See All Reviews
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 158 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by cheaped out I had the exact unit for 2 years and I just bought a second one because I have 700 movies. I thought I was buying a matching set but they changed the shelves to be half as deep a half as thick. Now I have 2 exactly similar units with very different shelves. The newer design shelves are way cheaper and barley big enough to the dvds, even caused me to drop a while shelves worth when pulling one movie out. the original design look better and functioned better. Cheap skates had the best shelving unit on the market then they went cheap. 06/26/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what it used to be. What I like about it: it holds a lot of media if you have a large collection at an affordable price! But, I'm sorry to report that this used to be a better product. This is the second unit I've bought of this model. The first one I bought years ago and was very happy with it, and I decided (years later) to buy another one to match my first. Same company, same shelving unit, and it was advertised the same as the first one (size, number of dvd's it can hold, etc). To my regret, after assembling the new unit, I discovered that they changed the size and thickness of the adjustable shelves. The adjustable shelves are now smaller and thinner than what they used to be. They are set back about an inch from the edge of the case, and my DVDs actually stick out (about an inch) beyond the adjustable shelf. My first shelf system had adjustable shelves that were thicker and were flush with the depth of the unit, and the DVDs fit completely on each shelf without sticking over the edge. Because these shelves are now smaller and thinner, they are actually somewhat unstable once you fill it with DVDs. I was pulling one DVD off a shelf, and the whole shelf flipped out and dumped all of the remaining DVDs onto the floor! That's crazy! Also, it looks stupid to have your entire DVD collection sticking out over the edges of the shelves. I'm disappointed that Atlantic has cut corners in this way. They changed what used to be a really solid shelving unit into a cheap, unstable shelving unit. 04/09/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a great unit once assembled This is a great cabinet. It took the place of 4 small DVD racks and (so far) does not appear to sag, though it is just pressboard. The biggest problem I had was during assembly... The pictures and instructions do a great job of showing how to assemble the basic frame, with all parts letter-coded and going together pretty well. The BACK however, is supposed to go on last. By design, I assume to reduce the package size, the top and bottom are 2 parts attached in the middle with those funky cam-lock screws. To install the back, the instructions say to flip the unit over on it's front and simply attach the back panel (also in 2 pieces joined in the middle) with supplied nails. Nice idea, but the unit has an extended pedestal at the base for stability, so when you flip it over, the front of the bottom pedestal and the top edge of the cabinet are on the floor, leaving the center suspended in mid air while hammering on the back. Needless to say, this puts stress on the already heavy unit, pulling apart the top and bottom sections. I took several of the adjustable shelves and propped up the middle of the unit to complete this step. I also found it useful to tip the unit on it's side to stand it up rather than try tipping it front-to back (center connection issue problems again) 05/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall very satisfied The dvd storage unit is perfect for our little living room. At first I wanted a dvd storage unit that had doors so the first thing people saw when they walked into our apartment wasn't our collection. Although most of the units I was looking at wouldn't hold everything we had. So i went with this one thinking that if we can incorporate some of our personal touch to it, it wouldn't be such an eye sore. I was right and I am glad we went with this option. The case itself is actually thinner than I thought which is great because it doesn't take up to much walking space. The product is made out of some cheaper material but it works for us and looks great. I would highly recommend this to someone who has to conserve space but also wants something that looks nice. 04/23/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good overall Quality is good for the price. Lots of room to hold my media. Met my needs perfectly. 01/30/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well designed, but manufacture is not quality. Rack is well-designed and set up is flexible so that many CD's or DVD's can be stored exactly as you might want them. Unit sits stable on the floor - no rocking. Small parts are enclosed in special "bubble" strip and every single part was present on both of the units I bought. I did not expect the scratched finish and paint flaws for a $150 item, however. 08/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am so pleased with these towers. I bought 2 of them and have them side by side in living room. They only take up space of 9 inches from wall. I am very happy with these. 03/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks great, need another one! Now my media looks nice and organized, easy to search. Got rid of two swing-out doors media cabinets that took up too much space. This wall unit is slim and the many adjustable shelves give lots of storage options. I have video tapes, DVDs, video games and CDs all in mine. One problem in assembly was one of the back covers was not attached together like the other one, but I just taped it together and it was fine. I also wish there was something to cover the screws in the middle of the unit, but i just put tall things there to hide them. I used wood glue on the dowels and put the unit on a blanket on my table to attach the back. I screwed it to the wall (included) because with my floors it would not stand by itself. Overall pleased with purchase and considering another one when the time comes. 04/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice product for the price I have been looking for something that wouldn't look like media cabinet but wouldn't take up too much floor space. This wall unit fit the bill. It was a little time consuming to assemble because you MUST follow the directions exactly or it doesn't fit together correctly. The only other thing I was surprise by, and somewhat disappointed in, is the depth of the shelves. It says it's something like 9 inches deep, but beware! That's only the base. The shelves are actually only about 6 inches deep. That's perfect is all you want to use the shelves for is CDs or DVDs, but it really limits anything else you can put on the shelves. Overall it looks pretty nice and was well worth the money. 04/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wall Unit makes efficient use of space. I ordered this Media Storage unit to hold a DVD / BluRay collection. It does this splendidly; all shelf height adjustments were set up to do just that with very little wasted space. But that is not all. There are plenty of shelves and pegs left over to accommodate a variety of media collections, like CD cases. With storing DVD’s there is 5/8” space above the DVD case to the shelf above it. The shelf is slightly narrower (4 ½”) than the DVD case is wide, but it holds DVD’s fine. In fact with the shelf loaded up with DVD’s, the adjustable shelf edge is shadowed where the DVD’s appear to be floating between the vertical supports. Each shelf is approximately 12 ½” long X 3 across. With shelves adjusted for all DVD’s you will have then eight shelves high. The color is very dark where you may as well say it is black. There is some wood grain look to it but very subtle. It is all particle board construction with very thin laminate on all sides but the edges facing the wall. I like that the shelves have been notched underneath to capture the metal pegs on the vertical supports so they won’t slide forward off the pegs. The backing is thin hardboard that comes folded and in two sections with tabs to join the top and bottom half at the center nonadjustable self. Everything was predrilled to make it easy to stay on track with assembly. Besides the locking cam sections at the joining section in the middle and on the top board, they have small wooden dowels which fit rather loose. I added some glue to mine to help keep it solid. 12/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it A beautiful stand. Totally worth the money. Took my husband around an hour to put together. Fits all our dvd and blue ray movies. 03/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shame the manufacturer is making them cheaper. This is my third one of these over the course of multiple years. Expanded over the years. Delivery and price from Wallmart was great. Poor assembly directions, and the shelves were shorter (front to back) and thinner). The pins (steel for shelves, and wood for assembly) were undersized, so they are loose and fell out easily. Shame the manufacturer keeps reducing quality. 01/03/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by You get what you pay for Ok. By reading some of the other reviews, I got a chuckle out of some of them. You get what you pay for people. They are not solid oak, it's fiber board. I chose these because I did not want to shell out $2000 for 2 solid oak units. That being said, overall they do exactly what I wanted them to do. They hold a boat load of DVD's/Bluray's. You need a good size space of about 8 x 8 foot to put it together. Take the shelf pieces, the hardware, and the instructions out and read! READ! It's not rocket science and it is not hard to do. You need a phillip's and a flat head screwdriver to assemble. You'll be starting from the middle section and work out from there to the top and bottom pieces. Don't add the shelve pieces until it's up and placed where you want it. They will fall out if you do. The metal hardware is not top of line so don't beat on them! They all fit the way they are supposed to. If they don't, you've got something in the wrong place. Also, use a flat head screw driver on the 8 black round lock pieces, not a phillip"s. They will strip fairly easy! And don't over tighten any of the screws. The shelves go together just fine if you take your time and do it right. I'm a 56 year old woman and had no problems whatsoever putting this together alone! Once together, my son helped me lift and place it. Lift the unit with 2 people holding each side of the middle piece and then tip up. Tipping it up from the top to bottom could make it buckle. Like I said, it's not solid oak and the hardware isn't great! Once standing, and placed they are fine. I bought 2 of these units and they are sitting on carpet up against the wall and they don't even come close to tipping over. If your unit tips over, your floor is uneven or you're hanging on them. And yes, DVD's hang over the edge about an inch, and bluray's about 1/2 inch. This mattered nothing to me. They look just fine. I'm very happy with the 2 black ones that I bought, and they do look very nice once up and filled. 09/23/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Returned It Right away! I was super excited about this. It was going to fit the area I needed it in perfectly. I got it Saturday morning and put it together that night. 1st off the boards were ALL SCRATCHED- nothing you could do about that, I decided I would just try to place objects in front of the scratches- Then the holes were not drilled properly- I had two that popped out the side- now it just looks bad!! Again, I really wanted this to work. I get it all put together and stood it up in the spot I wanted it in. THE DANG THING FELL OVER!!! It wasnt sturdy at all. I put it in my car and it was returned to the store, it wasnt even in my house 24 hours. what a waist of time and money! 07/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 EASY & SIMPLE STORAGE I ordered 4 of the ATLANTIC OSKAR 1080 and they were easy and quick to assemble. I have lots of media and it has freed up so much space. Its thin, slim look is great in my Livingroom. When I get more CD's, I shall order more. THANK YOU AGAIN WALMART !!!!! I AM HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE 11/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 We wanted something inexpensive to put all our DVDs in. This fit the bill. All parts were there and it was easy to put together. Not a show piece, but very functional. 09/28/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Appearances Are Misleading Stated dimensions and appearances are misleading. You can't tell looking at the photo that the base is the widest dimension. The uprights are narrower and the shelves narrower still, so the usable shelf depth is 4.5 inches. This just was not suitable for my needs, although as a DVD stand it's adequate. 12/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it Love it but hard to put together alone 06/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 THE Media Tower I have never been disappointed with Walmart products, and they continue to fulfill promises they advertise, unlike places like Amazon, where too many people have their hands on the products they offer. This tower is beautiful, and it compliments the rooms I've bought them for. I believe I've bought 4 towers from the, and they were all easily put together, and they all look NICE! If you have a number of media-related items that need storing with the intent to show off, THIS is a GREAT way to do it. Bravo, Walmart, for making me a happy man. Now, if only Amazon would do the same? 05/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful, sturdy storage unit for cd's and dvd's! This storage unit is the best that I have ever bought. Some of the units that I have bought in the past were made with weak material. This unit is super sturdy, and it holds an amazing amount of media. I have already stored over 250 dvd's and over 300 cd's and I still have more space. The best part is that you can decide on the shelf sizes. Just move the pins and move the shelves. Unbelievably easy. Definitely worth the price. 03/01/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice for my needs I would like to have found the same thing in solid wood for the same price (wish full thinking)! Looks good and plenty of shelves for any kind of arrangement. I could use two of these but don't have enough room. Only one suggestion during assembly. On step #8 the instructions say to flip the unit onto it's face in order the nail the backing to the frame work. I would suggest a support to go between the floor and the frame to make it level to the floor. This is because the two large parts that come together in the center section started coming apart while I was using a very small hammer to those small nails. I stood the unit upright and used a rubber mallet to force the anchors back into the wood. I was able to straighten the unit up again and was back in business. 02/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I'm very pleased with my purchase and it looks great and easy to assemble. 11/27/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Deal After reading reviews and measuring the area that I would adding the spot, I decided to purchase the unit based on # of DVD's it holds and size. Keep in mind that the smaller shelves that you need to add ARE shorter, but I don't think that is too big a deal. The largest shelves are the very bottom, which measures the full (I think it is 9") and the middle shelf. It was pretty easy to put together, was actually delivered a few days early and was in great condition when I opened it up. I've been able to fit pretty much all my DVD's along with some little movie trinkets that I have on top of it. Overall, I felt this was well worth the money. 02/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Product This is a great value for the price. The number of adjustable shelves allows for just about any size of disc case. For once, there are extra parts that you can use like shelf pins and shelves. It even came with wall anchor brackets (anyone with kids or grandkids will appriciate this) 03/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for CD DVD library Easy to assemble. Everything that described the product was true. Delivery was prompt to the store 02/25/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No allowance for ANY mistakes in assembling! I agree with most of the reviews I read on here -- basically, the media cabinet is made of very cheap construction, and it is very time-consuming and difficult to figure out the PICTURE instructions when assembling. The instructions do NOT include enough TEXT to make it easier to assemble. I missed one TINY piece of the drawing indicating which side to put some of the parts, and ended up disassembling a huge section of my hard work. But once I paid attention to every little drawing (again, no help in the text part), then I was able to get the whole thing assembled within 2 hours. NOTE: There are NO EXTRA screws, or any other hardware, so if you strip one of the cheap metal screws, first: you have to use pliers to remove the screw, and second: you have to pray you have more in your own stash on hand, or do like I did and steal one from the set they provided to attach the unit to the wall. Speaking of attaching to the wall -- as others have mentioned, this is an ABSOLUTE requirement! The unit is so flimsy when fully assembled, that it wouldn't stay upright without being attached to the wall with the anchors provided. I was only able to attach one size (used one of the screws, remember?), but this was adequate, temporarily. Pluses include: Holds 500 or so DVDs, which cleaned up almost all of mine. It replaced two cabinets that I previously had to use. It is only 7-8" wide, so it easily is hidden from view when entering my family room. This is good, since I don't want it to be the first thing people see! It's nice to have a cabinet that fits so many DVDs, but as others have mentioned, it definitely wouldn't survive being disassembled and moved. When I'm done with it, it will be trashed. A little overpriced for the cheap quality. 11/23/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware! Danger Ahead! Turn Back Now! This is the cheapest piece of furniture I've ever gotten. I bought a couple of Mainstays and Sauder products from Walmart when I was a starving college student, and while they weren't great, they certainly did their job. This piece was absolutely terrible. I tried multiple times to get the thing together, and every time I would get to a specific step the whole thing would collapse. The hardware was breaking, or didn't fit at all. The black material was peeling off. The whole thing was just a gigantic mess. I returned it after my dad failed at getting it together as well. Run away while you still can! 11/12/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I purchased this item because I already had one and needed another. The item is nice just not identical to the original one. The shelves are smaller so I can't use them with my other one. 03/02/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY It wouldve been great to have a really big media storage shelf like this, I definately need more space for my blurays, cds, books, etc. I knew this was prefab furniture so I didnt set my hoipers too high but it was a complete piece of garbage. VERY poor manufacturing, the holes for all the pegs were too big and too deep. I realized this immediately so backed the support posts up with glue to hopefully add stability. AS soon as the piece was assembled the plastic tabs that are pre-mounted and hold the "bolts" which fit into the round fittings that you turn after tyhe "post/bolt" is in all fell out of the wood, not one of them ALL of them. THis resulted in the whole top portion falling off. I spend another hour taking this apart and returned the next day. 01/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Newer version- not quite the same as previous one We already have 3 units by Oskar and was surprised to find this unit differed from the others. The outside and top match completely, but the inner shelves are somewhat more narrow. When filled, you cannot tell the difference. This is better than another brand we tried because you do not see the sides of the cases and the top is wide enough to place things on. It is still the most stable unit on the market and so it is one I would recommend without hesitation. 07/04/2015
  • 2015-10-08T09:54:36.517-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_158, tr_158
  • loc_en_US, sid_17325938, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 146 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.