Rated 4 out of 5 by 68 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really cool We love cotton candy in our house--I had no idea it'd really be this easy to make it. The only tough part is not eating it all :) I've mainly been making the cotton candy with the cotton candy sugar that comes in the separate kit, just because I prefer the traditional taste. However, it was cool watching the hard candies become cotton candy--I would just recommend that you let the spinner preheat a little longer for the hard candies--it makes the cotton candy come out better. The appliance is really easy to use, and clean up is not that bad--it's a little too large to store on a countertop, so I keep in the closet, but it only takes me about a minute to set up the unit #the first time took me about 3 mins). 10/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great find for the family. I bought my retro machine to make cotton candy at my wedding. One of the reasons this one is so much more awesome than other machines is the fact that you can use hard candy in it. It's best not to use sticky hard candy (like jolly ranchers) and stick with the truly hard stuff (like butterscotch). I really like that you can also use the sugar free hard candy as well that way diabetics and the dieters at the wedding were able to enjoy it as well. I do recommend that if you're hardcore about cotton candy and want the authentic taste, go ahead and buy some flossine (you can find it on auction sites for cheaper for small quantities). I got 10 different flavors for ~10 bucks and they make 120 servings each. Use this and regular granulated sugar to mix up the same stuff the pro's use. The "flossugar" that you can buy has starch in it which can clog up the machine so it's best to make your own. Overall, I'd definitely buy again! 11/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product does work. It actually makes cotton candy that tastes like at the carnival. You have to let it heat up, very important, takes about 5 mins, and at first it seems like it is not going to work, the cotton candy is just flying out, but once it gets going and you get it wrapped once or twice around stick, it is so fun, just keep adding sugar and it will make enough. We got it last year, and now this year, my kids just want more sugar! 12/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very cute cotton candy maker, truly looks old-fashioned and is sturdy. Does make cotton candy well, but at a slower rate than I expected primarily because the space to put the candy/flossing sugar is small and needs to be refilled often. It does heat up quickly and is really easy to clean. Kids loved it! p.s. rating durability as good, because I have only used it twice so don't have a good read on it's durability. 10/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun Cotton Candy Maker This cotton candy is very compact and can quickly make cotton candy. We all had fun using/playing with it. You can easily make cotton candy in just a few steps. First preheat the machine for a few minutes to warm it up; second pick out the hard candy or sugar candy that you would like to use; third put the candy in the machine. Finally wait for a little bit and you are ready to put them in the paper cones. And you can eat what you have created! I like how you have the option to put various hard candies flavors in the machine! There are tons of possibilities… still have to decide which one is my favorite. The downside is that you may have to continually put more hard candy; I couldn’t create a full size cotton candy ball with just two hard candies. But I guess that was expected since this machine is small. Also, please note that the cotton candy maker does not come with the candy kit (which is a nice addition). You will need to buy it separately. 01/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cotton candy maker! I read some reviews about this machine, most were good. it's true that you don't get muchcotton candy when you use hard candy and sticky candy isn't the best to use, cotton candy texture is not soft and fluffy, more like stiff when you use jolly ranchers. we bought this machine to use for my daughter's 2nd b- day. again, hard candy isn't the best choice if you want a lot of cotton candy like at theme parks. we bought floss sugar, regular cotton candy sugar and omg! talk about big fluffy and exactly what I was going for. it works great! read instructions, very important because it tells you exactly how long to leave the machine running. for hard candy run 5min for it to heat up. for floss sugar let it heat up for 10min. The floss sugar we bought was the same brand and it came with extra plastic cones and bags to make multiple at a time, keeps them fresh. When we do her party it's best to make the cotton candy in advance then bag then. if any one wants seconds, then we'll be pulling out the machine. one more thing... watch YouTube videos on how to properly catch the floss sugar for cotton candy. have fun! 12/09/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Deceiving This machine has the looks and price but like the saying goes "You get what you pay for." I wanted to make cotton candy for my son and daughters birthday party. I had about 20 children and thought i could make some for the adults. OMG I would have had to start making cotton candy like two weeks before because it takes for ever to make a big roll of cotton candy like you would at a carnival or circus. And the hard candy works but when you eat it it gets all hard in your month. I used jolly ranchers and the hard life savers. waste of money but the kinds had extra candy in there take out party favor box. Dont buy this. Save your money and splurge on the bigger machines . However, if you want to buy this just to have a sample then okay but dont expect to have a big thing of cotton candy in a few minutes bc it will take a while. set up is easy and so is clean up. i just soak in it hot soapy water. 11/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome....Got this for kids b-day party. Loved it used hard candy and took a few times to get the hang of it but it made enough for the 16 kids at the party. Super hit..Neighbor is even thinking about getting one now. I watched a youtube video on how to make the candy with the machine first and that helped a bunch I think. Totally worth it!!! 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome for party This was a BIG hit at my sons' birthday party. It was cheaper than renting one and will be able to be used at future fun gatherings. 02/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun for the kids! My son has one of these and loves it!! His friends love it too--so we bought another one as a Christmas present! 12/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have just purchased this item... makes great tasting cotton candy... it will take a little pratice making them... but will still be fun... 05/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by small results the results are small but you can add more candy to get a bigger ball. my grand daughter just loves it. the fact that floss sugar is hard to find around here and that you can use the hard candies is a great plus. although the floss can be ordered online, the kids just don't want to wait for it. when the kids have movie night they have the popcorn maker, the cotton candy maker, and the snow cone maker, all they need now is the hotdog maker and their theater is complete, no need for the high price of going out. 03/27/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I could only make one decent sized cotton candy cone at a time. After that the heating element would clog up and I was unable to use it until after it was cleaned. The heating element becomes very hot, so you can't remove it for cleaning for some time. It was also difficult to remove. I am packing this up for return today. IF you buy this, though I would not, regular table sugar works the best. We tried the floss and various hard candies; the regular sugar made the most authentic looking and tasting cotton candy. 04/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for small events I purchased this for a sleepover sweet 16 party and it was a hit! It was the one thing that everyone couldnt wait for their turn. Being able to use hard candy made it even better; the girls had a blast mixing flavors. Reminder...please allow 5 min for it to completely warm up. 03/06/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by its ok.. it takes a while to make a cone. the kids are enjoying it, but, kind of like the easy bake oven. the thought is cute, but in reality, fair. the plastic shield rattle a lot you have to kind of hold it in place. The kids try to hold the plastic tube and rotate it around the inside, but when it touches the medal the candy kind of melts. it's better to work from the top, and grab the candy web and roll from above the maker. 12/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this for when my grandkid's come to visit. This works great and is so fun, tried several kinds of hard candy and broken up candy canes and all of them worked. First time it sounds like machine is broken, but after the 1st 10 minutes of warming it up, it worked great and the noise level died down. 12/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great cotton candy machine nice quailty product, Big hit with the kids at my daughter first birthday party. 11/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it! We used this for my sons' birthday party. It was a hit! We didn't like the way the hard candies worked, but with the candy floss sugar it worked really well. It is important to let it heat up enough. 08/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it! My entire family enjoys this product, very easy to use and makes wonderful cotton candy. We like that you can use any hard candy, including sugar free cotton candy. Also cleans very easily. Good price for the product! 02/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This unit did not product the candy like it should have. Very little producted and misleading from the descriptions provided. 05/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by junk junk junk junk junk junk fell apart after a few days 09/25/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by it takes for ever to get one cotton candy complete The packaging and look is nice, but if you want to feed more than one person, get a bigger one. THis more for a kid. It takes several pours to get a good amount of what you are used to seeing at the carnival and it can takes as long as an hour for that much. great for 5 years olds , teenagers would be mad, adults would be like me, I took it back!!! 09/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My daughter loves it. My daughter loves this cotton candy maker. It is working well. You can use regular sugar, she did get food colors and is mixing it with regular sugar. It come with two reusable plastic cones, but you can make your own cones. Our friends came over and they all loved it, one of our friends said that she wanted to buy one. I recommend this for any age group. 11/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a novice. I purchased this item for grandson birthday party. It was a hit with kids. We brought a varitey of hard candies so the kids could choose there favorite candy. It was easy to clean up when the party ended. It was a great value. 03/22/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought this for my son's birthday party and it was a hit with the kids (and adults!). Very easy to use and clean up is a breeze. 03/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent cotton candy maker for the home This is an excellent cotton candy maker for the home, meaning, if you only want to make a little bit at a time. Kids will love learning, and making their own cotton candy from something as simple as dum dum suckers. We found that 2 dum dums was just the right amount of hard candy to use to make a small serving, that could be shared between 2 or more people. And you're gonna want to try several flavors, so you want a small serving! This unit came with two plastic cones that really work well. We made our own cones out of card stock, but were not near as happy with them as the washable plastic cones that came with the machine. Know that it does take some time to make the cotton candy, you will not be able to make a bunch in a hurry. I'd estimate it took approximately 15 minutes to make a single serving. (Including the initial warm up time of 5 minutes). About the only negatives I have to say for this unit is the upper plastic 'bowl' covers are flimsy, and I wasn't able to get the lower section to mount properly, although this did not hamper functionality of the unit in any way, just made more mess than I wanted to clean up, which brings me to the other negative, it makes a mess! I knew it would, it did, and for the second round we took it outside (definitely the way to go). It floats bits of spun sugar into the air as it is spinning the sugar (no way around that as far as I can tell), and if you make a lot of candy, the sugar spills out the bottom getting on the unit and the area it is sitting on (again, probably due to the lower bowl not fitting properly). However, hot soapy water cleans it all up in a jiffy. I highly recommend this product to any home with children. 02/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Cotton Candy Maker I have showed my grand kids how to make cotton candy using this machine and they loved it. I have purchased two type of hard candy to make the cotton candy. Jolly Rancher are harder to work with, and does not retain its soft form on the stick. The second candy I bought was the Life saver, it works better and it is easiler to form and shape. My grand kids perfer the Life Saver over Jolly Rancher candy,because how it can be form and easy too make. It makes more cotton candy and melts faster. Beware! As the candy melts and you start too form the cotton candy on the stick, not all the thin web melting candy is caught on the stick. Most of the fine web will fly into the air. If stand too one side you can see just how much fly everywhere. I recommend too use the machine in a open area and be ready to have fun as its forming on the stick. The tray must be clean ofen so the candy will not stick as you make the cotton candy. I took a deep plastic square topperware and filled halfway with hot water. I use it too clean the candy off the round tray as recommended. It help speed the process of cleaning the tray when needed. The kids hates to wait, and the machine just continues to making cotton candy as long as the tray is kept clean. Follow the direction on the manual for safety. The heated area where the candy melts does get hot. Never let the kids reach for the cotton candy. Last but not less, after cleaning the tray and you return to make a new batch, you will still have excess candy forming during warm ups. After the first use and the Element has been used. It takes 2 mins from the time you start the machine before the cotton candy will start releasing the web of candy. HAVE FUN! ENJOY! 01/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Fun Product!!! Got this for a shared family Christmas gift for our kids. From teen to 6 years old. They have had so much fun with this and its ease of use too, they have used it each day so far since they got it on Christmas. There is some cleaning up after to keep the stickiness down after multiple uses, but nothing warm water and mild soap won't wash off. My daughter says she loooves it (she is 6) and my teens with their friends had a good time trying different flavors and making it themselves. Mostly I got this because 2 of my 3 kids have red dye allergies and we usually can not get cotton candy at fairs and things, usually its pink or blue made on the same machine as pink, so now we can make our own, red dye-free. I would recommend this product, super easy to use and fun trying different flavors. We have used plain sugar, flavored sugar and hard candies. All work and taste great! 12/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for a quick taste of a favorite "fair fare" This was purchased as a gift for me. I had bought another one from the same company for my granddaughter. My daughter had one when she was little and it was very, very hard to clean! This one looks good, makes great cotton candy, and, perhaps most important, comes apart for easy cleaning. My only complaint is that the top ring (the clear one) doesn't snap on to the bottom one tightly and it vibrates and that makes it a good bit louder than the other one. Making cotton candy from hard candy is a plus, but I quickly found out that if you use only hard candy the cotton candy dissolves "crunchier" than if you mix the hard candy with sugar. I usually use half a candy cane broke up in small pieces and almost a tablespoon of sugar. That gives it the flavor and color and makes a softer cotton candy. It is vey easy to clean. The part that actually melts the candy/sugar comes off and can be cleaned by letting it soak in hot water for a bit. Would I recommend it.... absolutely! 12/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased this cotton candy machine for my granddaughter's 1st birthday, Boy it was one of the kids favorites. in order to keep up with the demand we had to use a little more sugar then was suggested and the machine actually worked better i also bought the hotdog cooker . i really only had the children in mind when i purchasd these items but the grownups lined up for the hotdogs more than the children. I was ask about these products and when i told ppl the price and where i purchased them from they were very surprised THUMBS UP!!! 11/30/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T08:45:06.375-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_68, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_17242564, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 59 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw266
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp