Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 41 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best dvd recorder I've every had. I bought two, one for me and another for my son. Its compack. It fit well in my tv stand. Great for only 98.00. 01/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth three times what I paid for it! I have had bad experiences with DVD recorders in the past, so I never saw myself ever buying another one. However, my dad recently passed away and left behind several VHS tapes of old family reunions, etc. that I felt needed to be preserved before they were lost forever (some of them as old as 1987!) I looked into computer USB kits and standalone TV-top burners, and finally decided to buy this one at my local Wal-Mart. Let me just say I had it out of the box and recording old VHS tapes in less than 20 minutes. It is so easy to use...after the one-time initial setup, all you have to do is put in the disc (I highly recommend DVD+RW, although any kind will work), let it format which only takes a few seconds, then set your record speed (You can record anywhere from 1 hour to 6 hours...you do need to know ahead of time how long your VHS tape is). So the first one I tried was a 2 hour tape, so I set the DVD speed to 2 hours. Then you just hit play on the VCR and record on teh DVD burner, sit back and enjoy the memories. When you're done, you either finalize (if you're use -R media# or protect the disc #if you're using +RW media# and you have no preserved your memories digitally. This burner doesn't have any of the flaws I've seen in other burners #shutting off after only a few seconds or everytime the media shakes slightly, media error messages, taking forever to do anything, etc.). One common complaint is that it doesn't have a digital display....it does have an on-screen display, which is good enough for me. If you are like me and have had bad luck with DVD burners in the past, have some faith and buy this one. This is one of the most positive experiences I've ever had with a new product right out of the box. 03/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basic and Functional I have had this recorder for over 6 months with no problems. Great price on sale. Agree with others that it is unfortunate that it does not have an external timer display, but it is easy to set up and to use once your used to it. I bought 2, one for me and one for brother in Montana. Bought it through my BOA Master Cards shopping page and recieved extra 5% off, and 1 extra years worth of warranty. I use Verbatim - R DVD's that I also bought from Walmart. They are superior to most, I have gotten no coasters out of the 100 I have used. Best recording quality on the shorter recording speeds 2 1/2, 3, 4 hour settings, but 6 hours comes out well also. Have read many good and bad reviews on this machine. My experience is a positive one. 02/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great recorder for the price. Easy to set up and very easy to record programs and movies from the TV. 02/09/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by won't work with comcast supplied digital converter This unit can only be used if the source is AV1, AV2, etc. Will not run with channel 3 or 4 (any numbered channel)as the source. As the digital converter supplied by Comcast can only be set on numbered channels, you cannot set up this unit. I called Magnavox before purchasing this unit and they said it would work but I didn't think to mention that the digital converter couldn't be set to anything but numbered channels. I am returning the set after 2 days of trying. Hoping to save someon else the time and energy. 07/09/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not properly advertised. This was $20 more expensive on line than in the store and it was not noted that you needed a cable box to use it. When I picked it up I had to return it because on the box it stated that you needed a box from your cable company or sateillite dish to work it. My dissatisfaction was with WalMart for not properly having the information on line and charging a higher price than the store sold it for. 04/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by No display? This product did not work for me. There was no display and it kept shutting off by itself for no reason. I returned it. I may have gotten a defective unit but if a product works like that with my first try, I usually don't give it a second chance. This does not mean it won't work for you. 02/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I heard recently, from a friend who sells electronics, that dvd recorders are in short supply. I have been burning disks for years, and this one seems to be one of the few that are dependable as far as accepting most disk formats, and playback on most other players. I still don't understand why some players refuse to play a finalized disk though, and am worried that this model may become obsolete. 04/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine I had the original version of this(same model number but without the "B" at the end). It works exactly the same as the older version, the only difference is the remote control. They moved some of the buttons around so I'm not used to it. I used to be able to use the remote in the dark, but now I have to relearn. I read the reviews on the older unit and one of the biggest complaints was the lack of a display. True there is no display on the unit, but there is the onscreen display which can be brought up by pushing the "Display" button. Maybe these people didn't see that button, but I sure have. By the way, if you buy this instore rather than online, the price is only $78. At that price I may go buy a backup unit since my original one had failed due to overuse. 04/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty easy to use Still learning, but was able to transfer 4 or 5 home videos to dvd. My husband is very good with electronics, but I am not. Since his schedule has been very busy, I did most of this myself after he set it up. It is nice to be able to turn the display on and off using the remote. The only problem I had was finding the "finalize" option. The instructions in the book did not work. The only way I have been able to get to that menu is to open and close the dvd tray, THEN press menu while the dvd is loading. Today I had to try several times, and had to press the menu button repeatedly to get to the finalize screen. Wish the finalize menu was a little easier to access, but am very pleased that we have dvd's of our old videos. And they do work on other players! 07/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by the info regarding this dvd recorder on the site does not state that specific brand dvd's must be used.. therefore when you get this product and try to use, reecordings dont play back. however, if you get the blank dvds recommended in the instructions, your recordings still dont play back. why are dvd recordrers made if you are unable to record anything? the intructions are a bit lacking and can be confusing. they explain the basics that are common sense in great detail but dont go into detail on the unfamiliar things. i understand that some copyrighted material cannot be recorded, but apparently nothing can be recorded which defeats the purpose of a dvd recorder. 04/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lives up to expectations This video recorder is one of the best I have owned. It is very simple to use and has features that more expensive units have, especially the menu creation. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for good results at a value price. 03/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great DVD Recorder I have had many DVD recorders in the pass and this one is the very easy to work and the price is great the delivery was perfect I would recommend this to anyone that records on to a dvd. 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use. Didnt even read the booklet. Everything is on screen. 05/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A no frills DVD recorder It works as expected with no surprises and I'm glad I bought it. 05/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by DVR/DVD It's easy to use and is great! I love it! 03/26/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by basic performance The unit has no tuner. it does not claim to have one but Walmart neglect to point this limitation out. It also only records in 4:3 aspect ratio. As most films these days are in one form or another widescreen, this is annoying. The menus are not particularly user friendly and if you are in a hurry to record something and you insert a disc it seems to take an age to get to the point where it is ready to start. The quality of recodings themselves appear ok and the unit itself is relatively inexpensive. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm happy w. product. Does not have a tuner. I hooked it up to my old VCR in a way that I can watch and record at the same time, though it says you can't. Runs fine, instructions are a little lenthy but needed, price was right and I am satisfied with it's performance. Would recommended to others if they want to figure out how to use it to their advantage. I am perfectly satisfied. 10/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it It does everything in the description. I like the fact that you can connect to a converter box and record shows with the timer. This was a difficult function to find on a DVD recorder. The unit is small and has excellent quality recording. 08/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by this DVD recorder/player works very good I use it to when I leave my apartment I can record my camera for security up to 6 hr, the only complaint is I cant record my TV , most of the newer TV's does not have an line a line out, just a line in for TV signal,,, I think a TV tuner on my cable spliter would work for me, their is nothing at all wrong with this recorder / player and I would reccomend it A+. doobiedoo1944 07/31/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by DVD recorder While I am sure this is probably a good product, It did not suit my needs. I have an old TV that has a port only for the cable to be inserted. My old dvd recorder works in the same way making it easy to set up and use. This one only had the colored (red, yellow and white) plugs and no matter which was I used it, it would not work. I am hoping that I can find one of the same (as the older one)somewhere that I can purchase eventually. Was very sad that I had to return it and keep on looking. Meanwhile, I need to read and understand the item descriptions better. 07/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value This recorder is excellent. It has new multiple recording modes such as SPP, which is 2.5 hrs. on 12 cm disc. 07/27/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected The price was right, but the product seems to have a mind of it's own. The instructions are far from clear, and it will not stop when you want it to. The troubleshooting guide is less than imformative leaving me scratching my head saying "huh"? I guess it's true you get what you pay for, next time I will pay the price for another Sony that I know works the way I want it to. Just sayin' 05/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I already own one, just wanted another one incase something happen to my old one, I use it all the time, recording old shows, that have gone by the way, 09/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like it very much. For basic recording on what you have on your DVR or what is playing of TV, it is easy to do and it is easy to hook up with their directions. More sophisticated actions such as making chapter headings, I found the instructions difficult to understand. But that is not what I need anywat 08/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product, works well. I found the instructions a little difficult, but it worked well once I figured out correct operations. 07/14/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by good product magnavox is gr8 product for the money. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Set up was easy. Set up was easy and operation was possible right away. 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far works great and is easy to use. 06/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I can't figure out how to use this product This is very difficult to figure out how to use. I've bought 2 DVD recorders from Walmart before that we so much better than this junk. 06/23/2012
1-30 of 37 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.