Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 11 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by We bougth this product for our 13 months baby, she is all over the place and with these gates we have a peace of mind that she will not go to the stairs or other parts of the house were we dont want her to go. We bought 4 of these gates and they are well worth the money spend 42.00 each. Yes, there are many more gates for less money but when it comes to the security of your little one you should spend the money to keep them safe, we looked at many other models but this one was the one we tought was the winner it has a good hight, it expands for wider areas, it is made of metal, it swings completly open eather way (it comes with an optional attachtment in case you want it to swing to one side) living your hallway wide open and with out the bottom metal part like others that you can trip with it this one does not have that metal on the bottom, We mounted 2 of them in the doorway on wood and the other 2 on drywall with DRYWALL HOOKS and they work just fine. The lock is on the top and it opens with one hand very easy for an adult with tumb presuer. and imposible for little ones to open, the lock clicks when it closes so you know it is locked. The installation was average not to hard, just have to measure the right lenght for the wall hooks on each side. Overall yes I would recomend and buy this item as a gift for any one that has little ones in they homes. 01/30/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Be Careful of your width needed We have an opeing 42" wide that we wanted a gate to keep the new puppy off the carpet and keep kids away from puppies and didn't want the bar across the floor for kids to trip on. The gate is very attractive and works well. mounted easaly, worked well. But it only lasted a week. We stretched it to the max. The adjustments allow incraments only as wide as the vertical bars nothing in between. There is a bracket that fits between the bars to hold the gate in a certin leagth. If we adjusted it out to far it would not fit the area. If you adjusted it shorter you have to exted the screws in the mounting so far out that it causes it to be weak. The welding holding the bolt onto the gate were the ajustment screws turn in is a real cheep setup. We would have been fine if the entry was 40 inches wide. Would allowed for the ajustment screws to be more secure. But still think it would not take much, such as a child climing on it or a large dog jumping on it to weaken the weld. 06/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok for the price The bronze color and style look very nice. No bar at the bottom to step over, that's important. The lock lever is ok, not the smoothest action but for $42 it's an inexpensive gate. Be aware that if installing into drywall don't even try the screws that come with it. Get self-drilling drywall anchors, #8 x 1.5". My only problem is that the screw that comes with the anchor has a round head so I can't slip the hinge housing over it so it will lift off the hinge. I'm sure I can fix this, but it's a problem that I didn't expect and don't need. I don't know if I'd buy this again. I might just spray paint another type of gate bronze so it matches my decor. 05/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy to use but easy to break I love how this gate works and can swing either way if you don't put the swing blocks in place. It's an attractive design and fast to open. Unfortunately my twin 19 month old boys have ripped this gate off the wall twice now by standing on it! I am going to put a piece of wood on the wall under the wall mounts to give it some stability and see what happens, but with wall anchors I would expect this product to stay IN the wall by itself! 03/08/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed with the latch i ordered this gate online and was excited about the product. We installed the gate at the top of our stairs to protect my 17 month old daughter. After drilling 8 screws into our hallway wall, we were disappointed to find out that the latch is not the greatest and difficult to open and close while carrying my daughter. We are going to live with it for now until we can find something else. Very disappointed :( 10/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I was looking specifically for a top of stair baby gate. This has been perfect, it looks great and is very secure. 10/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for bottom of the stairs We bought this gate to put at the bottom of our staircase to keep our 1 year old twins and 3 year old from trying to go up. I am very pleased with this product. Installation was pretty easy for me, and the gate looks nice in our foyer. My only complaint is that we installed the hinge sides on drywall and used drywall anchors, which did not work well the first time because our oldest son would shake and jiggle the whole gate and loosened the bottom hinge, causing it to come detached from the wall. This is no fault Of the product itself, just a very rough kid tormenting the gate, and we are attempting to figure out more creative ways to keep it attached. (We attached the latch sides to the wood banister on the stairs.) we will be purchasing a second gate for the top of the stairs as well, and I recommend this for people looking for a nice, relatively inexpensive gate to get the job done of keeping kids (or pets) safe and away from areas they shouldn't be in. 10/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent for the price! I used this gate at the top of the stairs from my deck down to the yard. It works great for keeping my puppy and any small children visiting contained on the deck. At first I didn't think it would stretch the full 48" with the recommended overlap but once the screws at the ends were adjusted it worked perfectly. My only wish is that the latch were a little more sturdy. It seems like after some use the gate may no longer hold if being pulled towards you, although it will continue to keep from being pushed out over the stairs. 09/26/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by great gate if your opening is the right width I love the swing and lock feature on this gate. Only problem I have is my opening where I have the gate installed isn't the right width so the bars do not line up on the gate to put the top and bottom clamp pieces on that hold it together. so my gate falls apart alot and i have to unscrew bottom 2 tabs to get the 2 pieces of the gate back together. 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like that it is wider that most gates and it doesn't have a bar across the bottom to trip over. Installation is fairly simple it it can be removed temporarily without taking the hinges off. My only issue was the distance between the hinges didn't match the banister I put it on (too much gap at the bottom) not the products fault though, and I was able to make it work. 05/22/2012
1-11 of 11 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw308
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp