See All Reviews
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect. This weight set is perfect. It comes with 6 pound x 4 2.5 x 4. 2 bars and 4 screws to lock the plates in place. It doesnt come with a case but you really dont need it because its pretty portable. you can change the weight fast and easy. all the plates fit on one bar for 37 pounds or you can change it up anyway you want. all in all itss very good and i highly reccomend it 11/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product excellent price The best thing about these weights are that they are cast iron meaning they are shipping damage proof! When I first got the item the box was banged up and looked like it got the full brunt of the mail service throw around, but since its all cast iron it doesn't really matter no damage. Anyways I've had the item for a few weeks now they are small enough to store under my desk, but heavy enough to give me a solid workout. Eventually you may want to buy more weights for it, but for 30 bucks this is a great product to start with for weight lifting! 01/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Great product period. It's exactly what i expected, no surprises there. The handles have a good grip and easily fit 3 plates on each sides which means you can actually purchases extra plates as you advance. These dumbbells look old school and that makes them even better. If you're looking for something fancy you're in the wrong place, but since when dumbbells are supposed to be fancy anyway ? if you do care about that, well, i dont judge, but these babies will do the job and put some muscle (and hair) on your chest. 01/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good quality dumbbells I really like the quality of this set. The weight (40 lbs) is just right for my arms. You can remove a disk to decrease the weight. I usually exercise at home after work so these weights come in handy. I'd recommend them to anyone. Give it a try. 02/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Decent Product, with Expandibility. I was toying between buying these, or the $10 cheaper Gold's cement set. I ended up going with these, so I can expand to higher weight with more plates. They're sturdy, and reasonably well made. My weight plates aren't entirely even coated with the coating, but it's not really noticeable, just a small gripe. Decent set that appears it will last awhile. To clear any sort of confusion if you don't like math, what you'll get in the end (with all the weight plates on each) is two 20lb dumbbells. If you plan to move higher with weight, these are expandable with new weight plates you can buy at any fitness/sports shop. 02/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cost Per Pound - TMI If you are looking for a deal on low-weight plates, this is a it. Less than $1 per pound (lb) is generally a good deal per pound and a great deal for plates 10 lbs or less. This set is called a 40lb set, but it comes with 34 lbs of plates - FOUR 6lb plates and FOUR 2.5lb plates - with tax and shipping it was $32.23 - that's still less than $1 per pound. CAP also has individual plates for sale, but the lower 2.5lb plates are about $3/lb, and the 5lb plates are about $1.50/lb. The CAP 10lb/25lb plates go for a little over $1/lb to less than $1/lb, respectively. Ridged ends make the plates easy to grab too. It comes with 2 bars (4lb's each), which you may or may not need - they have screw on ends, but I didn't buy it for the bars... I use another set of bars with spring clip collars for quick plate changes. They are simple cast iron with NO chemical contaminants melted into the metal, unlike the Gold's Gym plates - so I rate this set excellent on this. I stay away from the plastic coated plates too, since they take up too much room on the bars and are hard to grab - bad design. If you are working toward a 400 pound collection of plates like me, price per pound is a big deal. I have one other small set and two of these to complete my 2.5, 5, 6, and 7.5 pound plate collections and am adding 10's and 25's at this point. TMI - I don't like to change out weights often, so my plan is to build a set for bench, legs and bars - 3 sets - so I don't have to change weights except to generally increase amounts each couple weeks (saves time and focus between sets) - I like to just "go" and not think too much about the weight while I am working out. Currently Have 123 lb's: 2.5 pound plates - 12 (30lb) 5 pound plates - 2 (10lb) 6 pound plates - 8 (48lb) 7.5 pound plates - 2 (15lb) 10 pound plates - 2 (20lb) Will be adding 310 lbs over the next 6 months to get me back where I was a few years ago: 10 pound plates - 6 (60lb) 25 pound plates - 10 (250lb) About 433 pounds total - about $433 at an average of $1 per pound... When building your own gym, you save on gas, membership, time, etc. and get convenience, less hassle - (30-40 minutes of travel to the gym and back could double the time needed for your routine - significant factor for me... what about you?) 04/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality, Great Price Very durable cast iron materials. Both the collars and the dumbbell are cast iron. The grip is a hardened rubber which is comfortable and durable. The collars hold the weights very tightly (as tight as you screw the collars on). All the weights can fit on one dumbbell with about 1/4 inch of the threads left showing on the ends. For those purists out there the weights of the pieces are as follows: One Handle: 2lbs 7oz (2.4lbs) One Collar: 4.4oz (.3lbs) 6lb Disc: 5lbs 13oz (5.8lbs) 2.5lb Disc: 2lbs 8oz (2.5lbs) All in all, it's a great product. 09/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I did not notice any noxious smell at all from this product, and I have a pretty good nose. That was my only concern. Now that it's not an issue, it's a real good value. 01/28/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Paint issues The dumbbells worked as expected. There was no problem with the spinners as some have reported. The handles are painted black. Every time I change the weights the paint flakes off of the threads as I unscrew and then re-tighten the weights. I am constantly having to clean up the mess after each workout. They will be going back to the store. I may try the similar set with the chrome handles. That should eliminate the problem. 06/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my needs. The weights are great, except that the collar comes a bit loose when you move it around a bit. Not a big deal; you ought to check the collar for tightness before you lift with any weight. That's simply a safety measure. I use these for squats, deadlifts and overhead presses with absolutely zero trouble. I do expect to progress to the point I need to add more plates, but they can be purchased individually. This is a good starter set to use in the meantime. 09/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent starter set for a good price. Got these to start a bodybuilding regimen. The screw-on caps are much more more useful than the clamps many sets come with. The only reason I didn't give these a five star rating was the fact that the weights are designed to take the bar weight into consideration. This makes it hard to get standard weight increments. For example, I wanted to start training with 10 pound weights, but the handle weighs 3 lbs, while the weights come in 2.5 and 6 lb increments. This means the only evenly distributed weights you can achieve are 8 lbs, 15lbs, and 20 lbs. If you make your weights lopsided, you can achieve 5.5 lbs, 9 lbs, 11.5 lbs, 14 lbs, and 17.5 lbs. As shown, you can't achieve 10 lbs with any combination, so if you want to start there, you're gonna have to go higher or lower. It's not a huge issue, just a little irritating for beginners. The quality is solid, the handle has a nice grip, the crews don't feel cheap or loose when tightened, even with all the weights on, there's room for more weights should you decide to get some more. At $30, it's a better deal than you'll find in any store (including walmart), and it's cheaper than any online sites I've found. 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The price of the CAP Barbell 40lbs is the lowest one on the market. The quality is one of the top levels. And Walmart ships the purchased product in a timely manner. The products arrive in a true condition as advertised, here new. Over all, there is no better product for the price on the market. 09/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing quality, perfect for home use You won't get anything better at this price. The product was delivered on time, looks and feels exactly the same I was told. The quality is also very good, ideal for home use. Dont think that its some light weight item. when mixed properly, it is a good weight for serious weight training.. 09/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Decent Dumbbell at a decent price Has spin on pieces to hold plates on which makes it fast and easy to change the number of plates. Not much else to say. It's a metal Dumbbell set for not much more than the cheap sand filled plastic ones.. 08/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great set of dumbbells Really like this set. I might have received the other 40 pound CAP set since i recieved 4-5 pound plates, 4-2.5 pound plates and two solid steel bars '('with small rubber 'O' rings')'. And i also got the case. But 40 pounds is 40 pounds, and i really have no use for a case '#'hey, if i am on vacation i will not be lifting weights'#'. There is some smell but it was from the case, not the plates/bar. Also my bars are silver color, not black. Sorry for the weird puntuation, but internet Explorer prevented me from using plain quotes for some reason. Spin-lock collars work fine. Very happy with this purchase. 08/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good set of adjustable dumbbells This is a good set of dumbbells, everything was as I expected and delivery was cheap and on time. The dumbbell handles have good grips made of some type of metal or maybe a heavy plastic. I bought these to do p90x with and also bought an extra 40 lbs. of plates. The only problem that I had with these is that it is kind of a hassle to change weights while doing fast circuit-like workouts. For anything other than p90x or similar workouts these dumbbells are great and can do the job. You also have the option of purchasing more plates if needed (fits about 5 plates on each side). But like I said, if you are planning on using these for P90X I would recommend the quick adjust ones like the powerblocks or Bowflex select techs if you can afford them. 07/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Starter Set I went to Walmart with the intentions of purchasing a less expensive set because the Walmart website stated this set wasn't available at my local store. When I arrived at Walmart the less expensive set wasn't anywhere to be found (even though the website stated it was available) and I found a full rack of this weight set near the fishing supplies. Aside from the Walmart website not being up-to-date I had a good shopping experience once I was in the store. Upon opening the box I found that all of the items were packed well and in great condition. The weights and weight bar are of high quality. I feel that this set is a great starter package and I highly recommend it. 06/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great set for beginners I walked into my local store looking for these, but couldn't find them so I settled for the Golds Gym concrete ones. BIG MISTAKE. They were broken when I opened the box at home, so on top of wasting my time and getting no use out of them, I had to bring them back to the store. For some reason, Walmart only stocks Golds Gym weights on their shelves. If you want anything else, you'll have to order online and pick it up at the online department counter. Anyways, these weights are excellent. They are made out of cast iron, so you know that if you drop them, they're not going to bust open. I'm fairly new to lifting so was looking for an adjustable set so that I can work my way up. After 2 months, I'm almost maxing out the 20 pounds which are included. Luckily, given that the plates are standard sizing, you can go purchase more plates to add on. There is plenty of room for additional plates and I don't find the screws which hold the plates in place that annoying. I highly recommend these because they are a great value. 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The CAP 40 lb Barbell Set is an exceptional value. The Walmart price is no less than 25% below comparable sets. The bar can easily accomodate 2 and possibly 4 additional plates. Simple design, well constructed, comfortable grips. You won't outgrow this set until your pushing up over 60 pounds on each bar. Oh, delivery? Very quick and you couldn't beat the price (free!). What's not to like about the whole deal. 03/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect. These weights are perfect for me. They were so affordable, I bought two for the extra weights. Nice grip and good quality overall. Highly recommended. 03/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I received exactly what I expected The two set that I ordered arrived on time and in excellent shape. I combined the sets into two 27 pound and two 13 pound dumbbells. They work real well for my P90X workouts. 08/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good value good product fits my needs to a T 07/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great buy for the money spent. 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great inexpensive set I love this set, very functional. You get maybe a little bit less than 40lbs but is OK...Can't wait to try these on my clients 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quite happy Quite happy with my purchase. They seem very sturdy and the locks spin very easily on the bars. The hand grip area seems like hard rubber and provides a good grip. Since they use standard 1" plates you can buy at any sporting goods store adding additional weight is easy. Can definitely recommend this dumbbell set. 06/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by These dumbbells are the perfect size for quick access to keep up my exercise routine, taking up very little space in my apt. Easy to used, sturdy, and convenient whether at my computer or going in and out of my room , they keep me reminded to pick up the weights and get in another set of reps. Great set for students and affordable too. 06/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 great buy love these only thing is the oil smell but everything else is great the weights wont fall off there secure love it 06/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dumbell Set for the Money!! Great set for the money. The price per weight was less than if purchased individually in the store. Anytime I can add more weights for less $'s is a plus!! The dumbells are well made and the weights stay tightly in place. The set was packaged and rreceived lightening fast!! No negatives. 05/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap, effective, simple Simple design, easy to use and change up the weights, and totally worth the price. I'm really happy with the purchase. The only downside is they smell "oily" out of the box, but this goes away pretty soon. 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dumbbell Set for the Money Excellent construction seem very durable. Bars are solid metal. Would purchase again. 04/18/2012
1-30 of 58 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew279
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp