See All Reviews
1776 (Director's Cut) (Widescreen)
1776 (Director's Cut) (Widescreen)
$9.49
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $5.50 (37%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 11 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historically accurate in dialogue, costuming and locale -- set to music. Fun and educational! 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great movie!!! Just as I remember it from over 30 years ago. Great reminder of how serious and complicated a decision it must have been for our founding fathers to commit to what amounted to treason in order to give birth to our great nation. Also, enjoyed the humorous moments. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So glad is has been restored! I must admit, I had never seen the original cut, but during the audio commentary they say 'oh this was cut', and you can see how this failed at the box office. It would have been gibberish. The music is catchy, and the acting is great. But what I really liked was that audio commentary. There is technical stuff like this camera was used, or this type of crane. There's also insight to the actors. Also as an extra is a reel of screen tests. It's a bit grainy, but worth watching. Watch it anytime, not just on the 4th of July. 01/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product & buy Well done film adaptation of the Broadway show musically chronicling the events leading up to and including the signing of the Declaration of Independence. Quality of the DVD is excellent. Enjoyed the film very much when it was released and now we have the DVD in widescreen to share the experience with our children and grandchildren. 03/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Movie A wonderful story and kid friendly format. Makes history fun! 12/08/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by As good as I remember it I have been in love with this musical from the start. Saw it live with Howard DeSilva (Ben Franklin) once. I'm glad the "older stuff" is coming out to add to my collection. 10/09/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1776 - How the Declaration came to be A musical about the creation of the Declaration of Independence?! Silliness, you say! Would seem like it at first blush, but this movie is well worth seeing and having in your library. This is the film version of the original Broadway play, which explains why the characters periodically break into song. Most of the songs do fit with and enhance the plot however. The content of the story is great. Much of the dialog is taken from the transcripts of what actually happened. The movie does an excellent job of showing the people (Adams, Franklin, Jefferson, etc.) as real people trying to deal with real problems. The debates are excellent, the arguments put forth are compelling on both sides, both in logic and and eloquence of language. It well shows how the fragile idea of liberty and independence managed to be established by a hair's breadth. Rather than the idealistic historical view we have of these people, it shows very well how they were people just like us, passionately fighting against tyranny. The "letters" between John and Abigail Adams were excellent. The messenger's "Mama, look sharp" song about the battle at Lexington will give you goosebumps. The song with the five gentlemen trying to decide who will write the Declaration is very funny. 09/06/2007
1-8 of 8 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew323
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp