See All Reviews
Gold's Gym XRS 30 System
Gold's Gym XRS 30 System
$210.73
List Price: $299.00
You Save: $88.27 (30%)
Wal-Mart Exclusive
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 60 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bowflex my eye First off value for money, you simply can't beat it. If you happen to be an "every man" like me and just want to improve yourself, not spend half a years wage, and have a well built quality machine this is it. Extremly easy to assemble. If you have any mechanical ability at all and a basic set of metric wrenches your set. All of the fasteners are bubble wrapped and numbered for assembly. The directions are easy to follow and understand. Also every step of assembly has a parts breakdown, if you really need one. I did not have to modify, buy extra hardware, or find an extra person to help put it together. Unpacking included it took less than three hours to complete assembly. As a added plus it dosn't take up much floor space. BUT it dosn't come with the $30 preacher pad, and the included excersise chart is really too small to see unless you happen to be blessed with binocular vision. That being said walmart sells the preacher pad and whats a little eye strain. 11/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Value, works great, In a nutshell, this gym works very well, assembly was well documented, and it meets my needs. I have three times paid for gym memberships only to rarely go. Finally decided to use my spare room as a gym. The price on this unit was the lowest I had seen, but reviews were good and assembly seemed not too long. The box was smaller than I thought, and easily fit in my Corolla trunk with about two feet sticking out. Heavy as heck..took three of us to load it in. Arriving home, we just cut open the end of the box and brought in the pieces, which was very easy, so you could go get this yourself, have them load it, and use my method. The assembly went well as we laid all the pieces out and followed the very clear directions. I recommend you have a metric socket set, and an adjustable wrench. Only 3 sockets were needed. It comes with 2 Allen wrenches in the bolt bubble sheets. A drill with a Phillips tip is good also but not necessary. I also recommend that if you have four cats like me you lock them out of the room. Once assembled, it worked perfectly! Very smooth, nice variety of exercises. This easily replaces my trips to the gym. I also bought a slant board and a recumbent bike, so I feel that now I have in my home everything the gym offered, except the fanatical jocks who act like they own the equipment. I would also note that they made it so if you move, you can take apart just a few pieces to get the weights off. But with the weights on, it moved around my tile floor surprisingly easily. Buy this, you won't regret it. The attached photo shows the top of the completed gym, with official inspection by the head cat. 12/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This is a perfect starter or toner machine for fitness. Getting back in shape for myself. Easy to assemble. Took about 3 hours with clean up. Instructions clear. Does what it says. You can definitely feel the burn. I am really impressed with this machine. Fits in small apartment nicely. Walmart associate was very helpful. You will need to have another strong person to help unload as it weighs 190 pounds or a cart or dolly. I did it myself with a dolly. 12/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gold Gym XRS 30 PRO: Easy to assemble. Very sturdy. Good presence. Very happy with my purchase because it was a good investment for a top quality product at an affordable price for everyone. CON: The bar that goes inside the weights is not long enough and sometimes comes out of its place when I bring the weight completely up at an 180 degree angle. 12/31/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent product for good price. Compared to other $400-500 gyms this is an excellent value. Have used it for two weeks. It does take a few hours to put together, so have a friend help you if you don't like putting things together. The workout is good. Only real pain is nothing outside of the weight is adjustable, so a couple things are a little too tall for my fiance (who is 5') and a little too short for me (I'm 6'1). 02/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Gym for Good Value This gym is pretty good for the price. It took me and my husband about 4hrs to put it all together. Instructions are good and the small nuts and bolts are all labeled well. The tricky part was the pulley system. We have owned for 3 weeks and it works well and will be great for averaged height individuals. I am very petite at only 4"11 and my hubby is 5"6 so for small people like us it works pretty good except that the butterfly arms are a little too high. We can still use, but we have to grab bars like a horizontal bench press. Feels pretty solid and the leg extension is good. The bottom leg extension strap is why I wanted this so I could work out my thighs and buttocks, but the single weight is to heavy for me to pull with a single ankle. So I use for arm pulls instead. We have low ceilings at only 8ft and the gym fits fine and does not make the room look full or low. This would be a great starter or average user gym. If you want something close to a professional set or Olympic set you will probably have to look at the higher-end ones. But for an average everyday user this has been great. 01/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Sturdy Inexpensive Machine*******I Love it!!! I have been looking for a home gym that would not take up space and offer me a nice workout. Well I took a chance on this machine and I am very pleased. It took me a few days to put it together as I put it together a little at a time and was relatively easy to do. All the parts were there, all the screws, nuts and bolts and cables were there..no missing parts. Once I used it, it was really great. I am feeling stronger already. Weights are pretty smooth and so far, I just used only the first level, and am getting tighter. It also is nice looking. This is a great deal if you do not want to spend 500.00 on a home gym or buy a shaky shabby model like they sell in some of the department stores. The gym does not shake when using it it is sturdy! Also plan where you want to put it because once you put it together, it is too heavy to move.. weighs around 200 lbs...I have been going to the gym for years and this really beat buying another 900.00 membership. This will last me for a long time!!! 07/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great price. Meets basic needs. Knew this wasn't the higher end home gyms and I didn't want to spend an entire paycheck on one, so this fit the bill. Does all the basic moves needed for a good home workout without having to leave and go to a gym. My weird work schedules did not permit me time to go to a gym and now I can just go to my basement and work out when I want... day or night, with no creepy stalker guys watching :) 03/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Make sure you have all your pieces.. Make sure you have all the pieces in the box when you leave the store. If you are missing a piece, Even tho it says in the box not to do this, just take it back to the store for a refund. After 3 weeks of attempting to contact this company, hold for hours, never speaking to a live rep seems to be useless. After getting disconnected from live chat 3 different times, and going through the whole story of my 2 missing pulleys from the original purchase, the rep would state that he needed to transfer me to a chat group for assistance and disconnect me. Now I finally get an email that states that they are on backorder for 2-3 weeks. If it hadn't taken 4 hours to put the thing together since nothing was labeled or numbered on the parts, I may have just taken it back. NEVER will I buy gold equipment again. At this time I still have no pulleys 02/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not purchase I've only had this gym for three days. This machine will not hold up under the pressure of using the max weight. While under tension of the max weight one of the pulleys broke and bent a piece of the frame that it was attached to. It will be packed up and taken back to walmart. 04/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE Please check all your parts on this when you take it out of the box. Larger parts are not labeled. Smaller parts are labeled but I am still missing a few. I have been on hold with customer service for 30 minutes and no one has came on the line yet. That is BAD, BAD, BAD business. What company does that? So rude!!!!!!!! I will not buy products from Gold's Gym ever again simply because of customer service. I can order the replacement parts online for $3.80, HOWEVER, they then charge over $17.00 to ship that via REGULAR mail. That's insane!!!! And no, what I'm missing is a very small part, two spacers, TWO PLASTIC SPACERS and they charge $17.00 to mail it. Wow!!! And I'm STILL on hold, and you can't order warranty replacement parts online, you MUST call the customer care line and stay on hold. Or you can press 1 and have them return your call. But if they do that as quickly as they answer calls, don't hold your breath. Bad business!!!!!! 03/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The box was pretty heavy. Make sure you've got another person to help move it around. Setup was pretty strait forward and simple. Took about 5hrs or so to assemble. The resistance is different for each position - I was thinking it would be all the same. Using the leg extension to do some upright rows requires the user to step on the base so it doesn't tip while rowing. Doing the butterfly is a bit awkward for me as it feels too far away from me (I'm 5'1"). I suspect someone taller should feel fine while using it. Also, the plastic stopper on the lower cable rubs against the two disks that stop it. It makes some gashes to the plastic stopper. I can't imagine this holding up forever, so I would recommend sticking some rubber or something round that won't cut the cable stopper. Other than that, its a pretty good machine to start out with. 01/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weight-set for a supplement to a gym! 12/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by a little difficult to put together, but well worth the effort. Great for beginners. 02/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by All around excellent buy 1 star for unbeatable price, 1 star for accurate assembly instructions and all parts included, 1 star for a very solid home gym, 1 star for a very positive workout experience. Really, this is a fantastic gym for a beginner like myself. I've been going to planet fitness for a year now, so I decided to buy this gym to see if I can keep it up at home. Yes, I can. Fact is I can do my normal 45 workout routine in about 30 minutes and I don't have to drive or run anywhere to do it. Cons and why it didn't get the 5th star: -Needs a socket set to put together... didn't seem to mention that anywhere, but try to get it together without it! -There are absolutely no instructions for the exercises -Can't find any accessories except the preacher pad Yeah, I know, minor. 01/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Starter Set Great Value For The Money! The Instructions And Packaging Were Better Than I Had Excepted. Took Me Longer Than What Other Reviews Had Stated(1.5-2.0 hrs).Quality Of Gym Is What You Pay For.My Wallet Determines That Aspect.Perfect For what I Wanted And I'm Sure I Won't Wear It Out. Nowt's Up To You. I Use It Everyday, In A Very Limited Space. 01/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good idea! This machine looked good to begin with but things went downhill once I brought it home. I followed directions very carefully and when the product is fully assembled it's a little shaky. It will wobble slightly while you're lifting and you don't get good, smooth, full strides from the pulley system. It's had a recall on it already so in the packaging is a separate piece with a note stating "hey we messed up, here's another part to add". The lower pulley cannot be used for curls as shown in picture, you get about half way through the curl and you run out of slack and the weight stack slams into the top of the machine (I'm 6' 2"), even if with the chain attached for extra length it just doesn't work. The way the butterflies are configured is stupid. First you must choose how much weight you want and then wrestle with the machine to maneuver the pins into the correct position, which is definitely not convenient. Long story short, I took the whole thing apart less than 2 weeks after I purchased it and took it up to Walmart where they were nice enough to refund the full purchase price without a box and it was in pieces. The whole deal was a pain, I live on 3rd floor of apartment building so lugging this thing up 3 flights in many pieces multiple times was frustrating, not to mention assembling then disassembling it which took a combined total of 6 hours of my life. 02/17/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great for a beginner or fabricator I have owned this piece of equipment for close to a year now and at this time I'm quite happy with it. But I had to get replacement parts and make my own brace to do so. In the first 2 months I made great strides in the amount of weight I could utilize. Then I started having problems with the angle of the metal that the wheels/pulleys are attached to. Under weight the metal is not braced properly and bends causing extreme stress on the wheels/pulleys themselves. The metal tabs the pulleys are attached to end up bending which cause the steel cable to pop off randomly under load. Eventually one of the wheels/pulleys broke as well. I contacted golds gym for replacement parts, and explained to them what was wrong with the item and what needed to be done to fix it. After one week I had yet to receive anything from them and decided since I didn't have the money for better equipment I would fix it myself. To solve the problem of the metal tabs bending, I bought 1/4" flat bar, measured & cut accordingly, bent the tabs back to where they are supposed to be, used a torch and bent the flar bar to look like a V, drilled holes in the flat bar for the bolts to fit, and reattached everything from there. I haven't had a problem since with the metal tabs bending, cables popping off, or excessive stress on the wheels/pulleys. To fix the wheel/pulley I simply used some high strength epoxy and put the pieces back together. I used 1/4" flat bar to add an L brace over the steel cable as the plastic one that comes from the factory will do absolutely nothing to stop the cable if something failed and it wants to slip off. Again I haven't had a problem since... Almost 12 weeks after fixing the item golds gym finally delivered a rear bar with extra bracing and two new pulleys/wheels. Personally I feel my bracing is much more cost effective and stronger as their welds on the updated piece looked pretty bad. Replacement wheels/pulleys look much cheaper and lower quality so I am glad I was able to repair mine. For reference I have been using this piece every other day for the last 9 months w/ my repairs and everything operates exactly how it should a photo is attached to my review in case anyone else finds themselves with broken equipment and stuck in the same position I was. 06/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great machine I like that I can do a complete workout and not step into the gym. I love to build muscle and this does the job. 02/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GR8 fit 4 R family Clearly defined directions - don't lose any parts (screws, washers, etc) as they only give you enough for what you need. Took between 4 to 4 1/2 hours to set up. Does not take up much space. Impressive system for the price. 01/08/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Well my review on this product is; you really get what you pay for. Its only $200 bucks but other then that i was very disappointed. To start the directions are horriable took over 4 hours to set up. The low cable pully you cant really add any attachments for arms or anything to it once you pull the weight half way up the weights hit the top. The chest press is about a 3 on a 1 to 10.. the pec deck is horriable. The high pully works well you can change things up. If i had to re do this i would have saved my money and bought something better and more expensive. 01/10/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by My happy face turn into a not so happy face! Ok I was so excited upon ordering the machine! I ordered April 11 and received April 16 so the shipping was quick I was very satisfied with that! But as my husband was putting it together after 2 hrs working on putting it together we come to find out we're missing a piece :(! So I called customer service they return my call quickly and our call took less than 5 mins which is good bcuz my piece will be shipped tommarrow ( so they said)! So hopefully everything goes good and I can start using my machine! Other than my missing piece!!! customer service was great! 04/17/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by this on line order cancelled 2 times even tho they have them in store. then it was a present and is missing pieces, hoping they will send the piece soon so as to use the gym!! 12/26/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by This machine actually works well to start with , but when you start making gains in strength the machine will not handle the weight stack that it comes with. This morning while doing lateral pulldowns with the entire weight stack the metal that holds the two pulleys right behind the bench press arms bent and let the angle of the cable become so off that it broke the pulley. Worked well for me for 3 weeks. It will be going back to the store saturday for a refund. 01/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This gym meets my needs. The box fit in the back seat of my Camery. The assembly went fairly well as I laid all the pieces out and followed the (mostly) clear directions. I did struggle a little following the pulley system directions, so it ended up taking me about 5 hours to put it together. I recommend you have a metric socket set, and an adjustable wrench. I'm satisfied with my purchase. 01/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gym difficult to assemble My suggestion is to have it shipped to the store, have it assembled, then pick it up. Once the gym is shipped to your home, they will not come out to assemble it. It comes in a huge box with lots of peices. It took 8 hours for two people to assemble this gym. 08/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a very good product. It took me about 5 hours to put it together, the directions were very straight forward. Be sure to keep the bolts a little loose, I tighten them too tight and the cables frayed after a few pulls on the lat bar. But for the money, you can't beat this product, I have been getting a great work out since I put the thing together. For the price, this is a good home machine. 07/13/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by None. After spending the largest part of the day I found out that there was one broken part and 3 missing. This was no fault of Walmarts, but the manufacture did not pack everything it was suppose to. 05/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good product for thr money good product forr the money took me and my daughter about 3 hours to complete the hardest part is the cable assembly 04/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wow...great price. You just can't beat that. Call to see how much a professional would charge us to assemble it and it was more than what the machine was worth. So that was not going to happen. So we took it upon our self to do it. It took us 6 hours to assemble, but we did it. At the end it was well worth it. We are happy and now ready to get our work out on. 04/04/2012
1-30 of 56 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw369
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp