See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 291 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by For the money, amazing value I saw this assembled in-store and thought it looked amazing - especially considering the price. When I went to read reviews, my hesitation to go through with it started to heighten. Turns out that there wasn't much to worry about at all. Note: I built mine without the hutch. I originally did buy the hutch but took it back when I realized I really didn't need it for anything in particular and it would make it needlessly bulkier. First off, ALL of the parts and hardware are labeled. Maybe the people complaining about missing labels bought older shipments, I don't know. Some pieces have their label printed on the side, but they were all there if you look carefully. Try to work in a fairly large area so you can have all your pieces spread out where you can get to each one when you need it. I had some on the floor around me and the rest laid up against the wall around the computer room. As for the hardware, every little type came packaged inside little pouches safely sealed onto one plastic sheet. All of the pouches were numbered and there were some extra pieces for some types in case you happened to lose a couple of nails or screws. The best hardware packaging I've ever seen. I always had all hardware together in view and could see what they all were. The instructions were also the best directions I've ever seen, no kidding... and I've assembled several desks, stands, shelfs, tables, etc. The pictures were clear and the step-by-step instructions always showed you how many pieces of hardware you'd use for each step. The pre-drilled holes were all very accurate except for maybe just a few on the shelf alignments by a teeny bit... but you can easiliy redo those when you see they'll need adjustment near the end. My two biggest pieces of advice when assembling are: 1) Be very careful when punching out the holes on the cardboard pieces you nail on the back of the desk. (the holes you make to allow cords to go through) Cut out the pieces all the way... do not try to punch/pull them loose when they are almost free because they do not come off very easily and i tore up some of the top layer of the cardboard. (It was a small spot on the back where no one will see, but it irritated me. I suppose I could always request a replacement piece if I really wanted and re-nail it) 2) Take particular care assembling the keyboard tray. It is the most finicky on getting all of the interlocking/moving parts together. be careful when putting the hinges in place and screwing them in. I put them in upside-down at first, and when trying to pull them back out i tore up some of the top layer of the finish. but, my keyboard lays over that anyway so i'll never really see it and I glued the torn part back on so it doesn't look too bad. I also had to lower the keyboard tray rails a bit on one side because the top of the front of the drawer was bumping into the top part of the desk a little when you tried to push it in all the way. No big deal. To make a long story short, buy it if you like it. It looks great and professional when finished and I am very happy with it. Just take your time when assembling, you will probably make small mistakes along the way. Highly recommended, by far the best you could do on a desk you assemble yourself for the money! 03/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely Happy & Beautiful I went into Walmart looking for this product and the model they had was not a very nice one...But I said let me get because you cant beat getting a good computer desk with a hutch [since I bought the Hutch as well]. I was discouraged also at the same time being that all the review I read werent so great. I have to say it took my husband two hours to put together with very little help from me. He did an awesome job putting it together. The desk looks beautiful, I love it love it love it!!! I recommend this to anyone...I am very picky and considering all the bad reviews and the model on the floor at wal-mart I went ahead and got it because I just loved the picture on the website. Good quality and great looking desk for the price!!!!! 10/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Home Office Desk The directions were extremely clear. There were some points in the construction where the pieces did not fit together absolutely right, but in the end everything came out fine. The desk when constructed, is solidly built, and although it is wood veneer, it looks as though it is made of solid wood. The desk counter is a solid .5 - .75 inch so it feels durable. It may not appear in the picture but there are actually two computer cable holes one on either side of the desk. What I like most are the variety of desk drawers. What I wish could be improved was the size of the computer cable holes (slightly larger 2" holes would have been better for me). Other than that this is an awesome desk. 02/14/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the money We bought this desk after taking another one back that was not worth the money, so i was a little concerned, but i am very happy with this desk. You need a full day to put this together as it has many pieces to it. But it is worth it. It took us about 5 hours or so but it is well made and very heavy. I am completely happy with this desk. 02/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving This Product I absolutely love this product. Before making my decision to purchase this workstation, i first read the reviews to see what other consumers thought. After reading the first review I almost didn't purchase it, but I read on and saw that most people didn't have the same views. The packages arrived and I thought to myself, no wonder it was such a great price, you pretty much do everything except cut the wood. I first read the instructions and saw that it was not a job for me to do alone so I immediately sought out an assistant. It took the two of us about 3 hours to put the desk together and another 45 minutes to put the hutch up. Putting the desk together was a breeze. All of the instructions were plainly written with great pictures showing what you are supposed to do. The hardware provided was individually labeled in their own packaging. What I really liked was that they were all attached to the same larger plastic container which cut down on the possibility of loosing items. Along with the tools each wood piece was labeled. Some had stickers and others had the letter written in but easily located. I don't think I've ever assembled something where everything was labelled so well before. My only problem with the assembly is that the instructions don't tell you that the hutch needs to be assembled first in order to connect to the desk properly. When getting the boxes I automatically started the assembly of the desk thinking that I would knock the big job out the way before doing the smaller item. If the instructions for the desk started out by stating "If you have also purchased the hutch, please assemble the hutch first", I would have been saved from some frustration. Needless to say to date my hutch is only sitting on top of the desk but it is still a sturdy structure that has been moved around with no trouble. Taking the the desk apart to drill holes and attach the hutch was just not in the plans after getting both items set up. After it is all said and done, I LOVE MY NEW WORKSTATION. Thank you to other consumers who listed the mistakes they made. The comments had me mindful of possible errors while I was putting it together and even though it's not solid wood, it looks like it and I get nothing but compliments on my furniture selection and how it makes the room pop. I would truly recommend this product to others who are not looking to spend tons of money on good furniture. I had been searching for 6 months for this style desk and none of them were in my budget ranging from 600 to thousands of dollars. The desk even has features not shown or described on the website, so I actually got more than expected with this product. Buy this product, but make sure you follow the directions and check all of your parts (as recommended on the instructions) before starting. The only way to mess this up is if you don't follow the instructions and put it together in the recommended order. 06/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is GREAT! I just finished building and setting up my new desk. This was just what I was looking for and it came out wonderfully. I know some previous reviews stated that it was hard to assemble, but I didn't have a problem. The parts were labeled and packaged better than any other piece of furniture I have ever assembled. Most big pieces are labeled with a sticker but many of the smaller pieces are marked on the side in black. Two pieces in my set were not labeled but it was obvious what pieces they were since everything else was accounted for. The best part was the hardware. It was all packaged in a big blister pack with each thing sectioned off and labeled. When you needed screw 12, you just opened the blister pack with the screws labeled 12.... GREAT!!! I've built a few things in the past where there was one sheet of instructions and none of the screws were labeled so you had to guess which were the right ones.... so aggravating. I had no problem finding any of the parts I needed. I would recommend having a helper handy for assembly. One part specifies in particular that you will need a second person. My husband and I finished building the desk in about 4 hours. We used a power drill for most of it, which was really helpful. I try to use power tools whenever possible ;-) I did have a small issue with the pencil drawer not lining up perfectly. It was an easy fix though. I just removed the first two screws on one side of the cabinet member - 22B (this will make more sense after you read the instructions) and adjusted the position a little... then drilled the screws into their new position. The fix only took five minutes at most. The overall outcome is great. The instructions are detailed but not overbearing and everything is organized beautifully. I recommend this desk 100%. 08/21/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money! Although this desk looks beautiful in stores and online, I regret buying it every day. First of all, it took my husband over eight hours to put it together because it comes in a million pieces. Second, the predrilled holes are all off, so our drawer are crooked and barely close. Third, the keyboard drawer broke in about two months. Finally, the finish wears off horribly. I've had this for a little over a year and it looks worse than a desk you can get for 20 bucks at a yard sale. It was a waste of money and I wish I hadn't bought it. For anyone who's thinking of buying it--DO NOT DO IT! 02/21/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by No Hardware Desk came in a sealed box with no hardware inside & a large chip in the left door. Contacted customer service to be told the only thing they would do is send me replacement parts in 7 to 14 DAYS. Very disappointed--replacement parts should be sent out overnight air freight when it's the manufacturers fault & customer has desk pieces apart & ready to assemble. Will never buy another product from Ameriwood/Ridgewood again--not because of the packaging error but for the way they handled it. Customers should not have to wait 1 to 2 weeks to assemble a newly purchased product. 12/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Desk We received the desk and put it together in about 4 hours. The directions were perfect and easy. We are both elderly and just took our time and it went great If you purchase this, just take your time and read the very simple direction, in reality it is very simple and in a way we had fun putting it together 03/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice looking Desk Overall this is a good buy for the money. When I got this, the box was intact, but unfortunatly there were still several parts that were slightly scratched, specificly the top of the desk. These minor schratches were on the back of the top, so they are not noticed too much. This desk is hard to put toghther, it takes a long time to put together. The instructions are clear and easy to understand. However, some of the conponets/parts are not marked, which makes it even harder to put together. It also takes two people to put it together. Also some of the parts are not preedrilled correctly, so you eather drill the holes in the right place yourself or put it tokgether the way its pree drilled, but then things wont line up correctly and that can be seen, such as the molding that screws on to the top of the table. As I said earlier that what you get for the money, its worth buying, and when its put together it realy looks nice. 04/28/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by You pay for what you get It took my husband and brother hours to put this together. the desk top has a chip in it (its made of soft partical board). The pre-drilled holes did not line up properly so we had to do it ourselves...in turn, the drawers are crooked. also the molding that you see around the bottom of the desk in the picture IS included but there are no instructions as to how to assemble them to the desk. Overall, it is a cheap desk, you pay for what you get. next time I will buy a desk from a furniture store and have it delivered and already assembled. 12/21/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by JUNK: do not buy I bought this desk about 8 months ago and it looks horrible! Just from normal wear the edges look horribly worn and the "wood" turns black! The keyboard drawer fell off within the fist month..then the filing cabinet fell to pieces in my hand...then the door to the cabinet wouldn't stay shut anymore. The ONLY thing that still looks good is the hutch. This was not worth my money and I was sooo exited because it looks so good in the stores:( 12/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I wasn't at all expecting what I got. For the price, I was expecting an okay desk that looked nothing like the picture. What I got was an expensive looking and sturdy desk. Beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone. 08/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This desk was the best, Ive ever tried to put together. I followed the very well illustrated directions. I took my time, I am a total novice and was a little intimadated by all the parts but it all worked out great! I love the way they separated all the hardware into separate pockets so it was easy to find all the different items, all the pieces were marked well and everything was predrilled. I've attempted other desks and entertainment centers and my Husband has always had to take over, but not this one!!! 03/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by You Indeed Get What You Pay For First, thanks to everyone else who wrote a review on this desk--all of them were very helpful! I just purchased this desk in-store today and it took me 5 hours to put it together by myself (no help). CONS: 1) Many of the screw tips easily stripped away after several turns using a manual screwdriver. 2) Two corners of the desktop are a bit rough and worn away. 3) The finish (whatever it is) is fairly delicate and seems to scratch/mark easily. 4) The plastic corner brackets can break easily--be careful when tightening the screws while attaching them. 5) Not every piece of the desk is labeled, although you can pretty much figure out what those mystery parts are for after some investigation. PROS: 1) The directions were pretty clear (missed a few steps, but I figured them out myself). 2) All the little pieces were organized nicely and labeled well. 3) I like the look of the desk. It's a good (non-over-bearing) size and there is plenty of room for leg space (although I am on the shorter side at 5'2"). As I titled this review, you indeed get what you pay for--a decent looking desk at lower quality. Overall, I'm happy with my purchase. 03/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfied for Particle Board Very good product. We were in the market for a desk ranging from 300 to 600 dollars. We found this desk which is not real wood but looks like and has everything we wanted in the more expensive desks. It will definitely take you some time to put the product together, but it is worth the savings. 02/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Table Great table. Use it for a nice rig with two 23" monitors. Has ample desktop space and good cabinets. However, the small cupboard for the Tower does not have sufficient airflow and hence I keep my Tower out and use the cupboard for the UPS. THe whole assembly took just over two hours with a few beers :D 06/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful large desk I have owned the desk now for about 6 months; the desk itself is beautiful and has great storage space. The only complaint that I have is that the front of the edge of the desk gets a lot of wear and tear and looks awful almost immediately after using the desk a few times. The front of my desk now looks awful, but I can probably sand it down and paint it, if desired. To be fair, I do have a house full of children, so I cannot say that the same thing would happen to someone who has less traffic on or near the desk. Overall, I love the desk! 12/08/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by desk the desk is a piece of junk! I am serious. I guess you get what you pay for. The material is compressed wood and falls apart when you are working on assembling the product. Leo B. 07/27/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!! THE DESK LOOKED GOOD ON THE INTERNET, BUT IT WAS REAL COMPLICATED FOR ME TO PUT IT TOGETHER. IT HAVE SO MANY PEICES AND THE LITTLE ROUND SCREWS DO NOT HOLD THAT MUCH. I ADVISE YOU TO HAVE SOME WOOD GLUE ON BOARD. I RETURNED IT BECAUSE THE WOOD WAS SO CHEAP IT WAS FALLING APART AND CHIPPING. I HAVE TO SAY IT WOULD BE A NICE DESK IF YOU CAN FIX IT UP WITHOUT CHIPPING THE WOOD OR WITHOUT IT FALLING APART. 03/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best desk/hutch you can get for this price! I purchased this desk and hutch combination a few weeks ago when I moved into a new apartment. I use it every day, and it has made working a pleasure. The oak finish looks very realistic, and even though it is not solid wood, it is very sturdy and functional. It takes a close inspection to see that it is not a much more expensive piece of furniture. The hutch is very high, which is great for me because it fits my laptop stand and fully opened laptop, with almost a foot to spare. In addition to the computer, you can fit books and papers on the desk with plenty of room to keep them organized. I did not nail the hutch into the desk, which has not presented any problems (the desk sits between a corner and a bookcase, so there is not much room for the hutch to fall off if it got hit hard enough to perturb it). The instructions for assembly were very clear. It took about 3 hours for me and my boyfriend to put it together. Unlike some other reviewers, I did not experience any issues with holes not being lined up right - perhaps it's just the luck of the draw. I would definitely recommend working with a partner to put this piece together, especially since it is very heavy. It is definitely worth the work though! 04/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by With this desk a few parts came damaged and I had to wait for new parts. The front of the top part of the desk had two huge dents in it and it looked as if it had split or broken in another spot and had been glued back together. The far back corner of the desk was crushed. The door to the keyboard compartment is very sloppy and doesn't look nice when it is closed. I am not happy at all with the condition of this desk. 03/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would love to review, but came broken...twice! I ordered this online, and it arrived damaged. I processed the return, and got another shipment about a week later...and it was damaged as well. I do not recommend ordering this product through Walmart online as their freight shipper or warehouse handlers are awful. Best of luck! 02/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value This was a decent desk and a great value for the money. Assembly was fairly easy and took me about two hours to assemble. My only complaints are the drawers are not as deep as the desk, at 13" deep it limits how useful the storage is. Also the keyboard / mouse drawer is not very wide, not enough room for both. Aside from those gripes it is an excellent value for the money! 04/21/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by very disappointed We thought this desk and hutch would be perfect but was saddly dissappointed in the quality of workmanship. The desk had many holes that did not line up with the parts & screws therefore the corners were not flush & difficulty getting pieces to fit. The center drawer will not stay closed because they cut the hole wrong for the hinge even tho my husband tried to fix it. It took us 3 days to get it together. The desk top cannot be put on (if you bought thehutch) until you put it together.this is difficult because when we tried to do it the edge pulled loose & almost ruined the entire desk so we put the top on & fastened the hutch with another type of bolt we would have never been able to lift it up had we put the hutch on it before standing it up. I plan to contact the company & tell them how bad the workmanship was. We have it together & I am using it but the center drawer wont stay shut & the file drawer is difficult to close. I am so dissappointed as it could be a beautiful peice of furniture if it wasnt made from pressboard and was solid wood. 01/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks Great, Hard to assemble This was the style I was looking for and it looks great. It took way too long to assemble. There are 100 or so screws to attach everything and this is without the hutch. The instructions have illustrations, but they are not crystal clear or detailed enough so you have to look at the hardware really good to make sure you're assembling the pieces correctly, especially on the slide-outs on the keyboard and file drawers. Overall, I like the way it looks and a good value for the price. 11/06/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by DON,T BUY MADE VERY CHEAP AND FLIMSY. PRE- DRILLED HOLES DID NOT LINE UP. NONE OF THE DRAWERS OR DOORS LINE UP AS THEY SHOULD AND LEAVE HUGE GAPS. ONCE YOU PUT IT TOGETHER AND PLACE IT WHERE YOU CHOOSE, BEST OFF TO NOT MOVE AGAIN BECAUSE IT IS VERY FLIMSY. I WOULD NEVER BUY ANOTHER ONE. 11/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, but more work than anticipated I've had this desk a few days now, and I'm very glad I bought it! It works great, looks great, and has plenty of surface space to work with. But I am compelled to share this...The box said with 2 people it takes 2 hrs to assemble. NOPE!! It took us 6-8 hrs, there's a lot of pieces. This was the only downside. So if your local Walmart offers the option of someone to assemble it for you, TAKE ADVANTAGE OF IT!!! I opted to do it myself because I didn't want to wait for it any longer and I regret it. But I don't regret purchasing the desk. But...if you do assemble it yourself, here's a helpful hint: The extension slide for the bottom right drawer: be sure to slide the square holes back and away to avoid damage when screwing it in. One slide was a bit stiff so we didn't know it was supposed to move & we didn't catch it at first, and the instructions didn't mention it. Otherwise, great desk! 09/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great desk for small space I am pleased with this desk but left the keyboard shelf/drawer off as there just was not enough knee room with it on. ONE THING YOU NEED TO KNOW IS, IF YOU ARE GOING TO USE THE HUTCH WITH THE DESK, IT HAS TO BE ASSEMBLED FIRST THEN THE DESK TOP ATTACHED AND DESK ASSEMBLED FROM THERE. I did not know this and when desk arrived first we went ahead and assembled it only to find out a week later when the hutch arrived that we had a problem. To solve it we chose to just sit the hutch on the desk and so far it has worked well 09/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really like this desk! I just finished assembling this desk with my husband & my brother...it took the 3 of us 4 1/2 hours. It's intimidating at first because there are SO many parts & hardware. However, the directions are clear as can be and very easy to follow. Everything went together as it was supposed to. So, although it was time-consuming, it was not hard to assemble. You definitely need at least 2 people to assemble it though...you'll need someone to hold things in place while you use the screwdriver or the hammer (some of the boards are quite heavy#. It looks beautiful and I'm pleased with the construction...great desk, especially for the low price. The only downside is it said online there were filing drawers #plural)...that's not the case...there's just 1 filing drawer. I'd recommend this desk to anyone. 08/15/2012
1-30 of 262 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew477
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp