See All Reviews
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 48 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun and unique I bought the Vintage Violet at my local store, it took a few uses to get the hang of it. If you are in a hurry you dont want to use this product, you have to let the base coat dry completely dry before attempting to put the crackle coat on. You also want to apply the crackle coat lightly on the base coat to get the exact look on the bottle it gets blotchy if you try to do a heavy coat. 01/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Manis @ home made easy i always paint my nails at home then smudge or ruin them before they dry so the crackle is a god send! i just paint them let them dry for about an hour then use the crackle it covers my little mistakes & makes my nails look great! Use a THIN coat for the crackle look like the top of the bottle has & a THICK coat gives you an almost paint splatter look. i tried it out on my toes first just to get the hang of it. Im ordering more colors for spring LOVE IT!!!! 03/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looks amazing In the picture attached I applied Sally Hansen Crackle Ink over a white base polish from another brand. The Crackle dries pretty fast and looks amazing. I would recommend this product. I want to try the blue, pink, and white next. The great thing about this polish is that it cover cracks well formed in the base polish. It gives your nails that edgy look. Experiment with solid base colors or for an extra-look an opaque dark glitter base polish. 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this nail polish! I was a little hesitant to use this type of nail polish. I usually stay away from the fancy design overcoats because they're difficult to use or require too many steps. But this one works great! I polished my nails with a bright mango color (also one of Sally Hansen's) then applied the Crackle Overcoat. It came out perfect. People thought I got my nails done at the salon and were shocked when I said I did them myself. It also last a long time and makes my nails feel stronger. Can't wait to try the other colors! 10/25/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cool look I have mixed feelings about this overcoat. I bought the ink splatter and I put it over hot pink nailpolish and it looked okay. I like to use it on my toes because it helps cover up my mistakes. When you're going to use this, plan to spend alot of time because it takes a while to dry. I don't like it too much on my fingernails because it just looks like too much is going on, I think it's more for teens. 05/09/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Batch 2130 White -BAD!!!!!! The white from batch 2130 of crackle overcoat is bad batch. Otherwise the other ones are great. As an artist I use them over my paintings to give them that new age look. 08/05/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Works good a few times, then goes downhill…. I bought this crackle in ink splatter. I loved it! It went on smooth and each nail crackled differently. But after a few uses, the polish got really thick and lumpy. No matter how much I shook or stirred it, it stayed this way. I decided to try a different color. I got the red, which I see isn't pictured above now. It was nice over black or silver polish, and didn't gum up as much as the black. The other 2 colors I tried, fractured foil, and vintage violet were just as disappointing as the black. The violet didn't even really crackle, just went on kind of watery. I have several bottles of OPI shatter, and the SH crackle doesn't even compare. Hope to see some improvements with this line, I did really like it at first. 01/11/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat It was so pretty when I put it on. By the end of the night, it had already started peeling off. I was very disappointed. 11/14/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought it for my grandaughter and had it shipped to her in Arkansas. She loves it - could not get it out of the package fast enough - was going to wear it the first day of school. She wants the other colors now! 08/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice I was first introduced to this product by a friend about a year ago when she did my nails and used Fuschia Shock. I was really curious about the effect and later borrowed Fractured Foil, which I later bought for myself. While it sometimes gets thick and clumpy, which makes it less effective, a really good shake fixes that. I use it almost every time I paint my nails and get a lot of compliments. Just today I bought Snow Blast to change it up, and found that it crackles in a different way than the Fractured Foil ever has, which was a great surprise. This is a very unique product and this brand is the best I have seen of it. 08/13/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This product is both great and stylish, yet lacking horribly For my birthday i got the fractured foil, and to be honest, I was in love! I used it on all the colors I had (that worked) and it was just so convient and was a little different than the usual one color. Since i was so in love, i bought the Wave Break (because i love blues) and i've been horribly disappointed! The color doesn't "crackle at all" it just stays clear, and wipes away all of my color underneath! I've tried different amounts to see if it crackles, but it just doesn't work. So, i'm torn, which is why i am basically neutral on my ratings. 08/12/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice effect I just bought and used Star Burst which is black; tried it over purple but think I will try it over a lighter or brighter color next. Overall I iike it so far. :) 06/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love this product! I have used all colors of this crackle nail polish, and absolutely love all! It makes my polish last longer. It makes my fingers look longer. I hope it never is discontinued! 04/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than OPI's version I own both Sally Hansen's Star Burst Crackle nail polish, and OPI's Red Shatter, which is supposed to do the same thing. Star Burst is great, especially if you like glittery nail polish. It certainly catches the light. The other kind does not shatter in an attractive way, it kind of gloops into clumps on your nail. I would like to try the S.H.'s Foil Crackle, it looks great. Also- I love the graphite magnetic nail polish. 04/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me I have 6 different colors and they ALL work for me. I do have some friends that it doesn't work for tho. I get compliments all the time from coworkers and guests ( I work at an Adventure Park). I would like to see a yellow color come out and maybe a green. 03/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by It didn't work! I tried the "Fushia Shock" Sally Hansen Crackle polish and I am extremely disapointed. It didn't crack at all. Honestly, nothing happened. It looks like a solid color. I am really bummed; I expect better from Sally Hansen. It seems this has happened to other people as well based on other reviews; otherwise I might have thought I'd simply purchased a defective bottle. I even tried using different stroke sizes and different amounts of layers... all to no avail. I wish I'd kept my receipt. 03/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Crackle Effect This was for my teen daughter and she loved it. She mentioned that it "crackled" really well. She used the black with a bright color underneath. 11/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sparkly Green Crackle Effect This nail polish is a nice overcoat to add a little spunk to your color. Once you put on the base color add the sparkle overcoat after the base coat dries. I applied the sparkle wet over the wet base color - and that doesn't work as well. As long as you apply it the correct way this will work great! 11/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by When you apply one coat of this over a plain nail polish, it gives a shimmery sparkly effect. Very pretty for parties, festivals, etc. They have really nice colors too. 11/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use I got the coral collide and used it with a purple/silver base color. The overcoat crackle is so easy to use. You just apply it like a top coat and the color will instantly "crack" and give you a real cool professional effect. I applied 2 top coatings to give it a more dramatic crackle effect. 10/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doesn't look as expected I bought Sage Smash and I don't like it. It does crackle but because it's so sparkled you almost can't see it. You just get a shiny nail. It does not look the way the cap shows and it's just not fair because that's how you expect it to look. I saw somebody wear a different color of Crackle Overcoat and it looked good. I think any solid color would look cool but not the sparkled ones. Very disappointed. 10/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glitter and Crackle The black crackle with glitter is not as opaque and dark black as some of the other crackle brands I've used but it goes on easily and crackles nicely. The added glitter is a nice touch I haven't seen on other brands. My daughter and I are using this for Halloween but it would look nice for everyday wear if you like the crackle style polish. The price is much better than the original crackle polishes. 10/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great crackle effect I have the Sage Smash color of this (which is a really pretty sparkly green color). It works well, but plan to practice and re-do a few nails to get the hang of how much you should apply (don't try it for the first time when you are in a hurry!). As previous reviews mentioned - if you apply too much it looks blotchy and not as nice. Anyway, I love that you can just apply it over any color you want to get a different look, and the crackle effect is something fun and different. I think next time I will be able to apply it much more quickly now that I've figured it out. 10/26/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Interesting Look It took two tries to get the desired effect of this nail polish. I first tried this nail polish over a different brand nail polish and didn't quite get the desired look. Although I did get compliments on the glittery effect, it didn't quite have the crackled effect shown on the bottle. The key to using this nail polish is to ensure that the base coat is completely dry and the overcoat is thin. It also helps to use the same brand base polish. When done correctly, it does give the crackle effect. 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cute topcoat that made my nails so pretty! I got the Coral Collide color. I painted it on top of many other base colors including Dark Purple, Pink, and Blue. All of which looked really good. It's a quick way of making your nails extra special! 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes your nails more interesting I love this overcoat mainly because it makes any manicure interesting and fun. I love that the whole look is different depending on the color on the bottom. It makes me feel like I got way more for my money, since I'm always getting tired of my nail colors. 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Crackle! Very good product. I love it so much. It gives great effect to my nails. The coating lasts for a long time. It dries up soon and doesn't get mess up. It always looks fresh and shining. Such an amazing one... I would surely recommend this crackle to all my friends. Worth in buying it... 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Product !!! If you love doing something different, this product is for you. Easy to use and does exactly what it is supposed to do. 10/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cracked Awesome product. Totally provides the look that is expected. I recommend a top coat to add some shine and protect the effect created. I have used several combinations of base and crackle colours and have been pleased with all. There is no way to mess up the look unless, of course, you smear the polish. I even tried using several different colours as a base with the black crackle...awesome effect. Love the yellow base and pink crackle for a bright fresh look. This product dries fast, has never chipped on me and lasts until new growth extends beyond my liking. I definitely recommend this product. 09/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by No crackle at all I tried the white crackle overcoat on a turquoise coat,and the "crackle" ruined my manicure because it stayed solid white! I do not recomend this product at all. Plus it lasted literally for a day and then started chipping. 09/23/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T07:35:05.930-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_48, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_17219517, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 46 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew296
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp