See All Reviews
Schwinn AD2 Airdyne Bike
Schwinn AD2 Airdyne Bike
$399.00
List Price: $432.00
You Save: $33.00 (8%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 12 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by You'll love it! Read my review below. I researched exercise machines for over a month & was unhappy with what I read in regard to problems with the magnetic based bikes (almost all of them). I also was unhappy because most bikes have stationary handlebars, so you get no upper body benefits. I knew I wanted a bike, because I suffer from foot problems, & I felt I needed aerobic exercise. Because I am older, doctors were not recommending elliptical machines of any type. That eliminated almost every machine out there. By total accident I came across an article about the original Schwinn Airdyne series. They were developed in the 60's & many doctors considered them the gold standard. Anyone in any condition can use one, & the resistance level is infinite- it depends on how fast you want (or can) peddle. (No adjustments-trust me this is good.) The "stopper" was the hefty pricetag- $700 & up for choice of two models. Then I saw the Airdyne II at $399. Its superior in may ways to the original (lower in height-easier to get on & off.) Also it is MUCH quieter, using a grooved belt drive instead of a chain. Your pedaling operates a free-rolling flywheel, and that in turn runs a fan in front. The fan puts out a little breeze towards you in the forward direction & a lot in reverse pedaling. There is a large digital readout that tells you time elapsed, speed, calories burned, etc. (But not heart rate- but I didn't want that feature anyway) The seat is OK, (maybe could be padded a bit more- but I'm heavy) but if you don't like it, you can toss a towel on it, or pick up any standard bicycle seat at a cycle shop & pop it on there. My wife is under 5' & it fits her fine and I am 5'10 & very comfortable. I believe this bike could be used by anyone. There are no tension controls, you just get on & pedal at whatever speed you want. When your fitness level goes up, just pedal a little faster, or pedal for a longer time. The handle bars move back & forth & you can use them or not. I'm comfortable just pedaling hands free when I want. You can also put your feet on the footrests & pump the handlebars to spin the wheel to get an upper body workout, too. The machine is so darn flexible in use- that is what impressed me. Its very sturdy & was very easy to assemble in a few minutes. I'm cheap & thought $399 was a bit high, but after using this machine, I could not be happier. The quality is pretty good for Chinese (sigh) manufacture. Everyone says they received their product in a box poked full of holes & that was my experience. But it's packed so well in hard foam, you can see there was no danger of scratching the unit. This is a wonderful product, that does what is promised. Why they are not promoting this model instead of the other "junk" (magnetic repulsion bikes with digital "programs", iPod sound systems & other BS) in the Schwinn line is beyond me. My best advice: Buy the Schwinn Airdyne II at $399. You will be happy. 01/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent machine this schwinn exercise bike is a great workout . worth its money. very stable and built well. the only problem we have is getting use to the seat. very hard and narrow. i did put a gel seat over it but still very hard, maybe time will help. 12/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great overall excerise bike Extremely satisfied with the value and quality of this bike. It's quiet, sturdy and meets all of my expectations. I do a 30 minute workout every other day and I look forward to doing my excercise. The digital display allows me to keep a record of my progress. I would highly recommend this excerise bike for a great upper and lower body workout. 01/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I loved using my exercise bike. I hate the seat. Excellent exercise bike. My family and I have enjoyed using the exercise bike. The only complaint is the "Hard Seat". I am going to purchase me a larger overstuff seat, so I can ride longer. 03/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had it shipped to the store for pickup. The entire transaction was quick and painless. Easy assembly. Nice bike and gives a great workout. See some results in two weeks after riding about 10 minutes 4-5 days per week. 02/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Every home should have at least one. Extremely easy to assemble. The bike is sturdy, well built, fun to use, and great looking too. From the sides it looks like a Harley Lowrider to me. The best part about using this bike is that the people who designed it understood that most users would probably get bored with just trying to pedal their way to good health and quit. This machine is designed for multi tasking. Sometimes I pedal, other times I put my feet on the foot rests and just work the upper body with the gliding handlebars. Sometimes I do both. Recently, I've started working out with a pair of hand weights while seated on the bike, to add even more variety to my 15 minute sessions. Is the seat hard and uncomfortable? Yes, sometimes. Am I going to use that as an excuse for not using this bike? No. I can buy a nice plush and cushy bicycle seat if I want to, but I've learned that if I adjust the seat height so that I can sit more to the rear and adjust my posture by sitting up straight or even leaning back on the seat a bit, then I can stay on the bike comfortably for a longer period of time. When the seat becomes uncomfortable, I use that as my signal to get off the bike and maybe just continue working out with my hand weights or whatever. The trick is to keep moving for the duration of the workout routine that you have set for yourself, whether it's 5, 10, 15 or more minutes. It doesn't have to all be done on the bike, does it? One last thing, if you have preteen or older children at home, wouldn't it be nice to have a pair of these Schwinn Airdyne 2 bikes, so that you and your child can sit side by side and work toward healthier bodies together. Why not? They cost the same amount of money or less than what you're already spending on those couch potato interactive TV games. 05/16/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buyer Beware This is a very well made exercise bike with one big exception: VERY uncomfortable seat. I started on this bike for 10 minutes for 3 days in a row with no problem...Day 4, increased to 12 minutes and hurt my tailbone. That was last thursday, it is now Monday and still can't sit down without excrutiating pain, never mind get back on the bike. I am going to buy a padded seat cover and try again when I feel better, but quite frankly, am a little afraid to get back on it. It is also a little weird getting on and off of it. Before buying this bike, I read the reviews and dismissed that many complained about the uncomfortable seat thinking to myself....what bike seat IS comfortable? Trust me...This one is horrible! I could go on and on, but can't sit long enough. 04/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Exercise Machine I purchased this machine because I was tired of pounding on the treadmill. I thought just riding an exercise bike would be too easy, so when I found the Schwinn Airdyne II, with the ability to include an upper body work out, I thought it would be a good way to condense my work out efforts... I was right. After 10 minutes, I'm completely exhausted and have worked my upper and lower body and raised my cardio level. I have had the machine only a week and can tell its going to take a while to build up to a longer work out. As far as the quality of the machine goes, it has the quality construction of Schwinn products that I expected. The electronic monitor is rather rudimentary, but I tend to rely on how my body feels rather than what the machine says so that's not too important to me. The machine also doesn't have a tension/resistence control to make the work out more difficult, but instead increasing the speed makes it more difficult. For the average exerciser not training for the Ironman competition, this isn't a problem. The only other concern I had when I bought the machine was the seat comfort. Some reviews stated that it wasn't comfortable and recommended a padded seat or using a towel to cushion it. I have not found this to be a problem. yet. All in all, for the price ($399.00) I think its a great deal so far. 04/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great exercise bike for the home. I received my bike in better time than first estimated. It went together without a hitch. I have used it now for about 3 weeks and it is everything I had wanted it to be. It is smooth and quiet to ride and gives a good workout. Since I'm just starting out on my exercise program, I am only up to 20 minutes a day and I can see that as I get better and am adding more time to my workout I may decide to buy a different seat with just a little more padding. 03/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good bike execlent bike one major promblem is the seat,i bought it for a 84 yr old man and he couldnt ride it,had to take the seat off his old sears pro-form bike and rig it ,i couldnt find a bigger one made for this bike 03/18/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The seat is horrible. It hurts to ride longer than ten minutes. They do not make another seat for this bike. Will. Be returning this item. 03/18/2012
1-12 of 12 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew368
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp