Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Ordered this online for in store pickup. It was there within a couple of hours. I actually happened to be in the store when I received a text that it was ready for pickup. This rack is sold under differant brand names on the internet and sells for more than twice what I paid for it at Walmart. Easy to assemble and very sturdy. Exactly what I was looking for. 11/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good solid carrier with a decent design This carrier is generally well thought out with solid construction and a design that keeps the bikes away from the vehicle bodywork. Attaching by the wheels is much less likely to damage the paintwork on the bikes and seems to stop them moving around as much as alternatives. Also works better for bikes without a crossbar. One negative is that it is a bit tricky to get the inside bike on and off the hooks without a second set of hands to help. The worst design (as noted in other reviews) though is the poorly designed 2" to 1.25" hitch receiver adapter that comes with this - it doesn't fit well and requires a permanent fixture (bolt and nylock nut) which makes removal a pain. I purchased a proper adapter and fixed this with the nut/bolt and this works much better. Price was great value at ~$80, however adding in a decent 2" adapter added for another $20 makes this comparable to others, so if you have a 2" receiver, keep this additional cost in mind. 05/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy, Easy to install & use, Great Price was easy and fast to set up and use. It was adjustable for any style of bike..even our 3 wheeler. Bought a cable lock to lock the bikes on for long trips and that works well. We have a 2011 Toyota RAV and it fits around the Wheel cover, of course you don't open the door with it on but once the bikes are off you can easily remove it and store if you need to as well it is very compact. I would recommend buying a lock pin for long trips and security so it can't be taken off the car. 05/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Carrier After looking at various models of bike carriers I decided that this one was the best for my application. My wife and I have Schwinn 700C bikes. Her's is a ladies and mine is a men's. Other carriers supported the bikes by the frame, which made all of the one's that I looked at unusable. The V shape of this carrier and the cradles for the wheels is the perfect combination for us. The carrier was easily assembled and the Walmart pricing was a plus. 05/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Solution We've owned a number of different hitch mount bike racks in the past. With the different geometries of bikes for kids, women, men combined with road and mountain bikes it's been difficult to get them on traditional racks. This "sportwing" approach seemed like the exact solution - using the one thing that all of these different bikes have in common - wheels! My wife's bike has a top-tube that won't work well with traditional bike racks. Her bike fits perfectly on this rack. It's possible to put on wheel up first, then the other, making the rack easier to use. Her vehicle has 1-1/4" receiver and this rack is super easy and simple to install. The adapter for 2" is a little less than ideal but certainly workable. She uses the rack all of the time to take her bike to a trailer or park and go for a ride. The length of the mounting tube is long enough that the rear window on her Mountaineer can be opened with the rack installed on the car. 07/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent sturdy rack Superb rack most especially at this price point. We use this rack on our '92 Jeep Cherokee (1 1/4 hitch# and our '03 Jeep Cherokee #2" hitch). Installs quickly on either vehicle using the included adapter. No need for the girls bike adapter bar as the wheels of the bike are the mounting point. The inside bike mounts between the rack and the vehicle so to keep that bike from scratching the rear bumper while mounting we put an old sock over the pedal. To ease the mounting we hook up the front wheel first then lift the rear of the bike to get the whole thing in place. Beats trying to lift the entire bike at once. First use we noticed some wobbling around while driving. To eliminate that we just hooked one bungee to a bike and then to the hitch safety chain loops. Wobble was gone. Velcro tie down staps are included to strap both bike together and to the rack. Very solid feeling. 06/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product and value This hitch mount carrier is perfect for our two bikes, one of which has a v-frame that won't work on other carriers. Holds bike securely by the wheels. Drove down the interstate and didn't see a wiggle. A great bargain and high quality carrier. 06/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for Women Style Bike Frames I bought this rack for two reasons. I have two bikes to haul that are both lady style frames. Also, being a single Mom, I didn't want to get in over my head with complicated heavy racks that need additional work to make them usable. This rack took 15 minutes to assemble and put the bikes on. It couldn't have been easier. As other reviewers have stated, its a little jiggly at the hitch but it's not going anywhere and I don't notice it on the highway. We use a bungie cord to secure the bikes to the posts. I did find the thick rubber straps that go over the tires hard to pull over their bolt, but with each time its getting easier. The bikes do hang a little low, but it hasn't been a problem out on the roads (only backing down my driveway). Overall, I like this rack and think its a great buy for the money. I had it shipped to the store and it arrived exactly as predicted. 08/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by floppy would not attach to receiver so we put the whole thing together only to find out that the stupid thing was way smaller that our hitch it SAID it would fit up to 2" but it was so loose in there it wasn't safe. And yes we did use the adapter, no luck, Seems like a good rack except for that minor thing. Returned it and got a different one 06/28/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I really had great hopes! I thought this bike carrier was going to solve the carrier problems encountered mounting a road bike and a mtn bike at the same time. The idea that the bikes would be level seemed good, but the reality was that the shocks on the mtn bike lifted the front of the bike enough, that the effect was that it was not level, and the seat tangled with the handlebars on the road bike. The velcro hook & loop straps used to secure the bikes to the arm support still allowed the bikes to swing excessively as did the rubber strap going over the tire and rim to hold the wheel on the wheel hook. Those were the problems that will result in my returning the unit. Also on the negative, when first fitting the shank adapter to make the 1 1/4" shank fit the 2" receiver, the adapter had a least 1/4" of play inside the 2" receiver. That play was removed by tightening the 'socket head cap screw" against the 1 1/4" shank on one side, so that he shank and adapter insert were pulled up tightly to the receiver on the other side (leaving one spot on the receiver holding all the weight of the rack, bikes, and weight shifts caused by driving. On the small annoyances front, the 4 5/16" carriage bolts holding the "main support tube" to the "shank" were so long that a deep socket was needed (if using a socket wrench) to tighten the nut. In addition, in tightening the "main support tube" to the "shank", the nylon cord holding the "bail" safety pins was pinched (could that cut them?). All in all, it seemed really good concept, but for me, it didn't work well. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Carrier - Easy to assemble I bought this bike carrier after looking at many (probably too many) types from high end bike store stuff (overpriced name bands with no better functionality than this) to Craigslist (used prices were almost the same as this was new - no brainer there!). The reviews drew me to this Reese and I'm very pleased at first glance. It was easy to put together and get on the car. One reviewer said something about having to get a longer bolt to use the 2" receiver adapter, but it's short for a reason - it goes THROUGH the hole on the side of the receiver and the adapter STOPS it - the action is to squeeze the adapters around the mount with a washer and locking nut on the other side. This is what keeps it from slopping around in the receiver. It works BEAUTIFULLY! I haven't taken the bike out for a ride yet so I may update this once I have, but at first glance, this is a great buy and an excellent product. 07/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most satisfactory! I recently began riding a road bike, and this bike carrier has worked PERFECTY so far. No complaints at all. 09/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and setup Keeps bikes securely attached and is easy to load bikes onto bikerack. 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st rack I've purchased. This has turned out to be better than I had hoped. I was tired of putting my bike in my trunk when I wanted to go to area mountain bike trails. So I found this affordable track online @ walmart. It is very easy to assemble and disassemble. When I get to the park I'm going to ride at. I simply take it apart and lock it up in my trunk. When I'm done riding, slap it back together, load bike (5 mins) and head home. Only 1 draw back,,, once bike(s) is mounted, you can't open trunk. But,,,,, I love it's ease use !!! 07/11/2012
1-14 of 14 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew463
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp