it worse. Of course, I'm in the midwest, where we have high humidity and have been in the 100s for weeks. I was very unimpressed, but if you're wanting to turn your garage into a large sauna, then this is definately the product for you. :) 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I may buy another! I bought one of these units for my daughter in a store after seeing it here. I read many reviews and decided it was a good deal. She loves it. I also bought one from here for me. I have a different model that I bought last year, this one is superior. It cools great, is very mobile and easy to fill. It won't work for you if you live in a humid part of the country, but in Colorado it's fantastic. I have two minor dislikes..the fill indicator could be better-it's in an awkward place and hard to read. The other is the display is really bright-lit up my bedroom. I put dark tape over the lights and solved the problem. I wish I bought this unit last year. 07/17/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tried it for two weeks with no luck. It works well as a fan, but nothing more. I returned it. 07/01/2012
1-30 of 91 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew373
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp