Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 65 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Machine for anyone. I am 32 years old and decided after 10 years, to pick sewing back up. I ran down to the local Wal-mart and purchased this machine. It is so much easier to use than the old Singer machine I used as a teenager and into my early adulthood. Changing out the foot is simple as is changing out the needle. Threading is also very easy. I love the machine and the quality it affords me. I would highly recommend this product to anyone, even if just beginning. 09/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent machine for the money. Purchased this to supplement a smaller Brother machine that I thought couldn't be beat. This one does it! Love the variety of stitches, smooth operation, easy set-up. It's what I've come to expect from Brother. One hitch: There was a $30 manufacturer's rebate advertised under the price on the site. This was in error. The rebate for this machine, if purchased between the dates advertised, is $10, enough to cover the extended warranty. Still a good bargain, anyway you look at it. 09/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beginner-friendly! I had never used a sewing machine in my entire life before purchasing this product, but wanted to teach myself to sew for alterations, dress-making, etc. The instruction booklet is precise, easy to follow, and had me starting the first stitch within 45 minutes! The bobbin winder is so easy, they really made this machine beginner-friendly. I think this will be the perfect machine to handle my larger tasks down the road once my skill level progresses. The only reason I did not rate it a "5" is because I have not yet tried all of the features; although I am very satisfied thus far. Sidenote: I ordered this item from walmart.com on a Saturday evening, and it was already on my doorstep Tuesday afternoon. Very quick delivery! 09/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great sewing machine got this as a gift from my grandmother. I used to borrow my mom's older kenmore sewing machine and was worried that it being digital would make it more difficult to use. It is so easy to use! I love that there are pictures of the stitches on the machine so I don't have to keep checking in the manual. My one complaint is that it says size 15 plastic bobbins on the box, but they are just a tiny bit smaller. So in order to get extra bobbins (comes with 4), I had to find a special brother sewing machine dealer (or order online and pay shipping). As far as sewing, it does a great job, and was easy to operate and troubleshoot. (I always end up getting something stuck and getting it unstuck was simple). The bobbin thing is why it doesn't get a 5 star from me. 09/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Machine for the Price I sew for a living and recently started to teach my future daughter-in-law how to sew, too. My husband and I decided to buy her a new sewing machine for Christmas. We bought one at another store and tried it out when we got home. It was horrible and we brought it back. I found this one and read the reviews and we bought it. I tried it and loved it so much that I bought one for myself, too and recommended it to friends at an online quilting group. It sews like a dream, is relatively quiet and easy to use. The variety of stitches gives you a lot of bang for the buck. If I were able to change anything it would be that the stitch panel could light up and that there was a beep when the bobbin or needle thread ran out but not having these features is easy to live with. This is a fabulous machine. Get one while they're around! 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value!! GREAT machine, especially for the price. My mom is an advanced quilter and uses a Janome 7700, which she spent $1999 on, and even she has given this machine her seal of approval! Love! 10/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Love, love, love this machine. I have been eyeballing this machine and one other one for a while now and today I broke down and bought this machine. I was a little intimidated at first because I have been using a Brother XL-5340 for the past 8 yrs and this one has a lot more features. I brought it home, unpacked it, read the manual, and got started. OMG, I am in heaven and have no idea why I was intimidated by this machine. It is super easy to use and I simply love, love, love it. The functionality is so great. I basically have the serge capability that I needed as well as a great way to do appliques now on shirts to go with pj pants that I make and sell. This is sure to increase my business potential greatly. Thank you Wal-mart for having it in stock and at a great price. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone who is looking to upgrade from a standard sewing machine. Awesomeness, with a cherry on top! 11/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brother 80-Stitch Limited Edition Project Runway I made this purchase for my fiance who wanted to create embroidered shirts and scarves for her daughter. The pattern selections are great and programing is relatively easy once you READ THE MANUAL and learn how to. The most difficult item she had learning is how to correctly use the automatic needle threader. The directions are a little vague, the diagram is of some help and the lighting could be a little brighter in this area. Overall she is thrilled with how easy it is to operate. When she got the needle threader figured out there was no stopping her! The speed control is very easy to work, the patterns are looking wonderful and the items she has created thus far look great! If you're looking for a fun machine to get creative with, this is one she and I readily and fully recommend for both novice and experienced machine operator! 12/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent machine for the price! Coming from my first machine being a top of the line Elna - that stayed in the shop quite a bit, to a Pfaff machine that I purchased off of Ebay that was a disaster to this Brother machine that I love. I am not a seamstress, but I enjoy sewing when I want to sew! I love this machine, quiet, easy to use, and affordable. I would have never thought that I would be happy on a machine that was so inexpensive - boy was I wrong! This machine is a jewel!!! 12/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous purchase I was amazed at how easy this machine is to use. The stitch choices are all at your fingertips. Super easy to thread and load a bobbin. Doesn't get easier than this. Sews smoothly. Price is good too. I really like it A LOT!!!! 11/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful sewing machine for an excellent value I decided I wanted to teach myself how to sew and started looking for sewing machines. I had went into several sewing shops and did a lot of online research. Then I came across this sewing machine. The reviews were great. As a beginner it has been wonderful to use. The value was the best part though. The machine started out at over $650 and is still selling at some conventions and expos for $500. Mine was brand new for only $144. 12/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Although I own several Brother machines, this is not one I would recommend. The tension was off from the very beginning and the only answer was to put it in the repair shop before I had even used it. Not a great start when you are anxiously waiting to begin projects designated for that machine. I sent it back immediately. I have fund once a machine has a tension problem it always will. 01/26/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problem out of the box The tension was off right out of the box. I tried rethreading and adjusting the tension, but could never get it right. I am returning it tomorrow. 12/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST EVER This was the best sewing machine ever!!! I bought this for my Mom and how did she thank me? She made me a dress!!! 10/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE at 1st Try! LOVE this machine! I upgraded from a starter Brother machine. It is more machine with more functions than I ever could imagine using. I am primarily sewing costumes and theater garb. Not quilting or challenging embroidery. It runs smoothly and the Drop-In bobbin feature is great. It comes with a wonderful assortment of extra accessories like a cleaning brush and 4 bobbins (one pre-threaded with white thread) and they all self-store in the machine. My old machine had tons of tension issues. Not this one. It set up in moments. You don't even have to pull lower tension thread up, this machine automatically just loads and sews. As my needs and uses grow, this machine will grow with me and may even be a machine I will pass on to my kids. Better performance and comparable features to machines I have seen for more than $300. Great bargain for this high level of performance. Glad my hubby got it for my birthday. 12/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine for the money! I just bought this, took a little getting used to as it's computerized...but loving the features so far. 10/18/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by motor is weak I purchased this on wednesday and it ran fine until I tried to use swimsuit knits to make a bikini bottom(1 day), the machine got a knot under the feed dogs and the engine stalled. I took apart the bobbin casing and presser foot (just like the manual said to do), and put it all back together. The diagrams in the manual are nice. I got the error message on the screen to stop and it "works" but has no speed now and makes too much noise in the upper part of the machine now so I am returning it. I will be buying a heavy duty sewing machine with metal gears made by a better brand. Plus it sounds like a copy machine when you flip it on. Bottom line, if you plan on quilting or using broadcloth then its a good machine, but if you work with a lot of knits but still want to make household items then not the right machine. 04/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed I was so excited when I received this sewing machine for Christmas. When I finally got around to trying it out, it was awesome, lots of stitch functions and I was excited. Once I started sewing, however, it was only a couple of weeks before it didn't cooperate. I wanted it to zigzag and it only did straight stitching. I would turn it off and then turn it back on, trying to reset it, and this worked f0r a couple of times. Now, it just doesn't understand at all. I don't get an error. I only get straight stitching. It might sew another stitch, but I need a zigzag for my elastic waist bands, I make tutus. So, I am taking it back tomorrow and hoping to exchange it for something else. Not sure if I want to go digital or not. May just go right back to plain ol plain ol. 02/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really great sewing machine I received this machine as a gift, after having looked at another brother machine for several months. I haven't really ever done any sewing in, well, ever. Totally a sewing newbie. I have to say that the sewing machine was a little intimidating initially because it has far more bells and whistles than the one I was looking at. But the machine itself is very simple to use. The manual is very straight forward, and easy to understand. Though I often supplement the manual's instructions with google, just to be sure I have my bases covered, I usually find the information in the manual would have been sufficient. While I've only had the machine for a week, I have used it quite a bit--including mending several things, making a tote bag, making a hat, a pair of spats, and a plushie. The machine comes with an assortment of accessories (including a seam ripper, which is great since I sort of, accidentally, snapped my previous one. Oops! It was nice to have an instant replacement on hand.). Most of these are things like extra bobbin spools, as well as all the extra presser feet. So far, I have used the "default" foot, as well as the button hole foot and blind hem stitch foot. Changing the presser foot is incredibly simple, and the button hole foot and stitches were amazing. Maybe I'm just easily impressed, but it was great to be able to do button holes so easily on my very first 'from scratch' project. I've also played around with some of the decorative stitches--some of which look pretty awesome, and some of which look...somewhat less awesome. But they seem like they would be really fun to use for different home decorating type projects. And the 'less awesome' ones are possibly due to my lack of skill in working the machine, rather than the stitch itself. With all the projects I've done, I've only had the bobbin tangle once, and I'm fairly certain it was an 'operator error' so to speak. The machine runs really well. It's easy to control the speed, it's easy to work all the functions, and choose stitches, as well as alter their length and width. The manual is really great at explaining the different functions, as well as how to do certain things (like blind hem stitching). I haven't had any issues with it, and in this first week, I've done a variety of different projects, and worked with a variety of different fabrics from thick, fluffy fleece, to polyester, to cotton, to craft felt. The machine has handled them all, without any issues, sometimes sewing through up to four layers of thick fabric. Over all, I think it's a great machine so far. I'm really looking forward to all the projects I have in mind, and I have no doubt the machine is going to be able to handle them all quite beautifully. 01/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am in love with this machine!! I have had this machine for 3 months now and I absolutely love it. I haven't had time to sew much but I have sewn shorts, a dress, four purses, a tank top, and other random projects. I am still learning how to use it but it is extremely simple to use. It has gotten stuck on me a few times but I just go back to the manual and it will tell me exactly how to fix the problem. The manual is extremely easy to understand and diagnoses every problem you might run into. I am just in love with this machine. 01/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by oh my gosh! we took this machine back 2 times for faulty parts. The second time it stayed! 12/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE THIS MACHINE!! This is my 2nd Brother sewing machine. My first was about 10 years old when I bought it and it worked well enough. However, I wanted a NEW machine and I wanted a computerized machine. With this machine I got the best of both worlds. I find myself wanting to do nothing but sew and make things on this machine. It is SEW EASY to work with!! :) I am now looking for a quilting table attachment that might work with it because I am going to start my very first quilt. I LOVE quilts and bedspreads so I'll be starting with the quilt. Not a fan of comforters though. Quilts, bedspreads, that's the ticket. 11/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great right out of the box! This machine is great! I haven't sewn and years and I was up and sewing on the machine within an hour of taking it out of the box. The needle threader is great!! Instructions and setup are super simple, even for a beginner. Great value!! Shipping costs were low and the package arrived exactly when promised. Very Happy! 02/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loaded with features After receiving several insane quotes to repair the vinyl on our boat, we ran to Wal-Mart to purchase a machine to do the job ourselves. We wanted something that was not the cheapest but not too much money since we didn't plan to be using it much after this summer. We decided on this one and we love it. The accesories it comes with offer a beginner a nice start. The stitching options are great, something for almost every task. We had no trouble threading this machine. The manual was very helpful, one of the best I have come across. We completed the job ourselves in 2 days and I have fallen in love with sewing. With the money we saved with this purchase, my husband is building a craft room for me to get more use out of this machine. 05/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT WORTH THE MONEY I sew pretty often and I purchased this machine to make some things quickly. After every use I have to re-thread the machine and it knots up all the time wasting excessive amounts of threat. Horrible buy! 04/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have found this machine very accurate, very quiet, I really like this product and do recommend others to purchase it. 09/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This machine is beyond my expectations! I am a professional seamstress and have been working at my craft for over 40 years. I chose a Brother sewing machine because of Brother's reputation for quality. Since I've enjoyed watching "Project Runway," it tickled me to find a machine with the name. This machine is terrific! It meets all of my expectations for quality stitches and ease of use. It is necessary to carefully read the manual several times, because of the different features. I have used expensive Viking machines through the years and found myself at a loss after a move to another state. That's when I thought, "Let's see what a Brother machine does." Well, I am very happy with this Brother "Project Runway Limited Edition" machine; and, it's cost for the quality amazes me every time I use it. 09/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing machine I've been sewing on a very OLD Domestic Brand sewing machine. Today my husband bought me this Brother Computerized Sewing Machine. It is AMAZING. Anyone who sews, whether beginner or expert, will love this machine. Buy one, you won't regret it. 06/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very satisfied with this purchase I purchased the Btrother 80 stitch machine for my daughter for Christmas. Straight from the box we made pajama bottoms for everyone in the family, ( 5 pairs) out of fleece. The instruction booklet was very helpful, but not needed much as the machine itself is user friendly. I have been sewing for years, while my daughter is a nauvice. I decided on this machine based on the Consumer Reports ratings and also review ratings from others who have purchased this machine. Now that I have seen how well it works, I'll be purchasing one for myself. The only down side is if you are used to the "sturdy, heavy" machines, this "lightweight, compact" machine can be doubting. But once used, you can get past that feature. 03/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT Machine for any level sewer! I got this machine as a gift for Valentine's day, and I couldn't have been more satisfied! It is very easy to set up and I had the whole thing figured out without even touching the manual. There are more stitching options than I know what to do with, and such a beautiful selection for decorative items. The LED light is a very nice feature as well, makes threading the needle very easy. Overall, I would definitely give this machine 5 stars! 02/16/2012
1-30 of 61 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew491
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp