See All Reviews
Remington S8500 Shine Therapy 1" Flat Iron
Remington S8500 Shine Therapy 1" Flat Iron
$42.96
List Price: $55.86
You Save: $12.90 (23%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great straightener for the price. This straightener works great! I had been using a straightener that was double the cost of this one and it broke after years of use. I wanted to get another straightener that would work just as well but was also a bit cheaper. I settled with this one and I'm glad I did. I straighten my hair everyday. It is naturally very wavy. This straightener allows you to change the temperature in case you don't need it to be at the highest level of heat. It straightens my hair quickly. All I need is 1 or 2 swipes and it's as straight as can be. The absolute best thing about this straightener though is that I've actually noticed that my hair looks and feels softer. I think it has something to do with the plates. My more expensive straightener did some damage to my hair and this one makes my hair look great! 12/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great straightener! I have had this over 2 years and I straighten my hair every day! Causes no damage and works GREAT. 12/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprisingly excellent!! This is my first straightener that hasn't been a chi and it does wonders. It turns on quick, has adjustable heat settings so you are less likely to damage your hair, and is easy to use. If you hold down the (-) button, it locks the buttons so you can't accidentally turn it off while using it. The straightener also has a locking feature for when it is turned of so the plates can't smash together and break during storage. This straightener is great for all hair types, I would highly recommend it to anyone. The price for this high quality was a good deal also, totally worth my money spent. 01/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! This was the best striaghtener I've ever used! I love it so much! It is a little pricing but it is worth it. 01/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING FLAT IRON I'm 16 years old with thick naturally curly hair. I've had multiple flat irons in the last 6 months, & they don't compare to The Remington Shine Therapy! I've had a CHI, a Paul Mitchell, etc & they don't even compare to it either. I love the color & the feel. It's thick feeling & it doesn't pull my hair out like my CHI did. It heats up in under a minute. I also love how you can lock it to where you can't turn it off while doing your hair. It makes my hair so perfect and soft and my hair actually SHINES. My hair is very hard to straighten & it always ends up going back to the way it was before. This flat iron is the BEST, & I would totally purchase again & recommend to a friend. REMINGTON IS THE BEST WAY TO GO!!!!!!!!!! 03/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for frizzy hair in humidity I have just recently bought this so idk how long it will last but i have had the other remington straightener the frizz therapy and it worked but it didnt work on my hair as good as this one. I have a big natural wave in my hair thats hard to control and my hair is very frizzy (i live in florida which is worse) and this one did better. The other one was good and i gave it to my sister but if you're trying to decide which one i say this one! 01/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST EVER!!!!! I love this straightener! It does Wonders to my hair :) it's starting to smoke now that I had it for almost 3 years LOL I'm getting the same one soon because I really can't live without it. It doesn't make my hair stiff or a wig like the Sally's straighteners and they cost more than this one! Those straighteners cause too much damage. The Remington Straightener took care of my hair like a baby :3 I LOVE IT SOOOO MUCH! SIDE NOTE: WIPE THE STRAIGHTENER WITH JUST A TISSUE OR A PIECE OF PAPER TOILET. [That's all it will need. Cleaning it with water or any other chemicals will add static to the hair and fry your hair like crazy! I think this happens to all straighteners. Wiping it off with just a tissue or some clothe would allow the shine to stay on the metal plate. 04/14/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Liked these features: beep when ready, auto shut-off, set temperature, on-off and temp buttons on top, BUT NOT very smooth when gliding hair through it. I felt it pulled on my hair too much. Opted to return and purchased professional ceramic tourmaline straightener for same price at Beauty supply and it worked much better. 03/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does good job, but snags... The straightener does a good job of doing what it's supposed to do and is easy to use, but the biggest flaw is that the floating plates snag the hair with almost every pass. Kinda annoying, but can be avoided if you're careful... 03/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by this is the worst flat iron, less then 1 year after i bought it! it just stopped working one day for no reason!! not to mention how badly it damaged my hair. i have split ends like crazy, and everytime i used it it pulled and snagged my hair. I wish i would have saved my money and just bought a profesional flat iron 01/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite straightener I have fine hair which means I have frizzy hair and I live in a high humidity area, but this straightener works magic even on the most humid days. Even in the height of summer in Charleston, SC. This is my second one of these straighteners, I wore out the first one which I had for a few years, and thought I would try a different type of straightener but couldn't find one that worked as well. This one gives my hair a lot of shine and makes it feel like silk when I run my hands through it. I love it! As they say, the true test of something is would you purchase it again. Yes I would, and I did. 10/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice straightner I bought this after reading many, many, many good reviews! I'm always looking for that one straightner or blow dryer that will help elimanate frizz! This is a good little straightner!! For the prices, it does good! However I don't think it does any better or worse on helping with frizz as my other ones I have..but as saying that I paid way less for this one! 08/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous! I am a professional hair stylist and never used any tool that wasn't considered "professional" until a client brought in this flat iron & asked me to use it on her hair. I was beyond skeptical & begrudgingly used it to style her out. I was so impressed I went that day & bought it for myself. I have used all different brands of flat irons & have never been as pleased as I am using this one. the warranty is better than any professional iron, it heats as quickly and stays as hot as any professional iron, and its equally as durable as any professional iron I have ever used! Not to mention the price is WAY better! I love my flat iron & use it in the salon everyday. 03/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I am a black american female and all my life I have had to deal with curly hair. I have relaxed my hair maybe 3 times in my life time and never have I received the results I have with this shine therapy. Bone straight and it stays until I have to wash my hair which is maybe once a week. I never have to add oil because of the oil in the flat iron. Now I can go naturally straight without having to chemically process my hair. And if I desire to go curly I can. 02/28/2011
1-14 of 14 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew276
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp