Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 974 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME, EASY, OUTSTANDING Im a new student tailor, but an older furniture upholstering technician. I have used industrialized machines, european, asian, american. For the projects that I have been doing with furniture upholstering and now tailor I am happy to recommed with flying colors the BROTHER Surger. This machine's overall quality deserves 5 stars across the board. I gave it 4 stars on the durability aspect due in part for only minor physical strengths. They are the thread tower - Very Flimsy, and the pullout free arm converter. Very plastic, very flimsy. Otherwise I can't say enought AWESOME points on the overall machine. Very stable, at high speeds, EASY, EASY, EASY threading. Worked out of the box and purposely took ot the treads from the guids to rethread, and you can't go wrong. First time rethreading and it worked as expected. Comes with CD's (2) of them. One is about the machine and the other about the versatility of stiching types. This machine can replace a reqular sewing machine for most home projects. Cord is long enough so that it does not need an extension cord. Cutting blades, are very sharp, stiching type such as rolled hems are easily done on the fly without having to switch out throat plates, or accessory foot. Uses regular home sewing machine needles. Comes with multiple extra feet, is able to stich about 22 different kind of variable stiches including flat lock. Again just because a machine is produced in another country and sold for more does not mean that it is any better. If you are into starting and completing your projects with minimal technical machine trouble purchase this machine. I have now had this machine for about 3 months, and have sewn on it without any troubles for about 350 hours total usage time. Not a click, not a misalignment, not any type of trouble. TIP: Purchase the best thread and it won't snap your line. Most of the time its not the machine it is the quality of the thread. Okay happy sewing I hope this review helped...! 09/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent machine and a perfect price I wanted a serger mostly to sew stretch and thin fabrics like jersey blouses, lingerie and also to help me hem sheer lightweight fabrics for scarves. I have had this machine for 3 weeks. This serger is hassle free when it comes to tension. Very easy to adjust tension and basically all I had to do was play with the differential feed. These are the things I have made since I got it: 1)A pair of denim pants - I used 4 thread overlock stitch to finish al the inside seams. 2)A thin jersey nightgown – all sewn with 3 thread overlock stitch and hemmed with rolled hem making a lettuce edge. 3)I hemmed a sheer lightweight scarf using the rolled hem. Perfect!! 4)A serger scrap bag – I finished the inside seams with 3 thread overlock stitch and I used 2 variegated threads in the upper looper to sew the scrap bag pockets together. 5)A sewing basket liner - I used the rolled hem on cotton to hem the ruffles of the liner and I also finished all the inside seams with a 3 thread. This Serger goes from denim to lightweight fabric with no problem at all. It comes with 2 Cds with videos to watch on the computer. One Cd is instructional, on how to use the serger. The other one has special techniques. Both are very helpful. It also has a booklet with all the settings for the special techniques. I do suggest getting a few books from your local library or buying a few. It can be of a great help if you can’t take classes. This Serger also comes with an extra pressure foot but I have used mostly the blindhem one with the guide. I did test the gathering foot and it helps when sewing 2 fabrics together or to insert ribbon on the edge. Most people complain about the threading process with sergers in general. Threading a serger is and will always be a more complex process than threading a sewing machine. But I learned quickly to thread this one. The lower looper has kind of a hook (I guess it is what they call threader) and it helps to thread it. I got dental floss to help me get the thread in the holes and it is a piece of cake now. The learning curve is just a bit longer than learning how to use a sewing machine. Threading this machine is hassle free. I like that the foot controller (pedal). It allows me to go slowly or fast. This can be very helpful when sewing slippery fabrics, curves or corners. It is very easy to remove the stitch finger to make the rolled hem and easy to put it back. You don’t even need to re-thread the machine. This machine comes with a trim trap but I didn’t like it because it has to be removed to open the door. The trim trap gets on the door way and it is also small. That’s why I made a scrap bag with pockets so I can also store the accessories I need to operate the machine. The knobs to adjust the stitch length and width are a bit hard and uncomfortable to turn, mainly if you just want to tweak it. I would have preferred it they were dials instead. But no big deal here. The light is fine. This serger has suction cups on the bottom so the machine doesn’t move on the table. It is pretty steady and it doesn’t vibrate much. I like that it is lightweight and that it has a handle to carry it. I also like that it came with a plastic cover. I didn’t rate durability because I have had it for a short time but overall it is a wonderful machine for an excellent price. It sews all kind of fabrics with no tension problems. I am very happy with it! 04/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow!! What a great serger! This is my first serger to ever use. I have a very basic Brother sewing machine that has been wonderful so I decided to stick with Brother products. After seeing all of the wonderful reviews here on this product, I jumped in. It sat in the box for about a week since I didn't really have a place to put it (and honestly I was a bit intimidated). I finally got it out and began playing with basic serging and the gathering foot using the thread that came preloaded. I played so much that one of the spools actually ran out!! So I HAD to learn to thread it. After watching the included CDs and looking over the manual, I did it! I've had it for about 2 weeks now and have rethreaded 4 or 5 times (to change colors) and can now do it without looking at the manual! I love the gathering foot and capabilities as it saves me SOOO much time when sewing clothing for my daughter. The rolled edge hem is also a quick and beautiful way to finish edges of ruffles! I am so happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone! I've included a pic of a ruffle on jeans that was finished on the bottom with a rolled edge hem and gathered with my serger. 12/01/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Three Years and Still Love It I love reading reviews, however, so many times people who write them have just recently purchased, and while it helps to know that people love a product out of the box, I also like hearing how the product holds up over time and use. I have owned this serger for three years now and I still love it!! I have used it to make cotton scrubs, fleece tops and pajama bottoms, flannel pajama bottoms, linen tops and capri pants, and lighter-weight denim capris, among other projects. Once you get the hang of threading it is really simple, and you can follow the pictures right on the machine. It really does give a professional look to your projects with clean seams, and is a great companion for your regular sewing machine. If something were to happen to it, I would buy the exact same model tomorrow. 03/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Value I have never written a product review before; however, after receiving and using my new Brother 1034D serger yesterday, I am compelled to write one now. This machine is a very good quality machine for an exceptional price. I have owned a "jet air" threading machine, which recently "died" after 10 years. I needed to have a serger quickly to finish a project and really did not want to pay over $1000 for a new machine. After researching several websites with consumer feedback, and reviewing videos of this machine, I decided I could not lose ordering this serger with quick shipping from WalMart, where I still paid less than any other advertised price where this machine is sold. The machine is not difficult to thread, sews beautifully, and the CDs and booklets are extremely detailed and helpful. If I may add for folks new to serging, one of the best books around is a Rodale publication "Serger Secrets-High Fashion Techniques for Creating Great-Looking Clothes." It is a 1998 publication still in print and extremely relevant regarding this particular machine. 02/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine and worth the money!!! So you are like many others; doing your research and reading these rewiews to decide whether to purchase this serger. Well I am the owner of Devious Designs & Amped Fitness in Columbus, Ohio. Recently I made the choice to update a number of our older sergers. Like you, I did my research and came across this Bother Over Lock unit. I ended up purchasing one from Walmart for $190. We got it right on time and kudos to Walmart for there excellent processing and shipping. The unit is set up and ready to use right out of the box. And for those who may fear threading a serger, this unit is a snap to thread! It is the easiest one I we have ever threaded. Brother made it idiot proof with color coding and step/numbering inside the door. Plus there is a informative dvd and instruction manual. I'm also very impressed by the unit's power to zip through multiple layers of denim and other tough fabrics! This unit is compaable to our industrial grade machines. In fact, we have been so impressed that we four more and they are being used daily for 8 to 10 hrs a day with no problems! The only only down fall I see is that if this is your first serger, matching fabric, needle, and thread tension may be a bit tricky to get just right. But there is a chart on the owner's manual to help you. Overall this machine is very durable, multi-functional, and very attractively priced. In no time you'll be sewing like a true professional and wondering how you ever got along without this unit! Just remember that we use it to produce swimwear, fitness wear and many other outfits you buy and wear! We loved it so much that we now own 5!!!! Happy sewing and Kudos to Brother and Walmart. 01/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Serger After reading hundreds of reviews about this machine, I knew I would be happy with it. I make washable furniture slipcovers and have to use a serger for all of the inside seams. After months of fighting with my old serger, and constantly re-threading it, I decided to buy a new one. I borrowed my neighbors Brother Serger to finish a project and really liked it. Now that I have my own... life's good again! I love the lower looper's easy threading! I would recommend this machine to anyone who wants to have worry free serging. 06/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! I'd never used a serger and expected some difficulty threading it from stories I'd heard. Not so. The serger is easy to use, and does an excellent job. I've been very pleased with the Brother serger and sewing/embroidery machines I own. 12/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCEPTIONAL VALUE AND HIGH QUALITY MACHINE! I received my new Brother Serger today. So far I have made a denim book bag, 3 contoured burp cloths and 10 cloth wipes made of flannel material. I did not have to adjust the tensions between the two different fabrics at all. After learning how to thread the machine (about 30 minutes) I can now thread it like a pro. With its color coded guide its very easy to thread. Just remember to start with the green first. Its a heavy weight machine NOT PLASTICY and cheap at all. It will do light weight fabrics as well as heavy weight fabrics all on this one machine. Learning the different stitches was fun too. I just had some scrap fabric and did a run on the different stitches and decided which one I liked the best before finishing my projects. 10/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Performs Perfectly I have sewn for over 40 years but never owned a Serger and while there are multiple Sergers to choose from I needed to find a simple to operate machine in the $300.00 range. The Brother 1034D fit my search perfectly. Part of what sold me on this model is the positive reviews I read, the price and the offer of a DVD. The machine arrived several days before I expected it (which was great), the DVD was very informative, the machine is easy to use and thread and it is working perfectly for what I need. I was so impressed I recommended it to my daughter and she also ordered one from Wal-Mart too!! If you are looking for a serger that is easy to use, one that produces nice neat seams and one that is very affordable this is an excellent choice. 01/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Serger I bought the Brother 1034D Serger from Wal Mart at their great price point and can say; it is a wonderful machine and makes a wonderful addition to my regular sewing machine. Fun to use. Don't let sergers scare you; they're great machines. 04/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brother Serger 1034D I have only had the serger a few weeks so have not really got to use it a lot. I did find the instructions on how to thread and how to use it very plain to understand. Only thing I could see that I felt was a stepdown from my old serger was this one seems to be more plastic where my old one was heavy metal. Still working my way through all of the information but so far so good. Thought the CD was very good although the loud music that went with it was a tad distracting. 08/08/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great little serger It's been a long time (probably almost 40 years) since I've used a serger. I used to work in a womens garment factory and was trained to use one. I'm thrilled to see that the machines made for home use are of such high quality and have great features. I've had a Brother sewing machine for 39 years and chose to purchase the Brother serger after reading the reviews and reflecting on the perfect operation of my Brother sewing machine. The instructions were clear and well illustrated. The DVD instructions were very helpful. A serger is not a single needle sewing machine and as such, it does take a minute to figure out what's going on if you've never used one. So a little patience is needed for new users. But once you've gotten the hang of it, you will be in love and wonder how you ever lived without one! My daughter is dying to get her hands on mine after she saw what it could do. I'm afraid she's going to have to get her own. I'm not sharing! 06/29/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value for the money This machine is easy to thread, uses Schmetz needles, and it is fast. The tension adjustments are very fine and produces a beautiful stitch. I have used many different brands and if you only want to invest in one machine this is the best value for your money. 04/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful serger I am very pleased with this serger. Sews great and wow the different things you can sew with it. I would highly reccommend this product to anyone. Got to love that Brother. 12/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with my very first serger! I am new to serging but am an experienced sewer. When I got this yesterday for an early birthday gift, I was intimidated by it. But, after reading the manual and oiling it (per page 57 of the manual), it was ready to go! Threading is SUPER easy if you can read...they have the steps on the machine where each thread goes by color code. It was awesome considering I heard sergers could be difficult to thread. I have been playing around with the different stitches and settings and making notes (copied the page inside back cover) so I can build a notebook of fabric, needles used, tension settings, etc. to get the stitch on my sample. It will save me time in the future! I am VERY satisfied with this machine and it is a great price! It will definitely compliment my Brother sewing machine in my sewing room. I will ONLY buy Brother if I had a choice between this and Singer! I now have the embroidery/sewing machine Brother LB 6800 and the Brother SQ9050 sewing machine and am completely happy with all three! 04/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my first serger after many years sewing. This machine is very easy to thread. In fact, it took more time to thread the machine from scratch than to untangle the thread sent with the machine. I just completed my first project with the serger and the finish is great. The machine is so quiet, I can sew while my husband and I are watching TV. I can't believe I waited so long to get a serger but the consolation is that I got such a great machine. 03/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Totally Awesome This is the first serger I have owned, But I have used sergers in the past. I love this machine. The price is great, the accessories, the CD that tells you what you machine can or can't do, the lint trap the booklet that gives specifics. I researched this item and others for a while, then I purchased it. I made two skirts since I got this serger. I recommend this to any one. 03/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and easy to operate! Two Thumbs Up! My husband and I own five sewing machines and an embroidery machine but have never owned a serger. We were concerned about them being hard to thread and operate. We read the reviews on the sergers in our price range and were pleased to read how much people liked this model. Youtube has several videos showing how this machine works and a great video on how to thread it. We decided we would take a plunge and buy this serger. We bought it Site To Store and it was here in four days. Much to our surprise it came threaded and ready sew right out of the box. They even included a sample that was sewn on this serger. The fun began when we decided to replace the spools of thread that were on it with cones of thread. We tried swaping them out one at a time and the thread broke. Lesson learned when changing thread it is best to change all four. In the sequence shown in the manual. It took a couple tries to get it threaded right but next time it will be a lot easier. The machine comes with two CD's that show how to thread and operate the serger but we liked the one on Youtube where it is explained threading step by step. This serger runs very smooth and quiet. It comes with extra feet. It does a beautiful job. We have expermented with several thicknesses and types of fabric. So far we have stuck to using all four spools and have never tried it without the knife. We think this is a great serger for home sewing and you can't beat the WalMart price. Some places are selling the same machine for $100.00 more. If you are looking for a quality serger then I highly recommend this one. 07/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a great machine. For the price, you cannot beat this serger. I've used mine almost daily for two years and it is a workhorse. I'm considering upgrading to a Babylock but my 1034 keeps working so well that it's tough to swallow a $1500 replacement. I'd highly recommend this machine. It's an exceptional value. 08/07/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised I have to admit, I'm a machine "snob." I've worked for sewing machine dealers and have heard them talk about low-end products and how bad they are. My Pfaff serger gave out and after paying nearly $140 for repair, it still didn't work. I was on a project deadline and needed a serger badly. So, I ordered this serger from Walmart and was pleasantly surprised at the quality. It is easy to thread and makes a great four thread overlock stitch. I was gathering large amounts of ruffles and was very grateful that it came with a gathering foot. My only complaint about the serger so far is that it is hard to adjust the stitch length. I have not tried the roll hem yet, but if the other stitches are any indication, it should work great. I did find that it shakes a lot at high speeds, but that's okay. I should sew slower anyway. The thread guide bar is a little flimsy and appears that it could easily break. The videos that came with the serger are very good for instruction. All in all, for the price I paid, this is a great little serger. I don't know how it will hold up in the long term, but for now, it works great. I only gave 3 stars for durability, based on what I see as potential problems. 08/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Product I am a professional seamstress and own my own business making childrens clothing and quilts. My current serger recently broke and I knew it was time for another. I was tossing between this and an singer that I quickly tested at a local fabric store and am SO GLAD I went with the Brother. The singer felt very cheap and sounded very noisy and rattly and I was worried that anything I purchased in the same price range would be that way - not so with this Brother - great product for such a low price!! It is so smooth, and sews beautifully. The rolled hem feature is great and easy to use. So many extra accessories come with this machine and I have yet to even get into them! I use my sewing machines daily and they definitely get a work-out and I can already tell that this one will last. I have had it for at least a month now and have used it daily and have absolutely no problems yet. 10/24/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for a First Serger I am not sold 100% on this serger. I think it's a great product and serges well on one hand; but I've had difficulty with the lower looper continually coming unthreaded. It's not hard to thread, but you do have to have the threads in the right order under the presser foot. I've struggled with getting it right and having the machine continue to serge without quitting and the lower looper thread coming unthreaded. As of today, I may have it working properly. This machine is a great value and well made. I would recommend it as a first serger. I'll continue using it for a month or so. If I continue to have difficulties with the lower looper, I will return the product. I will end up spending $1200 or so to get the self threading Babylock. Although, I'd prefer (for my serging needs) to have this Brother serger work. This machine comes pre-threaded (with tiny spools that don't last) and with lots of accessories, including two CDs, and a pretty good manual. I truly hope it continues to work for me. I use it almost every day since I've had it. I've serged blankets, eyeglass cases, potholders, coasters and a wine bottle bag. 08/16/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great For The Average Project I bought this for my wife and she is providing the input for the review. She is thrilled by the ease of threading the machine, tension adjustments, and overall use. She said that one of these days, she will actually look at the CD's provided to see what else the machine can do. She immediately sewed a nightgown and then proceeded to make curtains and pillows in the first 2 weeks she had the machine. She loves the fact that the machine uses standard sewing needles and regular spools of thread. In addition, the trimming tray (that captures all of the cuttings) is a very nice feature. She does recommend using a scrap piece of material to ensure thread tension(s) are correct before actually sewing a project. She did confirm that setting the tension a little tighter on the left needle does indeed sew a nice gather stitch as stated in the users manual. Overall she is very pleased with the price and performance of this machine. 12/07/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Cheaply Made I was very disappointed in this serger and returned it promptly after trying it. It is very cheaply made of low-grade plastic. The important controls are out of sight on the left side of the machine--very inconvenient. And when you adjust them, it feels as though the knob/lever is insubstantial and may come off in your hand. I know others think otherwise, because there have been many good reviews. WalMart makes it easy to try and decide for yourself. 07/18/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Motor Locked Up! I was so excited to get started serging and became completely heartbroken after spending 20 minutes learning how to thread the serger only to find it wouldn't work. The motor was jammed! The needles would not move at all. How this got by the factory is beyond me. The box was in good shape when delivered, so something had to have happened to the machine before it left the factory. Because of all the great reviews this machine has gotten from various sources, I'm going to exchange it for another one and try again. Keeping my fingers crossed! 07/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for beginner or advanced user This Brother 1034D 3-4 thread overlock machine surpasses my expectations!!! There's no reason to pay hundreds of dollars more for those other big name machines when this one "does it all" It's easy to use and most of all easy to thread! It has all the needed features-especially differential feed, that I need--even flatlocking. I can blind stitch, pin tuck, narrow rolled hem and decorative stitch with this machine. I'm in heaven!!! Great machine. Thanks Brother! Thanks WalMart!! 09/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Workhorse Machine I bought this serger when I had little sewing experience and didn't want to spend a lot. I've made literally hundreds of garments with all types of fabric with this machine and it has never given me a bit of trouble. I've had it now for a few years and the only thing I've done is replace a needle occasionally. It is easy to thread and easy to use. It is a great buy for the money. 05/25/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value for the Price Once I figured out how to thread it, it was great to use. It was my fault that it was threaded wrong because it comes with great instructions and is even color coded. It also uses regular size thread. You don't have to buy the large spools. 10/14/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Something to note Love the brother's threading ease. It does not handle anything thicker than the #30 thread, so if you want to edge blankets and such decoratively don't get this machine. It will not handle the thick #10 or embroidery floss. This was the reason that I bought the machine and was disappointed to learn that after purchase. Other than that it is easy to use and seems fairly durable and user friendly. It looks nice and does a nice job trimming-almost too nice. It makes it difficult to chain off or double back unless you really know what you are doing. There is no medium speed at start up. To get the machine to start sewing at all it is full throttle, and then it lets you back off your speed. This makes intricate work every difficult to do as well as cornering and indentations in the pattern. Thread will miss the fabric entirely. Not the best machine to learn serging on. But veterans will do just fine. 01/09/2008
  • 2016-03-24 T07:15:06.061-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_974, tr_974
  • loc_en_US, sid_1723621, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 872 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew509
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp